ARC Review: Crimson Shore by Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child

Posted November 12, 2015 by Emily in interview / 0 Comments

ARC Review: Crimson Shore by Douglas Preston & Lincoln ChildCrimson Shore by Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
Series: Special Agent Pendergast #15
Published by Grand Central Publishing on November 10th 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, paranormal, mystery
Pages: 352
Format: ebook
Source: Free for Review
Buy on Amazon

A secret chamber.
A mysterious shipwreck.
A murder in the desolate salt marshes.
A seemingly straightforward private case turns out to be much more complicated-and sinister-than Special Agent A.X.L. Pendergast ever could have anticipated.
Pendergast, together with his ward Constance Greene, travels to the quaint seaside village of Exmouth, Massachusetts, to investigate the theft of a priceless wine collection. But inside the wine cellar, they find something considerably more disturbing: a bricked-up niche that once held a crumbling skeleton.

Crimson Shore is part of a long established series. I was turned on to the series by a friend on twitter about 4 years ago and I’ve never been disappointed. This series isn’t for the faint of heart. It requires some commitment. After all, Crimson Shore is book 15 of this series! However, I don’t think you will regret it.

These books follow Special Agent Alloysius Pendergast of the FBI while he does basically whatever he wants. He is a modern day Sherlock Holmes. However, he’s different from most heroes because he’s a traditional, southern gentleman. He has impeccable manners and abhors rudeness. As a master of disguise and lockpicking, he has every advantage. However, he’s not perfect. He has flaws and makes mistakes. Pendergast is a deep and multilayered character, but if anything the supporting characters are even more complex. This entire series is character driven. Solving mysteries is an excuse for character development.

This is a series, however, you don’t have to be 100% familiar with it to enjoy this book. I was surprised and pleased with how stand alone it seemed. Pendergast and Constance Greene go to investigate a wine theft in coastal Massachusetts. However, like the other books of this series, nothing is as it seems. One of my favorite things about these books is how very small details usually prove to be important to the plot and mystery. These books also have a slight and unexpected paranormal aspect. I can’t really explain it without spoilers. I just love how the books are set in our world but have cryptozoology and other paranormal aspects mixed in as truth. The blending of real and fantasy can almost make me wonder if magic isn’t hiding in our world, just around the corners.

The 15 books in this series all connect with each other. However, the last 6 have been two 3 book trilogies that were very focused on Agent Pendergast and his family. I though they were interesting and they provided a lot of backstory about Agent Pendergast. However, I didn’t like them as much as I liked the books that were about an outside mystery. Crimson Shore goes back to this series’ roots. I loved the feel of the story and how it was all about a mystery unconnected to the protagonists once again. This story brought back all the reasons I fell in love with Pendergast to begin with.


Tags: , ,


Leave a Reply