FFBC Review: Aftermath by Clara Kensie

Posted November 10, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 0 Comments

FFBC Review: Aftermath by Clara Kensie

FFBC Review: Aftermath by Clara KensieAftermath by Clara Kensie
Published by Merit Press on November 1st 2016
Genres: Thriller, Young Adult
Pages: 288
Format: ebook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Charlotte survived four long years as a prisoner in the attic of her kidnapper, sustained only by dreams of her loving family. The chance to escape suddenly arrives, and Charlotte fights her way to freedom. But an answered prayer turns into heartbreak. Losing her has torn her family apart. Her parents have divorced: Dad's a glutton for fame, Mom drinks too much, and Charlotte's twin is a zoned-out druggie. Her father wants Charlotte write a book and go on a lecture tour, and her mom wants to keep her safe, a virtual prisoner in her own home. But Charlotte is obsessed with the other girl who was kidnapped, who never got a second chance at life--the girl who nobody but Charlotte believes really existed. Until she can get justice for that girl, even if she has to do it on her own, whatever the danger, Charlotte will never be free.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Charlotte was kidnapped and and held by a monster for over 4 years. During that time, she held onto the thought that her family was safe and happy. However, she learns the truth is much more complicated.

It’s hard to rate a book that explores awful content. Can I say the book was wonderful, despite the horrible things that happen within it’s pages? This is something I’ve struggled with before. It’s hard to describe how a miserable story touched me, made me feel and gave me something to think about. This book deeply affected me.

I liked that this book explored some of the realities of trauma. Grief is different for everyone and comes in many variations. Every member of Charlotte’s family grieved in their own way. I liked that the author didn’t make it seem like one way was better than another, despite the fact that some characters grief was more healthy than others. That was up to the reader to decide. Grief is deep and personal and fluid. There is no right or wrong way to go about and the process is painful and damaging. Aftermath really tackles what that might look like.

This book was so difficult to read. It talks about extremely difficult and explicit subject matter. The main character’s struggle through the stages of grief is real and heartbreaking. Know yourself and what you can handle before you choose to read this book. When you read it, be prepared for some tears of your own.

About the Author

clara-kensieWinner of the 2015 RITA Award for Best First Book

Today, Clara is the author of dark fiction for young adults. Her debut, the super-romantic thriller RUN TO YOU BOOK ONE: DECEPTION SO DEADLY is the winner of the prestigious RITA Award for Best First Book.

The RUN TO YOU series was named to several Best Books of 2014 lists, including RT Magazine Editors’ Pick. The two-book series was originally published as a six-part serial by Harlequin Teen in 2014 (First Sight, Second Glance, Third Charm, Fourth Shadow, Fifth Touch, and Sixth Sense). By popular demand, the six-part serial is now available as two full-length books: DECEPTION SO DEADLY and DECEPTION SO DARK.

Her next book is AFTERMATH, a dark, ripped-from-the-headlines contemporary about a girl who returns home four years after being kidnapped, only to find her family has fallen apart in her absence. To fix her broken family–and help find the body of her captor’s first victim–the girl must first heal herself. AFTERMATH is a story of hope, healing, and triumph over tragedy, perfect for fans of ROOM and THE LOVELY BONES. Available November 15th 2016 from Merit Press.

Clara’s favorite foods are guacamole and cookie dough. But not together. That would be gross.

Divider

Follow the Tour

November 9th

November 1oth

Zerina Blossom’s Books – Guest Post
YA Obsessed – Review

November 11th

Mama Reads Hazel Sleeps – Review + Favorite Quotes
Reading To Unwind – Review
The Bookworm Central – Review + Playlist + Favorite Quotes

November 12th

The Lovely Books – Review

November 13th

Ink of Blood – Review
Buried Under Books – Review

November 14th

The Book Drealms – Review
The Bookish Angel – Review

November 15th

Book Bite Reviews – Review
The Book Return – Review + Favorite Quotes

 

four-stars

Tags:

Divider

Leave a Reply