FFBC Review: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

Posted February 3, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 1 Comment

FFBC Review: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

FFBC Review: Arrows by Melissa GorzelanczykArrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk
Published by Delacorte Press on January 26th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, romance, Magical Realism
Pages: 256
Format: ebook
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV's Teen Mom.
People donÂ’t understand love. If they did, theyÂ’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just canÂ’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she canÂ’t stay angry with him . . . and canÂ’t stop loving him. But thereÂ’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: sheÂ’s been shot with a love arrow. Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma and Danny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, KarmaÂ’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.
A clueless Karma doesnÂ’t know that her toxic relationship is AarynÂ’s fault . . . but heÂ’s going to get a chance to make things right. HeÂ’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return? This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn't reciprocate her  feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny--perfect for fans of Katie McGarry's novels and MTVÂ’s 16 and Pregnant.

The premise of this book grabbed me right away. I wanted to read it as soon as I read the blurb. I love the idea of cupid making a mistake. The Greek mythology that was intertwined with this story added a fun piece. It was the explanation for why everything was happening. However, that was it. The mythology existed in the background but the story existed in our world.

Karma Clark has a hard row to hoe. It was so tough to read about her. She is so in love with Danny and willing to ignore all of his flaws. Everyone else can see that maybe he isn’t the guy that she thinks he is. However, thanks to Aaryn’s arrow, she is doomed to love him, despite the fact that he doesn’t love her back. They end up having a baby together. Its so much more upsetting when there is a child involved.

If there was anything about this book that I would have changed, I would have made it longer. I read it and I wanted more. I didn’t want it to be over. This book was short and sweet and adorable. It was also heartrendingly real.

About the Author

Melissa

Melissa Gorzelanczyk is a former magazine editor and columnist who believes love is everything. She is a proud member of the SCBWI, The Sweet Sixteens and the Class of 2k16. She lives in Green Bay, Wisconsin, with her husband and family.

Optional: Her debut novel ARROWS is being published by Delacorte Press on January 26, 2016. She is represented by agent Carrie Howland of Donadio & Olson.

 

AUTHOR LINKS:

Website: http://www.melissagorzelanczyk.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4709560.Melissa_Gorzelanczyk
Twitter: https://twitter.com/MelissaGorzela
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/peaceandprojects

Tour Schedule

FEB 1

A Reading Nurse & The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club – Welcome Post

FEB 2
the bookdragon – Review
Library of a Book Witch – Review + Playlist
Confessions of a Readaholic – Review
Geeky Chiquitas – Review + Playlist

FEB 3
Her Book Thoughts – Review + Playlist
Bittersweet Enchantment – Review
Emily Reads Everything – Review
A Dream Within A Dream – Promotional Post

FEB 4
The Cover Contessa – Interview
Ink of Blood – Review
Take Me Away To A Great Read – Review
Life of a Female Bibliophile – Review

FEB 5
The Candid Cover – Review + Dream Cast + Playlist
Olivia’s Catastrophe – Review
Curling Up With A Good Book – Review
The Bibliotaph – Promotional Post

FEB 6
The Eater of Books! – Interview
Lost in Lit – Review
Lekeisha The Booknerd – Review + Dream Cast
Divergent Gryffindor – Review

FEB 7
Lazy Book Lovers – Review + Favorite Quotes
The Bibliophile Confessions – Review + Playlist
Bookmark Lit – Cover Colors
Reading Addict – Review

four-stars

Tags:

Divider

One response to “FFBC Review: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

Leave a Reply