IB Review: Drop of Night by Stefan Bachmann

Posted March 14, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 0 Comments

IB Review: Drop of Night by Stefan Bachmann

IB Review: Drop of Night by Stefan BachmannA Drop of Night by Stefan Bachmann
Published by Greenwillow Books on March 15th 2016
Genres: Young Adult, paranormal, suspense
Pages: 464
Format: ebook
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

Seventeen-year-old Anouk has finally caught the break she’s been looking for—she's been selected out of hundreds of other candidates to fly to France and help with the excavation of a vast, underground palace buried a hundred feet below the suburbs of Paris. Built in the 1780's to hide an aristocratic family and a mad duke during the French Revolution, the palace has lain hidden and forgotten ever since. Anouk, along with several other gifted teenagers, will be the first to set foot in it in over two centuries.
Or so she thought.
But nothing is as it seems, and the teens soon find themselves embroiled in a game far more sinister, and dangerous, than they could possibly have imagined. An evil spanning centuries is waiting for them in the depths. . .
A genre-bending thriller from Stefan Bachmann for fans of The Maze Runner and Joss WhedonÂ’s The Cabin in the Woods.
You cannot escape the palace.
You cannot guess its secrets.

LINKS: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Indiebound | iBooks | The Book Depository

This book is special and rare because the description was very accurate. I am a huge Joss Whedon fan, so when I saw that this book was billed as like Cabin in the Woods, I knew I needed to read it. For those of you unfamiliar with Cabin in the Woods, go watch it. Whatever you do, DON’T look up spoilers. This book is like that too. It’s going to be so hard to review because any little thing I might say gives away something important. However, I will say that I was not disappointed. This book had a similar feel to Cabin in the Woods and some really fun twists and turns.

Drop of Night is a little bit of a slow start. It takes a little time to set everything up. The reasoning is sound and sensible but just not that exciting. Exciting came later. If you can stick with it, I promise the excitement comes. Once the book gets going, it’s nonstop action. It’s a real page turner and you won’t want to put it down. It’s hard to get that action movie feel in book form. Drop of night handles it really well.

If you like plot twists, action, or intrigue, definitely give this book a shot!

Stefan BachmannAbout the Author:

Stefan Bachmann was born in Colorado and spent of most of his childhood in Switzerland, where he’s now a student of music at the Zürich University of Arts.

His debut, gothic-faery-fantasy THE PECULIAR, was a New York Times Editor’s Choice and a Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2012, and was translated into eight languages. Its companion, THE WHATNOT, was released on September 24th, 2013.

THE CABINET OF CURIOSITIES: 36 TALES BRIEF AND SINISTER, a collection of scary stories he wrote together with authors Emma Trevayne, Claire Legrand and Katherine Catmull, was released May 27th, 2014, from Greenwillow/HarperCollins.

His next book, YA thriller A DROP OF NIGHT, about a group of American teens fighting to survive after they become trapped in an underground Versailles, will be out March 15th, 2016, also from Greenwillow/HarperCollins.

LINKS: Website | Twitter

Tour Schedule:

Week 1:
 
Week 2:
four-stars

Tags:

Divider

Leave a Reply