Author: Elise Kova

Review: Vortex Visions by Elise Kova

Posted January 14, 2019 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment

Review: Vortex Visions by Elise KovaVortex Visions by Elise Kova
Series: Air Awakens: Vortex Chronicles #1, Air Awakens #6
Published by Silver Wing Press on 2/4/19
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: ebook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

A desperate princess, a magical traveler, and a watch that binds them together with the fate of a dying world.

Vi Solaris is the heir to an Empire she’s barely seen. Her parents sacrificed a life with her to quell a rebellion and secure peace with a political alliance. Now, three years past when her wardship should’ve ended, Vi will do anything to be reunited with her family.

The Empire is faltering beneath the burden of political infighting and a deadly plague. Yet, Vi can’t help but wonder if her inability to control her magic is the true reason her parents haven’t brought her home. Suspicion becomes reality when she unleashes powers she’s not supposed to have. 

Powers that might well cost her the throne.

As Vi fights to get her magic under control, a mysterious stranger appears from across the world. He holds the keys to unlocking her full potential, but the knowledge has an unspeakable price — some truths, once seen, cannot be ignored.

All eyes are on her and Vi must make the hardest choice of her life: Play by the rules and claim her throne. Or, break them and save the world.

If you enjoy epic fantasy stories with sorcery, slow-burn romance, and expansive worlds to adventure in, then you’ll love the Vortex Chronicles. Scroll up and one-click now!

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

It was such a pleasure to return to the world of Solaris. It was like meeting back up with an old friend and we got to talking like no time at all had passed. At first it seemed familiar and homey, just like I had left it. However, I surprised to learn just how much things had changed.

It’s hard going into the next series of books in an extended series. If it’s not done well, it can seem old, overdone, maybe a little boring. After 5 books, I would have thought that I knew everything there was to know about the Air Awakens Universe. I thought that the characters would be mostly new and different but the world would stay as I expected it to be.

The best part of this book for me was how quickly my world turned upside down. I love Vi and the other new characters that have been introduced. It’s fun to see how she fits into the lives of other familiar characters. Still, if this is the very first Elise Kova book that you ever read, you can dive right in. Knowing the world isn’t even a little required. We get more Jax! YES! However, if you don’t know and aren’t in love with Jax, you won’t be lost. (And you get the pleasure of meeting and falling in love with him)

I love the Air Awakens series. However, Vortex Visions blows it out of the water. It’s by far the best book of Elise Kova’s I’ve ever read.

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

Review: Society of Wishes by Elise Kova and Lynn Larsh

Posted January 10, 2018 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment

Review: Society of Wishes by Elise Kova and Lynn LarshSociety of Wishes by Elise Kova, Lynn Larsh
Series: Society of Wishes #1
Published by Silver Wing Press on January 29th 2018
Genres: Urban Fantasy, New Adult
Format: ebook
Source: the author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

First book in the Wish Quartet, a new-adult, urban fantasy series

BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU WISH FOR.

Josephina Espinosa makes her living as a hacker-for-hire in the Lone Star Republic, a remnant of the fractured U.S.A. That is, until the day she and her best friend are gunned down in a government raid.

With her dying breath, Jo uses magical lore passed down from her grandmother to summon a wish-granter. Her wish? To save her friend’s life. Except wishes have costs, and for Jo, the price is the erasure of her entire mortal existence.

Now, as the most recent addition to the mysterious Society of Wishes, Jo must form a new “life” alongside the seven other members, one of which being her savior himself. Living as an occupant of the Society’s lavish mansion should be quite the perk, but while it is furnished with everything its inhabitants could possibly need, it lacks one thing—freedom.

Her otherworldly identity crisis takes a backseat, however, when Jo learns that the friend she sacrificed everything for is headed down the same path to ruin. Jumping in head-first, Jo uses her newfound magical abilities to protect him, only to realize that the ripples of her actions have far-reaching consequences. When the Society’s aloof leader Snow decides to give her a taste of his own ancient magic, Jo discovers that there are threads woven into the tapestry of her new reality that reach far beyond the wishes she is now required to grant. Ones that, if tugged on, could mean the unraveling of her existence itself.

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I was really excited that I got the chance to read this one early. I’ve been on pins and needles for it since Elise announced that she was writing an Urban Fantasy novel last year. Urban Fantasy has always been my favorite genre! I love weird and supernatural. Then I found out that this was also going to be Elise’s first New Adult book. That makes this book a combination of my absolute favorite genre and my least favorite age range. After reading it, I can see why she categorized it as New Adult. Jo Espinosa, the MC is 19 but this book could just as easily be categorized as Adult.

The Good

I absolutely loved the premise. Jo Espinosa, with her dying wish, cries out a plea that her friend and family be spared. It’s granted and she pays with her existence. She ‘wakes up’ except now she has never been born and she is instead a part of the Society of Wishes. A Magical team that joins together to grant wishes that are chosen by their leader, the mysterious Snow.

The team is endlessly fascinating. I want to get to know each and every one of them in depth. They each became a part of the team over time as payment for a wish, but what was each wish that was granted? I want to know what they wished for! All 6 other members have their own stories that I can’t wait to learn. They also have their own magical talents that they bring to aide the team. I have my favorites already. This book was very character driven with different personalities coming together to build a great team.

This book is like a Heist story flipped on its head. Instead of building a team to go out and steal something, Snow has put together the perfect team to build something, to grant wishes. I just love the concept. It gives me warm fuzzies.

This book was also a quick read. It’s engaging and it flows quickly from setting the stage to getting into the action. I read it in one day.

The Bad

I didn’t feel like there was any urgency, weight or stakes to anyone’s decisions. Jo makes a semi questionable decision that causes a second semi questionable thing to happen and we are told that it’s bad because it could cause a wish to not be granted. If the wish isn’t granted, then a disease will not be cured and lots of people will die. Jo has help, but the guy who helps her is just publicly shamed. There are not really any consequences above and beyond the moral ones. What are these people’s motivations for granting wishes? Why do they bother and why should I care?

I was also really disappointed in the lack of an overarching conflict that flows to the next book. There’s no real villain, problem or conflict in this book at all. They grant wishes. They’ve never failed at granting a wish yet. In the next book they will probably grant more wishes. Character information will also be revealed about the other 6 Society Members and its leader, Snow. I want the character information. Don’t get me wrong. My favorite part of this book was the team that I can’t wait to get to know better. However, I also would have liked something opposing them, maybe like an Society of Curses, to make things more interesting. Right now I don’t feel a burning need to continue. 

I loved the characters and the premise but I felt there is something fundamental missing from the plot. I am still committed to the series and I can’t wait to learn more about the characters. It just felt like something is missing too.

three-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

Rockstar Review: Dragons of Nova

Rockstar Review: Dragons of Nova

The Dragons of Nova by Elise Kova Series: Loom Saga #2 Published by Keymaster Press on July 11th 2017 Genres: Fantasy, steampunk Pages: 488 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Cvareh returns home to his sky world of Nova with the genius crafter Arianna as his temperamental guest. The mercurial inventor possesses all the Xin family needs to turn the tides of a centuries-old power struggle, but the secrets she harbors must be earned with trust — hard to come by for Ari, especially when it comes to Dragons. On Nova, Ari finds herself closer to exacting vengeance against the traitor who killed everything — and everyone – she once loved. But before Ari can complete her campaign of revenge, the Crimson Court exposes her shadowed past and reveals something even more dangerous sparking between her and Cvareh. While Nova is embroiled in blood sport and political games, the rebels on Loom prepare for an all-out assault on their Dragon oppressors. Florence unexpectedly finds herself at the forefront of change, as her unique blend of skills — and quick-shooting accuracy — makes her a force to be reckoned with. For the future of her world, she vows vengeance against the Dragons. Before the rebellion can rise, though, the Guilds must fall. I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. […]

Posted July 6, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 0 Comments
Divider

The Alchemists of Loom Read Along

The Alchemists of Loom Read Along

Chapters scheduled for read along: 1-3 I’m celebrating the release of Elise Kova’s new book with a read along for The Alchemists of loom. I loved this book. It’s gritty and steampunky and literally everything I want from a fantasy. You can check out my review. I’m thrilled today to have a chance to interview Elise about this book. I hope you will enjoy hearing about her thought process when she wrote it as much as I did. We get to meet Ari in these chapters and she has a very interesting pastime. Have you ever stolen something? (even accidentally) Stolen something? Other than the hearts of men and women around the globe? (I AM TOTALLY KIDDING) One thing that I can remember… I made a friend at a martial arts studio I was going to in college and she was also into anime. She lent me her DVD of the live action adaptation of NANA and I held onto it forever because I was busy with school and just never got around to watching it. She ended up moving away and I found it in my drawer a few weeks later. I wasn’t able to get it back to her in time… The worst part? I still haven’t watched it! Ari never intended to become a thief. If you weren’t an author, what would you want to do? […]

Posted May 8, 2017 by Emily in Events and Features, interview / 0 Comments
Divider

Cover Reveal: The Dragons of Nova by Elise Kova

Cover Reveal: The Dragons of Nova by Elise Kova

Today Elise Kova and Rockstar Book Tours are revealing the cover for THE DRAGONS OF NOVA, which releases July 11, 2017! Check out the gorgeous cover and enter to win assigned ARC of the book!! I was lucky enough to see this cover months ago when Elise came to Houston and I’ve been waiting so anxiously for the day that I could share it with you. I love this cover! It’s creepy and otherworldly and perfectly fits with the feeling of Alchemists of Loom. I just can’t wait to read this next installment! On to the reveal!       Title: THE DRAGONS OF NOVA (Loom Saga #2) Author: Elise Kova Pub. Date: July 11, 2017 Publisher: Keymaster Press Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook Pages: 488 Find it: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Goodreads Cvareh returns home to his sky world of Nova with the genius crafter Arianna as his temperamental guest. The mercurial inventor possesses all the Xin family needs to turn the tides of a centuries-old power struggle, but the secrets she harbors must be earned with trust — hard to come by for Ari, especially when it comes to Dragons. On Nova, Ari finds herself closer to exacting vengeance against the traitor who killed everything — and everyone – she once loved. But before Ari can complete her campaign of revenge, the Crimson Court exposes her shadowed past and reveals something even more dangerous sparking between her and Cvareh. While Nova is embroiled in […]

Posted May 4, 2017 by Emily in Events and Features / 1 Comment
Divider

Cover Reveal: The Farmer’s War by Elise Kova

Cover Reveal: The Farmer’s War by Elise Kova

Lieutenant Craig Youngly has only ever wanted one thing in his life — to join the illustrious Golden Guard. In pursuit of his goals, he has found himself protege to Raylynn Westwind, notable Guard member and favorite of Prince Baldair. He has fought for two years in the sweltering North and now prepares to embark on a mission on behalf of the Guard that could secure his long-sought membership. It’s the opportunity Craig has been waiting for, until Raylynn’s attention turns toward another swordsman, Daniel Taffl. Daniel has always been a man of modest aspirations. As a farmer’s son from the East, he seeks a soldier’s wage to support a future for the woman of his dreams when he returns from the front lines. It isn’t until he’s conscripted into Craig’s mission that he learns his sword-craft has caught the eyes of the powers above him. Craig sees his mission as an opportunity to impress the guard and exert his authority over Daniel. Daniel sees it merely as the chance to secure a more financially stable future. Their goals seem too simple to go awry. But, in the perilous jungles of the North, luck is something both men find to be in short supply. THE FARMERS WAR is the final installment in the Golde Guard Trilogy, prequel stories to the AIR AWAKENS SERIES: Book One, THE CROWN’S DOG Book […]

Posted April 24, 2017 by Emily in Events and Features / 0 Comments
Divider

The Alchemists of Loom is Coming!

The Alchemists of Loom is Coming!

Today is the LAST DAY to pre-order The Alchemists of Loom If you haven’t pre-ordered yet, this is your LAST CHANCE. Our benevolent Dragon Queen has put together an amazing swag package for pre-orders and you don’t want to miss out. Once you pre-order, make sure you follow all the instructions on the Pre-order bonus page and you will reap the rewards. All this could be yours. But don’t delay! ACT NOW!

Posted January 9, 2017 by Emily in Special Feature / 0 Comments
Divider

ARC Review: The Alchemists of Loom

ARC Review: The Alchemists of Loom

Proud member of the This book blew my mind! I’m a huge fan of Steampunk and I’m always on the lookout for books in that genre. They are few and far between. Even when a book is billed as steampunk, its hard to find one with the right combination of gritty technology and magic. Alchemists of Loom hits the sweet spot. There are guns and bombs and gears and airships and plenty more elements that make for true steampunk. Elise Kova also weaves in tons of magic and mystery. This book nails the genre. What made this book a new favorite though was the unique setting. Loom and Nova are like nowhere I’ve ever read about before. Elise weaves the information about the setting throughout the story without ever committing the sin of the infodump. It was surprising to me because its so subtle. Throughout the book, I kept thinking, I wish I knew more about the world. Tell me MORE. Then when the book was over, I was describing it to a friend and I realized that I knew so much more than I thought I did. All the little details that I love about fantasy were in the narrative. I learned everything I could have wanted to about the world without even realizing it. The world is deliciously complex. I can’t explain it with the depth and […]

Posted January 3, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 3 Comments
Divider

Review: The Crown’s Dog by Elise Kova

Review: The Crown’s Dog by Elise Kova

The Crown’s Dog by Elise Kova Series: Air Awakens #0.1 Published by Silver Wing Press on November 22, 2016 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult Pages: 292 Format: ebook Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon Goodreads Book one in an Air Awakens prequel trilogy. A coastal summer is turned upside down by a violent murder, and a quest for lost pirate treasure turns into a hunt for the killer. Jax Wendyll is the crown’s dog. As punishment for the unspeakable crimes that tourment him to this day, his life has been conscripted to the Empire Solaris. However, in an Empire afflicted by peace, his duties are relegated to unquestioningly aiding the antics of the youngest prince, Baldair. Erion Le’Dan, a nobleman’s son, expects a quiet summer visit to the Imperial Palace, his only agenda to visit with his unlikely friends. But Jax’s discovery the legendary pirate Adela Lagmir’s old workroom inspires a hunt for her long lost treasure. The pursuit of Adela’s truth takes the three men to the Imperial summer manor, built along the old pirate mainstays. When Adela’s trident is branded into a murdered servant, Prince Baldair’s summer amusement of treasure-hunting becomes a hunt to find the killer. But, as mysteries compound, the ghosts of Jax’s past may not be the only things haunting them. I received this book for free from Free for Review in exchange for […]

Posted November 21, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Vicar Tribunal: Meet the Vicar Harvester

Vicar Tribunal: Meet the Vicar Harvester

by Elise Kova Harvesters, our illustrious Queen has announced the first ever Vicar Tribunal running from October 17-27. This is a time for the 5 guilds to come together in collaboration and partnership. Though we may have different specialties and interests, we are all alike in our service to Loom.  This is a time to celebrate our guilds, each other and most importantly, our august ruler.  Each of the Vicars will be introducing themselves to you this week. It is my hope that you will take the time to get to know them and their guild members. We have much to learn from each other. Join your guild.  Name: Emily Position: Vicar Harvester Why did you agree to be a Vicar when the Dragon Queen approached you? I was very cautious and hesitant when our Queen approached me. Being a Vicar is a huge responsibility to my guild and a commitment to my queen. I also felt inadequate. How could I live up to our Queen’s high expectations? However, I ultimately decided that she wouldn’t have put her faith in me if there wasn’t some merit. Every day, I strive to be worthy of this position and our Queen’s favor. What originally attracted you to your guild? I am a collector. Some might say that I like to hoard things I value. Not only do I like to hoard, but I am skilled at acquiring items. […]

Posted October 18, 2016 by Emily in Events and Features / 0 Comments
Divider