Author: Erin Summerill

Rockstar Review and GIVEAWAY: Ever the Brave by Erin Summerill

Posted December 4, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 0 Comments

Rockstar Review and GIVEAWAY: Ever the Brave by Erin SummerillEver the Brave by Erin Summerill
Series: Clash of Kingdoms #2
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers on December 5th 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 464
Format: Paperback
Source: Free for Review, the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Ever the Divided. Ever the Feared. Ever the Brave.After saving King Aodren with her newfound Channeler powers, Britta only wants to live a peaceful life in her childhood home. Unfortunately, saving the King has created a tether between them she cannot sever, no matter how much she'd like to, and now he's insisting on making her a noble lady. And there are those who want to use Britta’s power for evil designs. If Britta cannot find a way to harness her new magical ability, her life—as well as her country—may be lost.

The stakes are higher than ever in the sequel to Ever the Hunted, as Britta struggles to protect her kingdom and her heart.

I received this book for free from Free for Review, the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This is a SEQUEL!

Rockstar Review and GIVEAWAY: Ever the Brave by Erin SummerillEver the Hunted by Erin Summerill
Series: ,
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers on December 27th 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 392
Format: Paperback
Source: Free for Review, the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Seventeen year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, the legendary bounty hunter for the King of Malam—that is, until her father is murdered. Now outcast and alone and having no rights to her father’s land or inheritance, she seeks refuge where she feels most safe: the Ever Woods. When Britta is caught poaching by the royal guard, instead of facing the noose she is offered a deal: her freedom in exchange for her father’s killer.

However, it’s not so simple.

The alleged killer is none other than Cohen McKay, her father’s former apprentice. The only friend she’s ever known. The boy she once loved who broke her heart. She must go on a dangerous quest in a world of warring kingdoms, mad kings, and dark magic to find the real killer. But Britta wields more power than she knows. And soon she will learn what has always made her different will make her a daunting and dangerous force.

I reviewed the first book, Ever the Hunted, last December

I enjoyed Ever the Brave, but not as much as the original. My old favorite characters were there. I love Britta and Cohen. However, now that Britta has saved Aodren, she’s bonded to him now and no longer connected to Cohen. Because of that, Cohen and Britta didn’t share a lot of screen time in this book and I found their connection lacking.

It was very very busy. SO much happened and it felt like it would have been better served as two books instead of one. I loved all of the new information and the new characters but I really wanted more time with them. There was so much going on in this book that I felt like I didn’t get enough information about anything.

 

About the Author

Erin Summerill was born in England. After spending years bouncing between Air Force bases in Hawaii, England, and California, her family settled in Utah, where Erin graduated with a B.A. in English from Brigham Young University. She had aspirations to write the next great American novel, but writing proved tougher than she first thought. So she grabbed a Nikon and became a professional photographer while crafting manuscript after manuscript. The scenic detour of shooting weddings across the United States, as well as internationally, provided world-building inspiration. It gave her the vision to draft her debut YA fantasy, EVER THE HUNTED. Now when she isn’t writing, or shooting a wedding, she’s chasing her four kids, two dogs, one cat, and five chickens. This could be why she downs massive amounts of Coke Zero and Hot tamales.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Goodreads

Giveaway

3 winners will receive a finished copy of EVER THE BRAVE, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the Tour

Week One:

11/27/2017- Bibliobibuli YA– Interview

11/28/2017- Books and Things– Review

11/29/2017- Novel Novice– Guest Post

11/30/2017- YA and Wine– Review

12/1/2017- Two Chicks on Books– Interview

Week Two:

12/4/2017- Emily Reads Everything– Review

12/5/2017- BookHounds YA– Guest Post

12/6/2017- Dani Reviews Things– Review

12/7/2017- Never Too Many To Read– Interview

12/8/2017- Book Briefs– Review

 

 

three-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

WoW: Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill

Posted November 9, 2016 by Emily in Uncategorized / 2 Comments

wow logo

This is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine!

WoW: Ever the Hunted by Erin SummerillEver the Hunted (Clash of Kingdoms, #1) by Erin Summerill
Series: Clash of Kingdoms #1
Published by Harcourt Childrens Books on December 27th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, romance, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Goodreads

Seventeen year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, the legendary bounty hunter for the King of Malam—that is, until her father is murdered. Now outcast and alone and having no rights to her father’s land or inheritance, she seeks refuge where she feels most safe: the Ever Woods. When Britta is caught poaching by the royal guard, instead of facing the noose she is offered a deal: her freedom in exchange for her father’s killer.
However, it’s not so simple.
The alleged killer is none other than Cohen McKay, her father’s former apprentice. The only friend she’s ever known. The boy she once loved who broke her heart. She must go on a dangerous quest in a world of warring kingdoms, mad kings, and dark magic to find the real killer. But Britta wields more power than she knows. And soon she will learn what has always made her different will make her a daunting and dangerous force.

What I Love

Uh? EVERYTHING! I don’t even know where to start. This synopsis has me waiting for a kickass bounty hunter heroine that has to choose between her childhood love and avenging her father’s death. There’s sure to be tough choices, moral ambiguity and a fantastic adventure.

Even if the summary didn’t grab me, that cover is amazing. This book as one of my very favorite covers this year! The second I saw it, I wanted to read this book.

Have you heard of this one? What do you think?

Tags:

Divider