Author: Sarah J. Maas

Top Ten Tuesday #4

Posted December 27, 2016 by Emily in Top 10 / 2 Comments

Top Ten Best Books of 2016!

I know, I know- basic. BUT this book was so amazing and there was no way I was leaving this off the list. I pre-ordered and then procrastinated because I knew it was going to mess with my emotions, but it’s so worth it in the end. I can sum up my greatest love for this series in one word: RHYSAND. 🙂

Top Ten Tuesday #4A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #2
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on May 3rd 2016
Genres: romance, Fantasy
Pages: 640
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people.
Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.
With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas's masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven I can’t say enough about all the good things about this book. I wrote a full review-but the highlights are body positivity, diversity, and the sweet romance.

Top Ten Tuesday #4Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on October 4th 2016
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 391
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Everyone thinks they know Libby Strout, the girl once dubbed “America’s Fattest Teen.” But no one’s taken the time to look past her weight to get to know who she really is. Following her mom’s death, she’s been picking up the pieces in the privacy of her home, dealing with her heartbroken father and her own grief. Now, Libby’s ready: for high school, for new friends, for love, and for every possibility life has to offer. In that moment, I know the part I want to play here at MVB High. I want to be the girl who can do anything. 
Everyone thinks they know Jack Masselin, too. Yes, he’s got swagger, but he’s also mastered the impossible art of giving people what they want, of fitting in. What no one knows is that Jack has a newly acquired secret: he can’t recognize faces. Even his own brothers are strangers to him. He’s the guy who can re-engineer and rebuild anything, but he can’t understand what’s going on with the inner workings of his brain. So he tells himself to play it cool: Be charming. Be hilarious. Don’t get too close to anyone.
Until he meets Libby. When the two get tangled up in a cruel high school game—which lands them in group counseling and community service—Libby and Jack are both pissed, and then surprised. Because the more time they spend together, the less alone they feel. Because sometimes when you meet someone, it changes the world, theirs and yours.

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon Another book with a full review, but this definitely makes my top 2016 reads. I loved the interracial relationship, the own voices representation, and the mix up in traditional gender roles. If you haven’t read this one, you must!

Top Ten Tuesday #4The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
Published by Delacorte Press on November 1st 2016
Genres: Contemporary, romance
Pages: 348
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.
Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.
The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover I’ve heard differing opinions on this book, but I absolutely loved it. It was heartbreaking and felt real to me. I also think it could give strength to women in similar situations.

Top Ten Tuesday #4It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover
Published by Atria Books on August 2nd, 2016
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 367
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

SOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST
Lily hasn't always had it easy, but that's never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She's come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up - she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily's life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.
Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He's also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle's complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.
As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan - her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.
With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.
This book contains graphic scenes and very sensitive subject matter.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin Definitely not a 2016 release, but still one that sucked me into the entire trilogy this year. I loved the mystery and, of course, Noah.

Top Ten Tuesday #4The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
Series: Mara Dyer #1
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on September 27th 2011
Genres: paranormal, romance, Young Adult
Pages: 456
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Mara Dyer believes life can't get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.
She believes there must be more to the accident she can't remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.
There is.
She doesn't believe that after everything she's been through, she can fall in love.
She's wrong.

This one is probably going to be on every list. I can’t help it though. It was perfection. Nina and Matthias’s deep and abiding love will always be one of my favorite romances. Leigh Bardugo made me feel more between them in just a few pages than most authors can in an entire book.

Top Ten Tuesday #4Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows, #2) by Leigh Bardugo
Published by Orion Children's Books on September 27th 2016
Pages: 536
Goodreads

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn't think they'd survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they're right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz's cunning and test the team's fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city's dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.

Speaking of romances, while I may never recover from Nina and Matthais, meeting Mattie and Asa sure helped a lot. This book had the most interesting magic system of any book I read this year. I loved how it was dark and gritty. This is not the romance to read if you want hearts and rainbows. It’s the beginning of a series and it’s one I just couldn’t put down. This one has been a real success story with recommendations too. Every single person I’ve recommended it to has loved it.

Top Ten Tuesday #4Reliquary by Sarah Fine
Series: Reliquary #1
on June 14, 2016
Genres: romance, Fantasy
Pages: 331
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Mattie Carver’s engagement party should have marked the start of her own personal fairy tale. But when her fiancé, Ben, is violently abducted the next morning, her desperate quest to find him rips her away from small-town life and reveals a shattering truth: magic is real—and Ben is hooked. It’s not the stuff of storybooks. It’s wildly addictive, capable of producing everything from hellish anguish to sensual ecstasy almost beyond human endurance.

Determined to find out who took Ben and why, Mattie immerses herself in a shadowy underworld and comes face-to-face with the darkly alluring Asa Ward, a rogue magic dealer, infamous hustler…and her missing fiancé’s estranged brother. Asa has the power to sense magic, and he realizes Mattie is a reliquary, someone with the rare ability to carry magic within her own body, undetected. Asa agrees to help find Ben on one condition: Mattie must use her uncommon talent to assist his smuggling operations. Now, from magic-laced Vegas casinos to the netherworld clubs of Bangkok, Mattie is on a rescue mission. With Asa by her side, she’ll face not only the supernatural forces arrayed against her but the all-too-human temptation that she fears she can’t resist.

I don’t struggle with mental illness but  I have loved ones who do. This book was so eye opening for me. It was heartbreaking to learn about all the tragedy’s in Charlie’s life. I loved seeing her survive and heal.

Top Ten Tuesday #4Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow
Published by Delacorte Press on August 30th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads


START READING!

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.
Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.

This audio book is hands down one of the best I’ve ever read. To take an epistolary novel like Illuminae, which is told in chat logs and drawings and turn it into an audio book is an achievement in itself, but this one goes above and beyond. My favorite character is not any of the main ones but VidTech 7213! Reading the books, I didn’t notice what a distinct voice and personality he has but the audio book allows every character to shine.

Top Ten Tuesday #4Illuminae by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
Series: Illuminae Files #1
Published by Listening Library (Audio) on October 20th 2015
Genres: Sci Fi, Young Adult
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.
This afternoon, her planet was invaded.
The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.
But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet's AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it's clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she'd never speak to again.
Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

This book totally screwed me up in a really good way. It was creepy and unsettling and terrifying at points. I loved how the author made being a stalker and a serial killer almost normal at points because it really made me think about things. Being in the mind of a crazy person and reading the story from his point of view really emphasized how screwed up Joe is.

Top Ten Tuesday #4You by Caroline Kepnes
Series: You #1
Published by Atria/Emily Bestler Books on September 30th 2014
Genres: horror, Thriller
Pages: 422
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.
There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she’ll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a “chance” meeting.
As Joe invisibly and obsessively takes control of Beck’s life, he orchestrates a series of events to ensure Beck finds herself in his waiting arms. Moving from stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck’s perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder.

What were your Top Ten reads of 2016?

Tags:

Divider

Queen of Shadows is finally here!

Posted September 1, 2015 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Special Feature / 4 Comments

I am one of three people on twitter who isn’t caught up enough to read Queen of Shadows today. I know. I know. I’m really hurting right now. PLEASE DON’T SPOIL ME!

Despite that, I have read Throne of Glass and Assassin’s Blade and I’m reading Crown of Midnight right now. I am loving this series and I’m so glad that I don’t have to wait to read the next one when I finish Heir of Fire! There are some perks to discovering a series late!

If you have no idea what series I’m talking about you are in luck! Today I’m part of a release blitz that is giving away the first 3 books  in the series (in paperback format). US only. So if youÂ’d like a chance to win, enter in the Rafflecopter at the bottom of this post. This is your chance to celebrate the hugely anticipated release of the fifth volume of this series by winning the first three!

Plus, if you are caught up but your pre-order hasn’t arrived yet, you can read the first 5 chapters here for free!! Scroll down and check that out! 

Title: QUEEN OF SHADOWS
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Pub. Date: September 1, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Pages: 656
Find it: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks, Goodreads
 
Sarah J. Maas’s New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series reaches new heights in this sweeping fourth volume.
 
Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the
shadows of her past . . .
She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to see her again. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.
Celaena’s epic journey has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions across the
globe. This fourth volume will hold readers rapt as Celaena’s story builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.
 
Read Chapters 1-5 of QUEEN OF SHADOWS HERE!
 
Sarah J. Maas is the author of the New York Times, USA Today, and internationally bestselling Throne of Glass series–Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, and Heir of Fire, and the series’ prequel, The Assassin’s Blade–as well as the New York Times and USA Today bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses. She wrote the first incarnation of the Throne of Glass series when she was just sixteen, and it has now sold in twenty-three
languages. Queen of Shadows, the fourth book in the Throne of Glass series, will release worldwide on September 1st, 2015.
A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husbandand dog. She graduated Magna Cum Laude from Hamilton College in 2008 with a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Religious Studies. 
Connect with the Author: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Tumblr | Pinterest | Instagram| Goodreads
 
 
Giveaway Details:
1 winner will receive the first 3 books (in paperback) in the THRONE OF GLASS Series. US
Only. 
Ends on September 11th at Midnight EST!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tags: , , ,

Divider