Author: Tiffany D. Jackson

Review: Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson

Posted January 10, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments

Review: Allegedly by Tiffany D. JacksonAllegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on January 24th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Mary B. Addison killed a baby.
Allegedly. She didn’t say much in that first interview with detectives, and the media filled in the only blanks that mattered: A white baby had died while under the care of a church-going black woman and her nine-year-old daughter. The public convicted Mary and the jury made it official. But did she do it? She wouldn’t say.
Mary survived six years in baby jail before being dumped in a group home. The house isn’t really “home”—no place where you fear for your life can be considered a home. Home is Ted, who she meets on assignment at a nursing home.
There wasn’t a point to setting the record straight before, but now she’s got Ted—and their unborn child—to think about. When the state threatens to take her baby, Mary must find the voice to fight her past. And her fate lies in the hands of the one person she distrusts the most: her Momma. No one knows the real Momma. But who really knows the real Mary?
In this gritty and haunting debut, Tiffany D. Jackson explores the grey areas in our understanding of justice, family, and truth, and acknowledges the light and darkness alive in all of us.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

My mother is the true crime type and I’ve grown up watching her read books and more recently watch shows about murders. Over time I’ve become a little addicted to them, especially The First 48. Somewhere along the way there have been a couple highlighting children in prison for murder. I think my overall fascination was intensified by these specific shows because I am a teacher and spend my days with not just my daughter, but 42 other kids. The cover of Allegedly caught my attention, but the description is what had me chomping at the bit waiting to read it.

Mary Addison is 16 year old black female. At age 9 she was accused of murdering a 3 month old white baby while she and her mother were babysitting her. After spending years in “baby jail” where she spent most of her time in confinement because the facility didn’t know what to do with her, she has been moved into a group home with other teenage delinquents. Her social skills make her appear as if she isn’t very bright when in reality she is highly intelligent. She rarely speaks and at times is a target for the other girls in the home. Her one reprieve is her volunteer job at a nursing home where she met her boyfriend, Ted, who is also a teenager in a group home.

After experiencing nausea and a late period, Mary finds out that she’s expecting a baby. She quickly realizes that because of her charges from the age of 9 her baby will be taken away from her immediately. After 7 years she finally speaks out about the events that took place the night of the murder. The new girl in the group home brings her to the office of an attorney, Ms. Cora, who coincidentally had followed and doubted Mary’s involvement in the murder for years prior to this. She finally tells the story from beginning to end and an appeal is made.

Along the way she faces several road bumps, but I was always rooting her on, wanting the best for her. While some of the writing was repetitive, I attributed that to the voice of Mary and not so much a lack of writing ability of the author. One part of the story that was eye opening and enlightening was her experience in the state foster system and the fears she had when it came to turning 18 and where she would go from there. It’s sad to consider somebody with no family and no support needing to find their way in this complicated life of adulthood.

Without any spoilers, all I can say is that even if it seems predictable at times, I was surprised by how things ended. I don’t know if a full sequel would be good, but a definite epilogue would be interesting to read to see how everything eventually turned out!

four-stars

Tags:

Divider

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016

Posted November 29, 2016 by Emily in Events and Features, Top 10 / 9 Comments

10 Contemporary Books to Buy to add Diversity to Your Bookshelf

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016All American Boys by Jason Reynolds, Brendan Kiely
Published by Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books on September 29th 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads
Pages: 316
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Rashad is absent again today.
That’s the sidewalk graffiti that started it all…
Well, no, actually, a lady tripping over Rashad at the store, making him drop a bag of chips, was what started it all. Because it didn’t matter what Rashad said next—that it was an accident, that he wasn’t stealing—the cop just kept pounding him. Over and over, pummeling him into the pavement. So then Rashad, an ROTC kid with mad art skills, was absent again…and again…stuck in a hospital room. Why? Because it looked like he was stealing. And he was a black kid in baggy clothes. So he must have been stealing.
And that’s how it started.
And that’s what Quinn, a white kid, saw. He saw his best friend’s older brother beating the daylights out of a classmate. At first Quinn doesn’t tell a soul…He’s not even sure he understands it. And does it matter? The whole thing was caught on camera, anyway. But when the school—and nation—start to divide on what happens, blame spreads like wildfire fed by ugly words like “racism” and “police brutality.” Quinn realizes he’s got to understand it, because, bystander or not, he’s a part of history. He just has to figure out what side of history that will be.
Rashad and Quinn—one black, one white, both American—face the unspeakable truth that racism and prejudice didn’t die after the civil rights movement. There’s a future at stake, a future where no one else will have to be absent because of police brutality. They just have to risk everything to change the world.
Cuz that’s how it can end.

This book is so relevant to some of the social issues we’re facing in the United States today. I loved the dual perspectives because it made the story not just relatable, but easier to understand because I am white. I highly, highly recommend this one for all ages and races.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016Ghost by Jason Reynolds
Published by Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books on August 30th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads
Pages: 192
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

A National Book Award Finalist for Young People’s Literature.
Ghost wants to be the fastest sprinter on his elite middle school track team, but his past is slowing him down in this first electrifying novel of a brand-new series from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe Award–winning author Jason Reynolds.
Ghost. Lu. Patina. Sunny. Four kids from wildly different backgrounds with personalities that are explosive when they clash. But they are also four kids chosen for an elite middle school track team—a team that could qualify them for the Junior Olympics if they can get their acts together. They all have a lot to lose, but they also have a lot to prove, not only to each other, but to themselves.
Ghost has a crazy natural talent, but no formal training. If he can stay on track, literally and figuratively, he could be the best sprinter in the city. But Ghost has been running for the wrong reasons—it all starting with running away from his father, who, when Ghost was a very little boy, chased him and his mother through their apartment, then down the street, with a loaded gun, aiming to kill. Since then, Ghost has been the one causing problems—and running away from them—until he meets Coach, an ex-Olympic Medalist who blew his own shot at success by using drugs, and who is determined to keep other kids from blowing their shots at life.

This is a middle grades book, but it is so good! If you have kids, are a teacher, or just want some insight on a tween boy who grew up under rough circumstances but found a positive outlet in running track, pick this up.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on January 24th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

This is a heart wrenching kind of book. I enjoy a lot of true crime shows and have found myself watching documentaries on kids being accused of committing murder at  young age, so I was drawn to this one immediately. Mary is black and was accused at age 9 of killing a 3 month old baby and now after years of time in “baby jail” and a treacherous group home she finds out she’s pregnant. This book shows that sometimes the whole story isn’t told and you can’t always judge a person based on appearances.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
Published by Delacorte Press on November 1st 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.
Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.
The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

I love this book so much. Definitely top 5 of 2016 for me. A mixture of fate, logic, and interracial love is just the beginning of what makes this book fantastic.

 

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on October 4th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads
Pages: 391
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Everyone thinks they know Libby Strout, the girl once dubbed “America’s Fattest Teen.” But no one’s taken the time to look past her weight to get to know who she really is. Following her mom’s death, she’s been picking up the pieces in the privacy of her home, dealing with her heartbroken father and her own grief. Now, Libby’s ready: for high school, for new friends, for love, and for every possibility life has to offer. In that moment, I know the part I want to play here at MVB High. I want to be the girl who can do anything. 
Everyone thinks they know Jack Masselin, too. Yes, he’s got swagger, but he’s also mastered the impossible art of giving people what they want, of fitting in. What no one knows is that Jack has a newly acquired secret: he can’t recognize faces. Even his own brothers are strangers to him. He’s the guy who can re-engineer and rebuild anything, but he can’t understand what’s going on with the inner workings of his brain. So he tells himself to play it cool: Be charming. Be hilarious. Don’t get too close to anyone.
Until he meets Libby. When the two get tangled up in a cruel high school game—which lands them in group counseling and community service—Libby and Jack are both pissed, and then surprised. Because the more time they spend together, the less alone they feel. Because sometimes when you meet someone, it changes the world, theirs and yours.

America’s formerly fattest teen ends up back in school after several years of being out and becomes a target of Fat Girl Rodeo. Little does she know that one of the boys who targeted her suffers from prosopagnosia. When they have to serve a sort of detention together, they discover things about themselves and each other.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera
Published by Soho Teen on June 2nd 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads, LGBT
Pages: 293
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

In his twisty, gritty, profoundly moving debut—called “mandatory reading” by the New York Times—Adam Silvera brings to life a charged, dangerous near-future summer in the Bronx.
In the months after his father's suicide, it's been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again--but he's still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he's slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely.
When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron's crew notices, and they're not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can't deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends. Since Aaron can't stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute's revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is.
Why does happiness have to be so hard?

Recommended by my dear friend, MC from Blame the Books & Cornerfolds, More Happy Than Not is not one that I have personally read but is on my upcoming TBR. This book is focused on a teenage boy overcoming the heartache associated with his father’s suicide. He meets another boy and starts to feel happiness again despite others’ weariness.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin
Published by Balzer + Bray on February 2nd 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads, LGBT
Pages: 352
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The first thing you’re going to want to know about me is: Am I a boy, or am I a girl?
Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. The thing is…Riley isn’t exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in uber-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley’s so-called “normal” life.
On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it’s REALLY like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley’s starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley’s real identity, threatening exposure. Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

Another recommendation by MC! This is about a gender fluid teen who feels female  some days and male other days. However, she hasn’t come out yet and is encouraged to make a blog as a way of dealing with her feelings. It started anonymously, but someone discovered her identity and has threatened to out her. She has a decision to make!

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry
Published by Razorbill on January 26th 2016
Genres: Magical Realism
Pages: 396
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Natalie Cleary must risk her future and leap blindly into a vast unknown for the chance to build a new world with the boy she loves.
Natalie’s last summer in her small Kentucky hometown is off to a magical start... until she starts seeing the “wrong things.” They’re just momentary glimpses at first—her front door is red instead of its usual green, there’s a pre-school where the garden store should be. But then her whole town disappears for hours, fading away into rolling hills and grazing buffalo, and Nat knows something isn’t right.
That’s when she gets a visit from the kind but mysterious apparition she calls “Grandmother,” who tells her: “You have three months to save him.” The next night, under the stadium lights of the high school football field, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau, and it’s as if time just stops and nothing exists. Nothing, except Natalie and Beau.
Emily Henry’s stunning debut novel is Friday Night Lights meets The Time Traveler’s Wife, and perfectly captures those bittersweet months after high school, when we dream not only of the future, but of all the roads and paths we’ve left untaken.

The diverse representation in this book centers on Native American heritage and culture. It’s mostly contemporary with a bit of fantasy, but the blend and balance is so unusual and makes for an awesome read.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016Wonder by R.J. Palacio
Published by Knopf on February 14th 2012
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads
Pages: 320
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.
August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He's about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you've ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie's just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, despite appearances?
R. J. Palacio has written a spare, warm, uplifting story that will have readers laughing one minute and wiping away tears the next. With wonderfully realistic family interactions (flawed, but loving), lively school scenes, and short chapters, Wonder is accessible to readers of all levels.

This is another middle grades book, but it’s truly powerful. Auggie suffers from facial anomalies and was homeschooled for most of his life. When he finally goes to public school in fifth grade, he faces a lot of criticism. In the end, he teaches the entire fifth grade and those around him a valuable lesson on seeing beyond a person’s disabilities.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern
Published by HarperTeen on June 3rd 2014
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 218
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

John Green's The Fault in Our Stars meets Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park in this beautifully written, incredibly honest, and emotionally poignant novel. Cammie McGovern's insightful young adult debut is a heartfelt and heartbreaking story about how we can all feel lost until we find someone who loves us because of our faults, not in spite of them.
Born with cerebral palsy, Amy can't walk without a walker, talk without a voice box, or even fully control her facial expressions. Plagued by obsessive-compulsive disorder, Matthew is consumed with repeated thoughts, neurotic rituals, and crippling fear. Both in desperate need of someone to help them reach out to the world, Amy and Matthew are more alike than either ever realized.
When Amy decides to hire student aides to help her in her senior year at Coral Hills High School, these two teens are thrust into each other's lives. As they begin to spend time with each other, what started as a blossoming friendship eventually grows into something neither expected.

I haven’t read this, but have heard a ton of great things about this book. It’s based on a teen with cerabyl Palsy and another student with crippling OCD.

Tags:

Divider

Top Ten Tuesday: 1

Top Ten Tuesday: 1

Ten Books I’ve Added To My To-Be-Read List Lately Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish 1. This is the newest book added to my TBR! I was cruising IG and came across a post by Uppercase and read in her comment thread that this was a Robin Hood, but with a female MC. My interest was piqued immediately! I absolutely love retellings and I can’t wait, even though it will be potentially for another 8 months for this one! 2. I heard about this books quite a few months ago and wanted to read it then. The pictures of the new ARCs reminded me that it was coming soon and I officially added it to Goodreads. Black Lives Matter is such an important movement right now and as a white woman I find it essential to read everything I can that will help me understand things that will open my eyes to others’ realities. I’m looking forward to this one. Hurry up February! 3. Wait for Me is by one of the Swanky 17’s author. I love historical fiction with a bit of romance, so when I read the description it was an immediate “Want to Read” for me. I also love reading and supporting debut authors, so it’s a win-win. 4. The cover of this book has caught my attention […]

Posted November 8, 2016 by Kendice in Events and Features, Top 10 / 1 Comment
Divider