Format: Paperback

The Dark Divide

Posted April 17, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 0 Comments

The Dark DivideThe Dark Divide by Danika Stone
Series: Waterton #2
Published by Stonehouse on April 10th 2018
Genres: Thriller, mystery, Adult
Pages: 339
Format: Paperback
Source: the author
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Waterton is a town with dark secrets, and after a summer of murder and mayhem, American ex-pat, Rich Evans, knows exactly how far people will go to hide them. Jobless after the fiery destruction of the hotel he once managed, Rich is charged with arson. Only one person, local mechanic Louise "Lou" Newman, believes in his innocence. But even Lou's love and support can't dispel the darkness that's spreading through the community. Dead animals appear on porches, strangers threaten the safety of the locals, and a fingerprint from the fire is linked to a decades-old murder.

The lonely border town has a new danger: a murderer willing to do anything to protect a web of secrets that links them to the arson.

As the risk of jail or death increases, Rich turns to Lou for guidance and she finds herself in an impossible position. Lou has her own secrets! Does she protect the border town where she grew up, or side with the man she loves... even if it means she can never tell him the truth about herself?

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review

Edge of Wild was a real surprise when I read it last year.  When I was reading it, I loved all the different characters and especially Lou. The only thing that I thought it was missing was more information about Lou. I wanted a companion novel that focused more on Lou in the future.

The Dark Divide is even better than a companion. It’s a direct sequel that not only focuses more on Lou and her secrets, but also reveals more about the scrappy cast of characters in the town of Waterford itself. I couldn’t be happier about this book if I special ordered it. It’s almost as if Danika Stone wrote it specifically for me! I wanted more and voilà, it appears in my mailbox! Magic!

Seriously though, The Dark Divide was perfect. It answered all of my nagging suspicions that I was left with at the end of Edge of Wild. Waterton is very isolationist. They don’t appreciate outsiders trying to move in on their territory. It’s more than just a small town mentality and the explanation was perfect. I really enjoyed how the town’s history is affecting them still today. Lou is still far and away my favorite character of the series. She’s willing to fight for what she wants and she’s strong. She’s had to be to run her mechanic shop alone. Mostly, though, I envy the way that she can go with the flow and take things as they come. I wish I could let go and just be that way.

Since The Dark Divide was the special ordered sequel of my dreams, next I would like to request a Spin off novel starring Hunter and Levi. Hunter needs to find love and Levi is the perfect crotchety old man. Looking forward to seeing it in 2019. 😀

Divider

I love Aesthetics! When they are well done, they give such a great feeling about the topic. The Aesthetic that Danika put together for The Dark Divide is perfect. Lou is a little mysterious. Waterton is gorgeous, yet slightly foreboding. Rich is handsome and rugged but still sensitive. This really gets you in the right mood to dive into The Dark Divide.

The Dark Divide Novel Aesthetic

The Dark Divide is one of those books where I definitely had a clear vision of what I wanted my characters and setting to be. Physically, Rich was based on a young Sir Edmund Hillary while Louise tended to look more like Kristen Kreuk (in my head, at least!) The setting had more to do with mood than actual location. Waterton Park, Alberta is a real place, but the setting for The Dark Divide needed to be moodier. Put all those pieces together and you get… THIS!


Divider

About the Author

Danika Stone is an author, artist, and educator who discovered a passion for writing fiction while in the throes of her Masters thesis. A self-declared bibliophile, Danika now writes novels for both teens: INTERNET FAMOUS (Macmillan, 2017) and ALL THE FEELS (Macmillan, 2016); and adults THE DARK DIVIDE (Stonehouse, 2018) and EDGE OF WILD (Stonehouse, 2016).

Ms. Stone’s work has received both recognition and literary praise. In 2017, Chapters included EDGE OF WILD in “Our Favourite Canadian Fiction”, and INTERNET FAMOUS was nominated for the R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature (2018) as well as selected as one of Fierce Reads’ “9 Perfect Summertime Reads” (2017). EDGE OF WILD (previously entitled TATHAGATA) was a quarter-finalist in Amazon’s Breakthrough Novel of the Year Award (2013), a finalist in the Horatio Nelson Fiction Prize (2015), and took second place in the Publish or Perish contest (2015). ALL THE FEELS was selected for Swoon Reads’ fourth list (2015) and was nominated for YALSA’s Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers (2016), and for CYBILS’ Children’s and Young Adult Bloggers’ Literary Awards (2016).

Ms. Stone’s books have been reviewed by VOYA, Teen Reads, and School Library Journal. Danika has also featured in the BN Teen Blog, Clash, Quillable, Fierce Reads, Lethbridge Living Magazine, CJSR’s Word, and on CBC’s Daybreak.

When not writing, Danika can be found hiking in the Rockies, planning grand adventures, and spending far too much time online. She lives with her husband, three sons, and a houseful of imaginary characters in a windy corner of Alberta, Canada.

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

Rockstar Review: Shadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland and Michael Miller

Posted April 9, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 0 Comments

Rockstar Review: Shadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland and Michael Miller

Rockstar Review: Shadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland and Michael MillerShadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland, Michael Miller
Series: Kaitan Chronicles #2
Published by Delacorte Press on April 17th 2018
Genres: Sci Fi, Fantasy
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

His throne. Her rebellion. Their war.

Qole is the youngest starship captain in living memory on her homeworld of Alaxak and has spent her life hunting a dangerous energy source called Shadow. Alaxans distrust and evade the galaxy’s royalty as a rule, but Qole is now harboring the exiled Prince Nevarian Dracorte, along with some very conflicting feelings about it—and him.

Nev’s feelings are just as complicated, but not towards her. When it comes to Qole, he knows one thing: he’d do anything to stay with her. But when Alaxak is attacked and Nev finds himself framed for murder, he realizes the only way to help Qole and her people is to fight for the throne that should be his. To become the royal she might hate.

As for Qole, she would never have imagined herself as the leader of a rebellion. Despite that, she soon realizes that hiding from her power is no longer an option. It’s time to answer the call, even if it kills her.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Don’t forget the first book!

Rockstar Review: Shadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland and Michael MillerShadow Run by AdriAnne Strickland, Michael Miller
Series: Kaitan Chronicles #1
Published by Delacorte Press on March 21st 2017
Genres: Sci Fi, Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 390
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Nev has just joined the crew of the starship Kaitan Heritage as the cargo loader. His captain, Qole, is the youngest-ever person to command her own ship, but she brooks no argument from her crew of orphans, fugitives, and con men. Nev can't resist her, even if her ship is an antique.

As for Nev, he's a prince, in hiding on the ship. He believes Qole holds the key to changing galactic civilization, and when her cooperation proves difficult to obtain, Nev resolves to get her to his home planet by any means necessary.

But before they know it, a rival royal family is after Qole too, and they're more interested in stealing her abilities than in keeping her alive.

Nev's mission to manipulate Qole becomes one to save her, and to survive, she'll have to trust her would-be kidnapper. He may be royalty, but Qole is discovering a deep reservoir of power--and stars have mercy on whoever tries to hurt her ship or her crew.

Review

Pacing in sequels can be very difficult! It’s hard to know what the right amount of action is when an author is stretching the story into three or more books. Book two can definitely drag sometimes. Shadow Call doesn’t fall prey to this curse though. It’s action packed and fast moving. It held up to the standard that Shadow Run set in book one.

I loved all the characters. Coming back to them was like running into old friends. Nev and Qole are of course my favorites but all the of the supporting characters really keep the book running. Arjan and Eton are back with Telu and Basra. Unfortunately, there are ramifications and lots of hard feelings left over from the results of Shadow Run. A great cast of characters makes the book for me and this book did not disappoint.

Divider

Elsewhere

Divider

About the Author

ADRIANNE STRICKLAND and MICHAEL MILLER met in their hometown of Palmer, Alaska, where they agreed on 99% of book taste and thus decided to write together. Adri spends her summers as a commercial fisherwoman in Bristol Bay, Alaska, and the rest of the year writing. Michael grew up off the grid in a homestead in Alaska and now works in IT and tech. This is their second book together.

Find AdriAnne:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Find Michael:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Divider

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

3 winners will receive a finished copy of SHADOW CALL, US Only.

Ends on May 4th at Midnight EST!

Divider

Follow the Tour

Week One:

4/2/2018- Here’s to Happy Endings– Review
4/3/2018- Wonder Struck– Review
4/4/2018- Rhythmicbooktrovert – Review
4/5/2018- Jena Brown Writes– Review
4/6/2018- YA Obsessed– Review

Week Two:

4/9/2018- Emily Reads Everything– Review
4/10/2018- laura’s bookish corner– Review
4/11/2018- Literary Meanderings– Excerpt
4/12/2018- Two Chicks on Books– Excerpt
4/13/2018- Good Choice Reading– Review

Week Three:

4/16/2018- Rachel’s Book Reviews– Review
4/17/2018- Skye’s Scribblings– Review
4/18/2018- BookHounds YA– Excerpt
4/19/2018- The Desert Bibliophile– Review
4/20/2018- Seeing Double in Neverland– Excerpt

Week Four:

4/23/2018- Book-Keeping– Review
4/24/2018- lori’s little house of reviews– Review
4/25/2018- Books at Dawn– Excerpt
4/26/2018- Read. Eat. Love.– Review
4/27/2018- MNBernard Books– Excerpt

Week Five:

4/30/2018- Smada’s Book Smack– Review

 

four-stars

Tags: , , ,

Divider

FFBC Review: The Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco

FFBC Review: The Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco

The Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco Series: The Bone Witch #2 Published by Sourcebooks Fire on March 20th 2018 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult Pages: 400 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads In The Bone Witch, Tea mastered resurrection―now she’s after revenge… No one knows death like Tea. A bone witch who can resurrect the dead, she has the power to take life…and return it. And she is done with her self-imposed exile. Her heart is set on vengeance, and she now possesses all she needs to command the mighty daeva. With the help of these terrifying beasts, she can finally enact revenge against the royals who wronged her―and took the life of her one true love. But there are those who plot against her, those who would use Tea’s dark power for their own nefarious ends. Because you can’t kill someone who can never die… War is brewing among the kingdoms, and when dark magic is at play, no one is safe. I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Oh my gosh! The Bone Witch was one of my favorite reads last year. I loved the flash forward style, ALL of the Asha and Tea, the unreliable narrator. The Heart Forger has cemented it. […]

Posted March 25, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 1 Comment
Divider

FFBC Review: Active Memory by Dan Wells

FFBC Review: Active Memory by Dan Wells

Active Memory by Dan Wells Series: Mirador #3 Published by Balzer + Bray on February 13th 2018 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult Pages: 400 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads From Dan Wells, author of the New York Times bestselling Partials Sequence and the John Cleaver series, comes the third and final book in the dark, pulse-pounding, sci-fi neo-noir series that began with the acclaimed novel Bluescreen. For all the mysteries teen hacker Marisa Carneseca has solved, there has been one that has always eluded her: the truth behind the car accident in which she lost her arm and a mob boss’ wife, Zenaida de Maldonado, lost her life. Even in a world where technology exists to connect everyone’s mind to one another, it would seem that some secrets can still remain hidden. Those secrets rise violently to the surface, however, when Zenaida de Maldonado’s freshly severed hand shows up at the scene of a gangland shooting. If Zenaida is—or was—still alive, it means there’s even more about Marisa’s past that she doesn’t know. And when she and her friends start digging, they uncover a conspiracy that runs from the slums of Los Angeles to the very top of the world’s most powerful genetic engineering firm. If Mari wants the truth, she’s going to have to go through genetically enhanced agents, irritatingly attractive mob scions, and some […]

Posted February 23, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 0 Comments
Divider

How to write a book when you live with your parents

How to write a book when you live with your parents

By: S. Usher Evans *** From Emily*** Sush has started an incredible campaign to be debt free by selling books and flipping houses. Her house flipping Instagram is fantastic. (https://www.instagram.com/housesfullofwhit/) Plus she’s prolific author. Demon Spring is her third series but she has books planned out til 2020! She’s the only person I know who has such a concrete plan for her life. I admire her for it so much! Her story is incredible and she’s here today to share with us a little bit about how she makes it work*** Hi, I’m Sush, I’m 31, and I live with my parents.  No, I’m not your typical millennial. I’m a house-flipping full-time author, and I decided about a year ago to sell my house, move in with my folks temporarily, and then buy and flip houses until I could live without a mortgage plus have a few renters on the side. While I could write a novel on what I learned this year alone with house flipping, today I want to talk about how I was able to complete my latest series, Demon Spring, while living with my folks. My folks are wonderful people and I am eternally grateful that I was able to live with them so I could position myself into a more debt-free life. However, after living by myself since 2011, having other humans in the […]

Posted February 19, 2018 by Emily in Events and Features, Guest Post / 0 Comments
Divider

SST Guest Post: C.V.Wyk’s Book Recommendations 

SST Guest Post: C.V.Wyk’s Book Recommendations 

I’m so glad that I can host C.V. Wyk’s book recommendations. There’s no greater compliment than when someone comes back and says that they loved the book I recommended! I love a lot of these, some I haven’t read and a few, well, we will have to agree to disagree. What do you think about C.V Wyk’s favorite books? With most things, I think variety is the key when it comes to reading. Everyone has a favorite genre, but reading outside of your comfort zone or preferences is always a good idea, too. Books are the cheapest form of travel, so why not go somewhere you’ve never been? To that end, I’ve broken down my list of books that I think everyone should read by category and genre.  Fantasy: This is my personal favorite, so I thought I’d start here. If you prefer the fantasy side of things, I think the Avalon series by Marion Zimmer Bradley and the Sevenwaters series by Juliet Marillier offer rare female-centric narratives as well as magic and folklore. Phillip Pullman’s His Dark Materials is the adventure story you need after finishing The Hobbit, and it’s one of those rare series that crosses sci-fi, fantasy, and MG fiction. More recent favorites of mine are V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic series and Neil Gaiman’s Stardust. Sci-fi: One incredible element of great sci-fi is allegory. Even stories that are set 10,000 years into the future can […]

Posted January 28, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Guest Post / 0 Comments
Divider

Nice Try Jane Sinner by Lianne Oelke: Spotlight & Giveaway

Nice Try Jane Sinner by Lianne Oelke: Spotlight & Giveaway

Nice Try, Jane Sinner by Lianne Oelke Published by Clarion Books on January 9th 2018 Genres: Young Adult Pages: 432 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads The only thing 17-year-old Jane Sinner hates more than failure is pity. After a personal crisis and her subsequent expulsion from high school, she’s going nowhere fast. Jane’s well-meaning parents push her to attend a high school completion program at the nearby Elbow River Community College, and she agrees, on one condition: she gets to move out.   Jane tackles her housing problem by signing up for House of Orange, a student-run reality show that is basically Big Brother, but for Elbow River Students. Living away from home, the chance to win a car (used, but whatever), and a campus full of people who don’t know what she did in high school… what more could she want? Okay, maybe a family that understands why she’d rather turn to Freud than Jesus to make sense of her life, but she’ll settle for fifteen minutes in the proverbial spotlight.   As House of Orange grows from a low-budget web series to a local TV show with fans and shoddy T-shirts, Jane finally has the chance to let her cynical, competitive nature thrive. She’ll use her growing fan base, and whatever Intro to Psychology can teach her, to prove to the world—or at least viewers of substandard TV—that she has what it takes to win. I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does […]

Posted January 1, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 3 Comments
Divider

Rockstar Review and GIVEAWAY: Ever the Brave by Erin Summerill

Rockstar Review and GIVEAWAY: Ever the Brave by Erin Summerill

Ever the Brave by Erin Summerill Series: Clash of Kingdoms #2 Published by HMH Books for Young Readers on December 5th 2017 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult Pages: 464 Format: Paperback Source: Free for Review, the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Ever the Divided. Ever the Feared. Ever the Brave.After saving King Aodren with her newfound Channeler powers, Britta only wants to live a peaceful life in her childhood home. Unfortunately, saving the King has created a tether between them she cannot sever, no matter how much she’d like to, and now he’s insisting on making her a noble lady. And there are those who want to use Britta’s power for evil designs. If Britta cannot find a way to harness her new magical ability, her life—as well as her country—may be lost. The stakes are higher than ever in the sequel to Ever the Hunted, as Britta struggles to protect her kingdom and her heart. I received this book for free from Free for Review, the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.This is a SEQUEL! I reviewed the first book, Ever the Hunted, last December I enjoyed Ever the Brave, but not as much as the original. My old favorite characters were there. I love Britta and Cohen. However, now that Britta has […]

Posted December 4, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Rockstar Arc Review: Into the Black by Ava Jae

Rockstar Arc Review: Into the Black by Ava Jae

Into the Black by Ava Jae Series: Beyond The Red #2 Published by Sky Pony Press on November 14th 2017 Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult Pages: 360 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads The world ruler is dead, technology foundational to their society destroyed, and Safara is on the brink of collapse. Half-human, half-alien Eros is the rightful heir to the world throne, but before he can return to the capital, he’s abducted by a rebel group of humans who call themselves The Remnant–and won’t release him until he swears to help them overthrow the very government he’s inheriting. With Eros missing, ex-queen Kora is determined to stave off mad grabs for the throne. But as royalty from across the territories flock to the capital, and a new charismatic candidate takes the spotlight, Kora sets off into the desert with a skilled prince-turned-bounty hunter to find Eros before it’s too late for both the future king and his kingdom. I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.YES YES YES YES When I reviewed Beyond the Red last year, I said that the only thing wrong with it was that it was a stand alone novel. I really felt like the story wasn’t finished and […]

Posted November 14, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Review & Giveaway: First We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy

Review & Giveaway: First We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy

First We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on July 25th 2017 Genres: Young Adult Pages: 448 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads It started for pranks, fun, and forever memories.A secret society – for the four of us. The rules: Never lie. Never tell. Love each other.We made the pledge and danced under the blood moon on the meteorite in the orchard. In the spot we found the dead girl five years earlier. And discovered the ancient drawings way before that. Nothing could break the four of us apart – I thought.But then, others wanted in. Our seaside town had secrets. History.We wanted revenge.We broke the rules. We lied. We told. We loved each other too much, not enough, and in ways we weren’t supposed to. Our invention ratcheted out of control.What started as a secret society, ended as justice. Revenge. Death. Rebellion. I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Barnes & Noble | Book Depository I’m the worst kind of mystery reader. Generally about halfway through with the story, I get bored and decide to flip to the end to find out who the killer is. I don’t know why but i’m usually not […]

Posted July 12, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 5 Comments
Divider