Genre: Adult

Review: Prancing Around with Sleeping Beauty

Posted March 6, 2018 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment

Review: Prancing Around with Sleeping BeautyPrancing Around With Sleeping Beauty by Stacy Juba
Series: Storybook Valley #2
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on March 5th 2018
Genres: Adult, romance
Pages: 240
Format: ebook
Source: the author
Buy on Amazon

his Sleeping Beauty isn’t sure she wants to wake up…

Dance instructor Rory Callahan likes to play it safe. When she meets Kyle, he’s impulsive, persistent, and her exact opposite. He’s pushing her to tango way past her comfort zone and keeping Rory on her toes more than twenty years of dance teachers ever had.

Unfortunately, he’s the grandson of her family’s archrival and she doesn’t want to disappoint them. After all, her parents imagine her as a proper princess - hence her namesake Aurora, AKA Sleeping Beauty. Complicating matters, Rory’s also dealing with a surgeon boyfriend who’s perfect for her (sort of), an obnoxious boss, and desperate dance moms. Kyle wants to change her whole life, but Rory doesn’t like the stakes. After all, princesses are the ones who get the happy endings. . .aren’t they?

This sweet romantic comedy is a standalone and can be read on its own. All books in the series can be read in any order so jump in at any time.Welcome to Storybook Valley...Your Vacation Escape

The Storybook Valley books are the perfect beach reads. If you love small town romance, theme parks, fairy tale fun, and amazing love stories, then Storybook Valley will be your new favorite series. Look for the feel-good first novel in the series, Fooling Around With Cinderella.

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

When I reviewed Fooling Around with Cinderella I talked about how it fit perfectly into my obsession with series books. I love long in-depth romance series in which all the couples are intertwined. I love how you get to see how the previous couples are still happy and progressing while you read about a new couple falling in love. Prancing Around with Sleeping Beauty was a perfect continuation in this theme.

This book was so cute. I loved Rory and her penchant to play it safe. Somedays, I wish I was like that. However, when I think about my life, I’m probably more of a risk taker. I once moved across the country, 3 days after my wedding, to attend a graduate program that I wasn’t yet accepted to, in a uhaul van, with no where to move into. Everything worked out for the best but I’m definitely one to put my faith in the future and blindly jump. Rory on the other hand, is willing to put aside her own happiness for the illusion of safety. She has a wet blanket surgeon for a boyfriend and a safe job that she hates at an ultra competitive dance studio. Luckily, she also has Kyle Thorne, the grandson of a rival theme park owner and family nemesis, to shake things up.

This book was exactly what I needed. I was in a massive slump. I hadn’t read all month. Then I picked up this book and it gave me a huge burst of energy. It’s fun and energetic and bright, everything you want in a romance novel. Plus it was a hilarious, quick read. I finished it in one sitting but it’s been on my mind ever since.

About the Author

Stacy Juba got engaged at Epcot Theme Park and spent part of her honeymoon at Disneyland Paris, where she ate a burger, went on fast rides, and threw up on the train ride to the hotel. In addition to working on her Storybook Valley chick lit/sweet romance series, Stacy has written books about ice hockey, teen psychics, U.S. flag etiquette for kids, and determined women sleuths. Stacy is also the founder of the Glass Slipper Sisters, a group of authors with fairytale-themed romance novels. When she’s not visiting theme parks with her family, (avoiding rides that spin and exotic hamburgers) or writing about them, Stacy helps authors to strengthen their manuscripts through her Crossroads Editing Service. She is currently writing the next book in the Storybook Valley Series.





How to write a book when you live with your parents

Posted February 19, 2018 by Emily in Events and Features, Guest Post / 0 Comments

By: S. Usher Evans

*** From Emily*** Sush has started an incredible campaign to be debt free by selling books and flipping houses. Her house flipping Instagram is fantastic. ( Plus she’s prolific author. Demon Spring is her third series but she has books planned out til 2020! She’s the only person I know who has such a concrete plan for her life. I admire her for it so much! Her story is incredible and she’s here today to share with us a little bit about how she makes it work***

Hi, I’m Sush, I’m 31, and I live with my parents. 

No, I’m not your typical millennial. I’m a house-flipping full-time author, and I decided about a year ago to sell my house, move in with my folks temporarily, and then buy and flip houses until I could live without a mortgage plus have a few renters on the side. While I could write a novel on what I learned this year alone with house flipping, today I want to talk about how I was able to complete my latest series, Demon Spring, while living with my folks.

My folks are wonderful people and I am eternally grateful that I was able to live with them so I could position myself into a more debt-free life. However, after living by myself since 2011, having other humans in the house was definitely a change. Writing, for me anyway, has always been something done in private. And not only that, when I’m anxious, I have a hard time focusing (which leads to more anxiety). Living with a retired mom who’s always around has been a challenge.

But it’s not insurmountable. So I’ve listed a few coping mechanisms I’ve developed that helped me stay on track this year.

  1. Noise-canceling Bluetooth headphones

This one kind of goes without saying. The nice thing about Bluetooth headphones is you can get up and walk around with them on. So you don’t get the interruption to your music when you get up to munch.

  1. Classical music

I have ADD (or whatever they’re calling it now), so sometimes, music with lyrics just distracts me further. When I’m feeling especially scattered, I’ll go with some classical music on Pandora. A few months ago, I bought the London Symphony Orchestra’s 50 greatest classical pieces. That way, I can turn off the internet when things get tough, and still have my Carmen.

  1. Have your own space

To make matters more complicated, I work from home. The first thing I did when I moved into my parents’ house was to set up an office. A place with a monitor and keyboard and my stuff where I can plug in my laptop, close the door, and get to work. The dogs, of course, come barging right in. But the space is mine.

  1. Starbucks

There’s something about leaving the house, going to a coffee shop, and plugging in your headphones that knocks all the anxious, unfocused thoughts out of my brain. I wrote probably three quarters of Demon Spring at the Gulf Breeze Starbucks. Find a routine that works for you—and use those free rewards when you get them.

  1. Give yourself a break

Especially if you’re in a temporary space, you have to allow yourself the space to fail. Some days, the anxiety and the noise was too great, and words didn’t get written. Some days, I spent the day holed up in my room with headphones to catch up. The point is: you’ve got this. Just maybe not as perfectly as you envisioned when you came up with this crazy scheme.


About the Book

How to write a book when you live with your parentsResurgence by S. Usher Evans
Series: Demon Spring #1
Published by Sun's Golden Ray Publishing on February 20th 2018
Genres: Adult, Urban Fantasy
Format: Paperback
Source: the author
Buy on Amazon

Demon hunter Jack Grenard's life changed three years ago when his wife was brutally murdered by the very demons he'd been hunting. At the urging of his partner Cam Macarro, he's starting a new life in Atlanta, hoping he'll find the man he used to be. But on a routine hunt, they come across a new type of demon--one that saves instead of kills.

Meanwhile, demons across Atlanta are preparing for the quadrennial uprising of their Underworld brethren. Worse yet, there's a rumor the so-called king of the demons, Bael, will appear for the first time in over a century. Jack and Cam must uncover the truth about the mystery woman before all hell--literally--breaks loose.

Resurgence is the first in a new Urban Fantasy trilogy from S. Usher Evans, author of the Madion War Trilogy, Razia, and Lexie Carrigan Chronicles. It will be released by Sun's Golden Ray Publishing in February 2018.

Amazon – Barnes and Noble – IndieBound – Book Depository


About the Author

S. Usher Evans is an author, blogger, and witty banter aficionado. Born in Pensacola, Florida, she left the sleepy town behind for the fast-paced world of Washington, D.C.. There, she somehow landed jobs with BBC, Discovery Channel, and National Geographic Television before finally settling into a “real job” as an IT consultant. After a quarter life crisis at age 27, she decided consulting was for the birds and rekindled a childhood passion for writing novels. She sold everything she owned and moved back to Pensacola, where she currently resides with her two dogs, Zoe and Mr. Biscuit.

Evans is the author of the Razia series, Madion War Trilogy, and Empath, published by Sun’s Golden Ray Publishing.

Author links: 


a Rafflecopter giveaway




ARC Review: Edge of Wild

ARC Review: Edge of Wild

Edge of Wild by Danika Stone Series: Waterton #1 Published by Stonehouse Publishing on May 1, 2016 Genres: Thriller, suspense, Adult Pages: 329 Format: Paperback Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon Transplanted from New York City to the tiny mountain town of Waterton, Alberta with the task of saving a floundering new hotel, Rich Evans is desperate to return to the city as soon as he can. The locals seem unusually hostile towards his efforts, or maybe even menacing, and was that a cougar on his door-step last night? As Rich begins to wonder whether his predecessor disappeared of his own accord, he finds himself strongly drawn to Louise Newman, the garage mechanic who is fixing his suddenly unreliable BMW, and the only person in Waterton who doesnÂ’t seem desperate to run him out of town. As Rich works on the hotel, the town is torn apart by a series of gruesome, unsolved murders. With Louise as his only ally in a town that seems set against him, Rich canÂ’t help but wonder: will he be the next victim? Edge of Wild was really different from other books I’ve read this year. It was a suspense thriller and the entire time I had no idea what was going on. I loved it for that! I was on the edge of my seat, continually wondering what was happening, who […]

Posted May 4, 2016 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment