Genre: Adult

The Dark Divide

Posted April 17, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 0 Comments

The Dark DivideThe Dark Divide by Danika Stone
Series: Waterton #2
Published by Stonehouse on April 10th 2018
Genres: Thriller, mystery, Adult
Pages: 339
Format: Paperback
Source: the author
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Waterton is a town with dark secrets, and after a summer of murder and mayhem, American ex-pat, Rich Evans, knows exactly how far people will go to hide them. Jobless after the fiery destruction of the hotel he once managed, Rich is charged with arson. Only one person, local mechanic Louise "Lou" Newman, believes in his innocence. But even Lou's love and support can't dispel the darkness that's spreading through the community. Dead animals appear on porches, strangers threaten the safety of the locals, and a fingerprint from the fire is linked to a decades-old murder.

The lonely border town has a new danger: a murderer willing to do anything to protect a web of secrets that links them to the arson.

As the risk of jail or death increases, Rich turns to Lou for guidance and she finds herself in an impossible position. Lou has her own secrets! Does she protect the border town where she grew up, or side with the man she loves... even if it means she can never tell him the truth about herself?

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review

Edge of Wild was a real surprise when I read it last year.  When I was reading it, I loved all the different characters and especially Lou. The only thing that I thought it was missing was more information about Lou. I wanted a companion novel that focused more on Lou in the future.

The Dark Divide is even better than a companion. It’s a direct sequel that not only focuses more on Lou and her secrets, but also reveals more about the scrappy cast of characters in the town of Waterford itself. I couldn’t be happier about this book if I special ordered it. It’s almost as if Danika Stone wrote it specifically for me! I wanted more and voilà, it appears in my mailbox! Magic!

Seriously though, The Dark Divide was perfect. It answered all of my nagging suspicions that I was left with at the end of Edge of Wild. Waterton is very isolationist. They don’t appreciate outsiders trying to move in on their territory. It’s more than just a small town mentality and the explanation was perfect. I really enjoyed how the town’s history is affecting them still today. Lou is still far and away my favorite character of the series. She’s willing to fight for what she wants and she’s strong. She’s had to be to run her mechanic shop alone. Mostly, though, I envy the way that she can go with the flow and take things as they come. I wish I could let go and just be that way.

Since The Dark Divide was the special ordered sequel of my dreams, next I would like to request a Spin off novel starring Hunter and Levi. Hunter needs to find love and Levi is the perfect crotchety old man. Looking forward to seeing it in 2019. 😀

Divider

I love Aesthetics! When they are well done, they give such a great feeling about the topic. The Aesthetic that Danika put together for The Dark Divide is perfect. Lou is a little mysterious. Waterton is gorgeous, yet slightly foreboding. Rich is handsome and rugged but still sensitive. This really gets you in the right mood to dive into The Dark Divide.

The Dark Divide Novel Aesthetic

The Dark Divide is one of those books where I definitely had a clear vision of what I wanted my characters and setting to be. Physically, Rich was based on a young Sir Edmund Hillary while Louise tended to look more like Kristen Kreuk (in my head, at least!) The setting had more to do with mood than actual location. Waterton Park, Alberta is a real place, but the setting for The Dark Divide needed to be moodier. Put all those pieces together and you get… THIS!


Divider

About the Author

Danika Stone is an author, artist, and educator who discovered a passion for writing fiction while in the throes of her Masters thesis. A self-declared bibliophile, Danika now writes novels for both teens: INTERNET FAMOUS (Macmillan, 2017) and ALL THE FEELS (Macmillan, 2016); and adults THE DARK DIVIDE (Stonehouse, 2018) and EDGE OF WILD (Stonehouse, 2016).

Ms. Stone’s work has received both recognition and literary praise. In 2017, Chapters included EDGE OF WILD in “Our Favourite Canadian Fiction”, and INTERNET FAMOUS was nominated for the R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature (2018) as well as selected as one of Fierce Reads’ “9 Perfect Summertime Reads” (2017). EDGE OF WILD (previously entitled TATHAGATA) was a quarter-finalist in Amazon’s Breakthrough Novel of the Year Award (2013), a finalist in the Horatio Nelson Fiction Prize (2015), and took second place in the Publish or Perish contest (2015). ALL THE FEELS was selected for Swoon Reads’ fourth list (2015) and was nominated for YALSA’s Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers (2016), and for CYBILS’ Children’s and Young Adult Bloggers’ Literary Awards (2016).

Ms. Stone’s books have been reviewed by VOYA, Teen Reads, and School Library Journal. Danika has also featured in the BN Teen Blog, Clash, Quillable, Fierce Reads, Lethbridge Living Magazine, CJSR’s Word, and on CBC’s Daybreak.

When not writing, Danika can be found hiking in the Rockies, planning grand adventures, and spending far too much time online. She lives with her husband, three sons, and a houseful of imaginary characters in a windy corner of Alberta, Canada.

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

Review Consequence by Rachel Higginson

Posted April 2, 2018 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment

Review Consequence by Rachel HigginsonConsequence by Rachel Higginson
Series: The Confidence Game #2
Published by Reckless Siren Publishing on February 27, 2018
Genres: Adult, Thriller, romance
Pages: 254
Format: ebook
Source: the author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Consequence, the conclusion to Sayer and Caroline’s epic love story

Five years ago, I escaped a dangerous life I had always wanted to leave. I got away. I found freedom. But it cost me the love of my life.

For five years I lived in hiding, protecting my most valuable secret while Sayer Wesley sat in prison paying for both our sins. I promised to love him forever. I promised to never leave him. 

I broke my promises.

Five months ago Sayer found me.

Five weeks ago, I was forced to face my past.

Five days ago, someone took my daughter. They kidnapped her in order to make Sayer and me suffer. I will do anything to get her back. Even if that means coming clean to Sayer, letting him into my life and introducing him to our daughter.

All I wanted was to protect her from this life and now she’s right in the middle of the chaos. Sayer is the only one that can help me. He’s the only one that can get her back.

But it might mean losing him again.

Fifteen years ago, I fell in love with Sayer Wesley. Now I must pay the consequences for falling in love with a con man.

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This is the sequel to Constant that I reviewed last week, which I loved. This book’s pacing was a little slower because it’s told in a series of flashbacks as well as in the present. In Consequence. we also get to read from Sayer’s point of view, which is enlightening to say the least.

I really liked how this book wrapped everything up. Caro and Sayer’s daughter is missing. The assumption is that she’s been kidnapped by the Bratva in order to punish Caro for leaving. That is soon proven true but for completely different reasons. Even if they do want her to suffer, they want her back even more.

My favorite part of this book was the flashbacks. The story in the current timeline is interesting but the flashbacks drive the entire book. They explain and give context to the current timeline. The flashbacks really help us get to know the characters and their motivations. I know flashbacks can be controversial, but I usually like them. In this case, teh flashbacks really made the story special.

This book cemented my deep and abiding love for Sayer. He’s a criminal mastermind, but he’s not evil. Everything he has done, he has done to keep Caro safe and to make sure that they will be safe and provided for in the future. He wanted to ensure a life for her. Caro on the otherhand says that she loves Sayer but is paranoid and distrustful at every turn. Maybe it’s because she is fearful for her daughter’s safety but I’m not sure that Sayer ever deserved such treatment for the support he’s given her.

This sequel was suspensefilled and thrilling. It really lived up to the story that Rachel Higginson started with Constant. Very satisfying ending and it kept me guessing!

Divider

About the Author

Rachel Higginson is the best-selling author of The Opposite of You, The Five Stages of Falling in Love, Every Wrong Reason, Bet on Us and The Star-Crossed Series.

She was born and raised in Nebraska, and spent her college years traveling the world. She fell in love with Eastern Europe, Paris, Indian Food and the beautiful beaches of Sri Lanka, but came back home to marry her high school sweetheart. Now she spends her days writing stories and raising five amazing kids.

 

 

Instagram mywritesdntbite – rachelhigginson.com – facebook.com/rachelhigginsonauthor – @mywritesdntbite

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

Review Constant by Rachel Higginson

Review Constant by Rachel Higginson

Constant by Rachel Higginson Series: The Confidence Game #1 Published by Reckless Siren Publishing on November 16th 2017 Genres: Thriller, romance, Adult Pages: 266 Format: ebook Source: the author Buy on Amazon Goodreads Fifteen years ago I met Sayer Wesley. I fell in love with him. I promised I would never leave him. I swore nothing could break us apart. Five years ago I broke my promise. I ran away. I took the one secret that could destroy us both and disappeared. Five days ago I thought I saw him. I knew it was impossible. Sayer was locked away, serving a deserved sentence in federal prison. He couldn’t find me. He wouldn’t find me. I was too good at hiding. Too good at surviving. Because if Sayer ever found me, there would be hell to pay for a plethora of sins. The worst of which, he didn’t even know about. Five hours ago, I told myself I was crazy. Five minutes ago, I saw him again. Five seconds ago, I was too late. I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.This book was SUCH a surprise! I thought that the premise sounded interested when I picked it up but I had no idea how well written and […]

Posted March 26, 2018 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Prancing Around with Sleeping Beauty

Review: Prancing Around with Sleeping Beauty

Prancing Around With Sleeping Beauty by Stacy Juba Series: Storybook Valley #2 Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on March 5th 2018 Genres: Adult, romance Pages: 240 Format: ebook Source: the author Buy on Amazon Goodreads his Sleeping Beauty isn’t sure she wants to wake up… Dance instructor Rory Callahan likes to play it safe. When she meets Kyle, he’s impulsive, persistent, and her exact opposite. He’s pushing her to tango way past her comfort zone and keeping Rory on her toes more than twenty years of dance teachers ever had. Unfortunately, he’s the grandson of her family’s archrival and she doesn’t want to disappoint them. After all, her parents imagine her as a proper princess – hence her namesake Aurora, AKA Sleeping Beauty. Complicating matters, Rory’s also dealing with a surgeon boyfriend who’s perfect for her (sort of), an obnoxious boss, and desperate dance moms. Kyle wants to change her whole life, but Rory doesn’t like the stakes. After all, princesses are the ones who get the happy endings. . .aren’t they? This sweet romantic comedy is a standalone and can be read on its own. All books in the series can be read in any order so jump in at any time.Welcome to Storybook Valley…Your Vacation Escape The Storybook Valley books are the perfect beach reads. If you love small town romance, theme parks, fairy tale fun, […]

Posted March 6, 2018 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider

How to write a book when you live with your parents

How to write a book when you live with your parents

By: S. Usher Evans *** From Emily*** Sush has started an incredible campaign to be debt free by selling books and flipping houses. Her house flipping Instagram is fantastic. (https://www.instagram.com/housesfullofwhit/) Plus she’s prolific author. Demon Spring is her third series but she has books planned out til 2020! She’s the only person I know who has such a concrete plan for her life. I admire her for it so much! Her story is incredible and she’s here today to share with us a little bit about how she makes it work*** Hi, I’m Sush, I’m 31, and I live with my parents.  No, I’m not your typical millennial. I’m a house-flipping full-time author, and I decided about a year ago to sell my house, move in with my folks temporarily, and then buy and flip houses until I could live without a mortgage plus have a few renters on the side. While I could write a novel on what I learned this year alone with house flipping, today I want to talk about how I was able to complete my latest series, Demon Spring, while living with my folks. My folks are wonderful people and I am eternally grateful that I was able to live with them so I could position myself into a more debt-free life. However, after living by myself since 2011, having other humans in the […]

Posted February 19, 2018 by Emily in Events and Features, Guest Post / 0 Comments
Divider

ARC Review: Edge of Wild

ARC Review: Edge of Wild

Edge of Wild by Danika Stone Series: Waterton #1 Published by Stonehouse Publishing on May 1, 2016 Genres: Thriller, suspense, Adult Pages: 329 Format: Paperback Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon Transplanted from New York City to the tiny mountain town of Waterton, Alberta with the task of saving a floundering new hotel, Rich Evans is desperate to return to the city as soon as he can. The locals seem unusually hostile towards his efforts, or maybe even menacing, and was that a cougar on his door-step last night? As Rich begins to wonder whether his predecessor disappeared of his own accord, he finds himself strongly drawn to Louise Newman, the garage mechanic who is fixing his suddenly unreliable BMW, and the only person in Waterton who doesnÂ’t seem desperate to run him out of town. As Rich works on the hotel, the town is torn apart by a series of gruesome, unsolved murders. With Louise as his only ally in a town that seems set against him, Rich canÂ’t help but wonder: will he be the next victim? Edge of Wild was really different from other books I’ve read this year. It was a suspense thriller and the entire time I had no idea what was going on. I loved it for that! I was on the edge of my seat, continually wondering what was happening, who […]

Posted May 4, 2016 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments
Divider