Genre: Boys & Men

IB Tour: Roald Dahl’s 100th Birthday

Posted September 25, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 0 Comments

IB Tour: Roald Dahl’s 100th BirthdayDanny The Champion Of The World by Roald Dahl, Quentin Blake
Published by Penguin Books on August 16. 2007
Genres: Middle Grade, humor
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback
Source: Free for Review
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Danny has a life any boy would love—his home is a gypsy caravan, he's the youngest master car mechanic around, and his best friend is his dad, who never runs out of wonderful stories to tell. But one night Danny discovers a shocking secret that his father has kept hidden for years. Soon Danny finds himself the mastermind behind the most incredible plot ever attempted against nasty Victor Hazell, a wealthy landowner with a bad attitude. Can they pull it off? If so, Danny will truly be the champion of the world

Many times, revisiting childhood loves can be disappointing. You build up a memory in your mind so much that when you actually experience it again, the memory of the experience is better than whatever the experience was. This book has been a treasured memory forever. I had a slight concern that reading this again as an adult would make me sad. I love Roald Dahl and I want to celebrate him but I didn’t want to sour another piece of my childhood.

Reading the book again made me remember how much I loved the story. Danny’s relationship with his father reminds me of my own dad, who always had time for me. Danny thinks his dad is the best dad in the world, but I knew in my heard that mine actually was. In the book, Danny and his father make a kite and there are rough directions included. After reading this book I was inspired to make my own kite as a child. I really wanted to make a fire balloon (instructions also included), but my parents weren’t all that wild about the idea.

Luckily, this Roald Dahl book held up well! Reading Danny The Champion of the World as an adult was a completely different experience. It was still the same book that I remembered but it also wasn’t. When I was a child, I never thought about the legalities of poaching or pondered the moral ramifications of Danny’s father’s nightly activities. I just knew that Mr. Hazell was a jerk and he deserved to be punished. Things were black and white when I younger.

If adulthood is identifying with King Triton instead of Ariel, I’m definitely there. However, there are some fringe benefits. If you need me, I’ll be making a fire balloon.

About the Author

roald-photo-official-photo-jpegRoald Dahl (1916–1990) was one of the world’s most imaginative, successful and beloved storytellers. He was born in Wales of Norwegian parents and spent much of his childhood in England. After establishing himself as a writer for adults with short story collections such as Kiss Kiss and Tales of the Unexpected, Roald Dahl began writing children’s stories in 1960 while living with his family in both the U.S. and in England. His first stories were written as entertainment for his own children, to whom many of his books are dedicated.

Roald Dahl’s first children’s story, The Gremlins, was a story about little creatures that were responsible for the various mechanical failures on airplanes. The Gremlins came to the attention of both First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt, who loved to read the story to her grandchildren, and Walt Disney, with whom Roald Dahl had discussions about the production of a movie.

Roald Dahl was inspired by American culture and by many of the most quintessential American landmarks to write some of his most memorable passages, such as the thrilling final scenes in James and the Giant Peach – when the peach lands on the Empire State Building! Upon the publication of James and the Giant Peach, Roald Dahl began work on the story that would later be published as Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and today, Roald Dahl’s stories are available in 58 languages and, by a conservative estimate, have sold more than 200 million copies.

Roald Dahl also enjoyed great success for the screenplays he wrote for both the James Bond film You Only Live Twice in 1967 and for Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, released one year later, which went on to become a beloved family film.  Roald Dahl’s popularity continues to increase as his fantastic novels, including James and the Giant Peach, Fantastic Mr. Fox, Matilda, The BFG, and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, delight an ever-growing legion of fans.

Two charities have been founded in Roald Dahl’s memory: the first charity, Roald Dahl’s Marvellous Children’s Charity, created in 1991, focuses on making life better for seriously ill children through the funding of specialist nurses, innovative medical training, hospitals, and individual families across the UK.

The second charity, The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre – a unique cultural, literary and education hub – opened in June 2005 in Great Missenden where Roald Dahl lived and wrote many of his best-loved works. 10% of income from Roald Dahl books and adaptations are donated to the two Roald Dahl charities.

On September 13, 2006, the first national Roald Dahl Day was celebrated, on what would have been the author’s 90th birthday. The event proved such a success that RoaldDahl Day is now marked annually all over the world. September 13, 2016 is Roald Dahl 100, marking 100 years since the birth of the world’s number one storyteller. There will be celebrations for Roald Dahl 100 throughout 2016, delivering a year packed with gloriumptious treats and surprises for everyone.

Giveaway:

1 winner can pick 5 books from the Roald Dahl collection! US Only.

Tour Schedule

   Fiction Fare: Roald Dahl’s Revolting Recipes
Nicole’s Novel Reads: The Missing Golden Ticket and Other Splendiferous Secrets
Rants and Raves of a Bibliophile: Skin and Other Stories
Intellectual Recreation: Love From Boy
KellyVision: More About Boy 
One Night Book Stand: Revolting Rhymes 
The Quiet Concert: The Minpins 
Reads All the Books: Dirty Beasts 
Here’s to Happy Endings: The Enormous Crocodile 
He Said Books or Me: D is for Dahl 
Dizneeee’s World of Books: The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar and Six More
The Innocent Smiley: The Vicar of Nibbleswick 
PaperTrailYa: Esio Trot 
Emily Reads Everything: Danny, The Champion of the World 
Writing My Own Fairy Tale: George’s Marvelous Medicine 
Rebelle Reads: Fantastic Mr. Fox 
Quest Reviews: Going Solo 
Mundie Kids: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory 
Stuck In Books: Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator 
No BS Book Reviews: Matilda 
Novelgossip: The Twits 
Forever Bookish: Boy: Tales of Childhood 
Miranda’s Book Blog: The Giraffe and the Pelly and Me 
I Turn the Pages: The BFG 
The Irish Banana Review: The Witches 
Actin’ Up with Books: The Magic Finger 
Swoony Boys Podcast: James and the Giant Peach 

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

ARC Review: Concentr8 by William Sutcliffe

Posted February 23, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments

ARC Review: Concentr8 by William SutcliffeConcentr8 by William Sutcliffe
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on January 19th 2016
Genres: Boys & Men, Dystopian
Pages: 256
Format: hardcover
Source: Free for Review
Buy on Amazon
dnf

In a future London, Concentr8 is a prescription drug intended to help kids with ADD. Soon every troubled teen is on it. It makes sense, doesn't it? Keep the undesirable elements in line. Keep people like us safe from people like them. What's good for society is good for everyone. Troy, Femi, Lee, Karen and Blaze have been taking Concentr8 as long as they can remember. They're not exactly a gang, but Blaze is their leader, and Troy has always been his quiet, watchful sidekick - the only one Blaze really trusts. They're not looking for trouble, but one hot summer day, when riots break out across the city, they find it. What makes five kids pick a man seemingly at random - a nobody, he works in the housing department, doesn't even have a good phone - hold a knife to his side, take him to a warehouse and chain him to a radiator? They've got a hostage, but don't really know what they want, or why they've done it. And across the course of five tense days, with a journalist, a floppy-haired mayor, a police negotiator, and the sinister face of the pharmaceutical industry, they - and we - begin to understand why ...This is a book about what how we label children. It's about how kids get lost and failed by the system. It's about how politicians manipulate them. Gripping and controversial reading for fans of Malorie Blackman and Patrick Ness.

So I was a little excited about this book. There were parts of the summary that I felt pulled aspects of classics. For example,  the drug Concentr8 reminded me of Brave New World by Aldous Huxley, which has Soma. Or the children running wild and the kidnapping reminded me of Lord of the Flies or A Clockwork Orange. To be fair. I loved Brave New World but I was not a fan of the other two. Still I was excited to see how this book played on the old classics.

So, I am really disappointed to tell you that don’t if my imagined similarities match up. I don’t if the plot works well as a commentary on the use of Ritalin in today’s society. I don’t know if this is a brand new soon to be classic. I don’t know much at all, because I simply couldn’t finish this book.

I tried though. The first time I picked it up, I read 4 pages. I just couldn’t get into it. The words made no sense. I kept having to go back and reread. The characters speak in a dialect that I found hard to follow. I decided I was tired and I went to sleep instead. Tomorrow would be better.

Tomorrow was not better.

I tried two more times but I never got into the story. I didn’t care. I couldn’t focus on it. I needed some Concentr8 myself. (too soon?) This book was just not for me.

I always try to find something good about a book. However, this one is going to be tough.

It has a great cover. I liked the graffiti look.

Did you read Concent8? Tell me I’m wrong in the comments!

dnf

Tags: ,

Divider

Review: The 5 Stages of Andrew Brawley by Shaun David Hutchinson

Review: The 5 Stages of Andrew Brawley by Shaun David Hutchinson

The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley by Shaun David Hutchinson Published by Simon Pulse on January 20th 2015 Genres: Young Adult, Social Issues, Death & Dying, Boys & Men, Comics & Graphic Novels, General Pages: 336 Source: Free for Review Goodreads Andrew Brawley was supposed to die that night. His parents did, and so did his sister, but he survived. Now he lives in the hospital. He serves food in the cafeteria, he hangs out with the nurses, and he sleeps in a forgotten supply closet. Drew blends in to near invisibility, hiding from his past, his guilt, and those who are trying to find him. Then one night Rusty is wheeled into the ER, burned on half his body by hateful classmates. His agony calls out to Drew like a beacon, pulling them both together through all their pain and grief. In Rusty, Drew sees hope, happiness, and a future for both of them. A future outside the hospital, and away from their pasts. But Drew knows that life is never that simple. Death roams the hospital, searching for Drew, and now Rusty. Drew lost his family, but he refuses to lose Rusty, too, so heÂ’s determined to make things right. HeÂ’s determined to bargain, and to settle his debts once and for all. But Death is not easily placated, and DrewÂ’s life will have to get worse […]

Posted September 14, 2015 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments
Divider