Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels

Graphic Novel Round up 2

Posted July 6, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments

More graphic novels! I’ve really been in a kick lately. I love graphic novels because they usually short, quick reads that tell a complex and deep story. Plus they are like popcorn, you can’t read just one! If you are behind on your reading list, graphic novels area a great way to catch up!

 

 

This was a total dud for me. I just didn’t care. I gave up before the end of the first chapter. I was really excited about this one because Hawkeye is one of my favorite Avengers. I love the dichotomy of being a superhero and a family man. However, that’s apparently just the movies. Oh well.

 

 

Of the three Superhero comics I checked out, this was definitely my favorite. First, its about a girl, Kamala Khan. She’s a typical teenage girl. She wants to go out and have fun but she has to deal with her strict parents as well as the rules and traditions that her religion add to the equation. She’s Muslim. I loved the depth and interest it added to the character. I hope that it was fairly accurate. It definitely complicated her life as a superhero. Second, I enjoyed the writing. I’m not sure where it’s going  but I stayed interested the whole time. This one I’m continuing for sure.

 

Graphic Novel Round up 2The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1:The Faust Act by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson, Clayton Cowles
Series: The Wicked + The Divine #1
Published by Image Comics on November 12th 2014
Genres: Comics & Graphic Novels
Pages: 144
Format: Paperback
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
five-stars

Every ninety years, twelve gods incarnate as humans. They are loved. They are hated. In two years, they are dead. The team behind critical tongue-attractors like Young Avengers and PHONOGRAM reunite to create a world where gods are the ultimate pop stars and pop stars are the ultimate gods. But remember: just because youÂ’re immortal, doesnÂ’t mean youÂ’re going to live forever. Collects THE WICKED + THE DIVINE #1-5

I loved this book and I can’t wait for the follow ups! I had never heard of it before and threw it in my library cart when I was picking up the others. The premise is that every ninety years 12 Gods walk among us, young and beautiful, and worshiped by all. Then after 2 years of fame they die only to return after another 90 years.

All the Gods are from a variety of pantheons. This first book was a great first peek and introduction to the story. I can tell that there is so much to come. It reminded me almost of a Punk Rock version of the Sandman. There’s tons of mythology woven throughout the story.

 

five-stars

Tags:

Divider

Graphic Novel Roundup

Posted June 27, 2016 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments

I’ve been reading a lot of graphic novel’s lately! I love how they are short and easy to read but often tackle important or complicated issues. For the first time, I tried out a few Marvel superhero comics. Until now, all I’ve read is some X-Men. I also got a few non-superhero related comics. Check them out.

 

Graphic Novel RoundupThe Lost Boy by Greg Ruth
Published by Graphix on August 27th 2013
Genres: Comics & Graphic Novels
Pages: 192
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
four-half-stars

Some mysteries are too dangerous to leave alone . . .
Nate's not happy about his family moving to a new house in a new town. After all, nobody asked him if he wanted to move in the first place. But when he discovers a tape recorder and note addressed to him under the floorboards of his bedroom, Nate is thrust into a dark mystery about a boy who went missing many, many years ago. Now, as strange happenings and weird creatures begin to track Nate, he must partner with Tabitha, a local girl, to find out what they want with him. But time is running out, for a powerful force is gathering strength in the woods at the edge of town, and before long Nate and Tabitha will be forced to confront a terrifying foe, and uncover the truth about the Lost Boy.

 

This was by far my favorite of all the graphic novels I’ve read lately. I didn’t know what to expect but I knew that I would like it just based on the description and the art style. It’s a fantastic adventure story about a young boy. There’s a historic component to it as well, It reminded me a lot of Joe the Barbarian, which I also loved. Sometimes I feel like I enjoy short graphic fiction more than complex series just because the entire story is there. No waiting.

 

Graphic Novel RoundupLaika by Nick Abadzis
Published by First Second on September 4th 2007
Genres: Comics & Graphic Novels
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
three-half-stars

Laika was the abandoned puppy destined to become Earth's first space traveler. This is her journey.
Nick Abadzis masterfully blends fiction and fact in the intertwined stories of three compelling lives. Along with Laika, there is Korolev, once a political prisoner, now a driven engineer at the top of the Soviet space program, and Yelena, the lab technician responsible for Laika's health and life. This intense triangle is rendered with the pitch-perfect emotionality of classics like Because of Winn Dixie, Shiloh, and Old Yeller.
Abadzis gives life to a pivotal moment in modern history, casting light on the hidden moments of deep humanity behind history.
Laika's story will speak straight to your heart.
Laika is the winner of the 2008 Eisner Award for Best Publication for Teens and an Eisner Award nominee for Best Reality-Based Work.

 

This was a cute story about fate. We all know how Laika ended up (or maybe you don’t) but this is how she got there. It seamlessly weaves together nonfiction and fiction to create a plausible backstory. It also explores how fate and destiny affect our lives. Is everything predecided?

 

Graphic Novel RoundupUltimate Comics Spider-Man, Vol.1 by Brian Michael Bendis, Sara Pichelli
Series: Ultimate Spiderman #1
Published by Marvel on February 15th 2012
Genres: Comics & Graphic Novels
Pages: 136
Format: Paperback
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
three-stars

Who is behind the mask? COLLECTING: ULTIMATE COMICS SPIDER-MAN (2011) 1-6

 

Spiderman was just OK for me. It’s a different Spiderman, Miles Morales instead of Peter Parker. Having a teenaged superhero is kind of interesting but the story is pretty similar. I picked it out because it came highly recommended. I just don’t think Spiderman is for me.

 

Have you read any good graphic novels lately? I love recommendations!

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

Review: Lost at Sea by Bryan O’Malley

Review: Lost at Sea by Bryan O’Malley

Lost at Sea by Bryan Lee O’Malley Published by Oni Press on July 24th 2012 Pages: 160 Format: hardcover Source: library Goodreads Raleigh doesn’t have a soul. A cat stole it or at least that’s what she tells people or at least that’s what she would tell people if she told people anything. But that would mean talking to people, and the mere thought of social interaction is terrifying. How did such a shy teenage girl end up in a car with three of her hooligan classmates on a cross-country road trip? Being forced to interact with kids her own age is a new and alarming proposition for Raleigh, but maybe it’s just what she needs or maybe it can help her find what she needs or maybe it can help her to realize that what she needs has been with her all along.” When I really love an author, I find myself searching out their other books. The first book series I ever read by Bryan O’Malley was Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World, which is probably his most famous book. However, it didn’t make me go looking for more. Then twitter recommended me Seconds earlier this year. That was the book that hooked me on Bryan O’Malley and I started looking for more. Lost at Sea is his first graphic novel, so I’m late to the party. I don’t […]

Posted January 6, 2016 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments
Divider

Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll Published by Margaret K. McElderry Books on July 15th 2014 Genres: Comics & Graphic Novels, horror Format: hardcover Source: library Discover a terrifying world in the woods in this collection of five hauntingly beautiful graphic stories that includes the online webcomic sensation “His Face All Red,” in print for the first time. Journey through the woods in this sinister, compellingly spooky collection that features four brand-new stories and one phenomenally popular tale in print for the first time. These are fairy tales gone seriously wrong, where you can travel to “Our NeighborÂ’s House”—though coming back might be a problem. Or find yourself a young bride in a house that holds a terrible secret in “A LadyÂ’s Hands Are Cold.” You might try to figure out what is haunting “My Friend Janna,” or discover that your brotherÂ’s fiancée may not be what she seems in “The Nesting Place.” And of course you must revisit the horror of “His Face All Red,” the breakout webcomic hit that has been gorgeously translated to the printed page. Already revered for her work online, award-winning comic creator Emily CarrollÂ’s stunning visual style and impeccable pacing is on grand display in this entrancing anthology, her print debut. This is the book I’ve been looking for! I love horror and I’ve been looking for something legitimately creepy for a while. […]

Posted December 23, 2015 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Mini Reviews: Nimona and Seconds

Mini Reviews: Nimona and Seconds

I really liked this book. Nimona is a shapeshifter. She’s able to transform herself into any animate creature, like talking sharks! She shows up and convinces Lord Ballister Blackheart to take her on as his sidekick. Ballister is an evil supervillian with an axe to grind against the Institution in general and its top agent, Ambrosius, specifically. Unfortunately, he is also extremely reluctant to actually hurt anyone, much to Nimona’s dismay. Both of them are intent on disrupting the Institution’s plans as much as possible, if in completely separate ways. This book started as an online comic, so it has a special place in my heart.  I loved the spiky, funky art style and the relationship between all the characters; even between the villian, Ballister, and the hero, Ambrosius. Twitter recommended this one to me, and it was definitely a win. When I picked up Seconds I had no idea what it was about. However, on page 48 it’s revealed that Katie is gifted with a do-over and I knew immediately that it would be a instant win with me. I love time travel stories, especially when the main character gets a chance to go back and change something and gets to see how the small change ripples and enacts huge differences in the future. The Groundhog Day trope is one of my favorites. This was the second Groundhog Day esque […]

Posted September 23, 2015 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments
Divider

Review: The 5 Stages of Andrew Brawley by Shaun David Hutchinson

Review: The 5 Stages of Andrew Brawley by Shaun David Hutchinson

The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley by Shaun David Hutchinson Published by Simon Pulse on January 20th 2015 Genres: Young Adult, Social Issues, Death & Dying, Boys & Men, Comics & Graphic Novels, General Pages: 336 Source: Free for Review Goodreads Andrew Brawley was supposed to die that night. His parents did, and so did his sister, but he survived. Now he lives in the hospital. He serves food in the cafeteria, he hangs out with the nurses, and he sleeps in a forgotten supply closet. Drew blends in to near invisibility, hiding from his past, his guilt, and those who are trying to find him. Then one night Rusty is wheeled into the ER, burned on half his body by hateful classmates. His agony calls out to Drew like a beacon, pulling them both together through all their pain and grief. In Rusty, Drew sees hope, happiness, and a future for both of them. A future outside the hospital, and away from their pasts. But Drew knows that life is never that simple. Death roams the hospital, searching for Drew, and now Rusty. Drew lost his family, but he refuses to lose Rusty, too, so heÂ’s determined to make things right. HeÂ’s determined to bargain, and to settle his debts once and for all. But Death is not easily placated, and DrewÂ’s life will have to get worse […]

Posted September 14, 2015 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments
Divider