Genre: Contemporary

Joint Review: When Dimple Met Rishi

Posted April 10, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments

Joint Review: When Dimple Met RishiWhen Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon
Published by Simon Pulse on May 30th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, romance
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

A laugh-out-loud, heartfelt YA romantic comedy, told in alternating perspectives, about two Indian-American teens whose parents have arranged for them to be married.
Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?
Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.
The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?
Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

 

Dimple Shah and Rishi Patel are both recent high school graduates headed to a summer coding program in San Francisco. The big difference? Dimple is going because coding is in her soul, while Rishi is going to meet Dimple in hopes of a marriage arranged by their parents. Their first encounter is a disaster and spit-fire Dimple is bound to  win Insomnia Con without him dragging her down.

I’ve heard some say that the romantic pacing was a little “insta-lovey”, but I found their feelings to match those of regular teenagers and young adults. I thought their relationship was cute and some of the challenges they faced were relatable. I adored Rishi’s love of family and culture, and in contrast Dimple’s need for independence and desire to accomplish her dreams despite tradition. They balanced each other’s personalities well.

I thought the supporting characters, Ashish and Celia, added a lot to the story. They each had independent stories and unique personalities, but came together for Rishi and Dimple and each other. I loved the common ground the two brothers found after thinking they were so completely different. As a sister to 5, I know all about being night and day with a sibling and yet still seeing that there are times when we’re on the same team and I’ll never be alone in the world.

Cute, charming story. 4.5 stars from me!

 

 

Now contemporary books are not my usually fare. I’m much more picky and less forgiving about a contemporary romance than I am a fantasy. I love dark fantasy and horror so light romance is usually way too cutesy for me. I’m very hard to please.

When Dimple Met Rishi melted my icy black heart. It was so adorable. Dimple and Rishi have the perfect storybook meet cute. It is a hilarious disaster. They start out at odds and it was so much fun to watch their relationship blossom from there.

I loved the dichotomy of the characters. Rishi is a huge romantic. He believes in the tradition and culture that he was raised in and he wants to continue in his parent’s footsteps. Most of all, he grew up seeing their love and happiness in their arranged marriage and he wants that for himself. Dimple, on the other hand, feels trapped by the weight of tradition. She wants to have a career in technology and program apps that she is passionate about but she’s afraid that her dreams are in direct opposition to her parent’s plans for her.

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

Review: The Whole Thing Together by Ann Brashers

Posted March 27, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments

Review: The Whole Thing Together by Ann BrashersThe Whole Thing Together by Ann Brashares
Published by Delacorte Press on April 25th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Format: ebook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Summer for Sasha and Ray means the sprawling old house on Long Island. Since they were children, they’ve shared almost everything—reading the same books, running down the same sandy footpaths to the beach, eating peaches from the same market, laughing around the same sun-soaked dining table. Even sleeping in the same bed, on the very same worn cotton sheets. But they’ve never met.
Sasha’s dad was once married to Ray’s mom, and together they had three daughters: Emma, the perfectionist; Mattie, the beauty; and Quinn, the favorite. But the marriage crumbled and the bitterness lingered. Now there are two new families—and neither one will give up the beach house that holds the memories, happy and sad, of summers past.
The choices we make come back to haunt us; the effect on our destinies ripples out of our control…or does it? This summer, the lives of Sasha, Ray, and their siblings intersect in ways none of them ever dreamed, in a novel about family relationships, keeping secrets, and most of all, love.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I don’t read very many contemporary books a year. Usually it’s all fantasy, horror and romance all the time. On the very rare occasion that I want read a contemporary book, I want it to be worth the read. I like contemporary books that really hit me right in the feels or make me think. The Whole Thing Together did both.

I loved how The Whole Thing Together was all about a parent’s divorce and how it effected the entire family. First two people married and had three little girls. Then the family fell apart and went through a very contentious divorce. In fact, the parents no longer talk or want to see each other ever. They both remarried and each have a single 17 year old. One boy and a one girl.

The way that the boy, Ray and the girl, Sasha feel about their blended family was fascinating to me. Ray and Sasha both have the same sisters but they aren’t related to each other at all and have never met. The family shares a beach house and Ray and Sasha share a room, one week at a time. First Ray sleeps in the room and then they leave at 11am on Sunday. Sasha arrives at 1pm and stays for the next week until they switch again. I loved how Ray and Sasha know all about each other, even though they have never seen each other. Their feelings about their family were incredibly understandable and relatable. Plus, it really made me think and wonder about how divorce affects kids, even if they weren’t alive when the divorce took place. Ray and Sasha’s blended family turned their lived upside down.

If there was one thing that really hurt me about this book, it was the abrupt end. I thought the content was good but I wanted more. I definitely didn’t want the book to end when it did. In my opinion, it could have been like 5o pages longer. That’s hard when you are loving a book and it ends and leaves you wanting more.

About the Author

Ann Brashares is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, The Here and Now,

3 Willows, The Last Summer (of You & Me), and My Name Is Memory. She lives in New York City with her family. Visit Ann’s website at AnnBrashares.com and follow on Twitter @AnnBrashares.

 

 

 

Follow the Tour

March 20: Bookhounds YA

March 21: Butter My Books

March 22: Here’s to Happy Endings

March 23: Fiction Fare

March 24: A Midsummer Night’s Read

March 27: Emily Reads Everything

March 28: In Wonderland

March 29: The Reader Bee

March 30: Books, Music, And All Things Written

March 31: YA Book Nerd

April 3: Peace Love Books

April 4: Tales of the Ravenous Reader

April 5: Sarah’s Nightstand

April 6: Novel Ink

April 7: Fangirlish

April 10: The Fandom

                Page Turners

April 11: Liz & Lisa

April 12: Gidget Girl Reading

April 13: Art, Books, & Coffee

April 14: Leslie Lindsay

April 17: Swoony Boys Podcast

April 18: Ramblings of the Perpetual New Girl

April 19: YA Wednesdays

April 20th: Rainy Days Coffee and Books

April 21: I’d So Rather Be Reading

April 22: Adventures in YA Publishing

April 24: Adventures in YA Publishing

April 25: A Dream Within A Dream

April 26: Lost in Literature

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

Waiting on Wednesday: Ramona Blue

Waiting on Wednesday: Ramona Blue

I completely adored Dumplin’, also by Julie Murphy. That was the first book where I’ve seen a fat character, happy and proud of herself and her body. Representation is so important. Everyone should have the opportunity to see themselves in a book. With Dumplin’, Julie Murphy earned herself a fan for life. I will read anything she writes. Ramona Blue looks excellent in it’s own right, as well. I lived in Louisiana when Katrina and Rita hit and there are still people displaced today, 10 years later. Julie Murphy writes touching, realistic and important stories. I’m sure this one is no different!

Posted March 22, 2017 by Emily in Uncategorized / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: American Street

Review: American Street

American Street by Ibi Zoboi Published by Balzer + Bray on February 14th 2017 Genres: Contemporary, romance, Young Adult Pages: 336 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream? I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.My favorite part of this book was the voice of the narrator, Fabiola. She’s a teenage immigrant from Haiti whose mother gets detained when they attempt to come into the country. Her mother sends her ahead to Detroit where her aunt and cousins are waiting for them. The story is of her journey to get her mother released and her first few months as […]

Posted March 21, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Arc Review: Literally by Lucy Keating

Arc Review: Literally by Lucy Keating

Literally by Lucy Keating Published by HarperTeen on April 11th 2017 Genres: Contemporary, romance, Young Adult Pages: 256 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads A girl realizes her life is being written for her in this unique, smart love story that is Stranger Than Fiction for fans of Stephanie Perkins. Annabelle’s life has always been Perfect with a capital P. Then bestselling young adult author Lucy Keating announces that she’s writing a new novel—and Annabelle is the heroine. It turns out, Annabelle is a character that Lucy Keating created. And Lucy has a plan for her. But Annabelle doesn’t want to live a life where everything she does is already plotted out. Will she find a way to write her own story—or will Lucy Keating have the last word? The real Lucy Keating’s delightful contemporary romance blurs the line between reality and fiction, and is the perfect follow-up for readers who loved her debut Dreamology, which SLJ called, “a sweet, quirky romance with appealing characters.” I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.This was such a sweet book with a really original premise behind it. Annabelle is a seemingly normal teenager living her life trying to make it through her creative writing class. When […]

Posted March 16, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

ARC Review: Dreamland Burning

ARC Review: Dreamland Burning

Dreamland Burning is beautifully written with a contrast between present day and 1921 and the racial issues that plague the United States. It’s not always a “pleasant” read, but it the impact was enormous. As a white person, it’s painful to read how African Americans were treated in the not-so-long-ago past. To be black and to read this must be an entirely different level of anger and disgust. I liked the characters and how they were from all walks of life, past and present. I think those were really intelligent choices made by the author. For example, the present day teenage main character, Rowan, was a biracial girl living a considerably privileged life. Her family was wealthy, her father was white and from a powerful family, and she went to a private school with mostly white students who she fit in with well because of her finances. This made her somewhat out of touch when it came to situations that afflicted other black Americans who didn’t have the same lifestyle. To balance her out, she had an asexual black best friend who sometimes put her in her place, so to speak. Her job in a clinic was also eye opening for her. On the other hand, the teenage boy from 1921, Will Tillman, presented an entirely different perspective. His journey was obviously the more horrendous because it depicts the […]

Posted February 23, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Waiting on Wednesday: When Dimple Met Rishi

Waiting on Wednesday: When Dimple Met Rishi

The thing that really draws me to this book is the cover. I love the girl’s face on the cover. That grin!!! It’s just so joyous. I’ve never seen a cover that exudes so much happiness. Past the cover, the book sounds perfect. Enemies to loves is always my favorite trope. I love the idea that these two kids have been promised to each other in an arranged marriage. However, they don’t know it and they don’t even like each other! Can’t wait to read this one!

Posted February 8, 2017 by Emily in WoW / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: History is All You Left Me

Review: History is All You Left Me

History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera Published by Soho Teen on January 17th 2017 Genres: Contemporary, LGBT, Diverse Reads Pages: 320 Format: Paperback Buy on Amazon Goodreads When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course. To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart. If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life. This was my first Adam Silvera book and I have to say, I think his writing is beautiful. It’s easy to get lost within his words and the story he created. His characters are well developed and a lot like people you may know in reality. I remember thinking that I wished this book could be forced into the hands of people who don’t understand that love is love, even […]

Posted February 6, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Geekerella: A Fangirl Fairy Tale by Ashley Poston Published by Quirk Books on April 4th 2017 Genres: Contemporary, romance Pages: 320 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Cinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fueled twist on the classic fairy tale. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win unless her stepsisters get there first. Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons before he was famous. Now they re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfieldfandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise. Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom.” Fandom in media can be patronizing. If you know me, you […]

Posted January 25, 2017 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: The Hate U Give by A

Review: The Hate U Give by A

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas Published by Balzer + Bray on February 28th 2017 Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult Pages: 464 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community. It could also get her killed. Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, this is a powerful and gripping YA novel about one girl’s struggle for justice. Movie rights have been sold to Fox, with Amandla Stenberg (The Hunger Games) to star. I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Going into this, I want it to be known that I doubt my ability to put into words the greatness that is this book. I also want to preface this with saying that I am white and I have lived in a mostly white community growing up. My life changed in that aspect when I began teaching six years ago where I became the only white person in the […]

Posted January 23, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider