Genre: Dystopian

SST Review: This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada

Posted November 19, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 2 Comments

SST Review: This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada

SST Review: This Mortal Coil by Emily SuvadaThis Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada
Series: This Mortal Coil #1
Published by Simon Pulse on November 7th 2017
Genres: Science Fiction, Dystopian
Pages: 432
Format: ebook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Catarina Agatta is a hacker. She can cripple mainframes and crash through firewalls, but that’s not what makes her special. In Cat’s world, people are implanted with technology to recode their DNA, allowing them to change their bodies in any way they want. And Cat happens to be a gene-hacking genius.

That’s no surprise, since Cat’s father is Dr. Lachlan Agatta, a legendary geneticist who may be the last hope for defeating a plague that has brought humanity to the brink of extinction. But during the outbreak, Lachlan was kidnapped by a shadowy organization called Cartaxus, leaving Cat to survive the last two years on her own.

When a Cartaxus soldier, Cole, arrives with news that her father has been killed, Cat’s instincts tell her it’s just another Cartaxus lie. But Cole also brings a message: before Lachlan died, he managed to create a vaccine, and Cole needs Cat’s help to release it and save the human race.

Now Cat must decide who she can trust: The soldier with secrets of his own? The father who made her promise to hide from Cartaxus at all costs? In a world where nature itself can be rewritten, how much can she even trust herself?

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book is a science lover’s DREAM! It has, ok not complex, but more detailed descriptions and reasons why the tech works. There are explanations that make sense and its obvious that the author has done a ton of research. I really loved the premise too. Embeddable tech is the future. Wearables are already here, like the Apple watch but also AIRA‘s assistive glasses that help blind people navigate their world.  However, embeddable tech is also legitimately terrifying. There are so many evil things that can be done with it. Emily Suvada does an awesome job exploring both the positive and horrifying aspects of having a device implanted in your arm.

The story itself is fun too. It’s new and exciting but it still reminded me a little of The Fireman by Joe Hill, which I loved. I think that the dystoptian world that this book is set in was at least as interested as the characters Cat and Cole. There has been a outbreak of a disease. The majority of the world has retreated to corporate sponsored bunkers where their lives are ruled by the company. Those who remain on the surface fight every day but remain free. How did none of that make it into the blurb???

I didn’t really feel any particular connection to the characters. Cat was a square peg in a world full of round holes. I thought that her particular idiosyncrasies were interesting and fit the world that was established. I just didn’t feel anything towards her. Cole seemed like a typical supersoldier. I didn’t find him to be all that interesting either. Luckily the world and the story made up for it in spades.

This did not end in a cliffhanger but I’m very hopeful that there will be another book in this marvelous world!

About the Author:

Emily Suvada was born and raised in Australia, where she went on to study mathematics and astrophysics. She previously worked as a data scientist, and still spends hours writing algorithms to perform tasks which would only take minutes to complete on her own. When not writing, she can be found hiking, cycling, and conducting chemistry experiments in her kitchen. She currently lives in Portland, OR, with her husband.

Author’s Social Media:

Blog: http://emilysuvada.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/emilysuvada
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/emilysuvada
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/emily.suvada/
Goodreads:https://www.goodreads.com/author/

Divider

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Follow the Tour

11/5 Tour Stops

Interview – Megan Manzano
Review  – Books N Calm
Review – Dani Reviews Things
Interview – Fly Leaf Chronicles
Unique Post – Book Stacks Amber

 11/12  Tour Stops

 Guest Post – Mikayla’s Bookshelf
Interview –Reading is Dreaming with Eyes Wide Open
Review – Sarcasm and Lemons
Unique Post – Downright Dystopian
Review – Here’s To Happy Endings

 11/19  Tour Stops

 Interview – Books, Boys, and Blogs
Review – Emily Reads Everything
Guest Post – The Book Corps
Unique Post – Life of a Literary Nerd
Review – Bay in Wonderland

 11/26 Tour Stops

 Review – A Gingerly Review
Review –  Pretty Deadly Blog
Interview – Library of a Book Witch
Guest Post – The Hermit Librarian

four-stars

Tags:

Divider

Review: The Gilded Cage by Vic James

Posted March 23, 2017 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment

Review: The Gilded Cage by Vic JamesGilded Cage by Vic James
Series: Dark Gifts #1
Published by Del Rey Books on February 14th 2017
Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Not all are free. Not all are equal. Not all will be saved.
Our world belongs to the Equals — aristocrats with magical gifts — and all commoners must serve them for ten years. But behind the gates of England's grandest estate lies a power that could break the world.
A girl thirsts for love and knowledge.
Abi is a servant to England's most powerful family, but her spirit is free. So when she falls for one of the noble-born sons, Abi faces a terrible choice. Uncovering the family's secrets might win her liberty, but will her heart pay the price?
A boy dreams of revolution.
Abi's brother, Luke, is enslaved in a brutal factory town. Far from his family and cruelly oppressed, he makes friends whose ideals could cost him everything. Now Luke has discovered there may be a power even greater than magic: revolution.
And an aristocrat will remake the world with his dark gifts.
He is a shadow in the glittering world of the Equals, with mysterious powers no one else understands. But will he liberate—or destroy?

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I posted on twitter that I wasn’t sure if I liked this book but that I wouldn’t forget it anytime soon. That has been true so far. I just can’t get this book out of my mind.

The Gilded cage is deeply disturbing. I loved that it didn’t pull any punches. Usually dystopian worlds look pretty on the surface and it takes a while to get into the issues. Gilded Cage is horrifying right from the start. The ruling class are Equals, capable of performing fantastic feats of magic. They live a life of luxury and ease. Everyone else is known as a commoner and are forced to serve Slave Days. Slave Days are exactly what they sound like. Commoners give up 10 years of their lives as slaves. This is one aspect that really bothers me about the book. Commoners can choose when to serve their Slave Days. It’s an awful fate but forcing people to choose when it happens makes it seem worse.

The Gilded Cage also goes into the darker and more insidious aspects of a dystopian world that other books tend to shy away from. Especially in YA. Usually young adult fiction isn’t as dark as this was. I think that this book could be upsetting to read on a lot of levels. Horrible things happen off screen or before the events of the book but they are still dealt with or touched on. This is young adult because it has a young adult main character not because the content is watered down at all.

This book is going to stay with me for a long time. It really affected me. I can’t wait for book two. Still, I’m not sure I liked it. I’m not sure this is a book you like. It is a book you remember forever.

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider
Divider

FFBC Review: Flashfall

FFBC Review: Flashfall

Flashfall by Jenny Moyer Published by Henry Holt and Co. on November 15th 2016 Genres: Sci Fi, Dystopian, Young Adult Pages: 352 Format: ebook Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Orion is a Subpar, expected to mine the tunnels of Outpost Five, near the deadly flash curtain. For generations, her people have chased cirium—the only element that can shield humanity from the curtain’s radioactive particles. She and her caving partner, Dram work the most treacherous tunnel, fighting past flash bats and tunnel gulls, in hopes of mining enough cirium to earn their way into the protected city. But when newcomers arrive at Outpost Five, Orion uncovers disturbing revelations that make her question everything she thought she knew about life on both sides of the cirium shield. As conditions at the outpost grow increasingly dangerous, it’s up to Orion to forge a way past the flashfall, beyond all boundaries, beyond the world as she knows it. I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Flashfall is set in a dystopian world after some sort of nuclear war. Everything is covered in radiation. Orion, Dram and the rest of the people in Outpost Five are all Subpar so they have adapted to have some sort of radiation resistance. Flashfall’s […]

Posted November 15, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Frost by M.P. Kozlowsky: Spotlight & Giveaway

Frost by M.P. Kozlowsky: Spotlight & Giveaway

Frost by M.P. Kozlowsky Published by Scholastic Press on October 11th 2016 Genres: Sci Fi, Dystopian, Young Adult Pages: 352 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads The Robots Are Rising Sixteen-year-old Frost understands why she’s spent her entire life in an abandoned apartment building. The ruined streets below are hunting grounds for rogue robots and Eaters. She understands why she’s never met a human besides her father. She even understands why he forbids her to look for medicine for her dying pet. But the thing is, it’s not her real father giving the orders . . . It’s his memories. Before he died, Frost’s father uploaded his consciousness into their robot servant. But the technology malfunctioned, and now her father fades in and out. So when Frost learns that there might be medicine on the other side of the ravaged city, she embarks on a dangerous journey to save the only living creature she loves. With only a robot as a companion, Frost must face terrors of all sorts, from outrunning the vicious Eaters . . . to talking to the first boy she’s ever set eyes on. But can a girl who’s only seen the world through books and dusty windows survive on her own? Or will her first journey from home be her last? This dystopian has robots, genetically engineered pets and monsters lurking […]

Posted October 10, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 0 Comments
Divider

WoW: Gilded Cage by Vic James

WoW: Gilded Cage by Vic James

  What I love The title! I have to admit it, the title caught my attention right away. It really embodies my vision of what Victorian times must have been like for women, with limited options and so many societal obligations. Such a perfect fit for the synopsis. This seems like a wonderful combination of dystopian, victorian and fantasy. All things I love! I like the premise of a caste system based on magical ability and the obvious potential for a revolution. I just can’t wait for this one! Have you heard of Gilded Cage before?

Posted October 5, 2016 by Emily in WoW / 4 Comments
Divider

Waiting on Wednesday: NUMBER 1

Waiting on Wednesday: NUMBER 1

I have never done a Waiting on Wednesday post but I feel that today is the perfect reason to start! I’m so excited to be posting about one of my most anticipated January 2017 releases! What title is that? Why, THE ALCHEMISTS OF LOOM by Elise Kova, of course! This book has everything you could ever want out of a High Fantasy novel: dragons, magic, relatable main characters, and steampunk. Sound interesting? Read more below to find out all the details… Purchase: AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOK DEPOSITORY | BOOKS A MILLION | IBOOKS But that’s not all! You can join in on celebrating the release of THE ALCHEMISTS OF LOOM by participating in the Guild Games! You can learn more at the Guild Games website but the quick and dirty is that you join a Guild, work together as a Guild to collect Resources, and trade those Resources in for Rewards! I’m in the Harvesters Guild and so far we have unlocked bookmarks! Not sure which of the five guilds you want to join? Why not take the quiz before joining a Guild? Join, earn resources, earn swag and look forward to Alchemists of Loom with us!

Posted September 7, 2016 by Emily in WoW / 1 Comment
Divider

ARC Review: The Wolf Road

ARC Review: The Wolf Road

The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis Published by Crown on July 5th 2016 Genres: Action & Adventure, Young Adult, Dystopian Pages: 352 Format: hardcover Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon Goodreads True Grit meets The Road in this postapocalyptic psychological thriller–narrated by a young girl who has just learned that her adopted father may be a serial killer, and that she may be his next victim. In the remote wilds of a ravaged land, Elka has been raised by a man who isn’t her father. Since finding her wandering in the woods when she was seven, he has taught her how to hunt, shoot, set snares and start fires–everything she needs to survive. All she knows of the world outside is gleaned from whispers of a cataclysmic event that turned the clock back on civilization by a hundred and fifty years and reduced governments and technology to shambles, leaving men at the mercy of the elements–and each other.  Everything changes when Elka learns that the man she has been calling father is harboring a terrible secret. Armed with nothing but her knife and her wiles, she decides to escape his clutches and sets out on a long journey to the frozen north in the hope of finding her long-lost parents.  But as the trail of blood and bodies grows in her path, Elka realizes that daddy won’t be […]

Posted August 10, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 0 Comments
Divider

The Flame Never Dies is coming!

The Flame Never Dies is coming!

I’m thrilled that The Flame Never Dies is so close to release! I was lucky to receive an early copy of The Stars Never Rise last year and it was one of the very first reviews that I wrote when I started this blog! If you haven’t started this series, this is a fantastic time to jump in. Book one is going on sale before book two comes out! If you have read The Stars Never Rise, then you know that this series is worth continuing. I’ve got an interview with Rachel Vincent and her daughter. Make sure you read to the end for a chance to win a signed Hardcover set of both books! Author Interview Interview with Rachel by her sixteen-year-old daughter (Codename: Melody), who’s thinking about actually reading her mother’s book. Melody: So, this is a series is about demons, right? Rachel: Sort of. Not really. A century ago, Nina’s world was invaded by residents of another reality who can only remain in our world by taking over a human body. People called them demons, because that’s the only association they had for the concept of possession. Melody: So these “demons” aren’t actually bad? Rachel: Oh, no, they’re totally bad. They’re entertained by the suffering of humanity. They’re just not the residents of hell most people think of when they hear “demon.” But that’s all I can say […]

Posted August 8, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Events and Features, Giveaway / 1 Comment
Divider

Awesome Indies: Sixth Prime by Dan O’Brien

Awesome Indies: Sixth Prime by Dan O’Brien

For more information, check out the Awesome Indies page I’m happy to introduce Dan today, celebrating the release of his book, Sixth Prime, with a guest post. Guest Post When I started writing Sixth Prime, I decided early on to do something very deliberate: I would make half the main characters female; I would make sure the personalities better reflected the myriad of the human experience; and I would describe characters without using skin color or any physical identifiers. You might be wondering: what exactly is the point of that? Women represent half the population.  I would be remiss if I ignored the statistics right in front of me. 82% of readers are female, so why wouldn’t you include female characters when so many readers are women. I don’t mean the traditional roles of queens and romantic interests; I’m talking about adventurers and villains, scientists and soldiers, and everything in between. The goal should be to tell the best possible story. I waited until I had outlined everything, and then randomly assigned characters as men and women (this includes romantic relationships as well, so buckle your seatbelts). Personality guides behavior and decision-making. I went to graduate school for psychology, and as such I’ve always had a fascination with why people do what they do. This, naturally, translated into thinking about how I could smuggle personality psychology into a narrative. The Prime saga, beginning […]

Posted July 22, 2016 by Emily in Awesome Indie, Guest Post / 0 Comments
Divider