Genre: Fantasy

The Alchemists of Loom Read Along

Posted May 8, 2017 by Emily in Events and Features, interview / 0 Comments

Chapters scheduled for read along: 1-3

I’m celebrating the release of Elise Kova’s new book with a read along for The Alchemists of loom. I loved this book. It’s gritty and steampunky and literally everything I want from a fantasy. You can check out my review.

The Alchemists of Loom Read AlongThe Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova
Series: Loom Saga #1
Published by Keymaster Press on January 10th 2017
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 395
Format: hardcover
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Her vengeance. His vision.
Ari lost everything she once loved when the Five Guilds’ resistance fell to the Dragon King. Now, she uses her unparalleled gift for clockwork machinery in tandem with notoriously unscrupulous morals to contribute to a thriving underground organ market. There isn’t a place on Loom that is secure from the engineer turned thief, and her magical talents are sold to the highest bidder as long as the job defies their Dragon oppressors.
Cvareh would do anything to see his sister usurp the Dragon King and sit on the throne. His family’s house has endured the shame of being the lowest rung in the Dragons’ society for far too long. The Alchemist Guild, down on Loom, may just hold the key to putting his kin in power, if Cvareh can get to them before the Dragon King’s assassins.
When Ari stumbles upon a wounded Cvareh, she sees an opportunity to slaughter an enemy and make a profit off his corpse. But the Dragon sees an opportunity to navigate Loom with the best person to get him where he wants to go.
He offers her the one thing Ari can’t refuse: A wish of her greatest desire, if she brings him to the Alchemists of Loom.

I’m thrilled today to have a chance to interview Elise about this book. I hope you will enjoy hearing about her thought process when she wrote it as much as I did.

We get to meet Ari in these chapters and she has a very interesting pastime. Have you ever stolen something? (even accidentally)

Stolen something? Other than the hearts of men and women around the globe? (I AM TOTALLY KIDDING)

One thing that I can remember… I made a friend at a martial arts studio I was going to in college and she was also into anime. She lent me her DVD of the live action adaptation of NANA and I held onto it forever because I was busy with school and just never got around to watching it. She ended up moving away and I found it in my drawer a few weeks later. I wasn’t able to get it back to her in time… The worst part? I still haven’t watched it!

Ari never intended to become a thief. If you weren’t an author, what would you want to do?

Before I was an author I worked at a Fortune 500 tech company in marketing, which was actually the focus of my MBA degree. So, if I wasn’t an author I’d likely be back in corporate America and in marketing.

If I could have a dream job? I’d likely be an artist. I’ve always loved drawing, painting, and graphic design.

What character do you feel is more you, Ari or Cvareh?

It’s hard to say… I love tea and wine, which is something I share with Cvareh. However, while I really appreciate fashion, I’m absolutely terrible at it. My more serious and logical sides align with Arianna. I guess it depends on my mood?

Did you base the geography of Loom on anywhere in particular?

A few places…

When I was young my mother and I went on a road trip through the mid-west and stopped to tour the caves in the Black Hills and Badlands of South Dekota. This, combined with the catacombs in Rome, inspired a lot of the Underground in Ter.4.

San Francisco gave a lot of inspiration to both Loom… Everything from the old steamships in the Maritime National Historical Park, to the Embarcadero, to Alcatraz as a floating prison, the beautiful woodwork of the Temple in Hays Valley, even the overall elements of art deco architecture found throughout the city.

Sonoma County, CA, also was inspiration for the isle of Ruana on Nova… Really, a lot of where I’ve traveled and spent time has given inspiration to different parts that make up the whole of the world.

COMING SOON

You want to preorder this book!

The Alchemists of Loom Read AlongThe Dragons of Nova by Elise Kova
Series: Loom Saga #2
Published by Keymaster Press on July 11th 2017
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 488
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Cvareh returns home to his sky world of Nova with the genius crafter Arianna as his temperamental guest. The mercurial inventor possesses all the Xin family needs to turn the tides of a centuries-old power struggle, but the secrets she harbors must be earned with trust -- hard to come by for Ari, especially when it comes to Dragons. On Nova, Ari finds herself closer to exacting vengeance against the traitor who killed everything -- and everyone – she once loved. But before Ari can complete her campaign of revenge, the Crimson Court exposes her shadowed past and reveals something even more dangerous sparking between her and Cvareh.
While Nova is embroiled in blood sport and political games, the rebels on Loom prepare for an all-out assault on their Dragon oppressors. Florence unexpectedly finds herself at the forefront of change, as her unique blend of skills -- and quick-shooting accuracy -- makes her a force to be reckoned with. For the future of her world, she vows vengeance against the Dragons.
Before the rebellion can rise, though, the Guilds must fall.

About the Author

Elise Kova has always had a profound love of fantastical worlds. Somehow, she managed to focus on the real world long enough to graduate with a Master’s in Business Administration before crawling back under her favorite writing blanket to conceptualize her next magic system. She currently lives in St. Petersburg, Florida, and when she is not writing can be found playing video games, watching anime, or talking with readers on social media. She is the USA Today bestselling author of the Air Awakens Series as well as the Loom Saga.

Tags:

Divider

Arc Review: Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh

Posted April 21, 2017 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment

Arc Review: Flame in the Mist by Renee AhdiehFlame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh
Series: Flame in the Mist #1
Published by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers on May 16th 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The daughter of a prominent samurai, Mariko has long known her place—she may be an accomplished alchemist, whose cunning rivals that of her brother Kenshin, but because she is not a boy, her future has always been out of her hands. At just seventeen years old, Mariko is promised to Minamoto Raiden, the son of the emperor's favorite consort—a political marriage that will elevate her family's standing. But en route to the imperial city of Inako, Mariko narrowly escapes a bloody ambush by a dangerous gang of bandits known as the Black Clan, who she learns has been hired to kill her before she reaches the palace.
Dressed as a peasant boy, Mariko sets out to infiltrate the ranks of the Black Clan, determined to track down the person responsible for the target on her back. But she's quickly captured and taken to the Black Clan’s secret hideout, where she meets their leader, the rebel ronin Takeda Ranmaru, and his second-in-command, his best friend Okami. Still believing her to be a boy, Ranmaru and Okami eventually warm to Mariko, impressed by her intellect and ingenuity. As Mariko gets closer to the Black Clan, she uncovers a dark history of secrets, of betrayal and murder, which will force her to question everything she's ever known.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I . NEED. BOOK. TWO.

I knew this wasn’t a standalone, but I got completely caught up in it and stopped thinking about how it wasn’t going to end. Now I need to know!

Flame in the Mist transports you into the life of Mariko, the daughter of a Samurai and therefore wealthy. In fact, she’s been promised to the Emperor’s son as a wife. She’s never content with just being valued as marital property only, but in the beginning she’s succumbed to her father’s wishes and is headed to be wed. That’s when her life forever changes. Her caravan is attacked and she overhears that she was the target. She fakes death, cuts her hair off to appear as a boy, and heads off to find answers as to who wants her dead.

We’re introduced to multiple characters in the Black Clan, who has been identified as the hired assassins. This is one of the best aspects of the story. The characters are so well-developed and you can’t help but feel some type of way about them.

I’m also a sucker for a mystery. If a book can keep me guessing and dying for answers, then I’m happy. This book definitely delivers. It’s the perfect mix of loveable (or hateable) characters, romance, and mystery. I also thought this was just enough Mulan mixed with originality. I love fairy tale retellings that add their own to the story, and Ahdieh accomplishes that.

5 stars, hands down. I loved it.

five-stars

Tags:

Divider

2017 SerendipiTEA Tour: Shaila Patel

2017 SerendipiTEA Tour: Shaila Patel

Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | Books-a-Million | Google Play | Kobo As an unabashed lover of all things happily-ever-after, Shaila Patel writes from her home in the Carolinas and dreams up all sorts of stories with epilogues. A member of the Romance Writers of America, she’s a pharmacist by training, a medical office manager by day, and a writer by night. Her debut, SOULMATED, won the 2015 Chanticleer Book Reviews’ Paranormal Awards for Young Adults, and is part of her Joining of Souls Series. She loves traveling, craft beer, tea, and reading a good book in a cozy window seat—but she’ll read anywhere. You might even find her sneaking in a few paragraphs at a red light, or connecting with other readers online. To learn more, visit her website at www.shailapatelauthor.com or find her online. Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Goodreads   Description of my tea My Soulmated inspired tea is a blend of the Assam that’s found in Irish Breakfast Tea and Indian chai spices: cardamom, cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and whole peppercorn. There’s even a bit of lemongrass thrown in—something my parents used to add to their chai while I was growing up. A little bit about my book Liam Whelan, an Irish empath prince, is being forced by his parents to find his empath soul mate. The rare and legendary […]

Posted April 17, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway / 0 Comments
Divider

Rockstar Review: Blood Rose Rebellion

Rockstar Review: Blood Rose Rebellion

Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves Series: Blood Rose Rebellion #1 Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on March 28th 2017 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult Pages: 416 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads The thrilling first book in a YA fantasy trilogy for fans of Red Queen. In a world where social prestige derives from a trifecta of blood, money, and magic, one girl has the ability to break the spell that holds the social order in place. Sixteen-year-old Anna Arden is barred from society by a defect of blood. Though her family is part of the Luminate, powerful users of magic, she is Barren, unable to perform the simplest spells. Anna would do anything to belong. But her fate takes another course when, after inadvertently breaking her sister’s debutante spell—an important chance for a highborn young woman to show her prowess with magic—Anna finds herself exiled to her family’s once powerful but now crumbling native Hungary. Her life might well be over. In Hungary, Anna discovers that nothing is quite as it seems. Not the people around her, from her aloof cousin Noémi to the fierce and handsome Romani Gábor. Not the society she’s known all her life, for discontent with the Luminate is sweeping the land. And not her lack of magic. Isolated from the only world she cares about, Anna still can’t […]

Posted March 29, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: The Gilded Cage by Vic James

Review: The Gilded Cage by Vic James

Gilded Cage by Vic James Series: Dark Gifts #1 Published by Del Rey Books on February 14th 2017 Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy, Young Adult Pages: 368 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Not all are free. Not all are equal. Not all will be saved. Our world belongs to the Equals — aristocrats with magical gifts — and all commoners must serve them for ten years. But behind the gates of England’s grandest estate lies a power that could break the world. A girl thirsts for love and knowledge. Abi is a servant to England’s most powerful family, but her spirit is free. So when she falls for one of the noble-born sons, Abi faces a terrible choice. Uncovering the family’s secrets might win her liberty, but will her heart pay the price? A boy dreams of revolution. Abi’s brother, Luke, is enslaved in a brutal factory town. Far from his family and cruelly oppressed, he makes friends whose ideals could cost him everything. Now Luke has discovered there may be a power even greater than magic: revolution. And an aristocrat will remake the world with his dark gifts. He is a shadow in the glittering world of the Equals, with mysterious powers no one else understands. But will he liberate—or destroy? I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. […]

Posted March 23, 2017 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: The Ship Beyond Time

Review: The Ship Beyond Time

The Ship Beyond Time by Heidi Heilig Series: The Girl from Everywhere #2 Published by Greenwillow Books on February 28th 2017 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, romance Pages: 464 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads The breathtaking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from Everywhere. Nix has escaped her past, but when the person she loves most is at risk, even the daughter of a time traveler may not be able to outrun her fate—no matter where she goes. Fans of Rae Carson, Alexandra Bracken, and Outlander will fall hard for Heidi Heilig’s sweeping fantasy. Nix has spent her whole life journeying to places both real and imagined aboard her time-traveling father’s ship. And now it’s finally time for her to take the helm. Her father has given up his obsession to save her mother—and possibly erase Nix’s existence—and Nix’s future lies bright before her. Until she learns that she is destined to lose the one she loves. But her relationship with Kash—best friend, thief, charmer extraordinaire—is only just beginning. How can she bear to lose him? How can she bear to become as adrift and alone as her father? Desperate to change her fate, Nix takes her crew to a mythical utopia to meet another Navigator who promises to teach her how to manipulate time. But everything in this utopia is constantly changing, and nothing is […]

Posted March 9, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Waiting on Wednesday: Silence Fallen

Waiting on Wednesday: Silence Fallen

We all have our auto-buy authors. Those authors that we buy no matter what they write and when. Patricia Briggs is definitely one of mine. I fell in love with Mercy Thompson years ago with the first book in the series, Moon Called. This series has high stakes and relate-able characters. It’s not easy to read or even easy to like sometimes but it keeps me coming back. I have to know what happens next to Mercy and Adam. This next one is no exception. It sounds like Mercy has gotten herself in real trouble, far away without her support system. I can’t wait to see what happens. Patricia Briggs will be in Houston as part of her release tour and I will be there! I’m waiting to buy this one until I’m there so I can have her sign it. It’s makes the wait longer, but it’s worth it!

Posted February 22, 2017 by Emily in WoW / 1 Comment
Divider

Irish Banana Tour: Q&A with Wintersong Authour S. Jae-Jones

Irish Banana Tour: Q&A with Wintersong Authour S. Jae-Jones

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones Series: Wintersong #1 Published by Thomas Dunne on February 7th 2017 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, romance, Retelling Pages: 448 Format: ebook Buy on Amazon Goodreads Beware the goblin men and the wares they sell. All her life, nineteen-year-old Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, mysterious Goblin King. He is the Lord of Mischief, the Ruler Underground, and the muse around which her music is composed. Yet, as Liesl helps shoulder the burden of running her family’s inn, her dreams of composition and childish fancies about the Goblin King must be set aside in favor of more practical concerns. But when her sister Käthe is taken by the goblins, Liesl journeys to their realm to rescue her sister and return her to the world above. The Goblin King agrees to let Käthe go—for a price. The life of a maiden must be given to the land, in accordance with the old laws. A life for a life, he says. Without sacrifice, nothing good can grow. Without death, there can be no rebirth. In exchange for her sister’s freedom, Liesl offers her hand in marriage to the Goblin King. He accepts. Down in the Underground, Liesl discovers that the Goblin King still inspires her—musically, physically, emotionally. Yet even as her talent blossoms, Liesl’s life is slowly fading away, the price she paid for becoming the Goblin […]

Posted February 20, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, interview / 3 Comments
Divider

Review: Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

Review: Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco Series: The Bone Witch #1 Published by Sourcebooks Fire on March 7th 2017 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult Pages: 400 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she’s a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training. In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha — one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles…and make a powerful choice. Memoirs of a Geisha meets The Name of the Wind in this brilliant new fantasy series by Rin Chupeco! I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.This story is told straight from the beginning with a narrator and then flash forward interludes between every chapter told from the point of view of a bard who is writing the story. Right from the beginning we know […]

Posted February 13, 2017 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Rockstar Tours Review: Wintersong

Rockstar Tours Review: Wintersong

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones Published by Thomas Dunne on February 7th 2017 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, romance, Retelling Pages: 448 Format: ebook Buy on Amazon Goodreads Beware the goblin men and the wares they sell. All her life, nineteen-year-old Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, mysterious Goblin King. He is the Lord of Mischief, the Ruler Underground, and the muse around which her music is composed. Yet, as Liesl helps shoulder the burden of running her family’s inn, her dreams of composition and childish fancies about the Goblin King must be set aside in favor of more practical concerns. But when her sister Käthe is taken by the goblins, Liesl journeys to their realm to rescue her sister and return her to the world above. The Goblin King agrees to let Käthe go—for a price. The life of a maiden must be given to the land, in accordance with the old laws. A life for a life, he says. Without sacrifice, nothing good can grow. Without death, there can be no rebirth. In exchange for her sister’s freedom, Liesl offers her hand in marriage to the Goblin King. He accepts. Down in the Underground, Liesl discovers that the Goblin King still inspires her—musically, physically, emotionally. Yet even as her talent blossoms, Liesl’s life is slowly fading away, the price she paid for becoming the Goblin King’s bride. As […]

Posted February 10, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 1 Comment
Divider