Genre: Fantasy

FFBC Tour: Review Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace

FFBC Tour: Review Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace

Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace Published by Katherine Tegen Books on January 26th 2016 Genres: paranormal, Fantasy, Young Adult Pages: 368 Format: ebook Source: Edelweiss Buy on Amazon For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes. When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesnÂ’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that sheÂ’s somehow conscious—and not only that, sheÂ’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous. Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace. The biggest problem with this book is that the synopsis absolutely doesn’t do this book justice. I’m not sure what I was expecting after reading the back but this book is 1000 times better than the synopsis makes it sound. I think the […]

Posted January 19, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: Feel the Burn by G.A. Aiken

Review: Feel the Burn by G.A. Aiken

Feel the Burn by G.A. Aiken Series: Dragon Kin #8 Published by Zebra on November 24th 2015 Genres: Fantasy, romance, paranormal Pages: 448 Format: ebook Source: Free for Review, Netgalley Buy on Amazon War makes strange bedfellows. I, Gaius Domitus, one-eyed rebel dragon king of the Provinces, know that better than most, since I have to fight off half my ungrateful family on a regular basis to keep law and order here in my lands. But I never expected to have to consort with a barbarian human woman. Kachka is beautiful, if you like them fierce—and of course I do. But she keeps complaining about how spoiled and decadent I am, and how a feared Daughter of the Steppes has no time for foolish dragons. I think she likes my eye patch, though. It is quite dashing. With death always at our tails, we take our passion like we take our allies. As they say, love the barbarian youÂ’re withÂ… So this one is a romance. Its obvious right? I mean, look at that cover! Very stereotypical naked, muscly man. That must be to draw people in because this book series is so much more than just a romance. I would even say that while the book is about two people falling in love, sometimes romance takes a back seat. The book genre is paranormal fantasy and the world […]

Posted November 23, 2015 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Fire Falling by Elise Kova THREE GIF REVIEW!

Fire Falling by Elise Kova THREE GIF REVIEW!

IT’S FIRE FALLING RELEASE DAY I wanted to celebrate by doing something different. Here’s my first 3 gif review! I tried to pick gifs that encompassed my feelings about this book. It was extremely difficult to find the perfect gifs. What do they make you think? The beginning The middle The end   YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK! Check out my other reviews of Air Awakens and Fire Falling to get a broader picture.  

Posted November 19, 2015 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Guest Post by Elise Kova: Planners and Pantsers

Guest Post by Elise Kova: Planners and Pantsers

There is nothing I don’t love about this post! There is something so fantastic for me about hearing about a writer’s process. Elise Kova has a fun and interesting turn of phrase and I love hearing about how she wrote the Air Awakens series. I could read about what she does all day long. There is no double in my mind that you will enjoy it just as much as I did! There Are Two Types of People In This World: Those Who Plan and Those Who Pants I had a really good author friend of mine (Pete Bauer) ask me once, “Are you a planner, or a pantser?” After I blinked at him dumbly for a long second he laughed and explained the, then foreign, terminology. Planners, are people who plan when they write. They outline every aspect of their story and prepare before they even commit the first keystroke to their tale. Pantsers, are the opposite. They get their distinction from flying by the seat of their pants. I had a new author identity after lunch that day. I am a Pantser. I am she who sits down at a blank word document with quivering hands from excited tension. I am the one who looks at the blinking cursor and sees a world of infinite possibilities that is only limited by how long I can stay awake […]

Posted November 17, 2015 by Emily in Special Feature / 0 Comments
Divider

Arc Review: Fire Falling by Elise Kova & Giveaway!

Arc Review: Fire Falling by Elise Kova & Giveaway!

I’m thrilled to be a part of the Fire Falling Release Tour today! I absolutely loved Air Awakens, so when it came to starting Fire Falling, I was a little hesitant. Its always a little intimidating, when you aren’t sure if you will like the next book in a series as much as you liked the first one. Of course, there is always  uncertainty, but it definitely feels heavier when you love the first book. I started Air Awakens right before I went to bed one night and I stayed up way too late reading it. When I picked up Fire Falling, I was worried I was making exactly the same mistake. It’s just as easy to read as Air Awakens and it has the same beautiful flow. However, I was a little disappointed in the first 50 pages. Vhalla is very upset after the events in the first book and is still reeling. 50 pages into Fire Falling, it had a much different and more serious feeling than I had expected. At that point, I wasn’t hooked the way I was in Air Awakens, so I shrugged, closed the book and went to sleep early. The next morning, I got up early and picked Fire Falling back up. I just expected to read for a few minutes and the go on with my day. Imagine my surprise when suddenly […]

Posted November 9, 2015 by Emily in Giveaway, Review / 4 Comments
Divider

FFBC: Untamed by Madeline Dyer

FFBC: Untamed by Madeline Dyer

Review to come later this month 😀 BOOK LINKS: Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25537576-untamed Amazon: http://amzn.to/1NDJyjv B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/untamed-madeline-dyer/1122078467?ean=9781610409186 iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/untamed/id996879931?mt=11 Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/es-es/ebook/untamed-60 ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Madeline Dyer lives in the southwest of England, and has a strong love for anything dystopian, ghostly, or paranormal. She can frequently be found exploring wild places, and at least one notebook is known to follow her wherever she goes. Aside from writing, Madeline enjoys reading, painting, and inline skating.Untamed is her debut novel. a Rafflecopter giveaway

Posted October 18, 2015 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway / 0 Comments
Divider

Mini Reviews: Nimona and Seconds

Mini Reviews: Nimona and Seconds

I really liked this book. Nimona is a shapeshifter. She’s able to transform herself into any animate creature, like talking sharks! She shows up and convinces Lord Ballister Blackheart to take her on as his sidekick. Ballister is an evil supervillian with an axe to grind against the Institution in general and its top agent, Ambrosius, specifically. Unfortunately, he is also extremely reluctant to actually hurt anyone, much to Nimona’s dismay. Both of them are intent on disrupting the Institution’s plans as much as possible, if in completely separate ways. This book started as an online comic, so it has a special place in my heart.  I loved the spiky, funky art style and the relationship between all the characters; even between the villian, Ballister, and the hero, Ambrosius. Twitter recommended this one to me, and it was definitely a win. When I picked up Seconds I had no idea what it was about. However, on page 48 it’s revealed that Katie is gifted with a do-over and I knew immediately that it would be a instant win with me. I love time travel stories, especially when the main character gets a chance to go back and change something and gets to see how the small change ripples and enacts huge differences in the future. The Groundhog Day trope is one of my favorites. This was the second Groundhog Day esque […]

Posted September 23, 2015 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments
Divider

ARC Review: Hunter by Mercedes Lackey

ARC Review: Hunter by Mercedes Lackey

Hunter by Mercedes Lackey Series: Hunter #1 Published by Disney Electronic Content on September 1st 2015 Genres: Fiction, Fantasy, Epic, Young Adult Pages: 254 Format: ebook Source: Free for Review, Netgalley Goodreads Centuries ago, the barriers between our world and the Otherworld were slashed open allowing hideous fantastical monsters to wreak havoc; destroying entire cities in their wake. Now, people must live in enclosed communities, behind walls that keep them safe from the evil creatures constantly trying to break in. Only the corps of teen Hunters with lightning reflexes and magical abilities can protect the populace from the daily attacks. Joyeaux Charmand is a mountain girl from a close knit village who comes to the big city to join the Hunters. Joy thinks she is only there to perform her civic duty and protect the capitol Cits, or civilians, but as cameras follow her every move, she soon learns that the more successful she is in her hunts, the more famous she becomes. With millions of fans watching her on reality TV, Joy begins to realize that Apex is not all it seems. She is forced to question everything she grew up believing about the legendary Hunters and the very world she lives in. Soon she finds that her fame may be part of a deep conspiracy that threatens to upend the protective structure built to keep dark magic […]

Posted September 1, 2015 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider