Genre: Gaslamp Fantasy

ARC Review: The Alchemists of Loom

Posted January 3, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 3 Comments

ARC Review: The Alchemists of Loom

Proud member of the

Harvester Banner

ARC Review: The Alchemists of LoomThe Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova
Series: Loom Saga #1
Published by Keymaster Press on January 10th 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Gaslamp Fantasy, Sci Fi, steampunk
Pages: 352
Format: ebook
Source: Free for Review
Buy on Amazon
four-half-stars

Her vengeance. His vision.
Ari lost everything she once loved when the Five GuildsÂ’ resistance fell to the Dragon King. Now, she uses her unparalleled gift for clockwork machinery in tandem with notoriously unscrupulous morals to contribute to a thriving underground organ market. There isnÂ’t a place on Loom that is secure from the engineer turned thief, and her magical talents are sold to the highest bidder as long as the job defies their Dragon oppressors.
Cvareh would do anything to see his sister usurp the Dragon King and sit on the throne. His familyÂ’s house has endured the shame of being the lowest rung in the DragonsÂ’ society for far too long. The Alchemist Guild, down on Loom, may just hold the key to putting his kin in power, if Cvareh can get to them before the Dragon KingÂ’s assassins.
When Ari stumbles upon a wounded Cvareh, she sees an opportunity to slaughter an enemy and make a profit off his corpse. But the Dragon sees an opportunity to navigate Loom with the best person to get him where he wants to go.
He offers her the one thing Ari canÂ’t refuse: A wish of her greatest desire, if she brings him to the Alchemists of Loom.

This book blew my mind!

I’m a huge fan of Steampunk and I’m always on the lookout for books in that genre. They are few and far between. Even when a book is billed as steampunk, its hard to find one with the right combination of gritty technology and magic. Alchemists of Loom hits the sweet spot. There are guns and bombs and gears and airships and plenty more elements that make for true steampunk. Elise Kova also weaves in tons of magic and mystery. This book nails the genre.

What made this book a new favorite though was the unique setting. Loom and Nova are like nowhere I’ve ever read about before. Elise weaves the information about the setting throughout the story without ever committing the sin of the infodump. It was surprising to me because its so subtle. Throughout the book, I kept thinking, I wish I knew more about the world. Tell me MORE. Then when the book was over, I was describing it to a friend and I realized that I knew so much more than I thought I did. All the little details that I love about fantasy were in the narrative. I learned everything I could have wanted to about the world without even realizing it.

The world is deliciously complex. I can’t explain it with the depth and beauty that Elise did, so I’m not going to bother trying. I just loved the 3 different races and the way that they both complimented and struggled against each other. It’s ridiculous because they have a symbiotic relationship. One wouldn’t even exist without the other two. Still they are locked in a battle of rebellion and oppression.

A complicated world with conflicting motives, interesting characters with deep and changing motivations and a rip roaring, nonstop chase across multiple territories. What’s not to love?? Pick this book up immediately.

Divider

About the Author

Elise KovaElise Kova has always had a profound love of fantastical worlds. Somehow, she managed to focus on the real world long enough to graduate with a Master’s in Business Administration before crawling back under her favorite writing blanket to conceptualize her next magic system. She currently lives in St. Petersburg, Florida, and when she is not writing can be found playing video games, watching anime, or talking with readers on social media. She is the USA Today bestselling author of the Air Awakens Series as well as the upcoming Loom Saga (Keymaster, 2017).

Follow Elise Kova on Goodreads

Follow Elise Kova on Amazon

Follow the Tour

Week One:

1/2/2017Beyond the Book ReviewsInterview
1/3/2017Emily Reads EverythingReview
1/4/2017Once Upon A TwilightExcerpt
1/5/2017NovelKnightReview
1/6/2017Two Chicks on BooksInterview

Week Two:

1/9/2017Zach’s YA ReviewsReview
1/10/2017– A Gingerly Review- Excerpt
1/11/2017Always MeReview
1/12/2017BookHounds YA Interview
1/13/2017Lost in Ever AfterReview

Giveaway

1 winner will receive a signed finished copy of THE ALCHEMISTS OF LOOM, International.

3 winners will receive THE ALCHEMISTS OF LOOM Swag Packs, International.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

Waiting on Wednesday: NUMBER 1

Posted September 7, 2016 by Emily in WoW / 1 Comment

I have never done a Waiting on Wednesday post but I feel that today is the perfect reason to start! I’m so excited to be posting about one of my most anticipated January 2017 releases! What title is that? Why, THE ALCHEMISTS OF LOOM by Elise Kova, of course! This book has everything you could ever want out of a High Fantasy novel: dragons, magic, relatable main characters, and steampunk. Sound interesting? Read more below to find out all the details…

Waiting on Wednesday: NUMBER 1The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova
Series: Loom Saga #1
Published by Keymaster Press on January 10th 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Dystopian, Gaslamp Fantasy, steampunk
Pages: 380
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Her vengeance. His vision.
Ari lost everything she once loved when the Five Guilds’ resistance fell to the Dragon King. Now, she uses her unparalleled gift for clockwork machinery in tandem with notoriously unscrupulous morals to contribute to a thriving underground organ market. There isn’t a place on Loom that is secure from the engineer turned thief, and her magical talents are sold to the highest bidder as long as the job defies their Dragon oppressors.
Cvareh would do anything to see his sister usurp the Dragon King and sit on the throne. His family’s house has endured the shame of being the lowest rung in the Dragons’ society for far too long. The Alchemist Guild, down on Loom, may just hold the key to putting his kin in power, if Cvareh can get to them before the Dragon King’s assassins.
When Ari stumbles upon a wounded Cvareh, she sees an opportunity to slaughter an enemy and make a profit off his corpse. But the Dragon sees an opportunity to navigate Loom with the best person to get him where he wants to go.
He offers her the one thing Ari can’t refuse: A wish of her greatest desire, if she brings him to the Alchemists of Loom.



PurchaseAMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOK DEPOSITORY | BOOKS A MILLION | IBOOKS

But that’s not all! You can join in on celebrating the release of THE ALCHEMISTS OF LOOM by participating in the Guild Games!

You can learn more at the Guild Games website but the quick and dirty is that you join a Guild, work together as a Guild to collect Resources, and trade those Resources in for Rewards!

I’m in the Harvesters Guild and so far we have unlocked bookmarks!

Harvester Banner

Not sure which of the five guilds you want to join? Why not take the quiz before joining a Guild?

Find-your-Guild-1024x683

Join, earn resources, earn swag and look forward to Alchemists of Loom with us!

Tags:

Divider

Review: Strange and Ever After

Review: Strange and Ever After

This is the final chapter of the series, where everything is tied up. I didn’t do any spoilers in my first two reviews and I am going to try my best to keep up with that. However, with everything building on itself, it’s getting more difficult to completely avoid spoilers. I definitely will not spoil book three. I’m doing my best but by book three there ultimately may be some spoilers from books 1 and 2 in this review. I’m not promising anything. Your mileage my vary. Read at your own risk. Quick series recap: I liked book one but I didn’t love it. However, I was intrigued. I wanted to keep reading. Book two had all the steampunky goodness plus all the Daniel I could ever want. I thought it was much improved over book one and had me excited to finish the series. That bring us to: I’m still not sold on Eleanor. Since this series is now over, I probably never will be. It was very odd for me to read and entire series and never quite connect with the main character. In book two I loved how she spent much of it on her own, fighting her own battles. She learned all about her specific type of magic from Oliver and they became closer friends. When circumstances placed her apart from Daniel, Joseph and Jie, […]

Posted January 21, 2016 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments
Divider

Review: A Darkness Strange and Lovely

Review: A Darkness Strange and Lovely

A Darkness Strange and Lovely (Something Strange and Deadly, #2) by Susan Dennard Series: Something Strange and Deadly #2 Published by HarperTeen on June 24th 2014 Genres: Gaslamp Fantasy, Historical, steampunk Pages: 432 Buy on Amazon Perfect for fans of Libba Bray’s The Diviners and Cassandra Clare’s The Infernal Devices series, this spellbinding sequel to Something Strange and Deadly delivers a mix of supernatural forces and intense romance, set against the enchanting backdrop of nineteenth-century Paris. With her brother dead and her mother insane, Eleanor Fitt is alone. Even the Spirit-Hunters—Joseph, Jie, and the handsome Daniel—have fled to Paris. So when Eleanor hears the vicious barking of hounds and sees haunting yellow eyes, she fears that the Dead, and the necromancer Marcus, are after her. To escape, Eleanor boards a steamer bound for France. There she meets Oliver, a young man who claims to have known her brother. But Oliver harbors a dangerous secret involving necromancy and black magic that entices Eleanor beyond words. If she can resist him, she’ll be fine. But when she arrives in Paris, she finds that the Dead have taken over, and there’s a whole new evil lurking. And she is forced to make a deadly decision that will go against everything the Spirit-Hunters stand for. In Paris, there’s a price for this darkness strange and lovely, and it may have Eleanor paying with […]

Posted January 14, 2016 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: Something Strange and Deadly

Review: Something Strange and Deadly

I’ve been hearing so much about Susan Dennard’s newest book, Truthwitch. It’s everywhere. Her clans are always on twitter talking about it. In my Birthday Giveaway it was one of the most requested books. I’m not in a Clan but I have participated in her #clanchat on twitter on #truthwitchtuesday several times. I had never read a book by Susan Dennard and I wasn’t able to read Truthwitch yet. When I read this, it wasn’t out yet. I figured the best way to try it would be to see if I even like her writing style. So I tried…   I really liked the style. I love steampunk and gaslamp fantasy so when I read the synopsis I felt sure that this was an easy slam dunk for me. Right away, I loved the combination of historical and paranormal fantasy. The setting was a huge positive for me. But… Everything else fell really flat for me. The main character, Eleanor, seemed like a caricature instead of a person. She had one main feature, she was odd. She didn’t fit into the society. I don’t think I’ve ever complained about a character wanting a different life than the one planned for her. However, it didn’t feel like there was anything else that set her apart. I never connected with her so I didn’t care whether she succeeded or failed. I knew she […]

Posted January 7, 2016 by Emily in Review / 3 Comments
Divider