Genre: horror

Top Ten Tuesday #4

Posted December 27, 2016 by Emily in Top 10 / 2 Comments

Top Ten Best Books of 2016!

I know, I know- basic. BUT this book was so amazing and there was no way I was leaving this off the list. I pre-ordered and then procrastinated because I knew it was going to mess with my emotions, but it’s so worth it in the end. I can sum up my greatest love for this series in one word: RHYSAND. 🙂

Top Ten Tuesday #4A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #2
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on May 3rd 2016
Genres: romance, Fantasy
Pages: 640
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people.
Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.
With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas's masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven I can’t say enough about all the good things about this book. I wrote a full review-but the highlights are body positivity, diversity, and the sweet romance.

Top Ten Tuesday #4Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on October 4th 2016
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 391
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Everyone thinks they know Libby Strout, the girl once dubbed “America’s Fattest Teen.” But no one’s taken the time to look past her weight to get to know who she really is. Following her mom’s death, she’s been picking up the pieces in the privacy of her home, dealing with her heartbroken father and her own grief. Now, Libby’s ready: for high school, for new friends, for love, and for every possibility life has to offer. In that moment, I know the part I want to play here at MVB High. I want to be the girl who can do anything. 
Everyone thinks they know Jack Masselin, too. Yes, he’s got swagger, but he’s also mastered the impossible art of giving people what they want, of fitting in. What no one knows is that Jack has a newly acquired secret: he can’t recognize faces. Even his own brothers are strangers to him. He’s the guy who can re-engineer and rebuild anything, but he can’t understand what’s going on with the inner workings of his brain. So he tells himself to play it cool: Be charming. Be hilarious. Don’t get too close to anyone.
Until he meets Libby. When the two get tangled up in a cruel high school game—which lands them in group counseling and community service—Libby and Jack are both pissed, and then surprised. Because the more time they spend together, the less alone they feel. Because sometimes when you meet someone, it changes the world, theirs and yours.

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon Another book with a full review, but this definitely makes my top 2016 reads. I loved the interracial relationship, the own voices representation, and the mix up in traditional gender roles. If you haven’t read this one, you must!

Top Ten Tuesday #4The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
Published by Delacorte Press on November 1st 2016
Genres: Contemporary, romance
Pages: 348
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.
Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.
The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover I’ve heard differing opinions on this book, but I absolutely loved it. It was heartbreaking and felt real to me. I also think it could give strength to women in similar situations.

Top Ten Tuesday #4It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover
Published by Atria Books on August 2nd, 2016
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 367
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

SOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST
Lily hasn't always had it easy, but that's never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She's come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up - she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily's life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.
Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He's also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle's complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.
As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan - her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.
With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.
This book contains graphic scenes and very sensitive subject matter.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin Definitely not a 2016 release, but still one that sucked me into the entire trilogy this year. I loved the mystery and, of course, Noah.

Top Ten Tuesday #4The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
Series: Mara Dyer #1
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on September 27th 2011
Genres: paranormal, romance, Young Adult
Pages: 456
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Mara Dyer believes life can't get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.
She believes there must be more to the accident she can't remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.
There is.
She doesn't believe that after everything she's been through, she can fall in love.
She's wrong.

This one is probably going to be on every list. I can’t help it though. It was perfection. Nina and Matthias’s deep and abiding love will always be one of my favorite romances. Leigh Bardugo made me feel more between them in just a few pages than most authors can in an entire book.

Top Ten Tuesday #4Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows, #2) by Leigh Bardugo
Published by Orion Children's Books on September 27th 2016
Pages: 536
Goodreads

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn't think they'd survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they're right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz's cunning and test the team's fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city's dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.

Speaking of romances, while I may never recover from Nina and Matthais, meeting Mattie and Asa sure helped a lot. This book had the most interesting magic system of any book I read this year. I loved how it was dark and gritty. This is not the romance to read if you want hearts and rainbows. It’s the beginning of a series and it’s one I just couldn’t put down. This one has been a real success story with recommendations too. Every single person I’ve recommended it to has loved it.

Top Ten Tuesday #4Reliquary by Sarah Fine
Series: Reliquary #1
on June 14, 2016
Genres: romance, Fantasy
Pages: 331
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Mattie Carver’s engagement party should have marked the start of her own personal fairy tale. But when her fiancé, Ben, is violently abducted the next morning, her desperate quest to find him rips her away from small-town life and reveals a shattering truth: magic is real—and Ben is hooked. It’s not the stuff of storybooks. It’s wildly addictive, capable of producing everything from hellish anguish to sensual ecstasy almost beyond human endurance.

Determined to find out who took Ben and why, Mattie immerses herself in a shadowy underworld and comes face-to-face with the darkly alluring Asa Ward, a rogue magic dealer, infamous hustler…and her missing fiancé’s estranged brother. Asa has the power to sense magic, and he realizes Mattie is a reliquary, someone with the rare ability to carry magic within her own body, undetected. Asa agrees to help find Ben on one condition: Mattie must use her uncommon talent to assist his smuggling operations. Now, from magic-laced Vegas casinos to the netherworld clubs of Bangkok, Mattie is on a rescue mission. With Asa by her side, she’ll face not only the supernatural forces arrayed against her but the all-too-human temptation that she fears she can’t resist.

I don’t struggle with mental illness but  I have loved ones who do. This book was so eye opening for me. It was heartbreaking to learn about all the tragedy’s in Charlie’s life. I loved seeing her survive and heal.

Top Ten Tuesday #4Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow
Published by Delacorte Press on August 30th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads


START READING!

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.
Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.

This audio book is hands down one of the best I’ve ever read. To take an epistolary novel like Illuminae, which is told in chat logs and drawings and turn it into an audio book is an achievement in itself, but this one goes above and beyond. My favorite character is not any of the main ones but VidTech 7213! Reading the books, I didn’t notice what a distinct voice and personality he has but the audio book allows every character to shine.

Top Ten Tuesday #4Illuminae by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
Series: Illuminae Files #1
Published by Listening Library (Audio) on October 20th 2015
Genres: Sci Fi, Young Adult
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.
This afternoon, her planet was invaded.
The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.
But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet's AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it's clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she'd never speak to again.
Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

This book totally screwed me up in a really good way. It was creepy and unsettling and terrifying at points. I loved how the author made being a stalker and a serial killer almost normal at points because it really made me think about things. Being in the mind of a crazy person and reading the story from his point of view really emphasized how screwed up Joe is.

Top Ten Tuesday #4You by Caroline Kepnes
Series: You #1
Published by Atria/Emily Bestler Books on September 30th 2014
Genres: horror, Thriller
Pages: 422
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.
There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she’ll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a “chance” meeting.
As Joe invisibly and obsessively takes control of Beck’s life, he orchestrates a series of events to ensure Beck finds herself in his waiting arms. Moving from stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck’s perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder.

What were your Top Ten reads of 2016?

Tags:

Divider

#IndieMas 2016 Day Twelve

Posted December 16, 2016 by Emily in Awesome Indie, Events and Features, Giveaway / 1 Comment

indiemas

Author S. Usher Evans created #IndieMas as a way to celebrate her favorite Indie authors.

On the twelfth day of #IndieMas my author gave to me

Terrifying Books
Great Fantasy Series
Humorous Romance
Diverse Sci Fi
Fate Interfering
Music and Fairy Tales

Three Books Today

Favorite Fantasies

Thrills and Romance,

Pulse Pounding Action,
 Two Adventures,
And Sci Fi and Fantasy

.

#IndieMas 2016 Day TwelveThe Dead Circle by Keith Varney
Series: The Dead Circle #1
Published by Amazon Digital Services on October 31, 2015
Genres: horror
Pages: 360
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Something is terribly wrong in Detroit.
When Chris and Sarah bought an abandoned library to renovate and live in, they expected to be on the ground floor of the revival of Detroit. But unbeknownst to them, the city is about to fall. The devastation begins with a single woman who mysteriously tears off her clothing and starts walking the perimeter of an empty lot. Within minutes, hundreds of disparate people inexplicably join her to form a giant human circle slowly revolving like a hurricane of flesh. Moved by inexorable forces, they twitch and spasm, contorting their naked bodies in a primordial death dance. They’re oblivious to everything, even the unfortunate souls who fall beneath their feet.
Bewildered citizens and authorities are desperate to know what’s causing the bizarre event… at least until it starts to rain.
Chris and Sarah abruptly find themselves trapped in a forsaken city. To survive, they must evade the horrifying illness, find food and shelter in a suddenly primitive world… and have a battle plan for when the circle stops spinning…
The Dead Circle has 342 pages in print.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

#IndieMas 2016 Day TwelveMalus Domestica by S.A. Hunt
Series: Malus Domestica #1
Published by Createspace on July 21st 2015
Genres: horror
Pages: 448
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

From the award-winning author of the Outlaw King series comes another harrowing adventure in the grand tradition of Stephen King, Clive Barker, and Charlaine Harris.

Robin Martine has come a long way.
She's not your usual college-age girl. More often than not, Robin's washing a load of gory clothes at the laundromat, or down at the lake throwing hatchets at pumpkins. She lives in an old van, collects swords, and dyes her mohawk blue.

Also, she kills witches for a living on YouTube.
You see, Robin's life was turned upside down by those hideous banshees from Hell. She spent high-school in a psych ward, drugged out of her head for telling the cops her mother Annie was murdered with magic. Magic from a witch named Marilyn Cutty.

After a 3-year warpath across America, she's come home to end Cutty for good.
But she'll have to battle hog-monsters, a city full of raving maniacs, and a killer henchman called the "Serpent" if she wants to end the coven's reign over the town of Blackfield once and for all.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tags:

Divider
Divider

Review: Three Dark Crowns

Review: Three Dark Crowns

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake Series: Three Dark Crowns #1 Published by HarperTeen on September 20th 2016 Genres: Fantasy, horror, Young Adult Pages: 416 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions. But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins. The last queen standing gets the crown. If only it was that simple. Katharine is unable to tolerate the weakest poison, and Arsinoe, no matter how hard she tries, can’t make even a weed grow. The two queens have been shamefully faking their powers, taking care to keep each other, the island, and their powerful sister Mirabella none the wiser. But with alliances being formed, betrayals taking shape, and ruthless […]

Posted November 14, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Awesome Indies: Bloodwalker by L.X. Cain

Awesome Indies: Bloodwalker by L.X. Cain

For more information, check out the Awesome Indies page This is a first! Bloodwalker is the first book submitted to Awesome Indies that I have also chosen to review. This doesn’t mean that the other books were lacking in any way. It just means that Bloodwalker caught my attention. It started with a fantastic personal email. The author, L.X. Cain checked out my past reviews and decided her book and I would probably be a good match. She then sold her book to me by mentioning the plot and comparing it to books I loved. I didn’t know it at the time, but I took a chance. Her comparisons were spot on! I really enjoyed this book. It’s creepy and different, which I loved. I can’t think of another book or series to compare it to. It’s part murder mystery and part paranormal or urban fantasy. I think that the best comparison is to a Pendergast novel by Preston and Child but even that isn’t a great description. There were layers of plot and subplot with all the characters subtlety interwoven. I really didn’t know what was going to happen up until the very end. Both main characters are terrific. Rurik is really complex. I really think we just scratched the surface of his character. Damaged characters are my favorite kind! I love the character development that comes with damaged characters. […]

Posted September 30, 2016 by Emily in Events and Features, Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Rockstar Arc Review: Women in the Walls

Rockstar Arc Review: Women in the Walls

The Women in the Walls by Amy Lukavics Published by Harlequin Teen on September 27th 2016 Genres: Young Adult, horror Pages: 304 Format: Paperback Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon Goodreads Lucy Acosta’s mother died when she was three. Growing up in a Victorian mansion in the middle of the woods with her cold, distant father, she explored the dark hallways of the estate with her cousin, Margaret. They’re inseparable—a family.   When her aunt Penelope, the only mother she’s ever known, tragically disappears while walking in the woods surrounding their estate, Lucy finds herself devastated and alone. Margaret has been spending a lot of time in the attic. She claims she can hear her dead mother’s voice whispering from the walls. Emotionally shut out by her father, Lucy watches helplessly as her cousin’s sanity slowly unravels. But when she begins hearing voices herself, Lucy finds herself confronting an ancient and deadly legacy that has marked the women in her family for generations. Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks, Goodreads I’ve finally found one! A book that lives up to my high standards for horror! Amy Lukavics is an author who doesn’t shy away from the making her books really scary! I really enjoyed this book from the very beginning. It starts out strange. Lucy lives in a big old house. Her mother died, her father runs the business, her aunt and her […]

Posted September 20, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Rockstar ARC Review: A Shadow Bright and Burning

Rockstar ARC Review: A Shadow Bright and Burning

A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess Series: Kingdom on Fire #1 Published by Random House BFYR on September 20th 2016 Genres: paranormal, Fantasy, Historical, Young Adult, horror Pages: 416 Format: Paperback Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon Goodreads I am Henrietta Howel. The first female sorcerer. The prophesied one. Or am I? Henrietta Howel can burst into flames. When she is brought to London to train with Her Majesty’s sorcerers, she meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, young men eager to test her powers and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her. As Henrietta discovers the secrets hiding behind the glamour of sorcerer life, she begins to doubt that she’s the true prophesied one. With battle looming, how much will she risk to save the city–and the one she loves? “Vivid characters, terrifying monsters, and world building as deep and dark as the ocean.”—Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Red Queen “Unputdownable. I loved the monsters, the magic, and the teen warriors who are their world’s best hope!” —Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author “The magic! The intrigue! The guys! We were sucked into this monster-ridden, alternative England from page one. Henrietta is literally a ‘girl on fire’ and this team of sorcerers training for battle had a pinch of Potter blended with a […]

Posted September 13, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 2 Comments
Divider

ARC Review: This Savage Song

ARC Review: This Savage Song

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab Series: Monsters of Verity #1 Published by Greenwillow Books on July 5th 2016 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, horror Pages: 464 Format: Paperback Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon ThereÂ’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books. Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but heÂ’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, whoÂ’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers AugustÂ’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. I love V.E. Schwab books because there is […]

Posted August 4, 2016 by Emily in Review / 4 Comments
Divider

Review: The Fireman by Joe Hill

Review: The Fireman by Joe Hill

The Fireman by Joe Hill Published by William Morrow on May 17th 2016 Genres: horror, Dystopian Pages: 752 Format: hardcover Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon From the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of NOS4A2 and Heart-Shaped Box comes a chilling novel about a worldwide pandemic of spontaneous combustion that threatens to reduce civilization to ashes and a band of improbable heroes who battle to save it, led by one powerful and enigmatic man known as the Fireman. The fireman is coming. Stay cool. No one knows exactly when it began or where it originated. A terrifying new plague is spreading like wildfire across the country, striking cities one by one: Boston, Detroit, Seattle. The doctors call it Draco Incendia Trychophyton. To everyone else itÂ’s Dragonscale, a highly contagious, deadly spore that marks its hosts with beautiful black and gold marks across their bodies—before causing them to burst into flames. Millions are infected; blazes erupt everywhere. There is no antidote. No one is safe. Harper Grayson, a compassionate, dedicated nurse as pragmatic as Mary Poppins, treated hundreds of infected patients before her hospital burned to the ground. Now sheÂ’s discovered the telltale gold-flecked marks on her skin. When the outbreak first began, she and her husband, Jakob, had made a pact: they would take matters into their own hands if they became infected. To JakobÂ’s dismay, Harper […]

Posted July 20, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Malus Domestica by S.A. Hunt

Review: Malus Domestica by S.A. Hunt

Malus Domestica by S.A. Hunt Series: Malus Domestica #1 Published by Createspace on July 21st 2015 Genres: horror, Action & Adventure, paranormal Pages: 448 Format: ebook Source: owned Buy on Amazon Robin Martine has come a long way. She’s not your usual college-age girl. More often than not, Robin’s washing a load of gory clothes at the laundromat, or down at the lake throwing hatchets at pumpkins. She lives in an old van, collects swords, and dyes her mohawk blue. Also, she kills witches for a living on YouTube.You see, Robin’s life was turned upside down by those hideous banshees from Hell. She spent high-school in a psych ward, drugged out of her head for telling the cops her mother Annie was murdered with magic. Magic from a witch named Marilyn Cutty. After a 3-year warpath across America, she’s come home to end Cutty for good. But she’ll have to battle hog-monsters, a city full of raving maniacs, and a killer henchman called the “Serpent” if she wants to end the coven’s reign over the town of Blackfield once and for all. This novel is the most unique book I have read in years. Books are filled with familiar stories. There are some stories that come around so often, we have a name for them; tropes. When we read, we look for these tropes. We expect them. We have […]

Posted March 10, 2016 by Emily in Review / 3 Comments
Divider