Genre: Magical Realism

Waiting on Wednesday: Wicked Like a Wildfire

Posted May 10, 2017 by Emily in Uncategorized / 3 Comments

wow logo

Waiting on Wednesday: Wicked Like a WildfireWicked Like a Wildfire by Lana Popović
on August 15, 2017
Genres: Magical Realism
Pages: 416
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

All the women in Iris and Malina’s family have the unique magical ability or “gleam” to manipulate beauty. Iris sees flowers as fractals and turns her kaleidoscope visions into glasswork, while Malina interprets moods as music. But their mother has strict rules to keep their gifts a secret, even in their secluded sea-side town. Iris and Malina are not allowed to share their magic with anyone, and above all, they are forbidden from falling in love. 
But when their mother is mysteriously attacked, the sisters will have to unearth the truth behind the quiet lives their mother has built for them. They will discover a wicked curse that haunts their family line—but will they find that the very magic that bonds them together is destined to tear them apart forever?

I won’t even lie, I read Roshani Chokshi’s blurb before the synopsis and was sold. She said,

Wicked Like a Wildfire was like devouring a succulent fairy fruit—it will rob your time, settle into your dreams, and leave you starving for more.”

HOW COULD THAT NOT MAKE YOU WANT TO READ THIS?!?!

The synopsis describes the twins as having magical abilities, which is awesome enough. But the really enticing part is the fact that they’re forbidden from falling in love. The family curse makes me think of A Million Junes which I absolutely loved. I have high hopes that this will be just as enchanting.

While I’m dying for an arc, I may be thankful for not getting one in the long run because this is a duology and I have a feeling I’ll be desperate for the follow-up. Look out for this summer release!

Tags:

Divider

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016

Posted November 29, 2016 by Emily in Events and Features, Top 10 / 9 Comments

10 Contemporary Books to Buy to add Diversity to Your Bookshelf

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016All American Boys by Jason Reynolds, Brendan Kiely
Published by Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books on September 29th 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads
Pages: 316
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Rashad is absent again today.
That’s the sidewalk graffiti that started it all…
Well, no, actually, a lady tripping over Rashad at the store, making him drop a bag of chips, was what started it all. Because it didn’t matter what Rashad said next—that it was an accident, that he wasn’t stealing—the cop just kept pounding him. Over and over, pummeling him into the pavement. So then Rashad, an ROTC kid with mad art skills, was absent again…and again…stuck in a hospital room. Why? Because it looked like he was stealing. And he was a black kid in baggy clothes. So he must have been stealing.
And that’s how it started.
And that’s what Quinn, a white kid, saw. He saw his best friend’s older brother beating the daylights out of a classmate. At first Quinn doesn’t tell a soul…He’s not even sure he understands it. And does it matter? The whole thing was caught on camera, anyway. But when the school—and nation—start to divide on what happens, blame spreads like wildfire fed by ugly words like “racism” and “police brutality.” Quinn realizes he’s got to understand it, because, bystander or not, he’s a part of history. He just has to figure out what side of history that will be.
Rashad and Quinn—one black, one white, both American—face the unspeakable truth that racism and prejudice didn’t die after the civil rights movement. There’s a future at stake, a future where no one else will have to be absent because of police brutality. They just have to risk everything to change the world.
Cuz that’s how it can end.

This book is so relevant to some of the social issues we’re facing in the United States today. I loved the dual perspectives because it made the story not just relatable, but easier to understand because I am white. I highly, highly recommend this one for all ages and races.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016Ghost by Jason Reynolds
Published by Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books on August 30th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads
Pages: 192
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

A National Book Award Finalist for Young People’s Literature.
Ghost wants to be the fastest sprinter on his elite middle school track team, but his past is slowing him down in this first electrifying novel of a brand-new series from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe Award–winning author Jason Reynolds.
Ghost. Lu. Patina. Sunny. Four kids from wildly different backgrounds with personalities that are explosive when they clash. But they are also four kids chosen for an elite middle school track team—a team that could qualify them for the Junior Olympics if they can get their acts together. They all have a lot to lose, but they also have a lot to prove, not only to each other, but to themselves.
Ghost has a crazy natural talent, but no formal training. If he can stay on track, literally and figuratively, he could be the best sprinter in the city. But Ghost has been running for the wrong reasons—it all starting with running away from his father, who, when Ghost was a very little boy, chased him and his mother through their apartment, then down the street, with a loaded gun, aiming to kill. Since then, Ghost has been the one causing problems—and running away from them—until he meets Coach, an ex-Olympic Medalist who blew his own shot at success by using drugs, and who is determined to keep other kids from blowing their shots at life.

This is a middle grades book, but it is so good! If you have kids, are a teacher, or just want some insight on a tween boy who grew up under rough circumstances but found a positive outlet in running track, pick this up.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on January 24th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

This is a heart wrenching kind of book. I enjoy a lot of true crime shows and have found myself watching documentaries on kids being accused of committing murder at  young age, so I was drawn to this one immediately. Mary is black and was accused at age 9 of killing a 3 month old baby and now after years of time in “baby jail” and a treacherous group home she finds out she’s pregnant. This book shows that sometimes the whole story isn’t told and you can’t always judge a person based on appearances.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
Published by Delacorte Press on November 1st 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.
Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.
The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

I love this book so much. Definitely top 5 of 2016 for me. A mixture of fate, logic, and interracial love is just the beginning of what makes this book fantastic.

 

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on October 4th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads
Pages: 391
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Everyone thinks they know Libby Strout, the girl once dubbed “America’s Fattest Teen.” But no one’s taken the time to look past her weight to get to know who she really is. Following her mom’s death, she’s been picking up the pieces in the privacy of her home, dealing with her heartbroken father and her own grief. Now, Libby’s ready: for high school, for new friends, for love, and for every possibility life has to offer. In that moment, I know the part I want to play here at MVB High. I want to be the girl who can do anything. 
Everyone thinks they know Jack Masselin, too. Yes, he’s got swagger, but he’s also mastered the impossible art of giving people what they want, of fitting in. What no one knows is that Jack has a newly acquired secret: he can’t recognize faces. Even his own brothers are strangers to him. He’s the guy who can re-engineer and rebuild anything, but he can’t understand what’s going on with the inner workings of his brain. So he tells himself to play it cool: Be charming. Be hilarious. Don’t get too close to anyone.
Until he meets Libby. When the two get tangled up in a cruel high school game—which lands them in group counseling and community service—Libby and Jack are both pissed, and then surprised. Because the more time they spend together, the less alone they feel. Because sometimes when you meet someone, it changes the world, theirs and yours.

America’s formerly fattest teen ends up back in school after several years of being out and becomes a target of Fat Girl Rodeo. Little does she know that one of the boys who targeted her suffers from prosopagnosia. When they have to serve a sort of detention together, they discover things about themselves and each other.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera
Published by Soho Teen on June 2nd 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads, LGBT
Pages: 293
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

In his twisty, gritty, profoundly moving debut—called “mandatory reading” by the New York Times—Adam Silvera brings to life a charged, dangerous near-future summer in the Bronx.
In the months after his father's suicide, it's been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again--but he's still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he's slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely.
When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron's crew notices, and they're not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can't deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends. Since Aaron can't stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute's revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is.
Why does happiness have to be so hard?

Recommended by my dear friend, MC from Blame the Books & Cornerfolds, More Happy Than Not is not one that I have personally read but is on my upcoming TBR. This book is focused on a teenage boy overcoming the heartache associated with his father’s suicide. He meets another boy and starts to feel happiness again despite others’ weariness.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin
Published by Balzer + Bray on February 2nd 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads, LGBT
Pages: 352
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The first thing you’re going to want to know about me is: Am I a boy, or am I a girl?
Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. The thing is…Riley isn’t exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in uber-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley’s so-called “normal” life.
On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it’s REALLY like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley’s starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley’s real identity, threatening exposure. Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

Another recommendation by MC! This is about a gender fluid teen who feels female  some days and male other days. However, she hasn’t come out yet and is encouraged to make a blog as a way of dealing with her feelings. It started anonymously, but someone discovered her identity and has threatened to out her. She has a decision to make!

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry
Published by Razorbill on January 26th 2016
Genres: Magical Realism
Pages: 396
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Natalie Cleary must risk her future and leap blindly into a vast unknown for the chance to build a new world with the boy she loves.
Natalie’s last summer in her small Kentucky hometown is off to a magical start... until she starts seeing the “wrong things.” They’re just momentary glimpses at first—her front door is red instead of its usual green, there’s a pre-school where the garden store should be. But then her whole town disappears for hours, fading away into rolling hills and grazing buffalo, and Nat knows something isn’t right.
That’s when she gets a visit from the kind but mysterious apparition she calls “Grandmother,” who tells her: “You have three months to save him.” The next night, under the stadium lights of the high school football field, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau, and it’s as if time just stops and nothing exists. Nothing, except Natalie and Beau.
Emily Henry’s stunning debut novel is Friday Night Lights meets The Time Traveler’s Wife, and perfectly captures those bittersweet months after high school, when we dream not only of the future, but of all the roads and paths we’ve left untaken.

The diverse representation in this book centers on Native American heritage and culture. It’s mostly contemporary with a bit of fantasy, but the blend and balance is so unusual and makes for an awesome read.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016Wonder by R.J. Palacio
Published by Knopf on February 14th 2012
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads
Pages: 320
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.
August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He's about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you've ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie's just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, despite appearances?
R. J. Palacio has written a spare, warm, uplifting story that will have readers laughing one minute and wiping away tears the next. With wonderfully realistic family interactions (flawed, but loving), lively school scenes, and short chapters, Wonder is accessible to readers of all levels.

This is another middle grades book, but it’s truly powerful. Auggie suffers from facial anomalies and was homeschooled for most of his life. When he finally goes to public school in fifth grade, he faces a lot of criticism. In the end, he teaches the entire fifth grade and those around him a valuable lesson on seeing beyond a person’s disabilities.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern
Published by HarperTeen on June 3rd 2014
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 218
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

John Green's The Fault in Our Stars meets Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park in this beautifully written, incredibly honest, and emotionally poignant novel. Cammie McGovern's insightful young adult debut is a heartfelt and heartbreaking story about how we can all feel lost until we find someone who loves us because of our faults, not in spite of them.
Born with cerebral palsy, Amy can't walk without a walker, talk without a voice box, or even fully control her facial expressions. Plagued by obsessive-compulsive disorder, Matthew is consumed with repeated thoughts, neurotic rituals, and crippling fear. Both in desperate need of someone to help them reach out to the world, Amy and Matthew are more alike than either ever realized.
When Amy decides to hire student aides to help her in her senior year at Coral Hills High School, these two teens are thrust into each other's lives. As they begin to spend time with each other, what started as a blossoming friendship eventually grows into something neither expected.

I haven’t read this, but have heard a ton of great things about this book. It’s based on a teen with cerabyl Palsy and another student with crippling OCD.

Tags:

Divider

Review: The Love the Split the World

Review: The Love the Split the World

The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry Published by Razorbill on January 26th 2016 Genres: Magical Realism Pages: 396 Buy on Amazon Natalie Cleary must risk her future and leap blindly into a vast unknown for the chance to build a new world with the boy she loves. NatalieÂ’s last summer in her small Kentucky hometown is off to a magical start… until she starts seeing the “wrong things.” TheyÂ’re just momentary glimpses at first—her front door is red instead of its usual green, thereÂ’s a pre-school where the garden store should be. But then her whole town disappears for hours, fading away into rolling hills and grazing buffalo, and Nat knows something isnÂ’t right. ThatÂ’s when she gets a visit from the kind but mysterious apparition she calls “Grandmother,” who tells her: “You have three months to save him.” The next night, under the stadium lights of the high school football field, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau, and itÂ’s as if time just stops and nothing exists. Nothing, except Natalie and Beau. Emily HenryÂ’s stunning debut novel is Friday Night Lights meets The Time TravelerÂ’s Wife, and perfectly captures those bittersweet months after high school, when we dream not only of the future, but of all the roads and paths weÂ’ve left untaken. I really didnÂ’t know what I was getting into when I […]

Posted July 4, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

ARC Review: Rocks Fall, Everyone Dies

ARC Review: Rocks Fall, Everyone Dies

Rocks Fall, Everyone Dies by Lindsay Ribar Published by Kathy Dawson Books on June 7th 2016 Genres: Magical Realism Pages: 336 Format: Paperback Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon Twin Peaks meets Stars Hollow in this paranormal suspense novel about a boy who can reach inside people and steal their innermost things—fears, memories, scars, even love—and his familyÂ’s secret ritual that for centuries has kept the cliff above their small town from collapsing. Aspen Quick has never really worried about how heÂ’s affecting people when he steals from them. But this summer heÂ’ll discover just how strong the Quick family magic is—and how far theyÂ’ll go to keep their secrets safe. With a smart, arrogant protagonist, a sinister family tradition, and an ending you wonÂ’t see coming, this is a fast-paced, twisty story about power, addiction, and deciding what kind of person you want to be, in a family that has the ability to control everything you are. Someday, I want to do a post about books that are completely misrepresented by their covers. When I do that, this book will be at the top of the list. From the cover, I thought that this was a MG or maybe a contemporary. I did not expect it to be a YA book and when I discovered it was a Magical Realism or Fantasy book I was gobsmacked. Nothing […]

Posted June 7, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

ARC Review: Devil and the Bluebird

ARC Review: Devil and the Bluebird

Devil and the Bluebird by Jennifer Mason-Black Published by Amulet Books on May 17th 2016 Genres: Young Adult, Magical Realism Pages: 336 Format: Paperback Source: Free for Review “Devil-at-the-crossroads” folklore finds its way to YA via this moody, magical tale Blue Riley has wrestled with her own demons ever since the loss of her mother to cancer. But when she encounters a beautiful devil at her town crossroads, itÂ’s her runaway sisterÂ’s soul she fights to save. The devil steals BlueÂ’s voice—inherited from her musically gifted mother—in exchange for a single shot at finding Cass. Armed with her motherÂ’s guitar, a knapsack of cherished mementos, and a pair of magical boots, Blue journeys west in search of her sister. When the devil changes the terms of their deal, Blue must reevaluate her understanding of good and evil and open herself to finding family in unexpected places. In Devil and the Bluebird, Jennifer Mason-Black delivers a heart-wrenching depiction of loss and hope. I have a really hard time with books in the magical realism genre. I usually want more explanation about why mystical stuff is happening or I can’t reconcile the magic elements in the real world. Normally, I want magic in books to be overt and in your face. The more complicated and complex the magic system, the more I love a book. Devil and the Bluebird was the […]

Posted May 16, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Accident Season

Review: Accident Season

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle Published by Corgi Childrens on August 18th 2015 Genres: Fiction, Magical Realism, Young Adult Pages: 280 Format: hardcover Source: library Buy on Amazon It’s the accident season, the same time every year. Bones break, skin tears, bruises bloom. The accident season has been part of seventeen-year-old Cara’s life for as long as she can remember. Towards the end of October, foreshadowed by the deaths of many relatives before them, Cara’s family becomes inexplicably accident-prone. They banish knives to locked drawers, cover sharp table edges with padding, switch off electrical items – but injuries follow wherever they go, and the accident season becomes an ever-growing obsession and fear. But why are they so cursed? And how can they break free? I had high hopes for this book. The synopsis really drew me in. I love everything about it and I couldn’t wait to find out why this family was more accident prone during a certain month of year. Just the concept is intriguing and interesting and makes me want to know more. The book on the other hand fell a little flat for me. I didn’t feel like it lived up to the awesome description. Yes, it was about accident season but not in the way I wanted it to be. I can’t tell you what I was hoping for, I guess more overt […]

Posted March 9, 2016 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider

FFBC Review: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

FFBC Review: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk Published by Delacorte Press on January 26th 2016 Genres: Contemporary, romance, Magical Realism Pages: 256 Format: ebook Source: Edelweiss Buy on Amazon A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV’s Teen Mom. People donÂ’t understand love. If they did, theyÂ’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just canÂ’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she canÂ’t stay angry with him . . . and canÂ’t stop loving him. But thereÂ’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: sheÂ’s been shot with a love arrow. Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma and Danny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, KarmaÂ’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind. A clueless Karma doesnÂ’t know that her toxic relationship is AarynÂ’s fault . . . but heÂ’s going to get a chance to make things right. HeÂ’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return? This […]

Posted February 3, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Awesome Indies: Alchemy by Jade Kennedy

Awesome Indies: Alchemy by Jade Kennedy

Alchemy by Jade Kennedy Published by epubli GmbH on July 7th 2015 Genres: Magical Realism, Fiction Pages: 57 Buy on Amazon ‘Alchemy’ is a collection of flash fiction interspersed with poetry which explores a world of surrealism and magical realism. The name alchemy came from my desire to create stories about transformation and are other-worldly. The opening piece ‘A Collection’ tells of a woman who collects borrowed expressions; ‘Eden’ is about a woman who transforms into a lizard while struggling with isolation. The stories themselves range from dark to light. For more information, check out the Awesome Indies page Excerpt from ‘Alchemy’ – ‘Old Perfume’ ‘My angel wears old shoes with thin laces that she ties loosely and a long skirt patched with multi-coloured fabric, rich in cotton. She has long curly hair and a hidden face. Draped in scarves and long sleeves, she is unashamedly and proudly gypsy as songs linger around her like old perfume. Sitting at the edge of the bed, she watched me play games of reality and dreams. Like a game of chess, I dabbled in visions of black and white messages and spoke to the ghosts that still longed to be heard. I decided she was real and watched her fasten her shoes, all the while fading in and out of life. I waved at her and as she waved back, she swore […]

Posted January 8, 2016 by Emily in Uncategorized / 0 Comments
Divider