Genre: mystery

The Dark Divide

Posted April 17, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 0 Comments

The Dark DivideThe Dark Divide by Danika Stone
Series: Waterton #2
Published by Stonehouse on April 10th 2018
Genres: Thriller, mystery, Adult
Pages: 339
Format: Paperback
Source: the author
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Waterton is a town with dark secrets, and after a summer of murder and mayhem, American ex-pat, Rich Evans, knows exactly how far people will go to hide them. Jobless after the fiery destruction of the hotel he once managed, Rich is charged with arson. Only one person, local mechanic Louise "Lou" Newman, believes in his innocence. But even Lou's love and support can't dispel the darkness that's spreading through the community. Dead animals appear on porches, strangers threaten the safety of the locals, and a fingerprint from the fire is linked to a decades-old murder.

The lonely border town has a new danger: a murderer willing to do anything to protect a web of secrets that links them to the arson.

As the risk of jail or death increases, Rich turns to Lou for guidance and she finds herself in an impossible position. Lou has her own secrets! Does she protect the border town where she grew up, or side with the man she loves... even if it means she can never tell him the truth about herself?

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review

Edge of Wild was a real surprise when I read it last year.  When I was reading it, I loved all the different characters and especially Lou. The only thing that I thought it was missing was more information about Lou. I wanted a companion novel that focused more on Lou in the future.

The Dark Divide is even better than a companion. It’s a direct sequel that not only focuses more on Lou and her secrets, but also reveals more about the scrappy cast of characters in the town of Waterford itself. I couldn’t be happier about this book if I special ordered it. It’s almost as if Danika Stone wrote it specifically for me! I wanted more and voilà, it appears in my mailbox! Magic!

Seriously though, The Dark Divide was perfect. It answered all of my nagging suspicions that I was left with at the end of Edge of Wild. Waterton is very isolationist. They don’t appreciate outsiders trying to move in on their territory. It’s more than just a small town mentality and the explanation was perfect. I really enjoyed how the town’s history is affecting them still today. Lou is still far and away my favorite character of the series. She’s willing to fight for what she wants and she’s strong. She’s had to be to run her mechanic shop alone. Mostly, though, I envy the way that she can go with the flow and take things as they come. I wish I could let go and just be that way.

Since The Dark Divide was the special ordered sequel of my dreams, next I would like to request a Spin off novel starring Hunter and Levi. Hunter needs to find love and Levi is the perfect crotchety old man. Looking forward to seeing it in 2019. 😀

Divider

I love Aesthetics! When they are well done, they give such a great feeling about the topic. The Aesthetic that Danika put together for The Dark Divide is perfect. Lou is a little mysterious. Waterton is gorgeous, yet slightly foreboding. Rich is handsome and rugged but still sensitive. This really gets you in the right mood to dive into The Dark Divide.

The Dark Divide Novel Aesthetic

The Dark Divide is one of those books where I definitely had a clear vision of what I wanted my characters and setting to be. Physically, Rich was based on a young Sir Edmund Hillary while Louise tended to look more like Kristen Kreuk (in my head, at least!) The setting had more to do with mood than actual location. Waterton Park, Alberta is a real place, but the setting for The Dark Divide needed to be moodier. Put all those pieces together and you get… THIS!


Divider

About the Author

Danika Stone is an author, artist, and educator who discovered a passion for writing fiction while in the throes of her Masters thesis. A self-declared bibliophile, Danika now writes novels for both teens: INTERNET FAMOUS (Macmillan, 2017) and ALL THE FEELS (Macmillan, 2016); and adults THE DARK DIVIDE (Stonehouse, 2018) and EDGE OF WILD (Stonehouse, 2016).

Ms. Stone’s work has received both recognition and literary praise. In 2017, Chapters included EDGE OF WILD in “Our Favourite Canadian Fiction”, and INTERNET FAMOUS was nominated for the R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature (2018) as well as selected as one of Fierce Reads’ “9 Perfect Summertime Reads” (2017). EDGE OF WILD (previously entitled TATHAGATA) was a quarter-finalist in Amazon’s Breakthrough Novel of the Year Award (2013), a finalist in the Horatio Nelson Fiction Prize (2015), and took second place in the Publish or Perish contest (2015). ALL THE FEELS was selected for Swoon Reads’ fourth list (2015) and was nominated for YALSA’s Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers (2016), and for CYBILS’ Children’s and Young Adult Bloggers’ Literary Awards (2016).

Ms. Stone’s books have been reviewed by VOYA, Teen Reads, and School Library Journal. Danika has also featured in the BN Teen Blog, Clash, Quillable, Fierce Reads, Lethbridge Living Magazine, CJSR’s Word, and on CBC’s Daybreak.

When not writing, Danika can be found hiking in the Rockies, planning grand adventures, and spending far too much time online. She lives with her husband, three sons, and a houseful of imaginary characters in a windy corner of Alberta, Canada.

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

Review & Giveaway: First We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy

Posted July 12, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 5 Comments

Review & Giveaway: First We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy

Review & Giveaway: First We Were IV by Alexandra SirowyFirst We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on July 25th 2017
Genres: Young Adult
Pages: 448
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

It started for pranks, fun, and forever memories.A secret society – for the four of us. The rules: Never lie. Never tell. Love each other.We made the pledge and danced under the blood moon on the meteorite in the orchard. In the spot we found the dead girl five years earlier. And discovered the ancient drawings way before that. Nothing could break the four of us apart – I thought.But then, others wanted in. Our seaside town had secrets. History.We wanted revenge.We broke the rules. We lied. We told. We loved each other too much, not enough, and in ways we weren’t supposed to. Our invention ratcheted out of control.What started as a secret society, ended as justice. Revenge. Death. Rebellion.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

I’m the worst kind of mystery reader. Generally about halfway through with the story, I get bored and decide to flip to the end to find out who the killer is. I don’t know why but i’m usually not capable of reading an entire thriller without KNOWING what is going on. It’s always a little disappointing but I can’t help myself. I always peek.

Until now!

This book kept my attention until the very end. I never thought to look ahead because I was too involved with what was going on with the characters in the book. I love strong friendships and close relationships in books and that’s what First We Were IV is based on. Yes, there is a mystery that becomes more and more prevalent throughout the book but the focus is on the characters. Viv, Izzy, Graham and Harry are best friends and it focuses on how that friendship is changed by the circumstances. Especially when they start to get some attention from the popular kids at school.

I also thought that the book flowed perfectly. The characters motivations were understandble. It made sense to me. While the ending was a complete shock, it also made perfect sense when I thought back over the course of the story. For a mystery book cynic, like myself, this book was a breath of fresh air.

Earlier this year I had the chance to do a First We Were IV Fancast. Check it out if you are interested in who I picked for Viv, Graham, Harry and Izzy!

Divider

About the Author

Alexandra Sirowy is the author of the young adult thrillers THE CREEPING, the Bram Stoker Award® Nominated THE TELLING, and the upcoming FIRST WE WERE IV. Alexandra attended a women’s college as an undergrad and received her graduate degree in International Studies. When she isn’t writing, she loves to travel, read, eat, and get into mischief. She lives with her husband in Northern California.

 

 

 

Divider

Tour Schedule: 

Week 1
July 10:  Bookish Lifestyles – Tote Design
July 11:  Brittany‘s Book Rambles – Guest Post
July 12:  Emily Reads Everything – Review
July 13   Biscotto’s Books – Moodboard
July 14 Forever Lost in Literature – Review

Week 2
July 17:  My Friends Are Fiction – Guest Post
July 18 Literary Legionnaire – Review
July 19 The Reader and the Chef – Review
July 20:  Novel Novice – Guest Post
July 21:  Dark Faerie Tales – Interview

Week 3
July 24:  YA and Wine – Review + Guest Post
July 25 YA Book Central – Spotlight
July 26 Tales of the Ravenous Reader – Review
July 27:  A Perfection Called Books – Guest Post
Divider

Giveaway

1 signed hard cover copy of FIRST WE WERE IV
Fujuifilm instax mini 9 Polaroid camera in smoky white (& film) like the one in the book!
Strand of gold stars
FIRST WE WERE IV swag (temporary tattoos & bookmarks)
Evie Seo Designed Tote Bag

Embeded code: a Rafflecopter giveaway

FTC disclaimer: US entires only. No purchase necessary to enter, giveaway items provided by Alexandra Sirowy.

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

The One Memory of Flora banks by Emily Barr

The One Memory of Flora banks by Emily Barr

The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr Published by Philomel Books on May 2nd, 2017 Genres: Fiction, mystery, Contemporary Pages: 304 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Seventeen-year-old Flora Banks has no short-term memory. Her mind resets itself several times a day, and has since the age of ten, when the tumor that was removed from Flora’s brain took with it her ability to make new memories. That is, until she kisses Drake, her best friend’s boyfriend, the night before he leaves town. Miraculously, this one memory breaks through Flora’s fractured mind, and sticks. Flora is convinced that Drake is responsible for restoring her memory and making her whole again. So when an encouraging email from Drake suggests she meet him on the other side of the world, Flora knows with certainty that this is the first step toward reclaiming her life. With little more than the words “be brave” inked into her skin, and written reminders of who she is and why her memory is so limited, Flora sets off on an impossible journey to Svalbard, Norway, the land of the midnight sun, determined to find Drake. But from the moment she arrives in the arctic, nothing is quite as it seems, and Flora must “be brave” if she is ever to learn the truth about herself, and to make it safely home. […]

Posted May 2, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

Review: The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas Published by Delacorte on April 19th 2016 Genres: mystery, Thriller, Young Adult Pages: 336 Format: ebook Source: Netgalley, Free for Review Buy on Amazon The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls tell, and the deadly truths those lies become. There are ghosts around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about it after what happened there that last summer. Memories of things so dark will burn themselves into your mind if you let them. Callie never left. She moved to another house, so she doesnÂ’t have to walk those same halls, but then Callie always was the stronger one. She can handle staring into the faces of her demons—and if she parties hard enough, maybe one day theyÂ’ll disappear for good. Tessa and Callie have never talked about what they saw that night. After the trial, Callie drifted and Tessa moved, and childhood friends just have a way of losing touch. But ever since she left, Tessa has had questions. Things have never quite added up. And now she has to go back to Fayette—to Wyatt Stokes, sitting on death row; to Lori Cawley, CallieÂ’s dead cousin; and to the one other person who may be hiding the truth. Only the closer Tessa gets to […]

Posted April 18, 2016 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments
Divider

FFBC Review: A study in Charlotte

FFBC Review: A study in Charlotte

This book is the perfect combination of a love letter to Sherlock Holmes and a ya novel. It’s obvious that Brittany Cavallaro know her Sherlock stuff. The murderer in this book makes his murders look like the ones that happened in John Watson’s Sherlock stories. If you have ever read the Speckled Band or other stories, you will find yourself immediately drawn in. Not only does she continually allude to classic Sherlock Holmes stories, Cavallaro also makes her Holmes and Watson both absolutely true to the source material and original characters in their own right. I loved Charlotte Holmes. She was brilliant and damaged with a laser focus of the problem at hand. It was fantastic to see the traditional Sherlockian features in a girl! I love that this is a series cause I can’t wait to see what happens in the future. Jamie Watson also has a special place in my heart. He was so sweet and loyal. I loved the dynamic between Watson and Holmes. But then, that ‘ship is always a popular one. This book wasn’t about romance, it was about friendship. Watson doesn’t want to date Holmes, he wants to be her best friend. Watching their friendship grow over the course of the book was a joy. Charlotte is prickly and doesn’t think she wants or needs Jamie at the beginning and he shows her […]

Posted February 25, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Sanctuary Bay by Laura Burns & Melinda Metz

Review: Sanctuary Bay by Laura Burns & Melinda Metz

Sanctuary Bay by Laura J. Burns, Melinda Metz Published by St. Martin’s Griffin on January 19th 2016 Genres: mystery, Young Adult, Thriller Pages: 320 Format: ebook Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon In this genre-bending YA thriller, will Sarah Merson’s shiny new prep school change her life forever or bring it to a dark and sinister end? When Sarah Merson receives the opportunity of a lifetime to attend the most elite prep school in the country-Sanctuary Bay Academy-it seems almost too good to be true. But, after years of bouncing from foster home to foster home, escaping to its tranquil setting, nestled deep in Swans Island, couldn’t sound more appealing. Swiftly thrown into a world of privilege and secrets, Sarah quickly realizes finding herself noticed by class charmer, Nate, as well as her roommate’s dangerously attentive boyfriend, Ethan, are the least of her worries. When her roommate suddenly goes missing, she finds herself in a race against time, not only to find her, but to save herself and discover the dark truth behind Sanctuary Bay’s glossy reputation. In this genre-bending YA thriller, Sanctuary Bay by Laura J. Burns and Melinda Metz, Sarah’s new school may seem like an idyllic temple of learning, but as she unearths years of terrifying history and manipulation, she discovers this “school” is something much more sinister. I have been avoiding writing this review. The past […]

Posted January 18, 2016 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider

ARC Review: Crimson Shore by Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child

ARC Review: Crimson Shore by Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child

Crimson Shore by Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child Series: Special Agent Pendergast #15 Published by Grand Central Publishing on November 10th 2015 Genres: Action & Adventure, paranormal, mystery Pages: 352 Format: ebook Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon A secret chamber. A mysterious shipwreck. A murder in the desolate salt marshes. A seemingly straightforward private case turns out to be much more complicated-and sinister-than Special Agent A.X.L. Pendergast ever could have anticipated. Pendergast, together with his ward Constance Greene, travels to the quaint seaside village of Exmouth, Massachusetts, to investigate the theft of a priceless wine collection. But inside the wine cellar, they find something considerably more disturbing: a bricked-up niche that once held a crumbling skeleton. Crimson Shore is part of a long established series. I was turned on to the series by a friend on twitter about 4 years ago and I’ve never been disappointed. This series isn’t for the faint of heart. It requires some commitment. After all, Crimson Shore is book 15 of this series! However, I don’t think you will regret it. These books follow Special Agent Alloysius Pendergast of the FBI while he does basically whatever he wants. He is a modern day Sherlock Holmes. However, he’s different from most heroes because he’s a traditional, southern gentleman. He has impeccable manners and abhors rudeness. As a master of disguise and lockpicking, he has every […]

Posted November 12, 2015 by Emily in interview / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Until We Meet Again by Renee Collins

Review: Until We Meet Again by Renee Collins

Until We Meet Again by Renee Collins Published by Sourcebooks Fire on November 3rd 2015 Genres: Fiction, mystery, Sci Fi Pages: 336 Format: ebook Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon They exist in two different centuries, but their love defies time Cassandra craves drama and adventure, so the last thing she wants is to spend her summer marooned with her mother and stepfather in a snooty Massachusetts shore town. But when a dreamy stranger shows up on their private beach claiming it’s his own—and that the year is 1925—she is swept into a mystery a hundred years in the making. As she searches for answers in the present, Cassandra discovers a truth that puts their growing love—and Lawrence’s life—into jeopardy. Desperate to save him, Cassandra must find a way to change historyÂ…or risk losing Lawrence forever. When I was reading this book, I kept thinking of the movie, The Lake House. They aren’t overly similar, expect they do share two features. Whey are both based at a vacation home on the water and they are both time travel books. Still, reading this book made me want to go rent and rewatch The Lake House. I only have a vague memory of it and a feeling that I liked it. This book had a similar feel even though the plot was very different. This was a extremely quick read. […]

Posted November 4, 2015 by Emily in Review / 3 Comments
Divider

Arc Review: Lost Girl by R.L. Stine

Arc Review: Lost Girl by R.L. Stine

The Lost Girl by R.L. Stine Series: Fear Street Relaunch #3 Published by St. Martin’s Griffin on September 29th 2015 Genres: horror, mystery, Young Adult Format: ebook Source: Free for Review, Netgalley Buy on Amazon Generations of children and teens have grown up on R.L. Stine’s bestselling and hugely popular horror series, Fear Street and Goosebumps. Now, the Fear Street series is back with a chilling new installment, packed with pure nightmare fodder that will scare Stine’s avid fan base of teen readers and adults. New student Lizzy Palmer is the talk of Shadyside High. Michael and his girlfriend Pepper befriend her, but the closer they get to her, the stranger she seemsÂ… and the more attractive she is to Michael. He invites her to join him on a snowmobile race that ends in a tragic accident. Soon, Michael’s friends start being murdered, and Pepper becomes convinced that Lizzy is behind the killings. But to her total shock, she and Michael are drawn into a tragic story of an unthinkable betrayal committed over 60 years ago. Frightening and tense in the way that only this master of horror can deliver, The Lost Girl is another terrifying Fear Street novel by the king of juvenile horror. This book took me way way back to  my youth. This review will probably date me but that’s fine. Back in the the days […]

Posted September 29, 2015 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider