Genre: nonfiction

Review: Wildly into the Dark by Tyler Knott Gregson

Posted March 25, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments

Review: Wildly into the Dark by Tyler Knott GregsonWildly into the Dark: Typewriter Poems and the Rattlings of a Curious Mind by Tyler Knott Gregson
Published by TarcherPerigee on March 28, 2017
Genres: nonfiction, poetry
Pages: 144
Format: hardcover
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The most intimate and eclectic poetry collection yet from bestselling author and online sensation Tyler Knott Gregson

With loyal fans around the world and across the internet, Tyler Knott Gregson is reinventing poetry for a new generation, using Instagram and Tumblr to reach readers where they are.

Tyler’s third collection includes more of his popular Typewriter Series poems (featured in his first book, Chasers of the Light) as well as never-before-published scenes that paint the world as only Tyler sees and experiences it. Filled with vivid photographs and even more vivid emotions, Wildly Into the Dark is a must-have for longtime fans as well as newcomers to Tyler's unique brand of passionate, intimate, and playful words and images.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I don’t usually post on Saturdays but I wanted to tell you about this new volume of poetry by Tyler Knott Gregson. I loved his last book, All the Words are Yours that was full of beautiful and simple Haiku. This book is full poems, all written on a typewriter.

I love Gregson’s simple presentation and style in his book. Each poem is typewritten on different papers and each one somehow fits the feel of the poem. Instead of being written on the page, each poem is a picture on the page. It makes every page feel special; like a work of art.

This book is especially important because $1 from EVERY pre-ordered book will be going directly to To Write Love On Her Arms, a wonderful charity that presents hope for people struggling with addiction, depression, self-injury and thoughts of suicide while also investing directly into treatment and recovery. TWLOHA is an amazing organization! I strongly suggest you check it out.

Plus, the first 1,500 people who pre-order the book and send in their proof of purchase, will receive a free signed print! If the print is anything like the art in his books, it will be beautiful I’m sure.

If you read any of his books, I would love to hear what you think.

five-stars

Tags:

Divider

Organize Your Way and Enjoy it!

Posted March 14, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Top 10 / 1 Comment

Organize Your Way and Enjoy it!Organize Your Way: Simple Strategies for Every Personality by Katie McMenamin, Kelly McMenamin
Published by Sterling on March 14th 2017
Genres: nonfiction
Pages: 256
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Stressing over the mess? Discover YOUR personal organizing style—and stay organized forever! Organization isn’t one-size-fits-all. Different people need different solutions. Fortunately, Katie and Kelly McMenamin—the organizing gurus behind PixiesDidIt!®—have found the key to making organization stick, with strategies that work for every personality.   Whether you’re OCD or a little less fastidious, Katie and Kelly will help you discover your organizational style, using unconventional approaches or sticking to what already works. Along with personality-based solutions for every space in your home, they offer advice on solving strife between different “PixieTypes.” So you can keep the stuff you love . . . and the peace!

Pixies Did It Website: http://www.pixiesdidit.com/
Pixies Did It Twitter: https://twitter.com/PixiesDidIt

I posted this on twitter last night. Organization is HUGE in my life. If I wasn’t organized I wouldn’t be able to work 3 jobs, run a small business, volunteer, run a blog and jump start a family. I often fall off the wagon but I always end up coming back to a need to know everything that’s going on in my life and have it written down.

We are on Spring Break this week and of course I have a to do list. A big one was reorganize my pantry. Suddenly having two growing boys in my house has been a little big of a shock. Man, do they like to eat! I needed room in my cupboards for cereal and snacks that I’ve never used before. I ended up going through all my baking supplies. Because I didn’t even know what I had, I ended up rebuying things. A lot. I’m ashamed to admit that I found FIVE bags of sugar in my cupboard. FIVE. This is a start and I’m looking forward to this book to help me organize even further. These 10 tips came a long at exactly the right time for me!

Top Ten Pixie Tips

1. Knowing who you are is the key to organization mainly because if you’re pretending to be someone else, it’s hard to remember where that pretend person put something!  

2. Change is hard, so be honest about organizing tasks. People who never hang up their coats in a closet, probably never will; get a coat rack and call it a day.  

3. Perfect isn’t real. Magazine perfection is styled by a professional whose job it is to make everything perfection for the millisecond it takes to snap a photo.

4. No shame, no blame! You liking clear, spotless surfaces doesn’t make you OCD (it’s not a personality disorder), it’s your personality type.

5. Later Box It. When you can’t part with a useless item, store it away in a box and revisit that box in a few months (a year), whatever you missed keep, whatever you forgot … dude, let it go.

6. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Change is hard (see #2!) so if storing TP right next to the toilet works for you, do it, but for heaven’s sake try to make it look nice—unless you live alone on Antarctica then who cares.

7. Organizing at its core is about retrieval. Period. Can you easily find and get things when you need them. Everything else is an argument about aesthetics.

8. One-step solutions are golden. Hanging up your coat is a five-step process whereas popping it on a hook is one-step. Light bulb (at least it was for us!)

9. Be loud & proud. So, you write important To Do’s on your hand in a pinch. Who cares? Don’t apologize, defend it and tell any scolds where they can go.

10. There’s no best way to organize—just the best one for you!

About the Authors


–Bio: Katie McMenamin and Kelly McMenamin are sisters, professional organizers, personality-type experts, and founders of PixieDidIt! Their business is an outgrowth of buttoned-up hedge fund analyst Kelly spending 30-odd years trying and failing to get her messy older sister Katie, a writer, to be more organized. Countless fights ensued until they had an idea: What if there is more than one way to organize? Today, they spend the bulk of their time organizing for clients, writing for their website, and giving talks on how to organize according to your personality type. Kelly lives in NYC with her husband and three sons and Katie lives in their hometown, the Land of Champions, aka Cleveland, OH, with her husband and three daughters.

Giveaway:

1 Finished Copy of ORGANIZE YOUR WAY (US Only)

Tags:

Divider

Too Late Top Ten Tuesday #1

Too Late Top Ten Tuesday #1

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish All About the Visuals: Top Ten Favorite Graphic Novels and Picture Books Kendice had written up this Top Ten Tuesday of graphic novels for last week, but I didn’t get it posted in time. I really enjoy her picks though, so I wanted to share them with you. I’m calling this feature Too Late Top Ten Tuesday. I hope that it won’t happen that often, but I could see myself not posting TTT’s on time in the future as well. Sometimes I’m not the best about posting things on time. Have you read any of these? Based on the fight for civil rights and his involvement, this book is captivating and a necessary read for all Americans. It gives you insight into a true American Hero’s experiences. I’ve used this story to teach several times, and even my fourth grade babies have thoroughly enjoyed it. Mortimus is a gentle, zombie soul looking for love. His hilarious mishaps will make readers giggle. This book is a classic and will go down as one of my all time favorite books. It’s about love and sacrifice. If you haven’t read it yet, what are you doing with your life? 🙂   This just brings me back to my daughter’s toddler years. This book has very limited words, but […]

Posted February 16, 2017 by Emily in Top 10 / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Pick Me Up by Adam Kurtz

Review: Pick Me Up by Adam Kurtz

Pick Me Up: A Pep Talk for Now and Later by Adam J. Kurtz Published by TarcherPerigee on October 4th 2016 Genres: nonfiction Pages: 176 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads A quirky, creative companion that offers a pick-me-up on every page   On the heels of his internationally successful first book, 1 Page at a Time, graphic designer and illustrator Adam J. Kurtz delivers another intimate and engaging journal for anyone who loves to explore ideas, record thoughts and feelings, and capture those fleeting but amazing moments of everyday life.   Unlike a linear journal, this book can be opened up to any page, encouraging and engaging readers time and time again through continued use. Rather than simply complete tasks and turn pages, users are encouraged to leave their mark, and if they land on the same page days or weeks later, they can review, reflect, and revise their previous response.   Feeling lonely? Pensive? Peeved? Questioning? This deceptively simple book offers perspective, hope, and a twist of existential metaphor – and is perfect to pick up again and again. This book reminds me of a grown up version of a Wreck this Notebook. It’s designed to make you really think about your goals and what you want out of life. Each page has a way for you to creatively engage with the book by […]

Posted January 5, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Awesome Indies: Invisible Shores by Oliver Kennett

Awesome Indies: Invisible Shores by Oliver Kennett

For more information, check out the Awesome Indies page Tell us about yourself I’m Ollie, I’m 35, I’m blind and I’m a writer. I have written several short stories in the genres of horror and paranormal erotica. Invisible Shores South America is my first full length novel and my first attempt at non-fiction writing. I’m currently working on a series of thrillers which I’m very excited about. I was bitten by a radioactive mole. What was the hardest part of writing this book? As this is my first attempt at writing a full length book, the hardest part was swallowing that mingled fear and self doubt which mountain climbers must feel before scaling Everest. Short stories are far easier and can be done in a morning, but keeping focus for a couple of months… That is hard. I struggle with a short attention span, I can become almost obsessive with projects and I have worked out the window is three weeks. As this book took several months, all told, over several years, I’m pretty chuffed that I reached the summit and was able to plan that most wonderful of flags on the final page, ‘The End’. What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why? I enjoyed writing all of the book as it gave me the opportunity to return to South America and relive our adventures. […]

Posted November 18, 2016 by Emily in Awesome Indie / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Start Where You Are

Review: Start Where You Are

Start Where You Are: A Journal for Self-Exploration by Meera Lee Patel Published by TarcherPerigee on August 11th 2015 Genres: nonfiction Pages: 128 Format: Paperback Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon Start Where You Are is an interactive journal designed to help readers nurture their creativity, mindfulness, and self-motivation. It helps readers navigate the confusion and chaos of daily life with a simple reminder: that by taking the time to know ourselves and what those dreams are, we can appreciate the world around us and achieve our dreams. Featuring vibrant hand-lettering and images that have attracted a large following for her stationery and textile line in boutiques across the country, Meera Lee Patel’s uplifting book presents supportive prompts and exercises along with inspirational quotes to encourage reflection through writing, drawing, chart-making, and more. Featuring inspiring quotes from writers, artists, and other visionaries paired with open-ended questions and prompts, with plenty of room for writing and reflecting, this appealing full-color book will make a perfect gift and keepsake as well as being a powerful tool for positive change. This is such a cool book. Planning for the future, making lists and goal setting all help make me feel a little more in control. However I also have a terrible fear of ruining things. I have stacks and buckets of stickers in my house that I sit and avoid using because if I […]

Posted May 18, 2016 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Arc Review: All the Words are Yours

Arc Review: All the Words are Yours

All the Words Are Yours: Haiku on Love by Tyler Knott Gregson Published by Perigee Books on October 20th 2015 Genres: nonfiction Pages: 144 Format: hardcover Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon Here starts the journey Every day for the past six years, Tyler Knott Gregson has written a simple haiku about love, and posted it online. These heartfelt poems have attracted a large and loyal following around the world. This highly anticipated follow-up to Chasers of the Light, presents TylerÂ’s favorites, some previously unpublished, accompanied by his signature photographs, which capture the rich texture of daily life. This vibrant collection reveals the intimate reflections of one of poetry’s most popular new voices — honest, vulnerable, generous, and truly present in the gift that is each moment. This book is not the kind that I would have picked for myself. It was sent to me free for review and the concept really intrigued me. Oddly enough, I majored in Japanese in college so I’m very familiar with haiku. This is the kind of book that I’m so glad that I took a chance on because it was so beautiful and rewarding to read. Each page is very simple. It has a simple handwritten poem on a notecard or post-it or other small piece of paper. The background is sometimes a drawing, sometimes objects, sometimes plain. Its obvious that each […]

Posted December 9, 2015 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments
Divider

Review: Men and Cats

Review: Men and Cats

Men & Cats by Marie-Eva Gatuingt, Alice Chaygneaud Published by Perigee Books on September 1, 2015 Genres: nonfiction Pages: 113 Format: hardcover Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon A brilliant collection of photographs that brings together two of the world’s favorite things: hot men and cute kittens. Based on the chic French Tumblr Des Hommes et des Chatons,  Men & Cats  presents an original collection of 50 pairs of sexy men and adorable cats. Each clever match-up shows a heartthrob posing alongside a cat in a similar pose or with a similar expression. Not sure if you want to look at sexy men or cute cats? With this book, you don’t have to choose. Have you all seen this Tumblr? Basically it pairs a picture of a handsome man with a picture of a cat doing about the same thing. A good friend of mine linked me to it a long while back. Together we ogled the cat pictures and the good looking men with same level of concentration. I mean, cats and hot guys; what’s not to like? Obviously I’m leading up to this book, Men and Cats. It is the Tumblr, except in book form. I like reading books better than I like looking at things on the internet so it has that going for it. Plus again, it’s pictures of dapper men and cats. No arguments from […]

Posted October 24, 2015 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider