Genre: paranormal

Cowboy Wolf Trouble by Kait Ballenger

Posted January 21, 2019 by Emily in Events and Features, Spotlight / 0 Comments

Cowboy Wolf Trouble by Kait BallengerCowboy Wolf Trouble by Kait Ballenger
Series: Seven Range Shifters #1
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on January 1, 2019
Genres: paranormal, Urban Fantasy, romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Seven shifter clans call the Montana mountains home.

But a new evil will stop at nothing to tear their world apart.

For centuries, the shifters that roam Big Sky country have honored a pact to keep the peace. Even bad-boy rancher Wes Calhoun, former leader of a renegade pack, has given up his violent ways and sworn loyalty to the Grey Wolves. But his dark past keeps catching up with him…

Human rancher Naomi Evans cares only about saving the ranch that was her father’s legacy. Until a clash with Wes opens up a whole new world—a supernatural world on the verge of war—and Naomi, her ranch, and the sexy cowboy wolf stealing her heart are smack dab in the middle of it.

If you know me, you should know I have a secret addiction to both shifter urban fantasy and cowboy romances. I think I like them because I adore long series where you get to know the characters in a town and see them grow and change over time. Some of my favorite series are 20 books long!

That’s why, when I saw this title, I flipped! This book seems like it hits the sweet spot. Cowboys and werewolves! I’m so excited!

Divider

Excerpt

Naomi came to on a jolt of energy and fear. Dreaming. She had been dreaming. Closing her eyes again, she slowed her breathing. A gentle sway moved beneath her as she lay on her stomach, her spine curved in an upside-down U. Where the hell was she? Her head throbbed and her thoughts somehow felt fuzzy. Was she on a horse? The oily scent of coat polish permeated her nose, and from the gentle sway it certainly felt like it. But she didn’t trust her disoriented head. Hadn’t she been at home just moments ago? As she attempted to push herself up, a soft tug pulled at her wrists. She shifted until her wrists were in front of her face. Loosely tied rope wrapped around her wrists. Panic flooded her. She scrambled in an attempt to sit up. Immediately, she slipped from where she’d been perched and her back hit the cold mountain ground with a hard thud.

A nearby male voice cursed.

The moon above bathed the normally pitch-black forest in pale moonlight. A horse’s hooves leading up into thick muscled legs stood less than a foot away from her; its coat was as dark as the night sky. Equus ferus caballus. A black American mustang, a typically free-roaming species. She scrambled to sitting despite the ache in her shoulders from the fall. It took her all of
two seconds to ascertain she’d been riding passed out on the back of the horse. And this horse was decidedly not free-roaming.

She didn’t think. Jumping to her feet, Naomi darted into the trees. She had to escape. Had to get back to her ranch. Her feet flew over the hard mountain terrain as she ran downhill. Ten yards in a rock caught the toe of her boot and she toppled into the dried autumn leaves. She started to scramble to her feet again. And that’s when she saw him, looming in front of her. Her captor.

He sat on the back of the dark horse, hands clutched in the beast’s mane, those same yellow wolf eyes narrowed in her direction. Thankfully, he was clothed now.

He rode before her as a man. But his eyes told the true story.

“Werewolf,” the word fell from her lips.

“Glad we’ve gotten that out of the way,” he said.

She jumped at the deep rumble of his voice. His voice was human, but those dangerous yellow eyes…

He dismounted the horse, and her eyes widened as she took in the full sight of him. Mangy blond hair brushed beneath his chin, wild and unkempt. He stood unnaturally still, wolf eyes ablaze through the darkness. Harsh, brutal features comprised his face. Jagged cheekbones, a bladed nose, an angry slash of a mouth, and a strong jaw lined with a thin layer of coarse blond
stubble clenched tight. He watched her with relentless intent. Violent battle scars marred the skin of his chest, highlighting the bloody wound at his shoulder from where her shot grazed him, and the deep slashes of the now removed wolf trap in his forearm only served to make him appear all
the deadlier.

Wild, fierce, virile.

Dangerous.

In her work as a biologist, she had developed a brief, flirting fascination with large apex predators. After she’d finished her degree, she’d accepted a brief summer internship at a large cat rescue in northern Florida, where she’d worked with the rehabilitated predators up close. She’d been captivated with the languid way they moved, their ability to become so still in anticipation before they struck or lunged at lesser prey, a trait common among predators across varying species. Being so close to such strength and power had filled her with both excitement and fear. She remembered once observing a cougar crouch in anticipation of a live rabbit that had been released into its cage. The intense, deadly look in its eyes had both thrilled her and terrified her. Making her want to draw closer while also being thankful a cage had stood between them.

She had no such protection now.

It was the cold, ferocious intent in his golden wolf eyes that paralyzed her, that held her captive. Even in this form, he was lethal, standing well-over six feet, his body unforgiving muscle and sinew that moved with predatory fluidness.

Few would have called him handsome. Terrifying seemed more accurate, yet she couldn’t pull her gaze away. She didn’t want to.

He wore nothing but a pair of loose jeans covered with riding chaps. The combination hung low enough on his hips to serve as a reminder there was nothing underneath. Her eyes followed the trail of blond hair on his muscled abdomen. The material covering him seemed so precariously perched there, that it sent a wave of embarrassed heat straight to her cheeks.

Slowly, she shifted her legs underneath herself until she crouched over the tree roots. Though she naturally loved the outdoors, having grown up on a ranch, she’d never been a very fast runner. But she had to fight, had to try. She knew these mountains. She could find her way to her ranch, even in the dark. Right? He took one step toward her, and even that small movement was predatory, not fully human.

And she was his prey.

Divider

About the Author

Kait Ballenger hated reading when she was a child, because she was horrible at it. Then by chance she picked up the Harry Potter series at the age of eight, fell in love with reading, and never looked back. When she realized she could tell her own stories, the deal was sealed.

A first-generation college student, she earned her B.A in English from Stetson University,  followed by an M.F.A in Writing from Spalding University. After stints working as a real vampire (aka a phlebotomist), a bingo caller, and a professional bellydancer, Kait finally decided that her eight-year-old self knew best: Kait’s meant to be a writer…though the jury is still out on being the next J.K Rowling.

When Kait’s not preoccupied with writing captivating paranormal romance, page-turning suspense or love scenes that make even seasoned romance readers blush, she can usually be found spending time with her family or with her nose buried in a good book. She loves to travel, especially abroad, and experience new places.

She lives in Florida with her husband and two young sons.

And yes, she can still bellydance with the best of them..

Divider

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tags:

Divider

Rockstar tour Review: Hearts and Other Body Parts

Posted March 31, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 0 Comments

Rockstar tour Review: Hearts and Other Body Parts

Rockstar tour Review: Hearts and Other Body PartsHearts & Other Body Parts by Ira Bloom
Published by Scholastic Press on March 28th 2017
Genres: humor, paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: hardcover
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

A novel of love and monsters.
Sisters Esme, Katy, and Ronnie are smart, talented, and gorgeous, and better yet . . . all three are witches. They have high school wired until the arrival of two new students. The first is Norman, who is almost eight feet tall and appears to be constructed of bolts and mismatched body parts. Despite his intimidating looks, Esme finds herself strangely -- almost romantically -- drawn to both his oversized brain and oversized heart.
The second new arrival is Zack, an impossibly handsome late transfer from the UK who has the girls at school instantly mesmerized. Soon even sensible Esme has forgotten Norman, and all three sisters are in a flat-out hex war to win Zack. But while the magic is flying, only Norman seems to notice that students who wander off alone with Zack end up with crushed bones and memory loss. Or worse, missing entirely.
Hearts & Other Body Parts is a wickedly addictive novel about love, monsters, and loyalty. And oh yeah, a Japanese corpse-eating demon cat.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Hearts and Other Body Parts is a B-movie of a book. It’s terrible. The characters are flat and stereotypical. They have their roles and they stick to them. All of the characters act in silly ways with simple, poorly defined motivations. The villain is cartoonish and all the adults in town are clueless.

Needless to say, it’s hilarious.

Esme, Katy and Ronnie are sisters and witches. Each of them have different strengths. Esme is the smart one, Ronnie is the pretty one and Katy is best at spells. They live an idyllic life with their father and absent mother. Then Norman Stein moves to town. His full name is Frank N. Stein but he goes by his middle name for obvious reasons. He has a genetic condition that has resulted in many surgeries. He still has the bolts in his neck from the last one. He may look like a monster but he is actually a gentle giant genius. He becomes close with the sisters until Zakary moves to town. Zakary’s pale complexion and irresistible nature has all the girls chasing him. You can guess what happens next.

Esme and Norm are perfect together and Ronnie and Katy are just a mess. Zack was a perfect caricature of evil; all smile and no substance. Despite being predictable, this book was a great read. It’s fast and silly and fun. You want to read this after something heavy when you need a book that doesn’t take itself seriously. 

This is for fans of Sharknado and other terrible movies. If you love laughing at ridiculousness, this book is for you.

About the Author

I grew up in Annapolis Maryland. My mother is an artist and my father was a judge on the Maryland Court of Special Appeals.

I studied English Literature at the University of Maryland, College Park. I also have some background in Eastern religions. After college I moved to Japan, where I taught ESL. I married a beautiful Japanese woman named Yasuko, moved to LA and taught junior high school English, ESL, and Japanese for the Los Angeles Unified School district. I am conversational in Japanese, but by no means consider myself fluent. After serving my debt to society in LA Unified, I went into the fashion business with my wife, who is a very talented fashion designer and is likely to read this, so I can’t say enough good things about her. We eventually branched into the vintage kimono business. I probably know more about Japanese textiles than any straight white man you’re likely to encounter. I’ve been writing humor for FUNNY TIMES since 2010. I currently live in West Sonoma County with my family and an assortment of furry beasts.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Follow the Tour

Week One

3/20/2017- Adventures of a Book Junkie– Interview
3/21/2017- Here’s to Happy Endings– Review
3/22/2017- BookHounds YA– Guest Post
3/23/2017- YA Books Central– Review
3/24/2017- Tales of the Ravenous Reader– Interview

Week Two

3/27/2017- Beauty and the Bookshelf– Review
3/28/2017- Novel Novice– Guest Post
3/29/2017- Eli to the nth– Review
3/30/2017- The Cover Contessa– Interview
3/31/2017- Emily Reads Everything– Review

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

3 winners will receive a finished copy of HEARTS & OTHER BODY PARTS, US Only.

 

four-stars

Tags:

Divider

Waiting on Wednesday: Silence Fallen

Waiting on Wednesday: Silence Fallen

We all have our auto-buy authors. Those authors that we buy no matter what they write and when. Patricia Briggs is definitely one of mine. I fell in love with Mercy Thompson years ago with the first book in the series, Moon Called. This series has high stakes and relate-able characters. It’s not easy to read or even easy to like sometimes but it keeps me coming back. I have to know what happens next to Mercy and Adam. This next one is no exception. It sounds like Mercy has gotten herself in real trouble, far away without her support system. I can’t wait to see what happens. Patricia Briggs will be in Houston as part of her release tour and I will be there! I’m waiting to buy this one until I’m there so I can have her sign it. It’s makes the wait longer, but it’s worth it!

Posted February 22, 2017 by Emily in WoW / 1 Comment
Divider

Top Ten Tuesday #4

Top Ten Tuesday #4

Top Ten Best Books of 2016! I know, I know- basic. BUT this book was so amazing and there was no way I was leaving this off the list. I pre-ordered and then procrastinated because I knew it was going to mess with my emotions, but it’s so worth it in the end. I can sum up my greatest love for this series in one word: RHYSAND. 🙂 Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven I can’t say enough about all the good things about this book. I wrote a full review-but the highlights are body positivity, diversity, and the sweet romance. The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon Another book with a full review, but this definitely makes my top 2016 reads. I loved the interracial relationship, the own voices representation, and the mix up in traditional gender roles. If you haven’t read this one, you must! It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover I’ve heard differing opinions on this book, but I absolutely loved it. It was heartbreaking and felt real to me. I also think it could give strength to women in similar situations. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin Definitely not a 2016 release, but still one that sucked me into the entire trilogy this year. I loved the mystery and, of course, Noah. This one is probably going to be […]

Posted December 27, 2016 by Emily in Top 10 / 2 Comments
Divider
Divider

Awesome Indies: Ghost Maven by Tony Lee Moral

Awesome Indies: Ghost Maven by Tony Lee Moral

For more information, check out the Awesome Indies page Tell us about your book. 16 year old Alice Parker has just moved to Pacific Grove, California with her father and little sister, Sophie, after her mother’s passing. Deathly afraid of the water, Alice is determined to conquer her fear by getting involved with her high school Kayaking team. During one particular outing, a strange fog rolls in and Alice becomes disoriented and eventually thrown from her Kayak. Struggling to reach the surface, Alice begins to drown when a mysterious stranger rescues her. Against all rules, they begin to see each other. Thus begins an incredible journey and romance that transcends the boundaries of the fourth plane. If this book is part of a series, tell us a little about it? Ghost Maven is the first book in a series featuring Alice and her ability to communicate with the after life and slay ghosts. In the next book, Alice begins to fully realize her powers and it will be a very exciting time for her, as her enemies in the first chapter seek vengeance. She will also continue her relationship with Henry and discover new and exciting things about him and what it means to be a ghost and to be human. How do you develop your plots and characters? I write a detailed synopsis of the book, breaking down […]

Posted October 28, 2016 by Emily in Awesome Indie / 0 Comments
Divider

FFBC Tour: Iron Cast by Destiny Soria

FFBC Tour: Iron Cast by Destiny Soria

Iron Cast by Destiny Soria Published by Amulet Books on October 11th 2016 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, paranormal, Historical Pages: 384 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed. On stage, hemopaths—whose “afflicted” blood gives them the ability to create illusions through art—captivate their audience. Corinne and Ada have been best friends ever since infamous gangster Johnny Dervish recruited them into his circle. By night they perform for Johnny’s crowds, and by day they con Boston’s elite. When a job goes wrong and Ada is imprisoned, they realize how precarious their position is. After she escapes, two of the Cast Iron’s hires are shot, and Johnny disappears. With the law closing in, Corinne and Ada are forced to hunt for answers, even as betrayal faces them at every turn. I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Iron Cast by @TheDestinySoria is the book about friendship and magic and mind control that I didn't know I was desperate for. — Emily (@Emren) October 8, 2016 This tweet pretty much sums up my feelings about Iron Cast. The friendship between Corinne and Ada was really touching. I loved that there was no competition or pettiness. They understood […]

Posted October 9, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Awesome Indies: Bloodwalker by L.X. Cain

Awesome Indies: Bloodwalker by L.X. Cain

For more information, check out the Awesome Indies page This is a first! Bloodwalker is the first book submitted to Awesome Indies that I have also chosen to review. This doesn’t mean that the other books were lacking in any way. It just means that Bloodwalker caught my attention. It started with a fantastic personal email. The author, L.X. Cain checked out my past reviews and decided her book and I would probably be a good match. She then sold her book to me by mentioning the plot and comparing it to books I loved. I didn’t know it at the time, but I took a chance. Her comparisons were spot on! I really enjoyed this book. It’s creepy and different, which I loved. I can’t think of another book or series to compare it to. It’s part murder mystery and part paranormal or urban fantasy. I think that the best comparison is to a Pendergast novel by Preston and Child but even that isn’t a great description. There were layers of plot and subplot with all the characters subtlety interwoven. I really didn’t know what was going to happen up until the very end. Both main characters are terrific. Rurik is really complex. I really think we just scratched the surface of his character. Damaged characters are my favorite kind! I love the character development that comes with damaged characters. […]

Posted September 30, 2016 by Emily in Events and Features, Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Awesome Indies: Gifted by J.A. George

Awesome Indies: Gifted by J.A. George

For more information, check out the Awesome Indies page What inspires you? Being normal and extraordinary at the same time. Most people believe you can only be one or the other, but I believe you can be both. Extraordinary in the sense that there is something about you that sets you apart from everyone else, but normal in the sense that…you know… you’re not a serial killer or anything. How long did this book take you to write? Almost three years. When I first came up with the concept of Gifted, I started writing it out because I wanted to see where the story would go; I wrote Gifted because I wanted to read it. But as the publication date loomed closer, panic set in. I started to worry about whether readers would like it and whether it would sell or not because if it didn’t, then I would have failed as an author. So I ended up writing a book I thought readers would love, but in the end, I hated, by throwing in tropes I’d seen in popular best-selling YA novels: instant-love, a chosen one and a girl born into a dystopian society who kicks butt regularly. In the end, I not only hated my novel, but the entire writing process which was extremely crushing because writing is the one thing I’ve ever really enjoyed, the one […]

Posted September 23, 2016 by Emily in Awesome Indie / 1 Comment
Divider

Rockstar ARC Review: A Shadow Bright and Burning

Rockstar ARC Review: A Shadow Bright and Burning

A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess Series: Kingdom on Fire #1 Published by Random House BFYR on September 20th 2016 Genres: paranormal, Fantasy, Historical, Young Adult, horror Pages: 416 Format: Paperback Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon Goodreads I am Henrietta Howel. The first female sorcerer. The prophesied one. Or am I? Henrietta Howel can burst into flames. When she is brought to London to train with Her Majesty’s sorcerers, she meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, young men eager to test her powers and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her. As Henrietta discovers the secrets hiding behind the glamour of sorcerer life, she begins to doubt that she’s the true prophesied one. With battle looming, how much will she risk to save the city–and the one she loves? “Vivid characters, terrifying monsters, and world building as deep and dark as the ocean.”—Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Red Queen “Unputdownable. I loved the monsters, the magic, and the teen warriors who are their world’s best hope!” —Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author “The magic! The intrigue! The guys! We were sucked into this monster-ridden, alternative England from page one. Henrietta is literally a ‘girl on fire’ and this team of sorcerers training for battle had a pinch of Potter blended with a […]

Posted September 13, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 2 Comments
Divider