Genre: romance

2017 SerendipiTEA Tour: Shaila Patel

Posted April 17, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway / 0 Comments

2017 SerendipiTEA Tour: Shaila Patel

2017 SerendipiTEA Tour: Shaila PatelSoulmated by Shaila Patel
Series: Joining of Souls #1
Published by Month9Books on January 24th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, romance, Fantasy
Pages: 300
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Two souls. One Fate.
Eighteen-year-old Liam Whelan, an Irish royal empath, has been searching for his elusive soulmate. The rare union will cement his family's standing in empath politics and afford the couple legendary powers, while also making them targets of those seeking to oust them.
Laxshmi Kapadia, an Indian-American high school student from a traditional family, faces her mother's ultimatum: Graduate early and go to medical school, or commit to an arranged marriage.
When Liam moves next door to Laxshmi, he’s immediately and inexplicably drawn to her. In Liam, Laxshmi envisions a future with the freedom to follow her heart.
Liam's father isn't convinced Laxshmi is "The One" and Laxshmi's mother won't even let her talk to their handsome new neighbor. Will Liam and Laxshmi defy expectations and embrace a shared destiny? Or is the risk of choosing one's own fate too great a price for the soulmated?

Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | Books-a-Million | Google Play | Kobo

As an unabashed lover of all things happily-ever-after, Shaila Patel writes from her home in the Carolinas and dreams up all sorts of stories with epilogues. A member of the Romance Writers of America, she’s a pharmacist by training, a medical office manager by day, and a writer by night. Her debut, SOULMATED, won the 2015 Chanticleer Book Reviews’ Paranormal Awards for Young Adults, and is part of her Joining of Souls Series. She loves traveling, craft beer, tea, and reading a good book in a cozy window seat—but she’ll read anywhere. You might even find her sneaking in a few paragraphs at a red light, or connecting with other readers online.

To learn more, visit her website at www.shailapatelauthor.com or find her online.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Goodreads

 

Description of my tea

My Soulmated inspired tea is a blend of the Assam that’s found in Irish Breakfast Tea and Indian chai spices: cardamom, cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and whole peppercorn. There’s even a bit of lemongrass thrown in—something my parents used to add to their chai while I was growing up.

A little bit about my book

Liam Whelan, an Irish empath prince, is being forced by his parents to find his empath soul mate. The rare and legendary union would solidify his family’s political standing, but Liam couldn’t care less. When they move to Cary, NC, Liam meets and falls for Laxshmi Kapadia, an Indian-American girl who is not an empath. Now Liam has to decide just what he’ll sacrifice to be with her if he can’t prove she’s The One, and Laxshmi has to decide just what she’ll do to defy her overprotective and traditional mother’s expectations in order to follow her heart.

How my tea fits into my book world

My Irish breakfast tea with chai spices is the perfect representation of my hero and heroine, Liam and Laxshmi.

A little about your tea life

I’m a creature of habit! I have a green tea with chai spices every morning with breakfast, but I also have other favorites like Moroccan Mint (gunpowder tea with spearmint), jasmine, Irish Breakfast (of course!), and my mom’s milky chai with loads of ginger—especially when I’m feeling under the weather. One of my favorite gifts EVER is a plug-in mug warmer that I use while drinking tea and reading (or writing!).

What I’m giving away

Follow the SerendipiTEA Tour

April 1stThe Regal Critiques: JM Sullivan with THE WANDERLAND CHRONICLES

April 2ndOhana Reads: Leah Henderson with ONE SHADOW ON THE WALL

April 3rdYA and Wine: KM Robinson with GOLDEN

April 4thThe Book Traveler: Faith Boughan with CINDERELLA NECROMANCER

April 5thYA Wednesdays: Linsey Miller with A MASK OF SHADOWS

April 6thBibliobibuli YA: Leslie Hauser with CHASING EVELINE

April 7thRattle the Pages: Gwen C. Katz with RATTLE THE STARS

April 9thPirates and Pixie Dust: Amber Duell with FRAGILE CHAOS

April 10thlollipopsbooks: Abby J. Reed with WHEN PLANETS FALL

April 11thSimplyAllyTea: Carrie Ann DiRisio with BROODING YA’S HERO GUIDE

April 12Bookish Fan Girl: Amanda Hanson with SOMETHING BEAUTIFUL

April 13thFor the Sake of Reading: Rosalyn Eves with BLOOD ROSE REBELLION

April 14thRedd’s Reads: Meg Eden with POST HIGH-SCHOOL REALITY QUEST

April 15thTales of the Ravenous Reader: Kristin L. Gray with VILONIA BEEBE TAKES CHARGE

April 16thLittle red bookshelf: Chelsea Sedoti with THE HUNDRED LIES OF LIZZIE LOVETT

April 17thEmily Reads Everything: Shaila Patel with SOULMATED

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tags:

Divider

Joint Review: When Dimple Met Rishi

Posted April 10, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments

Joint Review: When Dimple Met RishiWhen Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon
Published by Simon Pulse on May 30th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, romance
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

A laugh-out-loud, heartfelt YA romantic comedy, told in alternating perspectives, about two Indian-American teens whose parents have arranged for them to be married.
Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?
Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.
The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?
Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

 

Dimple Shah and Rishi Patel are both recent high school graduates headed to a summer coding program in San Francisco. The big difference? Dimple is going because coding is in her soul, while Rishi is going to meet Dimple in hopes of a marriage arranged by their parents. Their first encounter is a disaster and spit-fire Dimple is bound to  win Insomnia Con without him dragging her down.

I’ve heard some say that the romantic pacing was a little “insta-lovey”, but I found their feelings to match those of regular teenagers and young adults. I thought their relationship was cute and some of the challenges they faced were relatable. I adored Rishi’s love of family and culture, and in contrast Dimple’s need for independence and desire to accomplish her dreams despite tradition. They balanced each other’s personalities well.

I thought the supporting characters, Ashish and Celia, added a lot to the story. They each had independent stories and unique personalities, but came together for Rishi and Dimple and each other. I loved the common ground the two brothers found after thinking they were so completely different. As a sister to 5, I know all about being night and day with a sibling and yet still seeing that there are times when we’re on the same team and I’ll never be alone in the world.

Cute, charming story. 4.5 stars from me!

 

 

Now contemporary books are not my usually fare. I’m much more picky and less forgiving about a contemporary romance than I am a fantasy. I love dark fantasy and horror so light romance is usually way too cutesy for me. I’m very hard to please.

When Dimple Met Rishi melted my icy black heart. It was so adorable. Dimple and Rishi have the perfect storybook meet cute. It is a hilarious disaster. They start out at odds and it was so much fun to watch their relationship blossom from there.

I loved the dichotomy of the characters. Rishi is a huge romantic. He believes in the tradition and culture that he was raised in and he wants to continue in his parent’s footsteps. Most of all, he grew up seeing their love and happiness in their arranged marriage and he wants that for himself. Dimple, on the other hand, feels trapped by the weight of tradition. She wants to have a career in technology and program apps that she is passionate about but she’s afraid that her dreams are in direct opposition to her parent’s plans for her.

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

Review: American Street

Review: American Street

American Street by Ibi Zoboi Published by Balzer + Bray on February 14th 2017 Genres: Contemporary, romance, Young Adult Pages: 336 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream? I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.My favorite part of this book was the voice of the narrator, Fabiola. She’s a teenage immigrant from Haiti whose mother gets detained when they attempt to come into the country. Her mother sends her ahead to Detroit where her aunt and cousins are waiting for them. The story is of her journey to get her mother released and her first few months as […]

Posted March 21, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Arc Review: Literally by Lucy Keating

Arc Review: Literally by Lucy Keating

Literally by Lucy Keating Published by HarperTeen on April 11th 2017 Genres: Contemporary, romance, Young Adult Pages: 256 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads A girl realizes her life is being written for her in this unique, smart love story that is Stranger Than Fiction for fans of Stephanie Perkins. Annabelle’s life has always been Perfect with a capital P. Then bestselling young adult author Lucy Keating announces that she’s writing a new novel—and Annabelle is the heroine. It turns out, Annabelle is a character that Lucy Keating created. And Lucy has a plan for her. But Annabelle doesn’t want to live a life where everything she does is already plotted out. Will she find a way to write her own story—or will Lucy Keating have the last word? The real Lucy Keating’s delightful contemporary romance blurs the line between reality and fiction, and is the perfect follow-up for readers who loved her debut Dreamology, which SLJ called, “a sweet, quirky romance with appealing characters.” I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.This was such a sweet book with a really original premise behind it. Annabelle is a seemingly normal teenager living her life trying to make it through her creative writing class. When […]

Posted March 16, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: The Ship Beyond Time

Review: The Ship Beyond Time

The Ship Beyond Time by Heidi Heilig Series: The Girl from Everywhere #2 Published by Greenwillow Books on February 28th 2017 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, romance Pages: 464 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads The breathtaking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from Everywhere. Nix has escaped her past, but when the person she loves most is at risk, even the daughter of a time traveler may not be able to outrun her fate—no matter where she goes. Fans of Rae Carson, Alexandra Bracken, and Outlander will fall hard for Heidi Heilig’s sweeping fantasy. Nix has spent her whole life journeying to places both real and imagined aboard her time-traveling father’s ship. And now it’s finally time for her to take the helm. Her father has given up his obsession to save her mother—and possibly erase Nix’s existence—and Nix’s future lies bright before her. Until she learns that she is destined to lose the one she loves. But her relationship with Kash—best friend, thief, charmer extraordinaire—is only just beginning. How can she bear to lose him? How can she bear to become as adrift and alone as her father? Desperate to change her fate, Nix takes her crew to a mythical utopia to meet another Navigator who promises to teach her how to manipulate time. But everything in this utopia is constantly changing, and nothing is […]

Posted March 9, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Irish Banana Tour: Q&A with Wintersong Authour S. Jae-Jones

Irish Banana Tour: Q&A with Wintersong Authour S. Jae-Jones

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones Series: Wintersong #1 Published by Thomas Dunne on February 7th 2017 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, romance, Retelling Pages: 448 Format: ebook Buy on Amazon Goodreads Beware the goblin men and the wares they sell. All her life, nineteen-year-old Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, mysterious Goblin King. He is the Lord of Mischief, the Ruler Underground, and the muse around which her music is composed. Yet, as Liesl helps shoulder the burden of running her family’s inn, her dreams of composition and childish fancies about the Goblin King must be set aside in favor of more practical concerns. But when her sister Käthe is taken by the goblins, Liesl journeys to their realm to rescue her sister and return her to the world above. The Goblin King agrees to let Käthe go—for a price. The life of a maiden must be given to the land, in accordance with the old laws. A life for a life, he says. Without sacrifice, nothing good can grow. Without death, there can be no rebirth. In exchange for her sister’s freedom, Liesl offers her hand in marriage to the Goblin King. He accepts. Down in the Underground, Liesl discovers that the Goblin King still inspires her—musically, physically, emotionally. Yet even as her talent blossoms, Liesl’s life is slowly fading away, the price she paid for becoming the Goblin […]

Posted February 20, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, interview / 3 Comments
Divider

Rockstar Tours Review: Wintersong

Rockstar Tours Review: Wintersong

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones Published by Thomas Dunne on February 7th 2017 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, romance, Retelling Pages: 448 Format: ebook Buy on Amazon Goodreads Beware the goblin men and the wares they sell. All her life, nineteen-year-old Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, mysterious Goblin King. He is the Lord of Mischief, the Ruler Underground, and the muse around which her music is composed. Yet, as Liesl helps shoulder the burden of running her family’s inn, her dreams of composition and childish fancies about the Goblin King must be set aside in favor of more practical concerns. But when her sister Käthe is taken by the goblins, Liesl journeys to their realm to rescue her sister and return her to the world above. The Goblin King agrees to let Käthe go—for a price. The life of a maiden must be given to the land, in accordance with the old laws. A life for a life, he says. Without sacrifice, nothing good can grow. Without death, there can be no rebirth. In exchange for her sister’s freedom, Liesl offers her hand in marriage to the Goblin King. He accepts. Down in the Underground, Liesl discovers that the Goblin King still inspires her—musically, physically, emotionally. Yet even as her talent blossoms, Liesl’s life is slowly fading away, the price she paid for becoming the Goblin King’s bride. As […]

Posted February 10, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Waiting on Wednesday: When Dimple Met Rishi

Waiting on Wednesday: When Dimple Met Rishi

The thing that really draws me to this book is the cover. I love the girl’s face on the cover. That grin!!! It’s just so joyous. I’ve never seen a cover that exudes so much happiness. Past the cover, the book sounds perfect. Enemies to loves is always my favorite trope. I love the idea that these two kids have been promised to each other in an arranged marriage. However, they don’t know it and they don’t even like each other! Can’t wait to read this one!

Posted February 8, 2017 by Emily in WoW / 1 Comment
Divider

#TeamTheo Readalong Update

#TeamTheo Readalong Update

The Readalong is well underway and it’s going great! All the information is available for you to join in as part of #TEAMTHEO or #TeamPrinceling.  The details are below as well. We are having a lot of fun in our private #TeamThea DM group with plenty of good natured #TeamPrinceling ribbing. We want to do Theo proud. We would love to have you join us! Check out this post for more information about the Street Team Competition. Readalong Details  The schedule goes like this: Jan 15 – Jan 21 : Chapters 1-5 Jan 22 – Jan 28 : Chapters 6 – 10 Jan 29-Feb 4 : Chapters 11 – 15 Feb 5 – Feb 11 : Chapters 16 – 20 Feb 14 – The Union Release! Every week there is a special contest just for the #TeamTheo and #TeamPrinceling participants. This is above and beyond the Readalong. The special contests are well underway, but there’s still plenty of time to join up and help lead #TeamTheo to victory! Mini Challenge Schedule 9-15 Week 1 – Join a team (Win bookmarks) WINNER: #TeamPrinceling 16-22 Week 2 – Pledge to read (Win an ebook) WINNER: #TeamTheo 23-29 Week 3 – Instagram Competition (Win buttons) WINNER: TBD 30-5 Week 4 – Street Team FB group (Win Stickers) WINNER: TBD 6-12 Week 5 – Twitter Competition (Win a signed bookplate) WINNER: TBD 13-17 Week 6 […]

Posted February 2, 2017 by Emily in Events and Features, Special Feature / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Geekerella: A Fangirl Fairy Tale by Ashley Poston Published by Quirk Books on April 4th 2017 Genres: Contemporary, romance Pages: 320 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Cinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fueled twist on the classic fairy tale. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win unless her stepsisters get there first. Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons before he was famous. Now they re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfieldfandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise. Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom.” Fandom in media can be patronizing. If you know me, you […]

Posted January 25, 2017 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider