Genre: romance

Review Consequence by Rachel Higginson

Posted April 2, 2018 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment

Review Consequence by Rachel HigginsonConsequence by Rachel Higginson
Series: The Confidence Game #2
Published by Reckless Siren Publishing on February 27, 2018
Genres: Adult, Thriller, romance
Pages: 254
Format: ebook
Source: the author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Consequence, the conclusion to Sayer and Caroline’s epic love story

Five years ago, I escaped a dangerous life I had always wanted to leave. I got away. I found freedom. But it cost me the love of my life.

For five years I lived in hiding, protecting my most valuable secret while Sayer Wesley sat in prison paying for both our sins. I promised to love him forever. I promised to never leave him. 

I broke my promises.

Five months ago Sayer found me.

Five weeks ago, I was forced to face my past.

Five days ago, someone took my daughter. They kidnapped her in order to make Sayer and me suffer. I will do anything to get her back. Even if that means coming clean to Sayer, letting him into my life and introducing him to our daughter.

All I wanted was to protect her from this life and now she’s right in the middle of the chaos. Sayer is the only one that can help me. He’s the only one that can get her back.

But it might mean losing him again.

Fifteen years ago, I fell in love with Sayer Wesley. Now I must pay the consequences for falling in love with a con man.

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This is the sequel to Constant that I reviewed last week, which I loved. This book’s pacing was a little slower because it’s told in a series of flashbacks as well as in the present. In Consequence. we also get to read from Sayer’s point of view, which is enlightening to say the least.

I really liked how this book wrapped everything up. Caro and Sayer’s daughter is missing. The assumption is that she’s been kidnapped by the Bratva in order to punish Caro for leaving. That is soon proven true but for completely different reasons. Even if they do want her to suffer, they want her back even more.

My favorite part of this book was the flashbacks. The story in the current timeline is interesting but the flashbacks drive the entire book. They explain and give context to the current timeline. The flashbacks really help us get to know the characters and their motivations. I know flashbacks can be controversial, but I usually like them. In this case, teh flashbacks really made the story special.

This book cemented my deep and abiding love for Sayer. He’s a criminal mastermind, but he’s not evil. Everything he has done, he has done to keep Caro safe and to make sure that they will be safe and provided for in the future. He wanted to ensure a life for her. Caro on the otherhand says that she loves Sayer but is paranoid and distrustful at every turn. Maybe it’s because she is fearful for her daughter’s safety but I’m not sure that Sayer ever deserved such treatment for the support he’s given her.

This sequel was suspensefilled and thrilling. It really lived up to the story that Rachel Higginson started with Constant. Very satisfying ending and it kept me guessing!

Divider

About the Author

Rachel Higginson is the best-selling author of The Opposite of You, The Five Stages of Falling in Love, Every Wrong Reason, Bet on Us and The Star-Crossed Series.

She was born and raised in Nebraska, and spent her college years traveling the world. She fell in love with Eastern Europe, Paris, Indian Food and the beautiful beaches of Sri Lanka, but came back home to marry her high school sweetheart. Now she spends her days writing stories and raising five amazing kids.

 

 

Instagram mywritesdntbite – rachelhigginson.com – facebook.com/rachelhigginsonauthor – @mywritesdntbite

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

Review Constant by Rachel Higginson

Posted March 26, 2018 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments

Review Constant by Rachel HigginsonConstant by Rachel Higginson
Series: The Confidence Game #1
Published by Reckless Siren Publishing on November 16th 2017
Genres: Thriller, romance, Adult
Pages: 266
Format: ebook
Source: the author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Fifteen years ago I met Sayer Wesley. I fell in love with him. I promised I would never leave him. I swore nothing could break us apart.

Five years ago I broke my promise. I ran away. I took the one secret that could destroy us both and disappeared.

Five days ago I thought I saw him.

I knew it was impossible. Sayer was locked away, serving a deserved sentence in federal prison. He couldn’t find me.

He wouldn’t find me. I was too good at hiding. Too good at surviving.

Because if Sayer ever found me, there would be hell to pay for a plethora of sins. The worst of which, he didn’t even know about.

Five hours ago, I told myself I was crazy.

Five minutes ago, I saw him again.

Five seconds ago, I was too late.

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book was SUCH a surprise! I thought that the premise sounded interested when I picked it up but I had no idea how well written and engaging it would be. Please, don’t judge this book by the cover! Don’t mistake me. There is absolutely nothing wrong with hunky, bare chested men and books filled with sexy times. I like those too and I read plenty of them. However, this book is more thriller than it is romance. I read this book and it’s sequel, Consequence in a single setting because I simply couldn’t put them down.

Caro and Sayer are embroiled in the Russian Mob. Sayer is quickly inducted from minion to solider and works his way up the ranks. He has never had a family. He’s sees the Bratva as a way to have the family his always wanted. Someone who will watch his back and take care of him. He’s in it for life.

Caro has seen the truth of the Bratva from a very young age but she has never wanted to be a part of it. Caro always wanted more for herself. She wanted more. Still, she is the best thief that the Bratva has ever seen and they want to ensure her loyalty. Ultimately, choice is taken away from her. No one escapes from the Bratva, but Caro is determined to be the first. If not for herself, for the ones she loves. Even if she has to leave them behind to do it.

I have such a soft spot for redeemable bad boys, especially if they seem to really love the heroine. Sayer hit me right in the feels from the start. It’s obvious how much he scares for Caro, even if she doesn’t realize it at first. Plus, Caro and Sayer together are HOT.

Rachel Higginson is a master at drawing out the tension. This entire book had me on the edge of my seat. I was caught up and stressed out and worried about what would happen to Caro and Frankie next.

Divider

About the Author

Rachel Higginson is the best-selling author of The Opposite of You, The Five Stages of Falling in Love, Every Wrong Reason, Bet on Us and The Star-Crossed Series.

She was born and raised in Nebraska, and spent her college years traveling the world. She fell in love with Eastern Europe, Paris, Indian Food and the beautiful beaches of Sri Lanka, but came back home to marry her high school sweetheart. Now she spends her days writing stories and raising five amazing kids.

 

Instagram mywritesdntbite – rachelhigginson.com – facebook.com/rachelhigginsonauthor – @mywritesdntbite

four-stars

Tags:

Divider

Review: Prancing Around with Sleeping Beauty

Review: Prancing Around with Sleeping Beauty

Prancing Around With Sleeping Beauty by Stacy Juba Series: Storybook Valley #2 Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on March 5th 2018 Genres: Adult, romance Pages: 240 Format: ebook Source: the author Buy on Amazon Goodreads his Sleeping Beauty isn’t sure she wants to wake up… Dance instructor Rory Callahan likes to play it safe. When she meets Kyle, he’s impulsive, persistent, and her exact opposite. He’s pushing her to tango way past her comfort zone and keeping Rory on her toes more than twenty years of dance teachers ever had. Unfortunately, he’s the grandson of her family’s archrival and she doesn’t want to disappoint them. After all, her parents imagine her as a proper princess – hence her namesake Aurora, AKA Sleeping Beauty. Complicating matters, Rory’s also dealing with a surgeon boyfriend who’s perfect for her (sort of), an obnoxious boss, and desperate dance moms. Kyle wants to change her whole life, but Rory doesn’t like the stakes. After all, princesses are the ones who get the happy endings. . .aren’t they? This sweet romantic comedy is a standalone and can be read on its own. All books in the series can be read in any order so jump in at any time.Welcome to Storybook Valley…Your Vacation Escape The Storybook Valley books are the perfect beach reads. If you love small town romance, theme parks, fairy tale fun, […]

Posted March 6, 2018 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios

Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios

Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) on June 13th 2017 Genres: Contemporary, romance Pages: 368 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Grace wants out. Out of her house, where her stepfather wields fear like a weapon and her mother makes her scrub imaginary dirt off the floors. Out of her California town, too small to contain her big city dreams. Out of her life, and into the role of Parisian artist, New York director—anything but scared and alone. Enter Gavin: charming, talented, adored. Controlling. Dangerous. When Grace and Gavin fall in love, Grace is sure it’s too good to be true. She has no idea their relationship will become a prison she’s unable to escape. Deeply affecting and unflinchingly honest, this is a story about spiraling into darkness—and emerging into the light again. I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Emotional. Cringe-Inducing. Intense. Realistic. I’ve lived this book. Perhaps not to some of the extremes Gavin went to, but I’ve been the other half of a verbally abusive and emotionally manipulative relationship. After one daughter and four years of my life, all I can do is reflect and learn from that experience. This book was so uncomfortable at […]

Posted May 15, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

2017 SerendipiTEA Tour: Shaila Patel

2017 SerendipiTEA Tour: Shaila Patel

Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | Books-a-Million | Google Play | Kobo As an unabashed lover of all things happily-ever-after, Shaila Patel writes from her home in the Carolinas and dreams up all sorts of stories with epilogues. A member of the Romance Writers of America, she’s a pharmacist by training, a medical office manager by day, and a writer by night. Her debut, SOULMATED, won the 2015 Chanticleer Book Reviews’ Paranormal Awards for Young Adults, and is part of her Joining of Souls Series. She loves traveling, craft beer, tea, and reading a good book in a cozy window seat—but she’ll read anywhere. You might even find her sneaking in a few paragraphs at a red light, or connecting with other readers online. To learn more, visit her website at www.shailapatelauthor.com or find her online. Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Goodreads   Description of my tea My Soulmated inspired tea is a blend of the Assam that’s found in Irish Breakfast Tea and Indian chai spices: cardamom, cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and whole peppercorn. There’s even a bit of lemongrass thrown in—something my parents used to add to their chai while I was growing up. A little bit about my book Liam Whelan, an Irish empath prince, is being forced by his parents to find his empath soul mate. The rare and legendary […]

Posted April 17, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway / 0 Comments
Divider

Joint Review: When Dimple Met Rishi

Joint Review: When Dimple Met Rishi

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon Published by Simon Pulse on May 30th 2017 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, romance Pages: 320 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads A laugh-out-loud, heartfelt YA romantic comedy, told in alternating perspectives, about two Indian-American teens whose parents have arranged for them to be married. Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right? Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself. The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not? Dimple and […]

Posted April 10, 2017 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: American Street

Review: American Street

American Street by Ibi Zoboi Published by Balzer + Bray on February 14th 2017 Genres: Contemporary, romance, Young Adult Pages: 336 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream? I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.My favorite part of this book was the voice of the narrator, Fabiola. She’s a teenage immigrant from Haiti whose mother gets detained when they attempt to come into the country. Her mother sends her ahead to Detroit where her aunt and cousins are waiting for them. The story is of her journey to get her mother released and her first few months as […]

Posted March 21, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Arc Review: Literally by Lucy Keating

Arc Review: Literally by Lucy Keating

Literally by Lucy Keating Published by HarperTeen on April 11th 2017 Genres: Contemporary, romance, Young Adult Pages: 256 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads A girl realizes her life is being written for her in this unique, smart love story that is Stranger Than Fiction for fans of Stephanie Perkins. Annabelle’s life has always been Perfect with a capital P. Then bestselling young adult author Lucy Keating announces that she’s writing a new novel—and Annabelle is the heroine. It turns out, Annabelle is a character that Lucy Keating created. And Lucy has a plan for her. But Annabelle doesn’t want to live a life where everything she does is already plotted out. Will she find a way to write her own story—or will Lucy Keating have the last word? The real Lucy Keating’s delightful contemporary romance blurs the line between reality and fiction, and is the perfect follow-up for readers who loved her debut Dreamology, which SLJ called, “a sweet, quirky romance with appealing characters.” I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.This was such a sweet book with a really original premise behind it. Annabelle is a seemingly normal teenager living her life trying to make it through her creative writing class. When […]

Posted March 16, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: The Ship Beyond Time

Review: The Ship Beyond Time

The Ship Beyond Time by Heidi Heilig Series: The Girl from Everywhere #2 Published by Greenwillow Books on February 28th 2017 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, romance Pages: 464 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads The breathtaking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from Everywhere. Nix has escaped her past, but when the person she loves most is at risk, even the daughter of a time traveler may not be able to outrun her fate—no matter where she goes. Fans of Rae Carson, Alexandra Bracken, and Outlander will fall hard for Heidi Heilig’s sweeping fantasy. Nix has spent her whole life journeying to places both real and imagined aboard her time-traveling father’s ship. And now it’s finally time for her to take the helm. Her father has given up his obsession to save her mother—and possibly erase Nix’s existence—and Nix’s future lies bright before her. Until she learns that she is destined to lose the one she loves. But her relationship with Kash—best friend, thief, charmer extraordinaire—is only just beginning. How can she bear to lose him? How can she bear to become as adrift and alone as her father? Desperate to change her fate, Nix takes her crew to a mythical utopia to meet another Navigator who promises to teach her how to manipulate time. But everything in this utopia is constantly changing, and nothing is […]

Posted March 9, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Irish Banana Tour: Q&A with Wintersong Authour S. Jae-Jones

Irish Banana Tour: Q&A with Wintersong Authour S. Jae-Jones

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones Series: Wintersong #1 Published by Thomas Dunne on February 7th 2017 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, romance, Retelling Pages: 448 Format: ebook Buy on Amazon Goodreads Beware the goblin men and the wares they sell. All her life, nineteen-year-old Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, mysterious Goblin King. He is the Lord of Mischief, the Ruler Underground, and the muse around which her music is composed. Yet, as Liesl helps shoulder the burden of running her family’s inn, her dreams of composition and childish fancies about the Goblin King must be set aside in favor of more practical concerns. But when her sister Käthe is taken by the goblins, Liesl journeys to their realm to rescue her sister and return her to the world above. The Goblin King agrees to let Käthe go—for a price. The life of a maiden must be given to the land, in accordance with the old laws. A life for a life, he says. Without sacrifice, nothing good can grow. Without death, there can be no rebirth. In exchange for her sister’s freedom, Liesl offers her hand in marriage to the Goblin King. He accepts. Down in the Underground, Liesl discovers that the Goblin King still inspires her—musically, physically, emotionally. Yet even as her talent blossoms, Liesl’s life is slowly fading away, the price she paid for becoming the Goblin […]

Posted February 20, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, interview / 3 Comments
Divider