Genre: Sci Fi

Waiting on Wednesday: Invictus by Ryan Graudin

Posted April 19, 2017 by Emily in Events and Features, WoW / 0 Comments

wow logo

Waiting on Wednesday: Invictus by Ryan GraudinInvictus by Ryan Graudin
on September 26th 2017
Pages: 464
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Time flies when you're plundering history.
Farway Gaius McCarthy was born outside of time. The son of a time-traveling Recorder from 2354 AD and a gladiator living in Rome in 95 AD, Far's birth defies the laws of nature. Exploring history himself is all he's ever wanted, and after failing his final time-traveling exam, Far takes a position commanding a ship with a crew of his friends as part of a black market operation to steal valuables from the past. But during a heist on the sinking Titanic, Far meets a mysterious girl who always seems to be one step ahead of him. Armed with knowledge that will bring Far's very existence into question, she will lead Far and his team on a race through time to discover a frightening truth: History is not as steady as it seems.
In this heart-stopping adventure, Ryan Graudin has created a fast-paced world that defies time and space.

The synopsis AND the author have me chomping at the bit for this book. I loved Graudin’s Wolf by Wolf series which is an alternate history WWII story. Invictus includes time-traveling, plundering pirates, and a mysterious girl that has life-changing knowledge (anyone smell romance, because I do!) The synopsis mentions the Titanic and I’m interested to see how real history mixes with Graudin’s imagination again. Her writing is superb and her ideas are always original. This September release can’t come soon enough for me!

Tags:

Divider

Review: Glitter by Aprillynn Pile

Posted January 30, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments

Review: Glitter by Aprillynn PileGlitter by Aprilynne Pike
Published by Random House Books for Young Readers on October 25th 2016
Genres: Sci Fi
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike comes a truly original new novel—Breaking Bad meets Marie Antoinette in a near-future world where the residents of Versailles live like it’s the eighteenth century and an almost-queen turns to drug dealing to save her own life.  Outside the palace of Versailles, it’s modern day. Inside, the people dress, eat, and act like it’s the eighteenth century—with the added bonus of technology to make court life lavish, privileged, and frivolous. The palace has every indulgence, but for one pretty young thing, it’s about to become a very beautiful prison. When Danica witnesses an act of murder by the young king, her mother makes a cruel power play . . . blackmailing the king into making Dani his queen. When she turns eighteen, Dani will marry the most ruthless and dangerous man of the court. She has six months to escape her terrifying destiny. Six months to raise enough money to disappear into the real world beyond the palace gates. Her ticket out? Glitter. A drug so powerful that a tiny pinch mixed into a pot of rouge or lip gloss can make the wearer hopelessly addicted. Addicted to a drug Dani can sell for more money than she ever dreamed. But in Versailles, secrets are impossible to keep. And the most dangerous secret—falling for a drug dealer outside the palace walls—is one risk she has to take.

I went into this book hesitantly because a friend of mine had quite a bit of criticism. I’m going to break this review down into pros and cons. 

Pros:

The setting and idea behind Sonoman-Versailles is intriguing. It was probably the most well-done aspect of the story. The advanced technology mixed with their obsession with Baroque period fashion was interesting.

I appreciated the friendships that Danica had with Molli, Lord Aaron, Giovanni, and eventually Saber. This was where the majority of my love for her came from.  She cared about them whole-heartedly and tried to be a good friend.

There were a couple of plot twists or surprises that I didn’t see coming! I mean, I expected SOMETHING, but just not that.

I can also consider her wanting to escape an unhealthy situation and her initiative to be a good thing, but there are so many negatives associated with it that it’s almost hard to include it as a pro.

The ending. I love (hated) it. At the end of it all, I WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT.

Cons:

The characters were not all that well-written. You don’t feel like you truly care what happens to them most of the time. The character with most depth was Saber and there were even times I didn’t fully understand what he was thinking.

I absolutely loathed Danica’s obsession and need to self-harm by tightening her corset to the point of bruising. I didn’t see how it added value to the book and I honestly worry about how it would affect a teenager who had mental health issues.

I understood WHY Danica found a brilliant way to sell Glitter without being caught, but her almost total disregard for everyone other than her friends was not appealing. She had moments where her morals seemed to come to life, but it didn’t last. I was also very disappointed with her reaction to certain deaths.

Overall I wouldn’t NOT recommend this book, but it’s definitely not going to appeal for everyone.

As a fifth grade gifted teacher I’d also like to include that due to content, I would put an age requirement on this of at least 13.

Tags:

Divider

Review: Diabolic by SJ Kincaid

Review: Diabolic by SJ Kincaid

The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on November 1st 2016 Genres: Young Adult, Sci Fi Pages: 416 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Nemesis is a Diabolic. Created to protect a galactic Senator’s daughter, Sidonia. The girl who has grown up by her side and who is as much as sister as a master. There’s no one Nemesis wouldn’t kill to keep her safe. But when the power-mad Emperor summons Sidonia to the galactic court as a hostage, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia. She must become her. Now one of the galaxy’s most dangerous weapons is masquerading in a world of corruption and Nemesis has to hide her true abilities or risk everything. As the Empire begins to fracture and rebellion looms closer, Nemesis learns that there is something stronger than her deadly force: the one thing she’s been told she doesn’t have – humanity. And, amidst all the danger, action and intrigue, her humanity might be the only thing that can save her, Sidonia and the entire Empire… I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.This book is intense! There were a few times that I had to close the […]

Posted January 16, 2017 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments
Divider

ARC Review: The Alchemists of Loom

ARC Review: The Alchemists of Loom

Proud member of the This book blew my mind! I’m a huge fan of Steampunk and I’m always on the lookout for books in that genre. They are few and far between. Even when a book is billed as steampunk, its hard to find one with the right combination of gritty technology and magic. Alchemists of Loom hits the sweet spot. There are guns and bombs and gears and airships and plenty more elements that make for true steampunk. Elise Kova also weaves in tons of magic and mystery. This book nails the genre. What made this book a new favorite though was the unique setting. Loom and Nova are like nowhere I’ve ever read about before. Elise weaves the information about the setting throughout the story without ever committing the sin of the infodump. It was surprising to me because its so subtle. Throughout the book, I kept thinking, I wish I knew more about the world. Tell me MORE. Then when the book was over, I was describing it to a friend and I realized that I knew so much more than I thought I did. All the little details that I love about fantasy were in the narrative. I learned everything I could have wanted to about the world without even realizing it. The world is deliciously complex. I can’t explain it with the depth and […]

Posted January 3, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 2 Comments
Divider

Top Ten Tuesday #4

Top Ten Tuesday #4

Top Ten Best Books of 2016! I know, I know- basic. BUT this book was so amazing and there was no way I was leaving this off the list. I pre-ordered and then procrastinated because I knew it was going to mess with my emotions, but it’s so worth it in the end. I can sum up my greatest love for this series in one word: RHYSAND. 🙂 Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven I can’t say enough about all the good things about this book. I wrote a full review-but the highlights are body positivity, diversity, and the sweet romance. The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon Another book with a full review, but this definitely makes my top 2016 reads. I loved the interracial relationship, the own voices representation, and the mix up in traditional gender roles. If you haven’t read this one, you must! It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover I’ve heard differing opinions on this book, but I absolutely loved it. It was heartbreaking and felt real to me. I also think it could give strength to women in similar situations. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin Definitely not a 2016 release, but still one that sucked me into the entire trilogy this year. I loved the mystery and, of course, Noah. This one is probably going to be […]

Posted December 27, 2016 by Emily in Top 10 / 2 Comments
Divider

#IndieMas 2016 Day Eight

#IndieMas 2016 Day Eight

Author S. Usher Evans created #IndieMas as a way to celebrate her favorite Indie authors. On the eighth day of #IndieMas my author gave to me Fate Interfering Music and Fairy Tales Three Books Today Favorite Fantasies Thrills and Romance, Pulse Pounding Action,  Two Adventures, And Sci Fi and Fantasy . a Rafflecopter giveaway a Rafflecopter giveaway

Posted December 12, 2016 by Emily in Awesome Indie, Events and Features, Giveaway / 4 Comments
Divider
Divider
Divider

FFBC Review: Flashfall

FFBC Review: Flashfall

Flashfall by Jenny Moyer Published by Henry Holt and Co. on November 15th 2016 Genres: Sci Fi, Dystopian, Young Adult Pages: 352 Format: ebook Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Orion is a Subpar, expected to mine the tunnels of Outpost Five, near the deadly flash curtain. For generations, her people have chased cirium—the only element that can shield humanity from the curtain’s radioactive particles. She and her caving partner, Dram work the most treacherous tunnel, fighting past flash bats and tunnel gulls, in hopes of mining enough cirium to earn their way into the protected city. But when newcomers arrive at Outpost Five, Orion uncovers disturbing revelations that make her question everything she thought she knew about life on both sides of the cirium shield. As conditions at the outpost grow increasingly dangerous, it’s up to Orion to forge a way past the flashfall, beyond all boundaries, beyond the world as she knows it. I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Flashfall is set in a dystopian world after some sort of nuclear war. Everything is covered in radiation. Orion, Dram and the rest of the people in Outpost Five are all Subpar so they have adapted to have some sort of radiation resistance. Flashfall’s […]

Posted November 15, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Waiting on Wednesday: Gemina by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Waiting on Wednesday: Gemina by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

  What I love This week’s book comes out in just six short days! None of us have to wait very long. I think that Gemina is one of most people’s highly anticipated reads for this year. I know that I’ve been looking forward to it since I closed Illuminae for the first time. However I wanted to take this WoW post to urge you to try the Illuminae and Gemina Audio books! I know that you wouldn’t think the Epistolary format of this books would make good audio books. However, I just finished listening to the Illuminae audio book in my car and it’s one of the best audio books I’ve ever heard. It has a full cast and tons of special effects. Just like the combination of primary documents in the physical books drags you into the story, the audio book is captivating. It’s impossible to walk away from. This Waiting on Wednesday is a special edition because I can’t wait for the Gemina Audio! I’ve already preordered the YA Chronicles box, so I will be getting a Gemina Hardcover but you can bet I will be listening to the audio as well. Do you like audio books?

Posted October 12, 2016 by Emily in WoW / 1 Comment
Divider