Genre: Sci Fi

Rockstar Review: Shadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland and Michael Miller

Posted April 9, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 0 Comments

Rockstar Review: Shadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland and Michael Miller

Rockstar Review: Shadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland and Michael MillerShadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland, Michael Miller
Series: Kaitan Chronicles #2
Published by Delacorte Press on April 17th 2018
Genres: Sci Fi, Fantasy
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

His throne. Her rebellion. Their war.

Qole is the youngest starship captain in living memory on her homeworld of Alaxak and has spent her life hunting a dangerous energy source called Shadow. Alaxans distrust and evade the galaxy’s royalty as a rule, but Qole is now harboring the exiled Prince Nevarian Dracorte, along with some very conflicting feelings about it—and him.

Nev’s feelings are just as complicated, but not towards her. When it comes to Qole, he knows one thing: he’d do anything to stay with her. But when Alaxak is attacked and Nev finds himself framed for murder, he realizes the only way to help Qole and her people is to fight for the throne that should be his. To become the royal she might hate.

As for Qole, she would never have imagined herself as the leader of a rebellion. Despite that, she soon realizes that hiding from her power is no longer an option. It’s time to answer the call, even if it kills her.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Don’t forget the first book!

Rockstar Review: Shadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland and Michael MillerShadow Run by AdriAnne Strickland, Michael Miller
Series: Kaitan Chronicles #1
Published by Delacorte Press on March 21st 2017
Genres: Sci Fi, Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 390
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Nev has just joined the crew of the starship Kaitan Heritage as the cargo loader. His captain, Qole, is the youngest-ever person to command her own ship, but she brooks no argument from her crew of orphans, fugitives, and con men. Nev can't resist her, even if her ship is an antique.

As for Nev, he's a prince, in hiding on the ship. He believes Qole holds the key to changing galactic civilization, and when her cooperation proves difficult to obtain, Nev resolves to get her to his home planet by any means necessary.

But before they know it, a rival royal family is after Qole too, and they're more interested in stealing her abilities than in keeping her alive.

Nev's mission to manipulate Qole becomes one to save her, and to survive, she'll have to trust her would-be kidnapper. He may be royalty, but Qole is discovering a deep reservoir of power--and stars have mercy on whoever tries to hurt her ship or her crew.

Review

Pacing in sequels can be very difficult! It’s hard to know what the right amount of action is when an author is stretching the story into three or more books. Book two can definitely drag sometimes. Shadow Call doesn’t fall prey to this curse though. It’s action packed and fast moving. It held up to the standard that Shadow Run set in book one.

I loved all the characters. Coming back to them was like running into old friends. Nev and Qole are of course my favorites but all the of the supporting characters really keep the book running. Arjan and Eton are back with Telu and Basra. Unfortunately, there are ramifications and lots of hard feelings left over from the results of Shadow Run. A great cast of characters makes the book for me and this book did not disappoint.

Divider

Elsewhere

Divider

About the Author

ADRIANNE STRICKLAND and MICHAEL MILLER met in their hometown of Palmer, Alaska, where they agreed on 99% of book taste and thus decided to write together. Adri spends her summers as a commercial fisherwoman in Bristol Bay, Alaska, and the rest of the year writing. Michael grew up off the grid in a homestead in Alaska and now works in IT and tech. This is their second book together.

Find AdriAnne:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Find Michael:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Divider

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

3 winners will receive a finished copy of SHADOW CALL, US Only.

Ends on May 4th at Midnight EST!

Divider

Follow the Tour

Week One:

4/2/2018- Here’s to Happy Endings– Review
4/3/2018- Wonder Struck– Review
4/4/2018- Rhythmicbooktrovert – Review
4/5/2018- Jena Brown Writes– Review
4/6/2018- YA Obsessed– Review

Week Two:

4/9/2018- Emily Reads Everything– Review
4/10/2018- laura’s bookish corner– Review
4/11/2018- Literary Meanderings– Excerpt
4/12/2018- Two Chicks on Books– Excerpt
4/13/2018- Good Choice Reading– Review

Week Three:

4/16/2018- Rachel’s Book Reviews– Review
4/17/2018- Skye’s Scribblings– Review
4/18/2018- BookHounds YA– Excerpt
4/19/2018- The Desert Bibliophile– Review
4/20/2018- Seeing Double in Neverland– Excerpt

Week Four:

4/23/2018- Book-Keeping– Review
4/24/2018- lori’s little house of reviews– Review
4/25/2018- Books at Dawn– Excerpt
4/26/2018- Read. Eat. Love.– Review
4/27/2018- MNBernard Books– Excerpt

Week Five:

4/30/2018- Smada’s Book Smack– Review

 

four-stars

Tags: , , ,

Divider

Rockstar Review: Obsidio by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Posted March 29, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Events and Features, Giveaway, Review, Uncategorized / 1 Comment

Rockstar Review: Obsidio by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Rockstar Review: Obsidio by Jay Kristoff and Amie KaufmanObsidio by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
Series: The Illuminae Files #3
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on March 13th 2018
Genres: Sci Fi, Young Adult
Pages: 624
Format: hardcover
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives from the attacks on Heimdall station and now find themselves crammed with 2,000 refugees on the container ship, Mao. With the jump station destroyed and their resources scarce, the only option is to return to Kerenza—but who knows what they'll find seven months after the invasion?

Meanwhile, Kady's cousin, Asha, survived the initial BeiTech assault and has joined Kerenza's ragtag underground resistance. When Rhys—an old flame from Asha's past—reappears on Kerenza, the two find themselves on opposite sides of the conflict.

With time running out, a final battle will be waged on land and in space, heros will fall, and hearts will be broken.

I liked Obsidio. Readers will be familiar with the epistolary style by now. Obsidio adds in flyers and passed notes to the collection of documents that our heroes use to communicate. Katy and Ezra are still on the Mao and they are joined by Nik and Hannah. Now we are introduced to Asha and Rhys who have been stuck on Kerenza during the BeiTech occupation for the last 7 months. Asha and Rhys have an unfortunate history together and aren’t thrilled when they both turn up trapped on the same tiny planet.

I was not crazy about the occupation of Kerenza. I found it somehow stressful and boring at the same time. If you are a fan of Battlestar Galactica, it reminded me of the occupation of New Caprica, which I also found boring and stressful. There is an active resistance, which was interesting. I loved how they communicate with each other. I didn’t really like any of the other people on Kerenza, though. Heimdall had several interesting characters and Hypatia/Alexander had a bunch. The supporting cast on Kerenza was missing.

Luckily, that wasn’t the entire book. I loved the parts that had Katy, Ezra, Nik and Hannah and I loved the return of all the other familiar characters too. Even though I felt like I had everything figured out, there were plenty of surprises. It’s nice to know I couldn’t guess everything.

All in all, this was a satisfying series ending.

Divider

Meet the Authors

Amie Kaufman is the New York Times bestselling co-author of These Broken Stars and This Shattered World, and Illuminae, the first in a new series starting in 2015. She writes science fiction and fantasy for teens, and her favourite procrastination techniques involve chocolate, baking, sailing, excellent books and TV, plotting and executing overseas travel, and napping.

She lives in Melbourne, Australia with her husband, their rescue dog, and her considerable library. She is represented by Tracey Adams of Adams Literary.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Jay Kristoff is the award-winning author of THE LOTUS WAR trilogy, a Japanese-inspired steampunk fantasy. Part 3, ENDSINGER, is out now. He’s also co-author of the upcoming ILLUMINAE (with Amie Kaufman), a YA Sci-Fi… thing, to be released by Knopf/Random House in 2015, and NEVERNIGHT, the first part of a new fantasy trilogy kicking off in 2016.

Jay is 6’7 and has approximately 13380 days to live. He abides in Melbourne with his secret agent kung-fu assassin wife, and the world’s laziest Jack Russell.

He does not believe in happy endings.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Divider

Giveaway

3 winners will receive a finished copy of OBSIDIO, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Follow the Tour

Week One:
3/1/2018- Two Chicks on Books– Review
3/2/2018- YA Bibliophile– Review

Week Two:
3/5/2018- Mary Had a Little Book Blog– Review
3/6/2018- BookHounds YA– Review
3/7/2018- Novel Novice– Review
3/8/2018- Adventures of a Book Junkie– Review
3/9/2018- Feed Your Fiction Addiction– Review

Week Three:
3/12/2018- Fiction Fare– Review
3/13/2018- The Young Folks– Review
3/14/2018- A Dream Within A Dream– Review
3/15/2018- The Book Nut– Review
3/16/2018- Tales of the Ravenous Reader– Review

Week Four:
3/19/2018- StuckInBooks– Review
3/20/2018- PaperTrailYA– Review
3/21/2018- Nerdophiles– Review
3/22/2018- Owl Always Be Reading– Review
3/23/2018- YA Books Central– Excerpt

Week Five:
3/26/2018- The Eater of Books!– Review
3/27/2018- Page Turners Blog– Review
3/28/2018- Book Briefs– Review
3/29/2018- Emily Reads Everything– Review
3/30/2018- Mundie Moms– Review

four-stars

Tags:

Divider

Rockstar Review: Our Dark Stars by Audrey Grey and Krystal Wade

Rockstar Review: Our Dark Stars by Audrey Grey and Krystal Wade

Our Dark Stars by Audrey Grey, Krystal Wade on March 6th 2018 Genres: Fantasy, Sci Fi Pages: 316 Format: ebook Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads While she sleeps, the whole universe changes. Princess Talia Starchaser has it all. Wealth. Status. Adoring citizens. But on the eve of her eighteenth birthday, she’s forced to publicly betray her best friend, a companion mock she’s had since birth, setting events into motion that lead to the destruction of the humans, and the princess floating through space, a remnant of a time when humans ruled over droids. One hundred years later, half-mock captain Will Perrault and his ragtag crew discover a device floating in space. When a very human Talia emerges from its depths, Will suspects she’s the key to buying his way back into the regiment he once commanded against the last remaining rebel humans—and the ruling mock queen’s good graces. Both Talia and Will would rather get space-tossed than trust one another, but with the queen’s forces chasing them across the galaxy and the fate of both worlds hanging in the balance, they’ll forge the unlikeliest of alliances to survive. I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.The description of this book reminded me a little of my favorite […]

Posted March 20, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Events and Features, Giveaway, Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Waiting on Wednesday: Invictus by Ryan Graudin

Waiting on Wednesday: Invictus by Ryan Graudin

The synopsis AND the author have me chomping at the bit for this book. I loved Graudin’s Wolf by Wolf series which is an alternate history WWII story. Invictus includes time-traveling, plundering pirates, and a mysterious girl that has life-changing knowledge (anyone smell romance, because I do!) The synopsis mentions the Titanic and I’m interested to see how real history mixes with Graudin’s imagination again. Her writing is superb and her ideas are always original. This September release can’t come soon enough for me!

Posted April 19, 2017 by Emily in Events and Features, WoW / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Glitter by Aprillynn Pile

Review: Glitter by Aprillynn Pile

Glitter by Aprilynne Pike Published by Random House Books for Young Readers on October 25th 2016 Genres: Sci Fi Pages: 384 Buy on Amazon Goodreads From #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike comes a truly original new novel—Breaking Bad meets Marie Antoinette in a near-future world where the residents of Versailles live like it’s the eighteenth century and an almost-queen turns to drug dealing to save her own life.  Outside the palace of Versailles, it’s modern day. Inside, the people dress, eat, and act like it’s the eighteenth century—with the added bonus of technology to make court life lavish, privileged, and frivolous. The palace has every indulgence, but for one pretty young thing, it’s about to become a very beautiful prison. When Danica witnesses an act of murder by the young king, her mother makes a cruel power play . . . blackmailing the king into making Dani his queen. When she turns eighteen, Dani will marry the most ruthless and dangerous man of the court. She has six months to escape her terrifying destiny. Six months to raise enough money to disappear into the real world beyond the palace gates. Her ticket out? Glitter. A drug so powerful that a tiny pinch mixed into a pot of rouge or lip gloss can make the wearer hopelessly addicted. Addicted to a drug Dani can sell for more […]

Posted January 30, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Diabolic by SJ Kincaid

Review: Diabolic by SJ Kincaid

The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on November 1st 2016 Genres: Young Adult, Sci Fi Pages: 416 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Nemesis is a Diabolic. Created to protect a galactic Senator’s daughter, Sidonia. The girl who has grown up by her side and who is as much as sister as a master. There’s no one Nemesis wouldn’t kill to keep her safe. But when the power-mad Emperor summons Sidonia to the galactic court as a hostage, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia. She must become her. Now one of the galaxy’s most dangerous weapons is masquerading in a world of corruption and Nemesis has to hide her true abilities or risk everything. As the Empire begins to fracture and rebellion looms closer, Nemesis learns that there is something stronger than her deadly force: the one thing she’s been told she doesn’t have – humanity. And, amidst all the danger, action and intrigue, her humanity might be the only thing that can save her, Sidonia and the entire Empire… I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.This book is intense! There were a few times that I had to close the […]

Posted January 16, 2017 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments
Divider

ARC Review: The Alchemists of Loom

ARC Review: The Alchemists of Loom

Proud member of the This book blew my mind! I’m a huge fan of Steampunk and I’m always on the lookout for books in that genre. They are few and far between. Even when a book is billed as steampunk, its hard to find one with the right combination of gritty technology and magic. Alchemists of Loom hits the sweet spot. There are guns and bombs and gears and airships and plenty more elements that make for true steampunk. Elise Kova also weaves in tons of magic and mystery. This book nails the genre. What made this book a new favorite though was the unique setting. Loom and Nova are like nowhere I’ve ever read about before. Elise weaves the information about the setting throughout the story without ever committing the sin of the infodump. It was surprising to me because its so subtle. Throughout the book, I kept thinking, I wish I knew more about the world. Tell me MORE. Then when the book was over, I was describing it to a friend and I realized that I knew so much more than I thought I did. All the little details that I love about fantasy were in the narrative. I learned everything I could have wanted to about the world without even realizing it. The world is deliciously complex. I can’t explain it with the depth and […]

Posted January 3, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 3 Comments
Divider

Top Ten Tuesday #4

Top Ten Tuesday #4

Top Ten Best Books of 2016! I know, I know- basic. BUT this book was so amazing and there was no way I was leaving this off the list. I pre-ordered and then procrastinated because I knew it was going to mess with my emotions, but it’s so worth it in the end. I can sum up my greatest love for this series in one word: RHYSAND. 🙂 Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven I can’t say enough about all the good things about this book. I wrote a full review-but the highlights are body positivity, diversity, and the sweet romance. The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon Another book with a full review, but this definitely makes my top 2016 reads. I loved the interracial relationship, the own voices representation, and the mix up in traditional gender roles. If you haven’t read this one, you must! It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover I’ve heard differing opinions on this book, but I absolutely loved it. It was heartbreaking and felt real to me. I also think it could give strength to women in similar situations. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin Definitely not a 2016 release, but still one that sucked me into the entire trilogy this year. I loved the mystery and, of course, Noah. This one is probably going to be […]

Posted December 27, 2016 by Emily in Top 10 / 2 Comments
Divider

#IndieMas 2016 Day Eight

#IndieMas 2016 Day Eight

Author S. Usher Evans created #IndieMas as a way to celebrate her favorite Indie authors. On the eighth day of #IndieMas my author gave to me Fate Interfering Music and Fairy Tales Three Books Today Favorite Fantasies Thrills and Romance, Pulse Pounding Action,  Two Adventures, And Sci Fi and Fantasy . a Rafflecopter giveaway a Rafflecopter giveaway

Posted December 12, 2016 by Emily in Awesome Indie, Events and Features, Giveaway / 4 Comments
Divider
Divider