Genre: Science Fiction

SST Review: This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada

Posted November 19, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 2 Comments

SST Review: This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada

SST Review: This Mortal Coil by Emily SuvadaThis Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada
Series: This Mortal Coil #1
Published by Simon Pulse on November 7th 2017
Genres: Science Fiction, Dystopian
Pages: 432
Format: ebook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Catarina Agatta is a hacker. She can cripple mainframes and crash through firewalls, but that’s not what makes her special. In Cat’s world, people are implanted with technology to recode their DNA, allowing them to change their bodies in any way they want. And Cat happens to be a gene-hacking genius.

That’s no surprise, since Cat’s father is Dr. Lachlan Agatta, a legendary geneticist who may be the last hope for defeating a plague that has brought humanity to the brink of extinction. But during the outbreak, Lachlan was kidnapped by a shadowy organization called Cartaxus, leaving Cat to survive the last two years on her own.

When a Cartaxus soldier, Cole, arrives with news that her father has been killed, Cat’s instincts tell her it’s just another Cartaxus lie. But Cole also brings a message: before Lachlan died, he managed to create a vaccine, and Cole needs Cat’s help to release it and save the human race.

Now Cat must decide who she can trust: The soldier with secrets of his own? The father who made her promise to hide from Cartaxus at all costs? In a world where nature itself can be rewritten, how much can she even trust herself?

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book is a science lover’s DREAM! It has, ok not complex, but more detailed descriptions and reasons why the tech works. There are explanations that make sense and its obvious that the author has done a ton of research. I really loved the premise too. Embeddable tech is the future. Wearables are already here, like the Apple watch but also AIRA‘s assistive glasses that help blind people navigate their world.  However, embeddable tech is also legitimately terrifying. There are so many evil things that can be done with it. Emily Suvada does an awesome job exploring both the positive and horrifying aspects of having a device implanted in your arm.

The story itself is fun too. It’s new and exciting but it still reminded me a little of The Fireman by Joe Hill, which I loved. I think that the dystoptian world that this book is set in was at least as interested as the characters Cat and Cole. There has been a outbreak of a disease. The majority of the world has retreated to corporate sponsored bunkers where their lives are ruled by the company. Those who remain on the surface fight every day but remain free. How did none of that make it into the blurb???

I didn’t really feel any particular connection to the characters. Cat was a square peg in a world full of round holes. I thought that her particular idiosyncrasies were interesting and fit the world that was established. I just didn’t feel anything towards her. Cole seemed like a typical supersoldier. I didn’t find him to be all that interesting either. Luckily the world and the story made up for it in spades.

This did not end in a cliffhanger but I’m very hopeful that there will be another book in this marvelous world!

About the Author:

Emily Suvada was born and raised in Australia, where she went on to study mathematics and astrophysics. She previously worked as a data scientist, and still spends hours writing algorithms to perform tasks which would only take minutes to complete on her own. When not writing, she can be found hiking, cycling, and conducting chemistry experiments in her kitchen. She currently lives in Portland, OR, with her husband.

Author’s Social Media:

Blog: http://emilysuvada.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/emilysuvada
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/emilysuvada
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/emily.suvada/
Goodreads:https://www.goodreads.com/author/

Divider

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Follow the Tour

11/5 Tour Stops

Interview – Megan Manzano
Review  – Books N Calm
Review – Dani Reviews Things
Interview – Fly Leaf Chronicles
Unique Post – Book Stacks Amber

 11/12  Tour Stops

 Guest Post – Mikayla’s Bookshelf
Interview –Reading is Dreaming with Eyes Wide Open
Review – Sarcasm and Lemons
Unique Post – Downright Dystopian
Review – Here’s To Happy Endings

 11/19  Tour Stops

 Interview – Books, Boys, and Blogs
Review – Emily Reads Everything
Guest Post – The Book Corps
Unique Post – Life of a Literary Nerd
Review – Bay in Wonderland

 11/26 Tour Stops

 Review – A Gingerly Review
Review –  Pretty Deadly Blog
Interview – Library of a Book Witch
Guest Post – The Hermit Librarian

four-stars

Tags:

Divider

Rockstar Arc Review: Into the Black by Ava Jae

Posted November 14, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 0 Comments

Rockstar Arc Review: Into the Black by Ava Jae

Rockstar Arc Review: Into the Black by Ava JaeInto the Black by Ava Jae
Series: Beyond The Red #2
Published by Sky Pony Press on November 14th 2017
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 360
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

The world ruler is dead, technology foundational to their society destroyed, and Safara is on the brink of collapse. Half-human, half-alien Eros is the rightful heir to the world throne, but before he can return to the capital, he's abducted by a rebel group of humans who call themselves The Remnant--and won't release him until he swears to help them overthrow the very government he's inheriting. With Eros missing, ex-queen Kora is determined to stave off mad grabs for the throne. But as royalty from across the territories flock to the capital, and a new charismatic candidate takes the spotlight, Kora sets off into the desert with a skilled prince-turned-bounty hunter to find Eros before it's too late for both the future king and his kingdom.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

YES YES YES YES

When I reviewed Beyond the Red last year, I said that the only thing wrong with it was that it was a stand alone novel. I really felt like the story wasn’t finished and I was going to be sorely disappointed if I never got to read about Kora and Eros again. Don’t get me wrong, Beyond the Red does not have a cliffhanger. It is a complete story. It just left me wanting so much more. Into the Black definitely lived up to what I was hoping for. The characters are established, the world is the same one I enjoyed from Beyond the Red, everything was in place and this was the completely of the story I wanted. Where I loved the character development in Beyond the Red, What I really enjoyed in Into the Black was the politics. There is so much going on! Not to post too many spoilers but the ending of Beyond the Red flipped everything upside down and it was incredibly satisfying to find out what happened after.

****I’m going to assume that you’ve read Beyond the Red from this point on, so please don’t continue if you are afraid of spoilers.****

The roles in this book have flipped and I loved it. Eros is now the rightful heir, except no one wants to consider him based on the politics and prejudices of the world. Kora has gone from being Avra to being no one and she really doesn’t like it. It was fun for me as she had to struggle to adjust to her new circumstances and grow as a person. Eros on the other hand, had to come to terms with being the heir to the throne of a society that hates him. His journey was just as amazing as Kora’s because he has to learn forgiveness if he’s going to be able to change anything at all.

I really enjoyed this series. Into the Black was the ending that it needed. I definitely recommend that you read it for the characters. I fell in love with Kora and Eros all over again. If I had one little tiny quibble, it would be that the ending was too perfect. It wrapped up too neatly in the last 30 pages. The entire book was struggle struggle struggle and then oh, it’s done. I don’t know how you can change that but it was a tiny let down after 200 pages of awesome.

About the Author:

Ava JaeAva Jae is a writer, an Assistant Editor at Entangled Publishing, and is represented by Louise Fury of The Bent Agency. Her YA Sci-Fi debut, BEYOND THE RED, is releasing March 2016 from Sky Pony Press. When sheÂ’s not writing about kissing, superpowers, explosions, and aliens, you can find her with her nose buried in a book, nerding out over the latest X-Men news, or hanging out on her
Blog http://avajae.blogspot.com/
Twitter (https://twitter.com/Ava_Jae
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/AvaJae
tumblr http://avajae.tumblr.com/
Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/9011987.Ava_Jae
Instagram https://instagram.com/ava_jae/
YouTube channel https://www.youtube.com/c/bookishpixie

Divider

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

four-stars

Tags:

Divider

Waiting on Wednesday: Invictus by Ryan Graudin

Waiting on Wednesday: Invictus by Ryan Graudin

The synopsis AND the author have me chomping at the bit for this book. I loved Graudin’s Wolf by Wolf series which is an alternate history WWII story. Invictus includes time-traveling, plundering pirates, and a mysterious girl that has life-changing knowledge (anyone smell romance, because I do!) The synopsis mentions the Titanic and I’m interested to see how real history mixes with Graudin’s imagination again. Her writing is superb and her ideas are always original. This September release can’t come soon enough for me!

Posted May 17, 2017 by Emily in WoW / 3 Comments
Divider

Arc Review: Exo Project

Arc Review: Exo Project

The Exo Project by Andrew DeYoung Published by Boyds Mills Press on April 4th 2017 Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult Pages: 455 Format: Paperback Source: the author Buy on Amazon Goodreads This fast-paced, sharply written multiple-perspective YA science-fiction debut opens on a future Earth ravaged by solar radiation. Desperate for money to save his sick mother, seventeen-year-old Matthew agrees to participate in the Exo Project, a government plan to save the human race by flying across the galaxy in search of a habitable planet for resettlement. He thinks he’s been given a death sentence: 100 years in cryostasis, followed by a quick death on some barren world. But then he lands on Gle’ah, discovering the strange, beautiful creatures who live there, including Kiva, the captivating teenage girl who leads her planet’s matriarchal society. Kiva views Matthew as a threat and for good reason—if he tells Earth that he’s found a suitable planet, it will mean the end of her people’s way of life. But then Kiva and Matthew discover an emotional connection they never expected—and as they begin to delve into the secrets of Matthew’s mission and the dark truth behind the seeming paradise of Gle’ah, the choices they make will have consequences for both of their worlds. I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion […]

Posted April 4, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Waiting on Wednesday: Shadow Run

Waiting on Wednesday: Shadow Run

Unfortunately, publishers are learning how to get me. Label something “Firefly meets Dune” and I will be breaking down doors to read it. That first sentence and I’m hooked. A prince in hiding, a misfit crew, an intergalactic war and a touchy captain all sound like Firefly to me. The rest of the book description sounds great as well. It also reminds me of Starflight, which I read last year and loved. I love all the science fiction that is coming out for young adults this year and Shadow Run looks like a great start!  

Posted March 8, 2017 by Emily in Uncategorized / 4 Comments
Divider

#IndieMas 2016 Day Nine

#IndieMas 2016 Day Nine

Author S. Usher Evans created #IndieMas as a way to celebrate her favorite Indie authors. On the ninth day of #IndieMas my author gave to me Diverse Sci Fi Fate Interfering Music and Fairy Tales Three Books Today Favorite Fantasies Thrills and Romance, Pulse Pounding Action,  Two Adventures, And Sci Fi and Fantasy . a Rafflecopter giveaway a Rafflecopter giveaway

Posted December 13, 2016 by Emily in Awesome Indie, Events and Features, Giveaway / 2 Comments
Divider

SST Arc Review: Beyond the Red by Ava Jae

SST Arc Review: Beyond the Red by Ava Jae

Beyond the Red by Ava Jae Series: Beyond the Red #1 Published by Sky Pony Press on March 1st 2016 Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult Pages: 352 Format: ebook Source: Free for Review, Edelweiss Buy on Amazon Alien queen Kora has a problem as vast as the endless crimson deserts. SheÂ’s the first female ruler of her territory in generations, but her people are rioting and call for her violent younger twin brother to take the throne. Despite assassination attempts, a mounting uprising of nomadic human rebels, and pressure to find a mate to help her rule, sheÂ’s determined to protect her people from her brotherÂ’s would-be tyrannical rule. Eros is a rebel soldier hated by aliens and human alike for being a half-blood. Yet that doesnÂ’t stop him from defending his people, at least until KoraÂ’s soldiers raze his camp and take him captive. HeÂ’s given an ultimatum: be an enslaved bodyguard to Kora, or be executed for his true identity—a secret kept even from him. When Kora and Eros are framed for the attempted assassination of her betrothed, they flee. Their only chance of survival is to turn themselves in to the high court, where revealing ErosÂ’s secret could mean a swift public execution. But when they uncover a violent plot to end the human insurgency, they must find a way to work together to prevent genocide. […]

Posted March 13, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: Fusion by S. Usher Evans

Review: Fusion by S. Usher Evans

Fusion by S. Usher Evans Series: Razia #4 Published by Sun’s Golden Ray Publishing on February 16, 2016 Genres: Science Fiction, romance Pages: 217 Format: ebook Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon Lyssa Peate has everything she thought she ever wanted. She’s finally earned the respect of her fellow pirates, she’s got a finger on the pulse on her scientist life, and she’s got a core set of friends (and more-than-friends) that have her back. But deep down, she knows none of this goodness will last. And when she finds out a life-changing secret, she wonders if this is the end of her good life. Piracy is a game. How do you win? Fusion is the fourth book in S. Usher Evans’ Razia series. Grab the first three books – Double Life, Alliances, and Conviction – and “get sucked” into this fun space opera series. If there was ever a perfect finale for a series, this is it. I almost want to end the review right there. There’s nothing else to say. I’ll try to continue though. Please forgive me if the rest of this is just me gushing about how adorable Sage is. I love Sage. Sage and Lyssa are so perfect for each other but only one of them admits it. Three guesses who is in touch with their emotions and the first two don’t count. […]

Posted February 16, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

SST Review: The Year of Lightning

SST Review: The Year of Lightning

The Year of Lightning by Ryan Dalton Series: Time Shift #1 Published by Jolly Fish Press on January 12th 2016 Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction Pages: 350 Format: ebook Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon When 15-year-old twins Malcolm and Valentine Gilbert moved to a new town, they never imagined that the old house across the street could bring them so much trouble. A secret machine has reawakened inside, with the power to pierce time itself. Meanwhile, lightning storms are breaking out all over town. TheyÂ’re getting worse every week, and seem to enjoy striking kids who just want to pass science class and mind their own business. When Malcolm and Valentine discover a connection between the house and the storms, their situation goes from mysterious to crazy stupid dangerous. Someone is controlling the great machine, and their purpose is nearly complete. In a race against time, the twins must uncover the chilling plan, the mastermind behind it, and the force thatÂ’s driving the deadly storms. TheyÂ’ll hunt a powerful enemy that threatens their townÂ’s existence, and the only clues are written in the sky. This book was a Middle Grade adventure novel based around the creepy house across the street and time travel. Malcolm and Valentine have recently moved into a small town. They live there over 2 months before they notice the house across the street. […]

Posted December 20, 2015 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons

Review: The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons

The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons Published by Tor Teen on February 10th 2015 Genres: Dystopian, Science Fiction, Young Adult Source: library Goodreads The HandmaidÂ’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group of women on the run from the men who hunt them, men who want to auction off breeding rights to the highest bidder. In a world where females are scarce and are hunted, then bought and sold at market for their breeding rights, 15-year old Aya has learned how to hide. With a ragtag bunch of other women and girls, she has successfully avoided capture and eked out a nomadic but free existence in the mountains. But when AyaÂ’s luck runs out and sheÂ’s caught by a group of businessmen on a hunting expedition, fighting to survive takes on a whole new meaning. I’ve been a huge fan of dystopian books since reading 1984 in Jr. High. I don’t want to date myself but this was long before dystopian novels became as popular as they are today. Back then my favorites were the classics; 1984 by George Orwell, Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury, Harrison Bergeron by Kurt Vonnegut and The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. If you are a fan of dystopians and you haven’t heard of or read these, you should right away. I could definitely […]

Posted October 15, 2015 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments
Divider