Genre: steampunk

Rockstar Review: Dragons of Nova

Posted July 6, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 0 Comments

Rockstar Review: Dragons of Nova

Rockstar Review: Dragons of NovaThe Dragons of Nova by Elise Kova
Series: Loom Saga #2
Published by Keymaster Press on July 11th 2017
Genres: Fantasy, steampunk
Pages: 488
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Cvareh returns home to his sky world of Nova with the genius crafter Arianna as his temperamental guest. The mercurial inventor possesses all the Xin family needs to turn the tides of a centuries-old power struggle, but the secrets she harbors must be earned with trust -- hard to come by for Ari, especially when it comes to Dragons. On Nova, Ari finds herself closer to exacting vengeance against the traitor who killed everything -- and everyone – she once loved. But before Ari can complete her campaign of revenge, the Crimson Court exposes her shadowed past and reveals something even more dangerous sparking between her and Cvareh.

While Nova is embroiled in blood sport and political games, the rebels on Loom prepare for an all-out assault on their Dragon oppressors. Florence unexpectedly finds herself at the forefront of change, as her unique blend of skills -- and quick-shooting accuracy -- makes her a force to be reckoned with. For the future of her world, she vows vengeance against the Dragons.

Before the rebellion can rise, though, the Guilds must fall.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I cannot express my love for this book or this series adequately. There just aren’t enough ways for me to say how fantastic it is.  Be aware that it’s almost impossible to review book 2 of a series without a few slight spoilers. Continue at your own risk!

I love Ari. She’s strong and smart and interesting… but not perfect. I love Cvareh. The relationship between Ari and Cvareh is so deliciously complicated. I loved how traveling to Nova added an extra level and depth to their relationship. Ari gets a chance to learn more about the lives of her worst enemies and Cvareh gets to show her his world. Enemies to lovers has always been my favorite trope and Elise Kova is a master. The tension between these two was palpable throughout the book. It was all I could do to not scream at the characters for being so hard headed.

I love Ari and Cvareh but my favorite character, hands down, is Florence. Florence isn’t exactly the badass that Ari is. Instead she’s approachable. She makes mistakes and is sometimes unsure of herself. Not to say that Florence isn’t amazing. I loved that she gets an adventure of her own in this book. She gets a chance to be the hero, which was so fun to read! Except it never quite works out the way you think it will.

My only tiny quibble with The Alchemists of Loom was that I wanted more. I wanted to know more about the world. I wanted more descriptions. I wanted more everything. Dragons of Nova delivered! Everything on Nova is bright and colorful, Its magical and luminous and so well described. I felt like I was there. This book is full of Guilds and Dragon houses and how everything works and all the little reveals I was waiting for.

I can’t recommend this series highly enough. You want this series. You need this series. Buy this series and then send me all your thanks.

Divider

About the Author

Elise Kova has always had a profound love of fantastical worlds. Somehow, she managed to focus on the real world long enough to graduate with a Master’s in Business Administration before crawling back under her favorite writing blanket to conceptualize her next magic system. She currently lives in St. Petersburg, Florida, and when she is not writing can be found playing video games, watching anime, or talking with readers on social media. She is the USA Today bestselling author of the Air Awakens Series as well as the upcoming Loom Saga (Keymaster, 2017).

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Tumblr | Goodreads

Divider

Follow the tour

Week One

7/3/2017- Quite The Novel Idea Interview
7/4/2017- Once Upon A Twilight– Review
7/5/2017- Wishful Endings– Guest Post
7/6/2017- Emily Reads Everything– Review
7/7/2017- Two Chicks on Books– Interview

Week Two

7/10/2017- Lost in Ever After– Review
7/11/2017- Always Me– Excerpt
7/12/2017- The Book Nut– Review
7/13/2017- YA and Wine Interview
7/14/2017- NovelKnight – Review

Divider

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 winner will receive a signed finished copy of THE DRAGONS OF NOVA.

five-stars

Tags:

Divider

The Alchemists of Loom is Coming!

Posted January 9, 2017 by Emily in Special Feature / 0 Comments

The Alchemists of Loom is Coming!The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova
Series: Loom Saga #1
Published by Keymaster Press on January 10th 2017
Genres: steampunk, Fantasy
Pages: 380
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Her vengeance. His vision.
Ari lost everything she once loved when the Five Guilds’ resistance fell to the Dragon King. Now, she uses her unparalleled gift for clockwork machinery in tandem with notoriously unscrupulous morals to contribute to a thriving underground organ market. There isn’t a place on Loom that is secure from the engineer turned thief, and her magical talents are sold to the highest bidder as long as the job defies their Dragon oppressors.
Cvareh would do anything to see his sister usurp the Dragon King and sit on the throne. His family’s house has endured the shame of being the lowest rung in the Dragons’ society for far too long. The Alchemist Guild, down on Loom, may just hold the key to putting his kin in power, if Cvareh can get to them before the Dragon King’s assassins.
When Ari stumbles upon a wounded Cvareh, she sees an opportunity to slaughter an enemy and make a profit off his corpse. But the Dragon sees an opportunity to navigate Loom with the best person to get him where he wants to go.
He offers her the one thing Ari can’t refuse: A wish of her greatest desire, if she brings him to the Alchemists of Loom.

Today is the LAST DAY to pre-order

The Alchemists of Loom

If you haven’t pre-ordered yet, this is your LAST CHANCE. Our benevolent Dragon Queen has put together an amazing swag package for pre-orders and you don’t want to miss out. Once you pre-order, make sure you follow all the instructions on the Pre-order bonus page and you will reap the rewards.

All this could be yours. But don’t delay!

ACT NOW!

Tags:

Divider

ARC Review: The Alchemists of Loom

ARC Review: The Alchemists of Loom

Proud member of the This book blew my mind! I’m a huge fan of Steampunk and I’m always on the lookout for books in that genre. They are few and far between. Even when a book is billed as steampunk, its hard to find one with the right combination of gritty technology and magic. Alchemists of Loom hits the sweet spot. There are guns and bombs and gears and airships and plenty more elements that make for true steampunk. Elise Kova also weaves in tons of magic and mystery. This book nails the genre. What made this book a new favorite though was the unique setting. Loom and Nova are like nowhere I’ve ever read about before. Elise weaves the information about the setting throughout the story without ever committing the sin of the infodump. It was surprising to me because its so subtle. Throughout the book, I kept thinking, I wish I knew more about the world. Tell me MORE. Then when the book was over, I was describing it to a friend and I realized that I knew so much more than I thought I did. All the little details that I love about fantasy were in the narrative. I learned everything I could have wanted to about the world without even realizing it. The world is deliciously complex. I can’t explain it with the depth and […]

Posted January 3, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 2 Comments
Divider

Waiting on Wednesday: NUMBER 1

Waiting on Wednesday: NUMBER 1

I have never done a Waiting on Wednesday post but I feel that today is the perfect reason to start! I’m so excited to be posting about one of my most anticipated January 2017 releases! What title is that? Why, THE ALCHEMISTS OF LOOM by Elise Kova, of course! This book has everything you could ever want out of a High Fantasy novel: dragons, magic, relatable main characters, and steampunk. Sound interesting? Read more below to find out all the details… Purchase: AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOK DEPOSITORY | BOOKS A MILLION | IBOOKS But that’s not all! You can join in on celebrating the release of THE ALCHEMISTS OF LOOM by participating in the Guild Games! You can learn more at the Guild Games website but the quick and dirty is that you join a Guild, work together as a Guild to collect Resources, and trade those Resources in for Rewards! I’m in the Harvesters Guild and so far we have unlocked bookmarks! Not sure which of the five guilds you want to join? Why not take the quiz before joining a Guild? Join, earn resources, earn swag and look forward to Alchemists of Loom with us!

Posted September 7, 2016 by Emily in WoW / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: Strange and Ever After

Review: Strange and Ever After

This is the final chapter of the series, where everything is tied up. I didn’t do any spoilers in my first two reviews and I am going to try my best to keep up with that. However, with everything building on itself, it’s getting more difficult to completely avoid spoilers. I definitely will not spoil book three. I’m doing my best but by book three there ultimately may be some spoilers from books 1 and 2 in this review. I’m not promising anything. Your mileage my vary. Read at your own risk. Quick series recap: I liked book one but I didn’t love it. However, I was intrigued. I wanted to keep reading. Book two had all the steampunky goodness plus all the Daniel I could ever want. I thought it was much improved over book one and had me excited to finish the series. That bring us to: I’m still not sold on Eleanor. Since this series is now over, I probably never will be. It was very odd for me to read and entire series and never quite connect with the main character. In book two I loved how she spent much of it on her own, fighting her own battles. She learned all about her specific type of magic from Oliver and they became closer friends. When circumstances placed her apart from Daniel, Joseph and Jie, […]

Posted January 21, 2016 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments
Divider

Review: A Darkness Strange and Lovely

Review: A Darkness Strange and Lovely

A Darkness Strange and Lovely (Something Strange and Deadly, #2) by Susan Dennard Series: Something Strange and Deadly #2 Published by HarperTeen on June 24th 2014 Genres: Gaslamp Fantasy, Historical, steampunk Pages: 432 Buy on Amazon Perfect for fans of Libba Bray’s The Diviners and Cassandra Clare’s The Infernal Devices series, this spellbinding sequel to Something Strange and Deadly delivers a mix of supernatural forces and intense romance, set against the enchanting backdrop of nineteenth-century Paris. With her brother dead and her mother insane, Eleanor Fitt is alone. Even the Spirit-Hunters—Joseph, Jie, and the handsome Daniel—have fled to Paris. So when Eleanor hears the vicious barking of hounds and sees haunting yellow eyes, she fears that the Dead, and the necromancer Marcus, are after her. To escape, Eleanor boards a steamer bound for France. There she meets Oliver, a young man who claims to have known her brother. But Oliver harbors a dangerous secret involving necromancy and black magic that entices Eleanor beyond words. If she can resist him, she’ll be fine. But when she arrives in Paris, she finds that the Dead have taken over, and there’s a whole new evil lurking. And she is forced to make a deadly decision that will go against everything the Spirit-Hunters stand for. In Paris, there’s a price for this darkness strange and lovely, and it may have Eleanor paying with […]

Posted January 14, 2016 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: Something Strange and Deadly

Review: Something Strange and Deadly

I’ve been hearing so much about Susan Dennard’s newest book, Truthwitch. It’s everywhere. Her clans are always on twitter talking about it. In my Birthday Giveaway it was one of the most requested books. I’m not in a Clan but I have participated in her #clanchat on twitter on #truthwitchtuesday several times. I had never read a book by Susan Dennard and I wasn’t able to read Truthwitch yet. When I read this, it wasn’t out yet. I figured the best way to try it would be to see if I even like her writing style. So I tried…   I really liked the style. I love steampunk and gaslamp fantasy so when I read the synopsis I felt sure that this was an easy slam dunk for me. Right away, I loved the combination of historical and paranormal fantasy. The setting was a huge positive for me. But… Everything else fell really flat for me. The main character, Eleanor, seemed like a caricature instead of a person. She had one main feature, she was odd. She didn’t fit into the society. I don’t think I’ve ever complained about a character wanting a different life than the one planned for her. However, it didn’t feel like there was anything else that set her apart. I never connected with her so I didn’t care whether she succeeded or failed. I knew she […]

Posted January 7, 2016 by Emily in Review / 3 Comments
Divider