Genre: Thriller

What We Buried Tour

Posted February 26, 2019 by Emily in Blog Tour / 0 Comments

What We Buried TourWhat We Buried by Kate A. Boorman
Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) on February 26, 2019
Genres: mystery, Thriller, Contemporary
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Siblings Liv and Jory Brewer have grown up resenting one another. Liv—former pageant queen and reality-TV star—was groomed for a life in the spotlight, while her older brother Jory, born with a partial facial paralysis, was left in the shadows. The only thing they have in common is contempt for their parents.

Now Liv is suing her mom and dad for emancipation, and Jory views the whole thing as yet another attention-getting spectacle. But on the day of the hearing, their parents mysteriously vanish, and the siblings are forced to work together. Liv feels certain she knows where they are and suspects that Jory knows more than he’s telling . . . which is true.

What starts as a simple overnight road trip soon takes a turn for the dangerous and surreal. And as the duo speeds through the deserts of Nevada, brother and sister will unearth deep family secrets that force them to relive their pasts as they try to retain a grip on the present.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book was so good! I didn’t know what to think of it. At first it seems very straightforward. Liv and Jory are mad at the world and more specifically, their parents. Liv feels like participating in pageants has ruined her life. Jory feels that he wasn’t a priority in his family and that his family spent the money that could have paid for a life changing surgery for him on his sister’s pageants. Both of them are bitter and angry with their families for a different reason. Liv files a lawsuit against her parents and all the bad feelings come to a head at the courthouse the morning of the final judgement.

This was such a thriller! I had no idea what was going on. Jory and Liv’s point of view flipped back and forth between them. They were both unreliable narrators and it was so fun to watch them admit more and more of their past experiences as they began to trust each other.

Surprising and exciting! This is a must read if you like mysteries.

Divider

Follow the Tour

BlogDateContentURL
Seeing Double in Neverland2/24Review + Giveaway + Insta posthttp://seeingdoubleinneverland.blogspot.com/
HappyLilBookNook2/25Playlist + Mood Board + Giveawayhttp://www.happylilbooknook.com
Arctic Books2/25Mood Boardhttps://arcticbooks.wordpress.com/
Emily Reads Everything2/26Reviewhttp://www.emilyreadseverything.com/
It Starts At Midnight2/26Reviewhttps://itstartsatmidnight.com/
Word In Pages2/27Review on Instagramhttps://www.instagram.com/wordsinpages/?hl=en
BookishConnoisseur2/28Review + Instagramhttps://bookishconnoisseur.com/
Hello Jenny Reviews3/1Review + Instagramhttp://hellojennyreviews.blogspot.com/
Moonlight Rendezvous3/2Reviewhttp://moonlightrendezvous.com/
Divider

About the Author

Kate A Boorman is an award-winning author from the Canadian prairies. She was born in Nepal and grew up in the small town of Rimbey. She writes speculative fiction and has a mild obsession with abandoned places, memory, and the darkest parts of the forest.
Kate holds a MA in Dramatic Critical theory and a resume full of a bizarre assortment of jobs, from florist to accordion accompanist to “person-who-held-the-drywall-sheet-in-place”. She has participated as a guest and presenter at a variety of Festivals and Conferences in Western Canada.
Kate usually lives in Edmonton, Alberta, with her family. Right now she’s living in a faraway land, where there are many baguettes.


four-stars

Tags:

Divider

The Dark Divide

Posted April 17, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 0 Comments

The Dark DivideThe Dark Divide by Danika Stone
Series: Waterton #2
Published by Stonehouse on April 10th 2018
Genres: Thriller, mystery, Adult
Pages: 339
Format: Paperback
Source: the author
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Waterton is a town with dark secrets, and after a summer of murder and mayhem, American ex-pat, Rich Evans, knows exactly how far people will go to hide them. Jobless after the fiery destruction of the hotel he once managed, Rich is charged with arson. Only one person, local mechanic Louise "Lou" Newman, believes in his innocence. But even Lou's love and support can't dispel the darkness that's spreading through the community. Dead animals appear on porches, strangers threaten the safety of the locals, and a fingerprint from the fire is linked to a decades-old murder.

The lonely border town has a new danger: a murderer willing to do anything to protect a web of secrets that links them to the arson.

As the risk of jail or death increases, Rich turns to Lou for guidance and she finds herself in an impossible position. Lou has her own secrets! Does she protect the border town where she grew up, or side with the man she loves... even if it means she can never tell him the truth about herself?

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review

Edge of Wild was a real surprise when I read it last year.  When I was reading it, I loved all the different characters and especially Lou. The only thing that I thought it was missing was more information about Lou. I wanted a companion novel that focused more on Lou in the future.

The Dark Divide is even better than a companion. It’s a direct sequel that not only focuses more on Lou and her secrets, but also reveals more about the scrappy cast of characters in the town of Waterford itself. I couldn’t be happier about this book if I special ordered it. It’s almost as if Danika Stone wrote it specifically for me! I wanted more and voilà, it appears in my mailbox! Magic!

Seriously though, The Dark Divide was perfect. It answered all of my nagging suspicions that I was left with at the end of Edge of Wild. Waterton is very isolationist. They don’t appreciate outsiders trying to move in on their territory. It’s more than just a small town mentality and the explanation was perfect. I really enjoyed how the town’s history is affecting them still today. Lou is still far and away my favorite character of the series. She’s willing to fight for what she wants and she’s strong. She’s had to be to run her mechanic shop alone. Mostly, though, I envy the way that she can go with the flow and take things as they come. I wish I could let go and just be that way.

Since The Dark Divide was the special ordered sequel of my dreams, next I would like to request a Spin off novel starring Hunter and Levi. Hunter needs to find love and Levi is the perfect crotchety old man. Looking forward to seeing it in 2019. 😀

Divider

I love Aesthetics! When they are well done, they give such a great feeling about the topic. The Aesthetic that Danika put together for The Dark Divide is perfect. Lou is a little mysterious. Waterton is gorgeous, yet slightly foreboding. Rich is handsome and rugged but still sensitive. This really gets you in the right mood to dive into The Dark Divide.

The Dark Divide Novel Aesthetic

The Dark Divide is one of those books where I definitely had a clear vision of what I wanted my characters and setting to be. Physically, Rich was based on a young Sir Edmund Hillary while Louise tended to look more like Kristen Kreuk (in my head, at least!) The setting had more to do with mood than actual location. Waterton Park, Alberta is a real place, but the setting for The Dark Divide needed to be moodier. Put all those pieces together and you get… THIS!


Divider

About the Author

Danika Stone is an author, artist, and educator who discovered a passion for writing fiction while in the throes of her Masters thesis. A self-declared bibliophile, Danika now writes novels for both teens: INTERNET FAMOUS (Macmillan, 2017) and ALL THE FEELS (Macmillan, 2016); and adults THE DARK DIVIDE (Stonehouse, 2018) and EDGE OF WILD (Stonehouse, 2016).

Ms. Stone’s work has received both recognition and literary praise. In 2017, Chapters included EDGE OF WILD in “Our Favourite Canadian Fiction”, and INTERNET FAMOUS was nominated for the R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature (2018) as well as selected as one of Fierce Reads’ “9 Perfect Summertime Reads” (2017). EDGE OF WILD (previously entitled TATHAGATA) was a quarter-finalist in Amazon’s Breakthrough Novel of the Year Award (2013), a finalist in the Horatio Nelson Fiction Prize (2015), and took second place in the Publish or Perish contest (2015). ALL THE FEELS was selected for Swoon Reads’ fourth list (2015) and was nominated for YALSA’s Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers (2016), and for CYBILS’ Children’s and Young Adult Bloggers’ Literary Awards (2016).

Ms. Stone’s books have been reviewed by VOYA, Teen Reads, and School Library Journal. Danika has also featured in the BN Teen Blog, Clash, Quillable, Fierce Reads, Lethbridge Living Magazine, CJSR’s Word, and on CBC’s Daybreak.

When not writing, Danika can be found hiking in the Rockies, planning grand adventures, and spending far too much time online. She lives with her husband, three sons, and a houseful of imaginary characters in a windy corner of Alberta, Canada.

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

Review Consequence by Rachel Higginson

Review Consequence by Rachel Higginson

Consequence by Rachel Higginson Series: The Confidence Game #2 Published by Reckless Siren Publishing on February 27, 2018 Genres: Adult, Thriller, romance Pages: 254 Format: ebook Source: the author Buy on Amazon Goodreads Consequence, the conclusion to Sayer and Caroline’s epic love story Five years ago, I escaped a dangerous life I had always wanted to leave. I got away. I found freedom. But it cost me the love of my life. For five years I lived in hiding, protecting my most valuable secret while Sayer Wesley sat in prison paying for both our sins. I promised to love him forever. I promised to never leave him.  I broke my promises. Five months ago Sayer found me. Five weeks ago, I was forced to face my past. Five days ago, someone took my daughter. They kidnapped her in order to make Sayer and me suffer. I will do anything to get her back. Even if that means coming clean to Sayer, letting him into my life and introducing him to our daughter. All I wanted was to protect her from this life and now she’s right in the middle of the chaos. Sayer is the only one that can help me. He’s the only one that can get her back. But it might mean losing him again. Fifteen years ago, I fell in love with Sayer Wesley. Now I […]

Posted April 2, 2018 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Review Constant by Rachel Higginson

Review Constant by Rachel Higginson

Constant by Rachel Higginson Series: The Confidence Game #1 Published by Reckless Siren Publishing on November 16th 2017 Genres: Thriller, romance, Adult Pages: 266 Format: ebook Source: the author Buy on Amazon Goodreads Fifteen years ago I met Sayer Wesley. I fell in love with him. I promised I would never leave him. I swore nothing could break us apart. Five years ago I broke my promise. I ran away. I took the one secret that could destroy us both and disappeared. Five days ago I thought I saw him. I knew it was impossible. Sayer was locked away, serving a deserved sentence in federal prison. He couldn’t find me. He wouldn’t find me. I was too good at hiding. Too good at surviving. Because if Sayer ever found me, there would be hell to pay for a plethora of sins. The worst of which, he didn’t even know about. Five hours ago, I told myself I was crazy. Five minutes ago, I saw him again. Five seconds ago, I was too late. I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. This book was SUCH a surprise! I thought that the premise sounded interested when I picked it up but I had no idea how well written […]

Posted March 26, 2018 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Review & Giveaway: First We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy

Review & Giveaway: First We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy

First We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on July 25th 2017 Genres: Young Adult Pages: 448 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads It started for pranks, fun, and forever memories.A secret society – for the four of us. The rules: Never lie. Never tell. Love each other.We made the pledge and danced under the blood moon on the meteorite in the orchard. In the spot we found the dead girl five years earlier. And discovered the ancient drawings way before that. Nothing could break the four of us apart – I thought.But then, others wanted in. Our seaside town had secrets. History.We wanted revenge.We broke the rules. We lied. We told. We loved each other too much, not enough, and in ways we weren’t supposed to. Our invention ratcheted out of control.What started as a secret society, ended as justice. Revenge. Death. Rebellion. I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Barnes & Noble | Book Depository I’m the worst kind of mystery reader. Generally about halfway through with the story, I get bored and decide to flip to the end to find out who the killer is. I don’t know why but i’m usually […]

Posted July 12, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 5 Comments
Divider

First We Were IV

First We Were IV

First We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on July 25th 2017 Genres: Thriller, Young Adult Pages: 448 Format: Paperback Source: the author Buy on Amazon Goodreads It started for pranks, fun, and forever memories.A secret society – for the four of us. The rules: Never lie. Never tell. Love each other.We made the pledge and danced under the blood moon on the meteorite in the orchard. In the spot we found the dead girl five years earlier. And discovered the ancient drawings way before that. Nothing could break the four of us apart – I thought.But then, others wanted in. Our seaside town had secrets. History.We wanted revenge.We broke the rules. We lied. We told. We loved each other too much, not enough, and in ways we weren’t supposed to. Our invention ratcheted out of control.What started as a secret society, ended as justice. Revenge. Death. Rebellion. I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Fancast This is my first time doing a fancast. It was a challenge for me, but I ended up really enjoying it. I hope you enjoy my picks and I’d love to hear if you agree or disagree! Graham Graham is described as […]

Posted April 3, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Special Feature / 4 Comments
Divider

Top Ten Tuesday #4

Top Ten Tuesday #4

Top Ten Best Books of 2016! I know, I know- basic. BUT this book was so amazing and there was no way I was leaving this off the list. I pre-ordered and then procrastinated because I knew it was going to mess with my emotions, but it’s so worth it in the end. I can sum up my greatest love for this series in one word: RHYSAND. 🙂 Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven I can’t say enough about all the good things about this book. I wrote a full review-but the highlights are body positivity, diversity, and the sweet romance. The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon Another book with a full review, but this definitely makes my top 2016 reads. I loved the interracial relationship, the own voices representation, and the mix up in traditional gender roles. If you haven’t read this one, you must! It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover I’ve heard differing opinions on this book, but I absolutely loved it. It was heartbreaking and felt real to me. I also think it could give strength to women in similar situations. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin Definitely not a 2016 release, but still one that sucked me into the entire trilogy this year. I loved the mystery and, of course, Noah. This one is probably going to be […]

Posted December 27, 2016 by Emily in Top 10 / 2 Comments
Divider
Divider

FFBC Review: Aftermath by Clara Kensie

FFBC Review: Aftermath by Clara Kensie

Aftermath by Clara Kensie Published by Merit Press on November 1st 2016 Genres: Thriller, Young Adult Pages: 288 Format: ebook Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Charlotte survived four long years as a prisoner in the attic of her kidnapper, sustained only by dreams of her loving family. The chance to escape suddenly arrives, and Charlotte fights her way to freedom. But an answered prayer turns into heartbreak. Losing her has torn her family apart. Her parents have divorced: Dad’s a glutton for fame, Mom drinks too much, and Charlotte’s twin is a zoned-out druggie. Her father wants Charlotte write a book and go on a lecture tour, and her mom wants to keep her safe, a virtual prisoner in her own home. But Charlotte is obsessed with the other girl who was kidnapped, who never got a second chance at life–the girl who nobody but Charlotte believes really existed. Until she can get justice for that girl, even if she has to do it on her own, whatever the danger, Charlotte will never be free. I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Charlotte was kidnapped and and held by a monster for over 4 years. During that time, she held onto the thought that […]

Posted November 10, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 0 Comments
Divider

WoW: My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalestier

WoW: My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalestier

What I love Everything about this book sounds fantastic! I’ve always been interested in the inner workings of serial killers or psychopaths. I think it stems from working with some very sick and disturbed kids over the years. I could tell you stories! The thought of a family member trying to control someone they believe is a psychopath is heart wrenching. Sociopaths are charming liars, skilled in manipulating everyone around them. Living with one has to be one of the most difficult lives imaginable. Just thinking about it chills me to the bone. This book sounds like a creepy psychological thriller that’s perfect to read right after Halloween! If the psychology of psychopaths interests you, check out The Psychopath Test by Jon Ronson! Are you a fan of thrillers?

Posted November 2, 2016 by Emily in WoW / 4 Comments
Divider