Publisher: Delacorte Press

Rockstar Review: Shadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland and Michael Miller

Posted April 9, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 0 Comments

Rockstar Review: Shadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland and Michael Miller

Rockstar Review: Shadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland and Michael MillerShadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland, Michael Miller
Series: Kaitan Chronicles #2
Published by Delacorte Press on April 17th 2018
Genres: Sci Fi, Fantasy
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

His throne. Her rebellion. Their war.

Qole is the youngest starship captain in living memory on her homeworld of Alaxak and has spent her life hunting a dangerous energy source called Shadow. Alaxans distrust and evade the galaxy’s royalty as a rule, but Qole is now harboring the exiled Prince Nevarian Dracorte, along with some very conflicting feelings about it—and him.

Nev’s feelings are just as complicated, but not towards her. When it comes to Qole, he knows one thing: he’d do anything to stay with her. But when Alaxak is attacked and Nev finds himself framed for murder, he realizes the only way to help Qole and her people is to fight for the throne that should be his. To become the royal she might hate.

As for Qole, she would never have imagined herself as the leader of a rebellion. Despite that, she soon realizes that hiding from her power is no longer an option. It’s time to answer the call, even if it kills her.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Don’t forget the first book!

Rockstar Review: Shadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland and Michael MillerShadow Run by AdriAnne Strickland, Michael Miller
Series: Kaitan Chronicles #1
Published by Delacorte Press on March 21st 2017
Genres: Sci Fi, Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 390
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Nev has just joined the crew of the starship Kaitan Heritage as the cargo loader. His captain, Qole, is the youngest-ever person to command her own ship, but she brooks no argument from her crew of orphans, fugitives, and con men. Nev can't resist her, even if her ship is an antique.

As for Nev, he's a prince, in hiding on the ship. He believes Qole holds the key to changing galactic civilization, and when her cooperation proves difficult to obtain, Nev resolves to get her to his home planet by any means necessary.

But before they know it, a rival royal family is after Qole too, and they're more interested in stealing her abilities than in keeping her alive.

Nev's mission to manipulate Qole becomes one to save her, and to survive, she'll have to trust her would-be kidnapper. He may be royalty, but Qole is discovering a deep reservoir of power--and stars have mercy on whoever tries to hurt her ship or her crew.

Review

Pacing in sequels can be very difficult! It’s hard to know what the right amount of action is when an author is stretching the story into three or more books. Book two can definitely drag sometimes. Shadow Call doesn’t fall prey to this curse though. It’s action packed and fast moving. It held up to the standard that Shadow Run set in book one.

I loved all the characters. Coming back to them was like running into old friends. Nev and Qole are of course my favorites but all the of the supporting characters really keep the book running. Arjan and Eton are back with Telu and Basra. Unfortunately, there are ramifications and lots of hard feelings left over from the results of Shadow Run. A great cast of characters makes the book for me and this book did not disappoint.

Divider

Elsewhere

Divider

About the Author

ADRIANNE STRICKLAND and MICHAEL MILLER met in their hometown of Palmer, Alaska, where they agreed on 99% of book taste and thus decided to write together. Adri spends her summers as a commercial fisherwoman in Bristol Bay, Alaska, and the rest of the year writing. Michael grew up off the grid in a homestead in Alaska and now works in IT and tech. This is their second book together.

Find AdriAnne:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Find Michael:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Divider

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

3 winners will receive a finished copy of SHADOW CALL, US Only.

Ends on May 4th at Midnight EST!

Divider

Follow the Tour

Week One:

4/2/2018- Here’s to Happy Endings– Review
4/3/2018- Wonder Struck– Review
4/4/2018- Rhythmicbooktrovert – Review
4/5/2018- Jena Brown Writes– Review
4/6/2018- YA Obsessed– Review

Week Two:

4/9/2018- Emily Reads Everything– Review
4/10/2018- laura’s bookish corner– Review
4/11/2018- Literary Meanderings– Excerpt
4/12/2018- Two Chicks on Books– Excerpt
4/13/2018- Good Choice Reading– Review

Week Three:

4/16/2018- Rachel’s Book Reviews– Review
4/17/2018- Skye’s Scribblings– Review
4/18/2018- BookHounds YA– Excerpt
4/19/2018- The Desert Bibliophile– Review
4/20/2018- Seeing Double in Neverland– Excerpt

Week Four:

4/23/2018- Book-Keeping– Review
4/24/2018- lori’s little house of reviews– Review
4/25/2018- Books at Dawn– Excerpt
4/26/2018- Read. Eat. Love.– Review
4/27/2018- MNBernard Books– Excerpt

Week Five:

4/30/2018- Smada’s Book Smack– Review

 

four-stars

Tags: , , ,

Divider

Review: The Whole Thing Together by Ann Brashers

Posted March 27, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments

Review: The Whole Thing Together by Ann BrashersThe Whole Thing Together by Ann Brashares
Published by Delacorte Press on April 25th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Format: ebook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Summer for Sasha and Ray means the sprawling old house on Long Island. Since they were children, they’ve shared almost everything—reading the same books, running down the same sandy footpaths to the beach, eating peaches from the same market, laughing around the same sun-soaked dining table. Even sleeping in the same bed, on the very same worn cotton sheets. But they’ve never met.
Sasha’s dad was once married to Ray’s mom, and together they had three daughters: Emma, the perfectionist; Mattie, the beauty; and Quinn, the favorite. But the marriage crumbled and the bitterness lingered. Now there are two new families—and neither one will give up the beach house that holds the memories, happy and sad, of summers past.
The choices we make come back to haunt us; the effect on our destinies ripples out of our control…or does it? This summer, the lives of Sasha, Ray, and their siblings intersect in ways none of them ever dreamed, in a novel about family relationships, keeping secrets, and most of all, love.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I don’t read very many contemporary books a year. Usually it’s all fantasy, horror and romance all the time. On the very rare occasion that I want read a contemporary book, I want it to be worth the read. I like contemporary books that really hit me right in the feels or make me think. The Whole Thing Together did both.

I loved how The Whole Thing Together was all about a parent’s divorce and how it effected the entire family. First two people married and had three little girls. Then the family fell apart and went through a very contentious divorce. In fact, the parents no longer talk or want to see each other ever. They both remarried and each have a single 17 year old. One boy and a one girl.

The way that the boy, Ray and the girl, Sasha feel about their blended family was fascinating to me. Ray and Sasha both have the same sisters but they aren’t related to each other at all and have never met. The family shares a beach house and Ray and Sasha share a room, one week at a time. First Ray sleeps in the room and then they leave at 11am on Sunday. Sasha arrives at 1pm and stays for the next week until they switch again. I loved how Ray and Sasha know all about each other, even though they have never seen each other. Their feelings about their family were incredibly understandable and relatable. Plus, it really made me think and wonder about how divorce affects kids, even if they weren’t alive when the divorce took place. Ray and Sasha’s blended family turned their lived upside down.

If there was one thing that really hurt me about this book, it was the abrupt end. I thought the content was good but I wanted more. I definitely didn’t want the book to end when it did. In my opinion, it could have been like 5o pages longer. That’s hard when you are loving a book and it ends and leaves you wanting more.

About the Author

Ann Brashares is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, The Here and Now,

3 Willows, The Last Summer (of You & Me), and My Name Is Memory. She lives in New York City with her family. Visit Ann’s website at AnnBrashares.com and follow on Twitter @AnnBrashares.

 

 

 

Follow the Tour

March 20: Bookhounds YA

March 21: Butter My Books

March 22: Here’s to Happy Endings

March 23: Fiction Fare

March 24: A Midsummer Night’s Read

March 27: Emily Reads Everything

March 28: In Wonderland

March 29: The Reader Bee

March 30: Books, Music, And All Things Written

March 31: YA Book Nerd

April 3: Peace Love Books

April 4: Tales of the Ravenous Reader

April 5: Sarah’s Nightstand

April 6: Novel Ink

April 7: Fangirlish

April 10: The Fandom

                Page Turners

April 11: Liz & Lisa

April 12: Gidget Girl Reading

April 13: Art, Books, & Coffee

April 14: Leslie Lindsay

April 17: Swoony Boys Podcast

April 18: Ramblings of the Perpetual New Girl

April 19: YA Wednesdays

April 20th: Rainy Days Coffee and Books

April 21: I’d So Rather Be Reading

April 22: Adventures in YA Publishing

April 24: Adventures in YA Publishing

April 25: A Dream Within A Dream

April 26: Lost in Literature

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

Waiting on Wednesday: Shadow Run

Waiting on Wednesday: Shadow Run

Unfortunately, publishers are learning how to get me. Label something “Firefly meets Dune” and I will be breaking down doors to read it. That first sentence and I’m hooked. A prince in hiding, a misfit crew, an intergalactic war and a touchy captain all sound like Firefly to me. The rest of the book description sounds great as well. It also reminds me of Starflight, which I read last year and loved. I love all the science fiction that is coming out for young adults this year and Shadow Run looks like a great start!  

Posted March 8, 2017 by Emily in Uncategorized / 4 Comments
Divider

#DAReadathon Wrap Up

#DAReadathon Wrap Up

Kendice and I totally kicked ass on this challenge! I read all seven books and my mini-reviews are all below. Thank you so much to  Aentee from Read at Midnight for hosting the Dumbledore’s Army Readathon (#DAReadathon) to promote and celebrate diverse books. I really enjoyed the seven different prompts that encouraged me to read a variety of diverse books. I’d like to think I would have read all of these books eventually. They were all on my TBR when this challenge started. However, thanks to the #DAReadathon they moved up to the top.     This book was really hard to read. It was about two people who are hurting and the connection they find in each other. The writing was top notch. I really felt for the characters. The writing was touching and I found myself aching for for both Dylan and Jamie. Still I read to get away and this book was a little too real. Oh, this book! I loved Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven and this was the perfect opportunity to push her YA debut up on my TBR. I’m SO glad I did. I adore Niven’s writing and I’m easily sucked right into her stories. I’ve heard before I was glad I had a heads up. It didn’t take away from the story for me, but potentially saved me from an emotional breakdown. I […]

Posted January 20, 2017 by Emily in Special Feature / 0 Comments
Divider

Top Ten Tuesday #4

Top Ten Tuesday #4

Top Ten Best Books of 2016! I know, I know- basic. BUT this book was so amazing and there was no way I was leaving this off the list. I pre-ordered and then procrastinated because I knew it was going to mess with my emotions, but it’s so worth it in the end. I can sum up my greatest love for this series in one word: RHYSAND. 🙂 Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven I can’t say enough about all the good things about this book. I wrote a full review-but the highlights are body positivity, diversity, and the sweet romance. The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon Another book with a full review, but this definitely makes my top 2016 reads. I loved the interracial relationship, the own voices representation, and the mix up in traditional gender roles. If you haven’t read this one, you must! It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover I’ve heard differing opinions on this book, but I absolutely loved it. It was heartbreaking and felt real to me. I also think it could give strength to women in similar situations. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin Definitely not a 2016 release, but still one that sucked me into the entire trilogy this year. I loved the mystery and, of course, Noah. This one is probably going to be […]

Posted December 27, 2016 by Emily in Top 10 / 2 Comments
Divider

#DAReadathon Sign up

#DAReadathon Sign up

I’m really excited about this. Kendice and I will be participating in our first joint reading challenge! Aentee from Read at Midnight is hosting the Dumbledore’s Army Readathon (#DAReadathon) to promote and celebrate diverse books. There are seven different prompts that encourage reading a variety of diverse books. All of them are listed below with Kendice and my picks for those prompts. I will be reading for Hufflepuff. This is new for me. I’ve always thought of myself as a Ravenclaw, but I’ve been sorted into Hufflepuff by Pottermore twice now. I’m going to try on this new identity and see how it fits. I actually have always thought of myself as a Slytherclaw. Still, if Pottermore is so sure, maybe it’s worth exploring. The Sorting Hat is always right, right?     One of my best friends is Trans and I chose Beast in honor of her. We live in different states and I don’t get to see her as much as I’d like. I want her to know how much I love her and miss her all the time. When I consider an issue close to my heart I think of mental health. My mother has struggled with depression since the early 90s and it’s had a huge impact on my family dynamic. On top of that, I’ve heard the greatness that is this book and I absolutely adored […]

Posted December 22, 2016 by Emily in Special Feature / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: The Sun is also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Review: The Sun is also a Star by Nicola Yoon

The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon Published by Delacorte Press on November 1st 2016 Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult, romance Pages: 384 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story. Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us. The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true? I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.This was an amazing book. I went into it apprehensively because Everything, Everything ended up rubbing me the wrong way. I picked this […]

Posted December 19, 2016 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments
Divider

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016

10 Contemporary Books to Buy to add Diversity to Your Bookshelf This book is so relevant to some of the social issues we’re facing in the United States today. I loved the dual perspectives because it made the story not just relatable, but easier to understand because I am white. I highly, highly recommend this one for all ages and races. . This is a middle grades book, but it is so good! If you have kids, are a teacher, or just want some insight on a tween boy who grew up under rough circumstances but found a positive outlet in running track, pick this up. . This is a heart wrenching kind of book. I enjoy a lot of true crime shows and have found myself watching documentaries on kids being accused of committing murder at  young age, so I was drawn to this one immediately. Mary is black and was accused at age 9 of killing a 3 month old baby and now after years of time in “baby jail” and a treacherous group home she finds out she’s pregnant. This book shows that sometimes the whole story isn’t told and you can’t always judge a person based on appearances. . I love this book so much. Definitely top 5 of 2016 for me. A mixture of fate, logic, and interracial love is just the beginning of […]

Posted November 29, 2016 by Emily in Events and Features, Top 10 / 9 Comments
Divider

Top Ten Tuesday: 1

Top Ten Tuesday: 1

Ten Books I’ve Added To My To-Be-Read List Lately Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish 1. This is the newest book added to my TBR! I was cruising IG and came across a post by Uppercase and read in her comment thread that this was a Robin Hood, but with a female MC. My interest was piqued immediately! I absolutely love retellings and I can’t wait, even though it will be potentially for another 8 months for this one! 2. I heard about this books quite a few months ago and wanted to read it then. The pictures of the new ARCs reminded me that it was coming soon and I officially added it to Goodreads. Black Lives Matter is such an important movement right now and as a white woman I find it essential to read everything I can that will help me understand things that will open my eyes to others’ realities. I’m looking forward to this one. Hurry up February! 3. Wait for Me is by one of the Swanky 17’s author. I love historical fiction with a bit of romance, so when I read the description it was an immediate “Want to Read” for me. I also love reading and supporting debut authors, so it’s a win-win. 4. The cover of this book has caught my attention […]

Posted November 8, 2016 by Kendice in Events and Features, Top 10 / 1 Comment
Divider

Review Bound by Blood and Sand by Becky Allen

Review Bound by Blood and Sand by Becky Allen

Bound by Blood and Sand by Becky Allen Published by Delacorte Press on October 11th 2016 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy Pages: 304 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher, Free for Review Buy on Amazon Goodreads Jae is a slave in a dying desert world. Once verdant with water from a magical Well, the land is drying up, and no one remembers the magic needed to keep the water flowing. If a new source isn’t found soon, the people will perish. Jae doesn’t mind, in a way. By law, she is bound by a curse to obey every order given her, no matter how vile. At least in death, she’ll be free. Lord Elan’s family rules the fading realm. He comes to the estate where Jae works, searching for the hidden magic needed to replenish the Well, but it’s Jae who finds it, and she who must wield it. Desperate to save his realm, Elan begs her to use it to locate the Well. But why would a slave—abused, beaten, and treated as less than human—want to save the system that shackles her? Jae would rather see the world burn. Though revenge clouds her vision, she agrees to help if the kingdom’s slaves are freed. Then Elan’s father arrives. The ruler’s cruelty knows no limits. He is determined that the class system will not change—and that Jae will remain a slave […]

Posted November 7, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider