Publisher: HarperTeen

Arc Review: Literally by Lucy Keating

Posted March 16, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments

Arc Review: Literally by Lucy KeatingLiterally by Lucy Keating
Published by HarperTeen on April 11th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, romance, Young Adult
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

A girl realizes her life is being written for her in this unique, smart love story that is Stranger Than Fiction for fans of Stephanie Perkins.
Annabelle’s life has always been Perfect with a capital P. Then bestselling young adult author Lucy Keating announces that she’s writing a new novel—and Annabelle is the heroine.
It turns out, Annabelle is a character that Lucy Keating created. And Lucy has a plan for her.
But Annabelle doesn’t want to live a life where everything she does is already plotted out. Will she find a way to write her own story—or will Lucy Keating have the last word?
The real Lucy Keating’s delightful contemporary romance blurs the line between reality and fiction, and is the perfect follow-up for readers who loved her debut Dreamology, which SLJ called, “a sweet, quirky romance with appealing characters.”

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This was such a sweet book with a really original premise behind it. Annabelle is a seemingly normal teenager living her life trying to make it through her creative writing class. When an author comes in to speak to the class, she realizes her new book sounds awfully familiar. She’s shocked to have the author confirm that she is in fact writing her life. This, of course, leads to her at initially thinking that the author is crazy. Soon she starts thinking perhaps she’s crazy. The journey throughout is interesting to consider and I think Lucy Keating did a good job reflecting the way some authors think about their characters.

The most interesting point to consider when you wonder who is “writing” your story is choice. Are you making your own choices or is someone else making them for you? This was were Keating did an excellent job, in my opinion. Annabelle struggles with this when she finds herself in a love triangle with an old “friend” and a seemingly perfect new guy. You’ll have to read to see how it ends. 🙂

3.5 stars for this fun, easy read!

three-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

#DAReadathon Wrap Up

Posted January 20, 2017 by Emily in Special Feature / 0 Comments

dareadathon-sign-up

Kendice and I totally kicked ass on this challenge! I read all seven books and my mini-reviews are all below. Thank you so much to  Aentee from Read at Midnight for hosting the Dumbledore’s Army Readathon (#DAReadathon) to promote and celebrate diverse books. I really enjoyed the seven different prompts that encouraged me to read a variety of diverse books. I’d like to think I would have read all of these books eventually. They were all on my TBR when this challenge started. However, thanks to the #DAReadathon they moved up to the top.

dareadathon-id-hufflepuff-emily

 

dareadathon-id-ravenclaw-kendice

 

dareadathon-expecto-patronum

emily-signature1

#DAReadathon Wrap UpBeast by Brie Spangler
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on October 11th 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, romance
Pages: 305
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Tall, meaty, muscle-bound, and hairier than most throw rugs, Dylan doesn’t look like your average fifteen-year-old, so, naturally, high school has not been kind to him. To make matters worse, on the day his school bans hats (his preferred camouflage), Dylan goes up on his roof only to fall and wake up in the hospital with a broken leg—and a mandate to attend group therapy for self-harmers.
Dylan vows to say nothing and zones out at therapy—until he meets Jamie. She’s funny, smart, and so stunning, even his womanizing best friend, JP, would be jealous. She’s also the first person to ever call Dylan out on his self-pitying and superficiality. As Jamie’s humanity and wisdom begin to rub off on Dylan, they become more than just friends. But there is something Dylan doesn’t know about Jamie, something she shared with the group the day he wasn’t listening. Something that shouldn’t change a thing. She is who she’s always been—an amazing photographer and devoted friend, who also happens to be transgender. But will Dylan see it that way?

This book was really hard to read. It was about two people who are hurting and the connection they find in each other. The writing was top notch. I really felt for the characters. The writing was touching and I found myself aching for for both Dylan and Jamie. Still I read to get away and this book was a little too real.

kendice-signature1

#DAReadathon Wrap UpAll the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
Published by Knopf on January 6th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, romance
Pages: 378
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning! Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death. When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Oh, this book! I loved Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven and this was the perfect opportunity to push her YA debut up on my TBR. I’m SO glad I did. I adore Niven’s writing and I’m easily sucked right into her stories. I’ve heard before View Spoiler »I was glad I had a heads up. It didn’t take away from the story for me, but potentially saved me from an emotional breakdown. I can’t tell you enough how much I loved the characters. Finch and Violet were both lovely, unique, and powerful when it comes to what they had to offer the readers. This is another book focused on mental health, death, grief, love, and friendship-with a little bit of high school struggles thrown in. This is a must read for everyone, but especially for someone who has someone close to them who struggles with depression, bipolar disorder, or thoughts of suicide.

da-readathon-expelliarmus

emily-signature1

#DAReadathon Wrap UpGeorgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown
Published by HarperTeen on August 30th 2016
Genres: LGBT
Pages: 432
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Joanna Gordon has been out and proud for years, but when her popular radio evangelist father remarries and decides to move all three of them from Atlanta to the more conservative Rome, Georgia, he asks Jo to do the impossible: to lie low for the rest of her senior year. And Jo reluctantly agrees.
Although it is (mostly) much easier for Jo to fit in as a straight girl, things get complicated when she meets Mary Carlson, the oh-so-tempting sister of her new friend at school. But Jo couldn’t possibly think of breaking her promise to her dad. Even if she’s starting to fall for the girl. Even if there’s a chance Mary Carlson might be interested in her, too. Right?

This is such an adorable romance!! Joanna and Mary Carlson are perfect for each other. I loved how religion and LGBT issues are covered in this book. I don’t believe they are or should be mutually exclusive and this book featured it beautifully. Joanna is the daughter of a radio evangelist and they move to a small conservative town in Georgia. The only tiny problem I had was every conflict in this book could have been easily solved with Joanna being honest. I know that lying is sometimes easier but there were times I wanted to wring her neck.

kendice-signature1

#DAReadathon Wrap UpWhen the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore
Published by Thomas Dunne on October 4th 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, LGBT
Pages: 288
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

To everyone who knows them, best friends Miel and Sam are as strange as they are inseparable. Roses grow out of Miel’s wrist, and rumors say that she spilled out of a water tower when she was five. Sam is known for the moons he paints and hangs in the trees, and for how little anyone knows about his life before he and his mother moved to town. But as odd as everyone considers Miel and Sam, even they stay away from the Bonner girls, four beautiful sisters rumored to be witches. Now they want the roses that grow from Miel’s skin, convinced that their scent can make anyone fall in love. And they’re willing to use every secret Miel has fought to protect to make sure she gives them up.

i just didn’t get to this one. 🙁

 

da-readathon-protego

emily-signature1

#DAReadathon Wrap UpWritten in the Stars by Aisha Saeed
Published by Nancy Paulsen Books on March 24th 2015
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 277
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

This heart-wrenching novel explores what it is like to be thrust into an unwanted marriage. Has Naila’s fate been written in the stars? Or can she still make her own destiny? Naila’s conservative immigrant parents have always said the same thing: She may choose what to study, how to wear her hair, and what to be when she grows up—but they will choose her husband. Following their cultural tradition, they will plan an arranged marriage for her. And until then, dating—even friendship with a boy—is forbidden. When Naila breaks their rule by falling in love with Saif, her parents are livid. Convinced she has forgotten who she truly is, they travel to Pakistan to visit relatives and explore their roots. But Naila’s vacation turns into a nightmare when she learns that plans have changed—her parents have found her a husband and they want her to marry him, now! Despite her greatest efforts, Naila is aghast to find herself cut off from everything and everyone she once knew. Her only hope of escape is Saif . . . if he can find her before it’s too late.

I absolutely loved this book but it made me SO ANGRY. I spent the entire book in shock, thinking, “They can’t really do that, can they???” It had a huge impact on me and I haven’t stopped thinking about it since I finished it.

kendice-signature1

#DAReadathon Wrap UpAs I Descended by Robin Talley
Published by HarperTeen on September 6th 2016
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Maria Lyon and Lily Boiten are their school’s ultimate power couple—even if no one knows it but them.
Only one thing stands between them and their perfect future: campus superstar Delilah Dufrey.
Golden child Delilah is a legend at the exclusive Acheron Academy, and the presumptive winner of the distinguished Cawdor Kingsley Prize. She runs the school, and if she chose, she could blow up Maria and Lily’s whole world with a pointed look, or a carefully placed word.
But what Delilah doesn’t know is that Lily and Maria are willing to do anything—absolutely anything—to make their dreams come true. And the first step is unseating Delilah for the Kingsley Prize. The full scholarship, awarded to Maria, will lock in her attendance at Stanford―and four more years in a shared dorm room with Lily.
Maria and Lily will stop at nothing to ensure their victory—including harnessing the dark power long rumored to be present on the former plantation that houses their school.
But when feuds turn to fatalities, and madness begins to blur the distinction between what’s real and what is imagined, the girls must decide where they draw the line.
From acclaimed author Robin Talley comes a Shakespeare-inspired story of revenge and redemption, where fair is foul, and foul is fair.

Unfortunately, I did not love this book. I really felt like it had a lot of potential to be an amazing, creepy, intense story…but the writing just didn’t do it for me. I have a hard time DNFing books once I’m past the 50 page mark, but I skipped probably 50 pages at the end of the book and read the last two chapters. I rated this one 2 out of 5 stars.

dareadthon-lumos

emily-signature1

#DAReadathon Wrap UpThe Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
Published by Delacorte Press on November 1st 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult, romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.
Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.
The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

I went into this book knowing nothing except it’s #ownvoices and by Nicola Yoon. I enjoyed Everything Everything last year (until the very end) and I was excited to read her second novel. I was surprised to see that it’s told in short, seemingly unconnected bites. Each chapter might only be a page long and might be about a stranger. At first, I really didn’t like it. The format struck me as very choppy with every section short and seemingly disconnected. However, after I got into the book I began to see the threads. The chapters were still very short but they began to merge together and I began to truly enjoy the book. If you get bogged down, hang in there!

kendice-signature1

#DAReadathon Wrap UpWhen We Collided by Emery Lord
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on April 5th 2016
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 352
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

We are seventeen and shattered and still dancing. We have messy, throbbing hearts, and we are stronger than anyone could ever know…
Jonah never thought a girl like Vivi would come along.
Vivi didn’t know Jonah would light up her world.
Neither of them expected a summer like this…a summer that would rewrite their futures.
In an unflinching story about new love, old wounds, and forces beyond our control, two teens find that when you collide with the right person at just the right time, it will change you forever.

My first book of 2017 and my first book read for the Dumbledore’s Army readathon. What a good book to start with! I loved this story about a whirlwind, all-in summer love. Vivi’s free-spirited attitude throughout much of the book was a breath of fresh air and her meltdown showed that even when we’re happy and seemingly perfect on the outside there is more to people underneath it all. Lord didn’t sugar coat Vivi’s bipolar disorder and I saw several similarities between how she was acting during her manic episode and how my mother functions at times. On the other hand, I personally identified with Jonah and his parental tendencies. I’ve always been the “mother hen” in every group of friends I’ve belonged to. And on a much more serious note, we share the fact that we have a mother who battles depression and feel responsible for the siblings younger than us. I highly recommend this book!

dareadathon-stupefy

emily-signature1

#DAReadathon Wrap UpHistory Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera
Published by Soho Teen on January 17th 2017
Genres: LGBT, Contemporary
Pages: 320
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course.
To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart.
If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.

History is All You Left Me is the kind of book that stays with you forever. It wasn’t a nice read, an easy read or even a fun read but it was a worthwhile read. This book is about grief. Grief looks different for everyone and it’s difficult to read about. It’s also about love and forgiveness but everything about this book was sad. It’s beautiful but very sad.

kendice-signature1

#DAReadathon Wrap UpHistory Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera
Published by Soho Teen on January 17th 2017
Genres: LGBT, Contemporary
Pages: 320
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course.
To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart.
If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.

An excerpt from my full review! 🙂

This was my first Adam Silvera book and I have to say, I think his writing is beautiful. It’s easy to get lost within his words and the story he created. His characters are well developed and a lot like people you may know in reality. I remember thinking that I wished this book could be forced into the hands of people who don’t understand that love is love, even when it’s not a heterosexual relationship. If what Griffin felt for Theo wasn’t love, then what the hell is?

This is not a happy story. It is very depressing at times and it’s hard to catch a glimpse of happiness until you’re done and can reflect on everything that you can learn from Griffin’s trials. One may want to be in a good state of mind before reading it. That being said, there is a lot to this book. There’s love, loss, grief, and OCD.

dareadathon-impedimenta

emily-signature1

#DAReadathon Wrap UpCarry On by Rainbow Rowell
Published by St. Martin's Griffin on October 6th 2015
Genres: Fantasy, romance, LGBT
Pages: 522
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.
That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.
Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.
Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters.

Reading Carry On was like eating a giant bowl of ice cream. It was indulgent. I loved that it is supposed to be the last book in a fictional series and it seemed like it. Yet, Rainbow Rowell did a masterful job making me feel like I had read the other six books. She weaves reminders and recaps about what happened in those other books without making it clunky. I also loved Simon and Baz. They are perfect together.

kendice-signature1

#DAReadathon Wrap UpSimon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
Published by Balzer + Bray on April 7th 2015
Genres: LGBT, Contemporary, romance
Pages: 320
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.
With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

I didn’t have a chance to read this during the readathon.

da-readathon-reducto

emily-signature1

#DAReadathon Wrap UpHolding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on October 4th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 391
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Everyone thinks they know Libby Strout, the girl once dubbed “America’s Fattest Teen.” But no one’s taken the time to look past her weight to get to know who she really is. Following her mom’s death, she’s been picking up the pieces in the privacy of her home, dealing with her heartbroken father and her own grief. Now, Libby’s ready: for high school, for new friends, for love, and for every possibility life has to offer. In that moment, I know the part I want to play here at MVB High. I want to be the girl who can do anything. 
Everyone thinks they know Jack Masselin, too. Yes, he’s got swagger, but he’s also mastered the impossible art of giving people what they want, of fitting in. What no one knows is that Jack has a newly acquired secret: he can’t recognize faces. Even his own brothers are strangers to him. He’s the guy who can re-engineer and rebuild anything, but he can’t understand what’s going on with the inner workings of his brain. So he tells himself to play it cool: Be charming. Be hilarious. Don’t get too close to anyone.
Until he meets Libby. When the two get tangled up in a cruel high school game—which lands them in group counseling and community service—Libby and Jack are both pissed, and then surprised. Because the more time they spend together, the less alone they feel. Because sometimes when you meet someone, it changes the world, theirs and yours.

I instantly connected with this book. I loved both Libby and Jack and I saw myself in them. I might not be America’s Fattest Teen but I am a plus sized woman. I definitely identified with a lot of Libby’s thoughts but I think Libby is a lot braver than I am. I wish I could do some of the things she did in this book. I also saw myself a lot in Jack. While I don’t think I have face-blindness to the degree that he does in this book, I do wonder if I don’t have it to some degree. I saw a lot of the struggles I have with social situations in his struggles. I would recommend this book to anyone and I probably will.

kendice-signature1

#DAReadathon Wrap UpCourt of Fives by Kate Elliott
Series: Court of Fives #1
on August 18th 2015
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 448
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

On the Fives court, everyone is equal.
And everyone is dangerous.

Jessamy’s life is a balance between acting like an upper-class Patron and dreaming of the freedom of the Commoners. But away from her family, she can be whomever she wants when she sneaks out to train for the Fives, an intricate, multilevel athletic competition that offers a chance for glory to the kingdom’s best competitors.
Then Jes meets Kalliarkos, and an improbable friendship between the two Fives competitors—one of mixed race and the other a Patron boy—causes heads to turn. When Kal’s powerful, scheming uncle tears Jes’s family apart, she’ll have to test her new friend’s loyalty and risk the vengeance of a royal clan to save her mother and sisters from certain death.
In this imaginative escape into an enthralling new world, World Fantasy Award finalist Kate Elliott’s first young adult novel weaves an epic story of a girl struggling to do what she loves in a society suffocated by rules of class and privilege.

I wish I had the chance to read this one.

four-stars

Tags:

Divider

#DAReadathon Sign up

#DAReadathon Sign up

I’m really excited about this. Kendice and I will be participating in our first joint reading challenge! Aentee from Read at Midnight is hosting the Dumbledore’s Army Readathon (#DAReadathon) to promote and celebrate diverse books. There are seven different prompts that encourage reading a variety of diverse books. All of them are listed below with Kendice and my picks for those prompts. I will be reading for Hufflepuff. This is new for me. I’ve always thought of myself as a Ravenclaw, but I’ve been sorted into Hufflepuff by Pottermore twice now. I’m going to try on this new identity and see how it fits. I actually have always thought of myself as a Slytherclaw. Still, if Pottermore is so sure, maybe it’s worth exploring. The Sorting Hat is always right, right?     One of my best friends is Trans and I chose Beast in honor of her. We live in different states and I don’t get to see her as much as I’d like. I want her to know how much I love her and miss her all the time. When I consider an issue close to my heart I think of mental health. My mother has struggled with depression since the early 90s and it’s had a huge impact on my family dynamic. On top of that, I’ve heard the greatness that is this book and I absolutely adored […]

Posted December 22, 2016 by Emily in Special Feature / 1 Comment
Divider

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016

10 Contemporary Books to Buy to add Diversity to Your Bookshelf This book is so relevant to some of the social issues we’re facing in the United States today. I loved the dual perspectives because it made the story not just relatable, but easier to understand because I am white. I highly, highly recommend this one for all ages and races. . This is a middle grades book, but it is so good! If you have kids, are a teacher, or just want some insight on a tween boy who grew up under rough circumstances but found a positive outlet in running track, pick this up. . This is a heart wrenching kind of book. I enjoy a lot of true crime shows and have found myself watching documentaries on kids being accused of committing murder at  young age, so I was drawn to this one immediately. Mary is black and was accused at age 9 of killing a 3 month old baby and now after years of time in “baby jail” and a treacherous group home she finds out she’s pregnant. This book shows that sometimes the whole story isn’t told and you can’t always judge a person based on appearances. . I love this book so much. Definitely top 5 of 2016 for me. A mixture of fate, logic, and interracial love is just the beginning of […]

Posted November 29, 2016 by Emily in Events and Features, Top 10 / 9 Comments
Divider

Review: Three Dark Crowns

Review: Three Dark Crowns

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake Series: Three Dark Crowns #1 Published by HarperTeen on September 20th 2016 Genres: Fantasy, horror, Young Adult Pages: 416 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions. But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins. The last queen standing gets the crown. If only it was that simple. Katharine is unable to tolerate the weakest poison, and Arsinoe, no matter how hard she tries, can’t make even a weed grow. The two queens have been shamefully faking their powers, taking care to keep each other, the island, and their powerful sister Mirabella none the wiser. But with alliances being formed, betrayals taking shape, and ruthless […]

Posted November 14, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Top Ten Tuesday: 1

Top Ten Tuesday: 1

Ten Books I’ve Added To My To-Be-Read List Lately Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish 1. This is the newest book added to my TBR! I was cruising IG and came across a post by Uppercase and read in her comment thread that this was a Robin Hood, but with a female MC. My interest was piqued immediately! I absolutely love retellings and I can’t wait, even though it will be potentially for another 8 months for this one! 2. I heard about this books quite a few months ago and wanted to read it then. The pictures of the new ARCs reminded me that it was coming soon and I officially added it to Goodreads. Black Lives Matter is such an important movement right now and as a white woman I find it essential to read everything I can that will help me understand things that will open my eyes to others’ realities. I’m looking forward to this one. Hurry up February! 3. Wait for Me is by one of the Swanky 17’s author. I love historical fiction with a bit of romance, so when I read the description it was an immediate “Want to Read” for me. I also love reading and supporting debut authors, so it’s a win-win. 4. The cover of this book has caught my attention […]

Posted November 8, 2016 by Kendice in Events and Features, Top 10 / 1 Comment
Divider

Debut Author Bash: Janet McNally

Debut Author Bash: Janet McNally

Girls in the Moon by Janet McNally Published by HarperTeen on November 29th 2016 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary Pages: 352 Buy on Amazon Everyone in Phoebe FerrisÂ’s life tells a different version of the truth. Her mother, Meg, ex–rock star and professional question evader, shares only the end of the story—the post-fame calm that PhoebeÂ’s always known. Her sister, Luna, indie-rock darling of Brooklyn, preaches a stormy truth of her own making, selectively ignoring the facts she doesnÂ’t like. And her father, Kieran, the cofounder of MegÂ’s beloved band, hasnÂ’t said anything at all since he stopped calling three years ago. But Phoebe, a budding poet in search of an identity to call her own, is tired of half-truths and vague explanations. When she visits Luna in New York, sheÂ’s determined to find out how she fits in to this family of storytellers, and to maybe even continue her own tale—the one with the musician boy sheÂ’s been secretly writing for months. Told in alternating chapters, PhoebeÂ’s first adventure flows as the story of Meg and KieranÂ’s romance ebbs, leaving behind only a time-worn, precious pearl of truth about her familyÂ’s past—and leaving Phoebe to take a leap into her own unknown future. I’m so excited to host Janet McNally today with a playlist for Girls in the Moon. I love her reasons that she chose each song and […]

Posted June 29, 2016 by Emily in Events and Features, Playlist / 2 Comments
Divider

FFBC ARC Review: Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh

FFBC ARC Review: Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh

Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh Series: Ivory and Bone #1 Published by HarperTeen on June 7th 2016 Genres: Historical Pages: 384 Format: Paperback Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon A prehistoric fantasy—with allusions to Pride and Prejudice. Hunting, gathering, and keeping his family safe—thatÂ’s the life seventeen-year-old Kol knows. Then bold, enigmatic Mya arrives from the south with her family, and Kol is captivated. He wants her to like and trust him, but any hopes of impressing her are ruined when he makes a careless—and nearly grave—mistake. However, thereÂ’s something more to MyaÂ’s cool disdainÂ…a history wrought with loss that comes to light when another clan arrives. With them is Lo, an enemy from MyaÂ’s past who Mya swears has ulterior motives. As Kol gets to know Lo, tensions between Mya and Lo escalate until violence erupts. Faced with shattering losses, Kol is forced to question every person heÂ’s trusted. One thing is for sure: this was a war that Mya or Lo—Kol doesnÂ’t know which—had been planning all along. Ivory and Bone is billed as Prehistoric Fantasy. I think itÂ’s interesting because it sparked a lot of conversation about what fantasy is. Also how books get marketed and placed into a genre. Without any real information, we decided it was probably up to publisher discretion. In my mind, the hallmark of a fantasy novel is magic […]

Posted June 6, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 0 Comments
Divider

FFBC Review: Dreamology

FFBC Review: Dreamology

Dreamology by Lucy Keating Published by HarperTeen on April 12th 2016 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, romance, Fantasy Pages: 336 Format: ebook Buy on Amazon Vibrantly offbeat and utterly original, Lucy KeatingÂ’s debut novel combines the unconventional romance of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind with the sweetness and heart of Jenny Han. For as long as Alice can remember, she has dreamed of Max. Together, they have traveled the world and fallen deliriously, hopelessly in love. Max is the boy of her dreams—and only her dreams. Because he doesnÂ’t exist. But when Alice walks into class on her first day at a new school, there he is. Real Max is nothing like Dream Max. HeÂ’s stubborn and complicated. And he has a whole life Alice isnÂ’t a part of. Getting to know each other in reality isnÂ’t as perfect as Alice always hoped. Alarmingly, when their dreams start to bleed into their waking hours, the pair realize that they might have to put an end to a lifetime of dreaming about each other. But when you fall in love in your dreams, can reality ever be enough? I’ve always been an incredibly vivid dreamer. I dream every night and I usually remember what I’ve dreamt for hours. Sometimes I wish I kept a dream journal because I have dreamt some crazy intricate plotlines over the years. I’m also infamous […]

Posted April 7, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: Strange and Ever After

Review: Strange and Ever After

This is the final chapter of the series, where everything is tied up. I didn’t do any spoilers in my first two reviews and I am going to try my best to keep up with that. However, with everything building on itself, it’s getting more difficult to completely avoid spoilers. I definitely will not spoil book three. I’m doing my best but by book three there ultimately may be some spoilers from books 1 and 2 in this review. I’m not promising anything. Your mileage my vary. Read at your own risk. Quick series recap: I liked book one but I didn’t love it. However, I was intrigued. I wanted to keep reading. Book two had all the steampunky goodness plus all the Daniel I could ever want. I thought it was much improved over book one and had me excited to finish the series. That bring us to: I’m still not sold on Eleanor. Since this series is now over, I probably never will be. It was very odd for me to read and entire series and never quite connect with the main character. In book two I loved how she spent much of it on her own, fighting her own battles. She learned all about her specific type of magic from Oliver and they became closer friends. When circumstances placed her apart from Daniel, Joseph and Jie, […]

Posted January 21, 2016 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments
Divider