Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Rockstar Review: Obsidio by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Posted March 29, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Events and Features, Giveaway, Review, Uncategorized / 1 Comment

Rockstar Review: Obsidio by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Rockstar Review: Obsidio by Jay Kristoff and Amie KaufmanObsidio by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
Series: The Illuminae Files #3
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on March 13th 2018
Genres: Sci Fi, Young Adult
Pages: 624
Format: hardcover
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives from the attacks on Heimdall station and now find themselves crammed with 2,000 refugees on the container ship, Mao. With the jump station destroyed and their resources scarce, the only option is to return to Kerenza—but who knows what they'll find seven months after the invasion?

Meanwhile, Kady's cousin, Asha, survived the initial BeiTech assault and has joined Kerenza's ragtag underground resistance. When Rhys—an old flame from Asha's past—reappears on Kerenza, the two find themselves on opposite sides of the conflict.

With time running out, a final battle will be waged on land and in space, heros will fall, and hearts will be broken.

I liked Obsidio. Readers will be familiar with the epistolary style by now. Obsidio adds in flyers and passed notes to the collection of documents that our heroes use to communicate. Katy and Ezra are still on the Mao and they are joined by Nik and Hannah. Now we are introduced to Asha and Rhys who have been stuck on Kerenza during the BeiTech occupation for the last 7 months. Asha and Rhys have an unfortunate history together and aren’t thrilled when they both turn up trapped on the same tiny planet.

I was not crazy about the occupation of Kerenza. I found it somehow stressful and boring at the same time. If you are a fan of Battlestar Galactica, it reminded me of the occupation of New Caprica, which I also found boring and stressful. There is an active resistance, which was interesting. I loved how they communicate with each other. I didn’t really like any of the other people on Kerenza, though. Heimdall had several interesting characters and Hypatia/Alexander had a bunch. The supporting cast on Kerenza was missing.

Luckily, that wasn’t the entire book. I loved the parts that had Katy, Ezra, Nik and Hannah and I loved the return of all the other familiar characters too. Even though I felt like I had everything figured out, there were plenty of surprises. It’s nice to know I couldn’t guess everything.

All in all, this was a satisfying series ending.

Divider

Meet the Authors

Amie Kaufman is the New York Times bestselling co-author of These Broken Stars and This Shattered World, and Illuminae, the first in a new series starting in 2015. She writes science fiction and fantasy for teens, and her favourite procrastination techniques involve chocolate, baking, sailing, excellent books and TV, plotting and executing overseas travel, and napping.

She lives in Melbourne, Australia with her husband, their rescue dog, and her considerable library. She is represented by Tracey Adams of Adams Literary.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Jay Kristoff is the award-winning author of THE LOTUS WAR trilogy, a Japanese-inspired steampunk fantasy. Part 3, ENDSINGER, is out now. He’s also co-author of the upcoming ILLUMINAE (with Amie Kaufman), a YA Sci-Fi… thing, to be released by Knopf/Random House in 2015, and NEVERNIGHT, the first part of a new fantasy trilogy kicking off in 2016.

Jay is 6’7 and has approximately 13380 days to live. He abides in Melbourne with his secret agent kung-fu assassin wife, and the world’s laziest Jack Russell.

He does not believe in happy endings.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Divider

Giveaway

3 winners will receive a finished copy of OBSIDIO, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Follow the Tour

Week One:
3/1/2018- Two Chicks on Books– Review
3/2/2018- YA Bibliophile– Review

Week Two:
3/5/2018- Mary Had a Little Book Blog– Review
3/6/2018- BookHounds YA– Review
3/7/2018- Novel Novice– Review
3/8/2018- Adventures of a Book Junkie– Review
3/9/2018- Feed Your Fiction Addiction– Review

Week Three:
3/12/2018- Fiction Fare– Review
3/13/2018- The Young Folks– Review
3/14/2018- A Dream Within A Dream– Review
3/15/2018- The Book Nut– Review
3/16/2018- Tales of the Ravenous Reader– Review

Week Four:
3/19/2018- StuckInBooks– Review
3/20/2018- PaperTrailYA– Review
3/21/2018- Nerdophiles– Review
3/22/2018- Owl Always Be Reading– Review
3/23/2018- YA Books Central– Excerpt

Week Five:
3/26/2018- The Eater of Books!– Review
3/27/2018- Page Turners Blog– Review
3/28/2018- Book Briefs– Review
3/29/2018- Emily Reads Everything– Review
3/30/2018- Mundie Moms– Review

four-stars

Tags:

Divider

Rockstar Review: Blood Rose Rebellion

Posted March 29, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 1 Comment

Rockstar Review: Blood Rose Rebellion

Rockstar Review: Blood Rose RebellionBlood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves
Series: Blood Rose Rebellion #1
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on March 28th 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

The thrilling first book in a YA fantasy trilogy for fans of Red Queen. In a world where social prestige derives from a trifecta of blood, money, and magic, one girl has the ability to break the spell that holds the social order in place.
Sixteen-year-old Anna Arden is barred from society by a defect of blood. Though her family is part of the Luminate, powerful users of magic, she is Barren, unable to perform the simplest spells. Anna would do anything to belong. But her fate takes another course when, after inadvertently breaking her sister’s debutante spell—an important chance for a highborn young woman to show her prowess with magic—Anna finds herself exiled to her family’s once powerful but now crumbling native Hungary.
Her life might well be over.
In Hungary, Anna discovers that nothing is quite as it seems. Not the people around her, from her aloof cousin Noémi to the fierce and handsome Romani Gábor. Not the society she’s known all her life, for discontent with the Luminate is sweeping the land. And not her lack of magic. Isolated from the only world she cares about, Anna still can’t seem to stop herself from breaking spells.
As rebellion spreads across the region, Anna’s unique ability becomes the catalyst everyone is seeking. In the company of nobles, revolutionaries, and Romanies, Anna must choose: deny her unique power and cling to the life she’s always wanted, or embrace her ability and change that world forever.

Find it: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksAudibleGoodreads

Historical fantasy is such a tricky genre, because it’s already happened. It can be hard to lace the real past with monsters and magic, especially if the book is set in an alternate version of our own world. Victorian England is a somewhat familiar setting and adding magic to it was interesting. However, when the events took Anna to Budapest, that’s when everything became more interesting to me. Hungary isn’t familiar to me and I loved the inclusion of Hungarian in the text.

The way magic worked in the world wasn’t specific enough for my taste. Characters said words or waved their hands and things happened. In the book, an example of a big magical display was a realistic illusion painted in the air. While cool, I don’t find it too impressive. However, in my mind this was OK because Anna is Barren. She is incapable of magic. Therefore, it makes sense that she doesn’t understand how it works or what they are doing when they are casting spells. She also doesn’t know what she is doing when spells fall apart around her. Still, I can’t help but think that if what magic is was better defined than what Anna did would also have been explained better as well. Sometimes it’s just better to accept that things are happening instead of searching for the how and why.

When I wasn’t trying to dissect what was going on, I really enjoyed the book. It was interesting and unusual. I did not like the ending but I really want to know what happens next. 

About the Author

Rosalyn Eves grew up in the Rocky Mountains, dividing her time between reading books and bossing her siblings into performing her dramatic scripts. As an adult, the telling and reading of stories is still one of her favorite things to do. When she’s not reading or writing, she enjoys spending time with her chemistry professor husband and three children, watching British period pieces, or hiking through the splendid landscape of southern Utah, where she lives. She dislikes housework on principle.

She has a PhD in English from Penn State, which means she also endeavors to inspire college students with a love for the English language. Sometimes it even works.

Rosalyn is represented by Josh Adams of Adams literary.

Her first novel, BLOOD ROSE REBELLION, first in a YA historical fantasy trilogy, debuts Spring 2017 from Knopf/Random House.

Website | Blog | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Tumblr | Pinterest |  Goodreads

Follow the Tour

Week One:

3/20/2017BookHounds YAInterview
3/21/2017YA Book MadnessReview
3/22/2017Page Turners BlogGuest Post
3/23/2017FiktshunReview
3/24/2017– NovelKnightReview

 Week Two:

3/27/2017Once Upon a TwilightInterview
3/28/2017Mundie MomsExcerpt
3/29/2017Emily Reads EverythingReview=
3/30/2017Two Chicks on BooksInterview
3/31/2017Book BriefsReview

Giveaway

3 winners will receive a signed finished copy of BLOOD ROSE REBELLION, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

four-stars

Tags:

Divider

#DAReadathon Wrap Up

#DAReadathon Wrap Up

Kendice and I totally kicked ass on this challenge! I read all seven books and my mini-reviews are all below. Thank you so much to  Aentee from Read at Midnight for hosting the Dumbledore’s Army Readathon (#DAReadathon) to promote and celebrate diverse books. I really enjoyed the seven different prompts that encouraged me to read a variety of diverse books. I’d like to think I would have read all of these books eventually. They were all on my TBR when this challenge started. However, thanks to the #DAReadathon they moved up to the top.     This book was really hard to read. It was about two people who are hurting and the connection they find in each other. The writing was top notch. I really felt for the characters. The writing was touching and I found myself aching for for both Dylan and Jamie. Still I read to get away and this book was a little too real. Oh, this book! I loved Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven and this was the perfect opportunity to push her YA debut up on my TBR. I’m SO glad I did. I adore Niven’s writing and I’m easily sucked right into her stories. I’ve heard before I was glad I had a heads up. It didn’t take away from the story for me, but potentially saved me from an emotional breakdown. I […]

Posted January 20, 2017 by Emily in Special Feature / 0 Comments
Divider

Top Ten Tuesday #4

Top Ten Tuesday #4

Top Ten Best Books of 2016! I know, I know- basic. BUT this book was so amazing and there was no way I was leaving this off the list. I pre-ordered and then procrastinated because I knew it was going to mess with my emotions, but it’s so worth it in the end. I can sum up my greatest love for this series in one word: RHYSAND. 🙂 Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven I can’t say enough about all the good things about this book. I wrote a full review-but the highlights are body positivity, diversity, and the sweet romance. The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon Another book with a full review, but this definitely makes my top 2016 reads. I loved the interracial relationship, the own voices representation, and the mix up in traditional gender roles. If you haven’t read this one, you must! It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover I’ve heard differing opinions on this book, but I absolutely loved it. It was heartbreaking and felt real to me. I also think it could give strength to women in similar situations. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin Definitely not a 2016 release, but still one that sucked me into the entire trilogy this year. I loved the mystery and, of course, Noah. This one is probably going to be […]

Posted December 27, 2016 by Emily in Top 10 / 2 Comments
Divider

#DAReadathon Sign up

#DAReadathon Sign up

I’m really excited about this. Kendice and I will be participating in our first joint reading challenge! Aentee from Read at Midnight is hosting the Dumbledore’s Army Readathon (#DAReadathon) to promote and celebrate diverse books. There are seven different prompts that encourage reading a variety of diverse books. All of them are listed below with Kendice and my picks for those prompts. I will be reading for Hufflepuff. This is new for me. I’ve always thought of myself as a Ravenclaw, but I’ve been sorted into Hufflepuff by Pottermore twice now. I’m going to try on this new identity and see how it fits. I actually have always thought of myself as a Slytherclaw. Still, if Pottermore is so sure, maybe it’s worth exploring. The Sorting Hat is always right, right?     One of my best friends is Trans and I chose Beast in honor of her. We live in different states and I don’t get to see her as much as I’d like. I want her to know how much I love her and miss her all the time. When I consider an issue close to my heart I think of mental health. My mother has struggled with depression since the early 90s and it’s had a huge impact on my family dynamic. On top of that, I’ve heard the greatness that is this book and I absolutely adored […]

Posted December 22, 2016 by Emily in Special Feature / 1 Comment
Divider

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016

10 Contemporary Books to Buy to add Diversity to Your Bookshelf This book is so relevant to some of the social issues we’re facing in the United States today. I loved the dual perspectives because it made the story not just relatable, but easier to understand because I am white. I highly, highly recommend this one for all ages and races. . This is a middle grades book, but it is so good! If you have kids, are a teacher, or just want some insight on a tween boy who grew up under rough circumstances but found a positive outlet in running track, pick this up. . This is a heart wrenching kind of book. I enjoy a lot of true crime shows and have found myself watching documentaries on kids being accused of committing murder at  young age, so I was drawn to this one immediately. Mary is black and was accused at age 9 of killing a 3 month old baby and now after years of time in “baby jail” and a treacherous group home she finds out she’s pregnant. This book shows that sometimes the whole story isn’t told and you can’t always judge a person based on appearances. . I love this book so much. Definitely top 5 of 2016 for me. A mixture of fate, logic, and interracial love is just the beginning of […]

Posted November 29, 2016 by Emily in Events and Features, Top 10 / 9 Comments
Divider

Review: Holding Up the Universe

Review: Holding Up the Universe

Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on October 4th 2016 Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult Pages: 400 Buy on Amazon Goodreads Everyone thinks they know Libby Strout, the girl once dubbed “America’s Fattest Teen.” But no one’s taken the time to look past her weight to get to know who she really is. Following her mom’s death, she’s been picking up the pieces in the privacy of her home, dealing with her heartbroken father and her own grief. Now, Libby’s ready: for high school, for new friends, for love, and for every possibility life has to offer. In that moment, I know the part I want to play here at MVB High. I want to be the girl who can do anything.  Everyone thinks they know Jack Masselin, too. Yes, he’s got swagger, but he’s also mastered the impossible art of giving people what they want, of fitting in. What no one knows is that Jack has a newly acquired secret: he can’t recognize faces. Even his own brothers are strangers to him. He’s the guy who can re-engineer and rebuild anything, but he can’t understand what’s going on with the inner workings of his brain. So he tells himself to play it cool: Be charming. Be hilarious. Don’t get too close to anyone. Until he meets Libby. When the two get […]

Posted November 17, 2016 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments
Divider

Waiting on Wednesday: Gemina by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Waiting on Wednesday: Gemina by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

  What I love This week’s book comes out in just six short days! None of us have to wait very long. I think that Gemina is one of most people’s highly anticipated reads for this year. I know that I’ve been looking forward to it since I closed Illuminae for the first time. However I wanted to take this WoW post to urge you to try the Illuminae and Gemina Audio books! I know that you wouldn’t think the Epistolary format of this books would make good audio books. However, I just finished listening to the Illuminae audio book in my car and it’s one of the best audio books I’ve ever heard. It has a full cast and tons of special effects. Just like the combination of primary documents in the physical books drags you into the story, the audio book is captivating. It’s impossible to walk away from. This Waiting on Wednesday is a special edition because I can’t wait for the Gemina Audio! I’ve already preordered the YA Chronicles box, so I will be getting a Gemina Hardcover but you can bet I will be listening to the audio as well. Do you like audio books?

Posted October 12, 2016 by Emily in WoW / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff Series: The Illuminae Files, #1 Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on October 20th 2015 Buy on Amazon This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing sheÂ’d have to do. This afternoon, her planet was invaded. The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet thatÂ’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit. But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say whatÂ’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again. Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, […]

Posted October 20, 2015 by Emily in Uncategorized / 0 Comments
Divider