Publisher: Razorbill

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016

Posted November 29, 2016 by Emily in Events and Features, Top 10 / 9 Comments

10 Contemporary Books to Buy to add Diversity to Your Bookshelf

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016All American Boys by Jason Reynolds, Brendan Kiely
Published by Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books on September 29th 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads
Pages: 316
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Rashad is absent again today.
That’s the sidewalk graffiti that started it all…
Well, no, actually, a lady tripping over Rashad at the store, making him drop a bag of chips, was what started it all. Because it didn’t matter what Rashad said next—that it was an accident, that he wasn’t stealing—the cop just kept pounding him. Over and over, pummeling him into the pavement. So then Rashad, an ROTC kid with mad art skills, was absent again…and again…stuck in a hospital room. Why? Because it looked like he was stealing. And he was a black kid in baggy clothes. So he must have been stealing.
And that’s how it started.
And that’s what Quinn, a white kid, saw. He saw his best friend’s older brother beating the daylights out of a classmate. At first Quinn doesn’t tell a soul…He’s not even sure he understands it. And does it matter? The whole thing was caught on camera, anyway. But when the school—and nation—start to divide on what happens, blame spreads like wildfire fed by ugly words like “racism” and “police brutality.” Quinn realizes he’s got to understand it, because, bystander or not, he’s a part of history. He just has to figure out what side of history that will be.
Rashad and Quinn—one black, one white, both American—face the unspeakable truth that racism and prejudice didn’t die after the civil rights movement. There’s a future at stake, a future where no one else will have to be absent because of police brutality. They just have to risk everything to change the world.
Cuz that’s how it can end.

This book is so relevant to some of the social issues we’re facing in the United States today. I loved the dual perspectives because it made the story not just relatable, but easier to understand because I am white. I highly, highly recommend this one for all ages and races.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016Ghost by Jason Reynolds
Published by Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books on August 30th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads
Pages: 192
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

A National Book Award Finalist for Young People’s Literature.
Ghost wants to be the fastest sprinter on his elite middle school track team, but his past is slowing him down in this first electrifying novel of a brand-new series from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe Award–winning author Jason Reynolds.
Ghost. Lu. Patina. Sunny. Four kids from wildly different backgrounds with personalities that are explosive when they clash. But they are also four kids chosen for an elite middle school track team—a team that could qualify them for the Junior Olympics if they can get their acts together. They all have a lot to lose, but they also have a lot to prove, not only to each other, but to themselves.
Ghost has a crazy natural talent, but no formal training. If he can stay on track, literally and figuratively, he could be the best sprinter in the city. But Ghost has been running for the wrong reasons—it all starting with running away from his father, who, when Ghost was a very little boy, chased him and his mother through their apartment, then down the street, with a loaded gun, aiming to kill. Since then, Ghost has been the one causing problems—and running away from them—until he meets Coach, an ex-Olympic Medalist who blew his own shot at success by using drugs, and who is determined to keep other kids from blowing their shots at life.

This is a middle grades book, but it is so good! If you have kids, are a teacher, or just want some insight on a tween boy who grew up under rough circumstances but found a positive outlet in running track, pick this up.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on January 24th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

This is a heart wrenching kind of book. I enjoy a lot of true crime shows and have found myself watching documentaries on kids being accused of committing murder at  young age, so I was drawn to this one immediately. Mary is black and was accused at age 9 of killing a 3 month old baby and now after years of time in “baby jail” and a treacherous group home she finds out she’s pregnant. This book shows that sometimes the whole story isn’t told and you can’t always judge a person based on appearances.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
Published by Delacorte Press on November 1st 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.
Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.
The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

I love this book so much. Definitely top 5 of 2016 for me. A mixture of fate, logic, and interracial love is just the beginning of what makes this book fantastic.

 

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on October 4th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads
Pages: 391
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Everyone thinks they know Libby Strout, the girl once dubbed “America’s Fattest Teen.” But no one’s taken the time to look past her weight to get to know who she really is. Following her mom’s death, she’s been picking up the pieces in the privacy of her home, dealing with her heartbroken father and her own grief. Now, Libby’s ready: for high school, for new friends, for love, and for every possibility life has to offer. In that moment, I know the part I want to play here at MVB High. I want to be the girl who can do anything. 
Everyone thinks they know Jack Masselin, too. Yes, he’s got swagger, but he’s also mastered the impossible art of giving people what they want, of fitting in. What no one knows is that Jack has a newly acquired secret: he can’t recognize faces. Even his own brothers are strangers to him. He’s the guy who can re-engineer and rebuild anything, but he can’t understand what’s going on with the inner workings of his brain. So he tells himself to play it cool: Be charming. Be hilarious. Don’t get too close to anyone.
Until he meets Libby. When the two get tangled up in a cruel high school game—which lands them in group counseling and community service—Libby and Jack are both pissed, and then surprised. Because the more time they spend together, the less alone they feel. Because sometimes when you meet someone, it changes the world, theirs and yours.

America’s formerly fattest teen ends up back in school after several years of being out and becomes a target of Fat Girl Rodeo. Little does she know that one of the boys who targeted her suffers from prosopagnosia. When they have to serve a sort of detention together, they discover things about themselves and each other.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera
Published by Soho Teen on June 2nd 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads, LGBT
Pages: 293
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

In his twisty, gritty, profoundly moving debut—called “mandatory reading” by the New York Times—Adam Silvera brings to life a charged, dangerous near-future summer in the Bronx.
In the months after his father's suicide, it's been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again--but he's still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he's slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely.
When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron's crew notices, and they're not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can't deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends. Since Aaron can't stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute's revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is.
Why does happiness have to be so hard?

Recommended by my dear friend, MC from Blame the Books & Cornerfolds, More Happy Than Not is not one that I have personally read but is on my upcoming TBR. This book is focused on a teenage boy overcoming the heartache associated with his father’s suicide. He meets another boy and starts to feel happiness again despite others’ weariness.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin
Published by Balzer + Bray on February 2nd 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads, LGBT
Pages: 352
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The first thing you’re going to want to know about me is: Am I a boy, or am I a girl?
Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. The thing is…Riley isn’t exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in uber-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley’s so-called “normal” life.
On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it’s REALLY like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley’s starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley’s real identity, threatening exposure. Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

Another recommendation by MC! This is about a gender fluid teen who feels female  some days and male other days. However, she hasn’t come out yet and is encouraged to make a blog as a way of dealing with her feelings. It started anonymously, but someone discovered her identity and has threatened to out her. She has a decision to make!

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry
Published by Razorbill on January 26th 2016
Genres: Magical Realism
Pages: 396
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Natalie Cleary must risk her future and leap blindly into a vast unknown for the chance to build a new world with the boy she loves.
Natalie’s last summer in her small Kentucky hometown is off to a magical start... until she starts seeing the “wrong things.” They’re just momentary glimpses at first—her front door is red instead of its usual green, there’s a pre-school where the garden store should be. But then her whole town disappears for hours, fading away into rolling hills and grazing buffalo, and Nat knows something isn’t right.
That’s when she gets a visit from the kind but mysterious apparition she calls “Grandmother,” who tells her: “You have three months to save him.” The next night, under the stadium lights of the high school football field, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau, and it’s as if time just stops and nothing exists. Nothing, except Natalie and Beau.
Emily Henry’s stunning debut novel is Friday Night Lights meets The Time Traveler’s Wife, and perfectly captures those bittersweet months after high school, when we dream not only of the future, but of all the roads and paths we’ve left untaken.

The diverse representation in this book centers on Native American heritage and culture. It’s mostly contemporary with a bit of fantasy, but the blend and balance is so unusual and makes for an awesome read.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016Wonder by R.J. Palacio
Published by Knopf on February 14th 2012
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse Reads
Pages: 320
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.
August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He's about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you've ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie's just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, despite appearances?
R. J. Palacio has written a spare, warm, uplifting story that will have readers laughing one minute and wiping away tears the next. With wonderfully realistic family interactions (flawed, but loving), lively school scenes, and short chapters, Wonder is accessible to readers of all levels.

This is another middle grades book, but it’s truly powerful. Auggie suffers from facial anomalies and was homeschooled for most of his life. When he finally goes to public school in fifth grade, he faces a lot of criticism. In the end, he teaches the entire fifth grade and those around him a valuable lesson on seeing beyond a person’s disabilities.

.

TTT: Holiday Gift Guide 2016Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern
Published by HarperTeen on June 3rd 2014
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 218
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

John Green's The Fault in Our Stars meets Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park in this beautifully written, incredibly honest, and emotionally poignant novel. Cammie McGovern's insightful young adult debut is a heartfelt and heartbreaking story about how we can all feel lost until we find someone who loves us because of our faults, not in spite of them.
Born with cerebral palsy, Amy can't walk without a walker, talk without a voice box, or even fully control her facial expressions. Plagued by obsessive-compulsive disorder, Matthew is consumed with repeated thoughts, neurotic rituals, and crippling fear. Both in desperate need of someone to help them reach out to the world, Amy and Matthew are more alike than either ever realized.
When Amy decides to hire student aides to help her in her senior year at Coral Hills High School, these two teens are thrust into each other's lives. As they begin to spend time with each other, what started as a blossoming friendship eventually grows into something neither expected.

I haven’t read this, but have heard a ton of great things about this book. It’s based on a teen with cerabyl Palsy and another student with crippling OCD.

Tags:

Divider

Top Ten Tuesday: 1

Posted November 8, 2016 by Kendice in Events and Features, Top 10 / 1 Comment

Ten Books I’ve Added To My To-Be-Read List Lately

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish

1.

Top Ten Tuesday: 1No Good Deed by Kara Connolly
Published by Delacorte Press on July 18th 2017
Pages: 352
Goodreads

Fans of Dorothy Must Die will love this reimagining of the legend of Robin Hood. Girl power rules supreme when a modern girl finds herself in the middle of a medieval mess with only her smart mouth and her Olympic-archer aim to get her home.
Ellie Hudson is the front-runner on the road to gold for the U.S. Olympic archery team. All she has to do is qualify at the trials in jolly old England. When Ellie makes some kind of crazy wrong turn in the caverns under Nottingham Castle—yes, that Nottingham—she ends up in medieval England.
Ellie doesn’t care how she got to the Middle Ages; she just wants to go home before she gets the plague. But people are suffering in Nottingham, and Ellie has the skills to make it better. What’s an ace archer to do while she’s stuck in Sherwood Forest but make like Robin Hood?
Pulled into a past life as an outlaw, Ellie feels her present fading away next to daring do-gooding and a devilishly handsome knight. Only, Ellie is on the brink of rewriting history, and when she picks up her bow and arrow, her next shot could save her past—or doom civilization’s future.

This is the newest book added to my TBR! I was cruising IG and came across a post by Uppercase and read in her comment thread that this was a Robin Hood, but with a female MC. My interest was piqued immediately! I absolutely love retellings and I can’t wait, even though it will be potentially for another 8 months for this one!

2.

Top Ten Tuesday: 1The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
Published by Balzer + Bray on February 28th 2017
Pages: 464
Goodreads

Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, Angie Thomas’s searing debut about an ordinary girl in extraordinary circumstances addresses issues of racism and police violence with intelligence, heart, and unflinching honesty. Soon to be a major motion picture from Fox 2000/Temple Hill Productions.
Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.
Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil’s name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr.
But what Starr does—or does not—say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life.

I heard about this books quite a few months ago and wanted to read it then. The pictures of the new ARCs reminded me that it was coming soon and I officially added it to Goodreads. Black Lives Matter is such an important movement right now and as a white woman I find it essential to read everything I can that will help me understand things that will open my eyes to others’ realities. I’m looking forward to this one. Hurry up February!

3.

Top Ten Tuesday: 1Wait for Me by Caroline Leech
Published by HarperTeen on January 31st 2017
Pages: 384
Goodreads

The perfect blend of sweet romance and historical flavor, Wait for Me, from debut author Caroline Leech, brings a fresh new voice to a much-loved genre.
It’s 1945, and Lorna Anderson’s life on her father’s farm in Scotland consists of endless chores and rationing, knitting Red Cross scarves, and praying for an Allied victory. So when Paul Vogel, a German prisoner of war, is assigned as the new farmhand, Lorna is appalled. How can she possibly work alongside the enemy when her own brothers are risking their lives for their country?
But as Lorna reluctantly spends time with Paul, she feels herself changing. The more she learns about him—from his time in the war to his life back home in Germany—the more she sees the boy behind the soldier. Soon Lorna is battling her own warring heart. Loving Paul could mean losing her family and the life she’s always known. With tensions rising all around them, Lorna must decide how much she’s willing to sacrifice before the end of the war determines their fate.

Wait for Me is by one of the Swanky 17’s author. I love historical fiction with a bit of romance, so when I read the description it was an immediate “Want to Read” for me. I also love reading and supporting debut authors, so it’s a win-win.

4.

Top Ten Tuesday: 1Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown
Published by HarperTeen on August 30th 2016
Pages: 432
Goodreads

Joanna Gordon has been out and proud for years, but when her popular radio evangelist father remarries and decides to move all three of them from Atlanta to the more conservative Rome, Georgia, he asks Jo to do the impossible: to lie low for the rest of her senior year. And Jo reluctantly agrees.
Although it is (mostly) much easier for Jo to fit in as a straight girl, things get complicated when she meets Mary Carlson, the oh-so-tempting sister of her new friend at school. But Jo couldn’t possibly think of breaking her promise to her dad. Even if she’s starting to fall for the girl. Even if there’s a chance Mary Carlson might be interested in her, too. Right?

The cover of this book has caught my attention on more than one occasion, but what ultimately made me add it to my TBR was a recommendation I read on author Becky Albertalli’s Twitter. She and some others chimed in saying what a good read it is, so I added it to my Amazon cart and GR!

5.

Top Ten Tuesday: 1The Only Thing Worse Than Me Is You by Lily Anderson
Published by St. Martin's Griffin on May 17th 2016
Pages: 352
Goodreads

Trixie Watson has two very important goals for senior year: to finally save enough to buy the set of Doctor Who figurines at the local comic books store, and to place third in her class and knock Ben West--and his horrendous new mustache that he spent all summer growing--down to number four.
Trixie will do anything to get her name ranked over Ben's, including give up sleep and comic books--well, maybe not comic books--but definitely sleep. After all, the war of Watson v. West is as vicious as the Doctor v. Daleks and Browncoats v. Alliance combined, and it goes all the way back to the infamous monkey bars incident in the first grade. Over a decade later, it's time to declare a champion once and for all.
The war is Trixie's for the winning, until her best friend starts dating Ben's best friend and the two are unceremoniously dumped together and told to play nice. Finding common ground is odious and tooth-pullingly-painful, but Trixie and Ben's cautious truce slowly transforms into a fandom-based tentative friendship. When Trixie's best friend gets expelled for cheating and Trixie cries foul play, however, they have to choose who to believe and which side they're on--and they might not pick the same side.

Another Becky Albertalli recommendation! She called this one, “literally nerd heaven in book form.” Who would not want to read that?! I didn’t just add this to my Amazon cart or Goodreads, I bought it immediately! I can’t wait for it to come in so I can dive right in.

6.

Top Ten Tuesday: 1Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith
Published by Delacorte Press on May 2nd 2017
Pages: 432
Goodreads

Alice doesn’t believe in luck—at least, not the good kind. But she does believe in love, and for some time now, she’s been pining for her best friend, Teddy. On his eighteenth birthday—just when it seems they might be on the brink of something—she buys him a lottery ticket on a lark. To their astonishment, he wins $140 million, and in an instant, everything changes.
At first, it seems like a dream come true, especially since the two of them are no strangers to misfortune. As a kid, Alice won the worst kind of lottery possible when her parents died just over a year apart from each other. And Teddy’s father abandoned his family not long after that, leaving them to grapple with his gambling debts. Through it all, Teddy and Alice have leaned on each other. But now, as they negotiate the ripple effects of Teddy’s newfound wealth, a gulf opens between them. And soon, the money starts to feel like more of a curse than a windfall.
As they try to find their way back to each other, Alice learns more about herself than she ever could have imagined . . . and about the unexpected ways in which luck and love sometimes intersect.

This is an add to my TBR purely based on the author. I adored Jennifer E. Smith’s other books.

7.

Top Ten Tuesday: 1The Royal We by Heather Cocks, Jessica Morgan
Published by Grand Central Publishing on April 7th 2015
Pages: 454
Goodreads

"I might be Cinderella today, but I dread who they'll think I am tomorrow. I guess it depends on what I do next."
American Rebecca Porter was never one for fairy tales. Her twin sister, Lacey, has always been the romantic who fantasized about glamour and royalty, fame and fortune. Yet it's Bex who seeks adventure at Oxford and finds herself living down the hall from Prince Nicholas, Great Britain's future king. And when Bex can't resist falling for Nick, the person behind the prince, it propels her into a world she did not expect to inhabit, under a spotlight she is not prepared to face.
Dating Nick immerses Bex in ritzy society, dazzling ski trips, and dinners at Kensington Palace with him and his charming, troublesome brother, Freddie. But the relationship also comes with unimaginable baggage: hysterical tabloids, Nick's sparkling and far more suitable ex-girlfriends, and a royal family whose private life is much thornier and more tragic than anyone on the outside knows. The pressures are almost too much to bear, as Bex struggles to reconcile the man she loves with the monarch he's fated to become.
Which is how she gets into trouble.
Now, on the eve of the wedding of the century, Bex is faced with whether everything she's sacrificed for love-her career, her home, her family, maybe even herself-will have been for nothing.

I can’t remember the author who asked for chick lit recs (I think it was Susan Dennard) and tonssss of people recommended this one! I asked my group of friends if anyone had read it and Tracy at Cornerfolds also really enjoyed it. I picked this up at the library and I’m about a quarter of the way through. So far it’s super cute and swoon worthy!

8.

Top Ten Tuesday: 1RoseBlood by A.G. Howard
Published by Amulet Books on January 10th 2017
Pages: 432
Goodreads

In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale of unrequited love turned to madness, seventeen-year-old Rune Germain has a mysterious affliction linked to her operatic talent, and a horrifying mistake she’s trying to hide. Hoping creative direction will help her, Rune’s mother sends her to a French arts conservatory for her senior year, located in an opera house rumored to have ties to The Phantom of the Opera.
At RoseBlood, Rune secretly befriends the masked Thorn—an elusive violinist who not only guides her musical transformation through dreams that seem more real than reality itself, but somehow knows who she is behind her own masks. As the two discover an otherworldly connection and a soul-deep romance blossoms, Thorn’s dark agenda comes to light and he’s forced to make a deadly choice: lead Rune to her destruction, or face the wrath of the phantom who has haunted the opera house for a century, and is the only father he’s ever known.

I may be a black sheep here, but I struggled to get into AG Howards book Splintered. It could have been some outside source of a book slump or the fact that I’m not exactly a Wonderland fan, but I do plan to attempt it again at some point. Anyway, I wasn’t initially all that interested in Roseblood until my friend Aila at One Way or an Author told me it was fantastic! Now I can’t wait for January!

9.

Top Ten Tuesday: 1Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza
Published by Razorbill on February 7th 2017
Pages: 344
Goodreads

EmpressRhee, better known as Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta’an, is the sole surviving heir to a powerful dynasty. She’ll stop at nothing to avenge her family and claim her throne.
FugitiveAly has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a holo-vision show. But when he’s falsely accused of killing Rhee, he's forced to prove his innocence to save his reputation – and his life.
MadmanWith planets on the brink of war, Rhee and Aly are thrown together to confront a ruthless evil that threatens the fate of the entire galaxy.
***
Rhoda Belleza crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy in her exhilarating debut, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Pierce Brown.

First off, this cover is stunning. It’s hard to ignore and not be drawn in! The selling point for me was when I heard it was like Game of Thrones in outer space. That sounds super original and exciting. February won’t come fast enough!

10.

Top Ten Tuesday: 1Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on January 24th 2017
Pages: 400
Goodreads

Mary B. Addison killed a baby.
Allegedly. She didn’t say much in that first interview with detectives, and the media filled in the only blanks that mattered: A white baby had died while under the care of a church-going black woman and her nine-year-old daughter. The public convicted Mary and the jury made it official. But did she do it? She wouldn’t say.
Mary survived six years in baby jail before being dumped in a group home. The house isn’t really “home”—no place where you fear for your life can be considered a home. Home is Ted, who she meets on assignment at a nursing home.
There wasn’t a point to setting the record straight before, but now she’s got Ted—and their unborn child—to think about. When the state threatens to take her baby, Mary must find the voice to fight her past. And her fate lies in the hands of the one person she distrusts the most: her Momma. No one knows the real Momma. But who really knows the real Mary?
In this gritty and haunting debut, Tiffany D. Jackson explores the grey areas in our understanding of justice, family, and truth, and acknowledges the light and darkness alive in all of us.

Another breathtaking cover that’s super intriguing. Perhaps that’s what caught my interest, but the synopsis is what convinced me. Honestly, this sounds like a super heavy read that I suspect will be very emotional. I recently made a trade for this one and I’m so anxious for it to arrive.

kendice-signature1

Tags:

Divider

Review: The Love the Split the World

Review: The Love the Split the World

The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry Published by Razorbill on January 26th 2016 Genres: Magical Realism Pages: 396 Buy on Amazon Natalie Cleary must risk her future and leap blindly into a vast unknown for the chance to build a new world with the boy she loves. NatalieÂ’s last summer in her small Kentucky hometown is off to a magical start… until she starts seeing the “wrong things.” TheyÂ’re just momentary glimpses at first—her front door is red instead of its usual green, thereÂ’s a pre-school where the garden store should be. But then her whole town disappears for hours, fading away into rolling hills and grazing buffalo, and Nat knows something isnÂ’t right. ThatÂ’s when she gets a visit from the kind but mysterious apparition she calls “Grandmother,” who tells her: “You have three months to save him.” The next night, under the stadium lights of the high school football field, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau, and itÂ’s as if time just stops and nothing exists. Nothing, except Natalie and Beau. Emily HenryÂ’s stunning debut novel is Friday Night Lights meets The Time TravelerÂ’s Wife, and perfectly captures those bittersweet months after high school, when we dream not only of the future, but of all the roads and paths weÂ’ve left untaken. I really didnÂ’t know what I was getting into when I […]

Posted July 4, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

The Glittering Court

The Glittering Court

  I am so excited that THE GLITTERING COURT by Richelle Mead releases today and that I get to share the news, along with a special giveaway!   If you havenÂ’t yet heard about this wonderful book by Author Richelle Mead, be sure to check out all the details below.   This blitz also includes a giveaway for a signed copy of the book and a $25 Sephora Gift Card courtesy of Richelle, Penguin Teen, and Rockstar Book Tours. So if youÂ’d like a chance to win, enter in the Rafflecopter at the bottom of this post. About The Book:   Title: THE GLITTERING COURT Author: Richelle Mead Pub. Date: April 5, 2016 Publisher: Razorbill Format: Hardcover, eBook, & audiobook Find it: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Goodreads   The Selection meets Reign in this dazzling trilogy of interwoven novels about three girls on a quest for freedom and true love from #1 internationally bestselling author Richelle Mead. “Brilliant and original, MeadÂ’s new series starts off with a bang and will leave readers on the edge of their seats until the very end.” —School Library Journal For a select group of girls, the Glittering Court offers a shot at a life theyÂ’ve only ever dreamed of, one of luxury, glamour, and leisure. To high-born Adelaide, whose wealthy family is forcing her into a loveless marriage, the Glittering Court represents something else: the chance to chart her own destiny, and adventure in an unspoiled, prosperous new land across the […]

Posted April 6, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Review: 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher Published by Razorbill on June 14th 2011 Genres: Fiction, Social Issues Format: Paperback Source: library Buy on Amazon You can’t stop the future. You can’t rewind the past. The only way to learn the secret. . . is to press play. Clay Jensen doesn’t want anything to do with the tapes Hannah Baker made. Hannah is dead. Her secrets should be buried with her. Then Hannah’s voice tells Clay that his name is on her tapes– and that he is, in some way, responsible for her death. All through the night, Clay keeps listening. He follows Hannah’s recorded words throughout his small town. . . . . .and what he discovers changes his life forever. This book was a tragedy. There’s no two ways about that. When the book starts, the main character is already gone. She killed herself. All that’s left are the reasons behind it. The 13 Reasons Why, a baker’s dozen of reasons that explain why she made this terrible final decisions, in her own words. Hannah made cassette tapes, one side for every reason, to explain herself. Every reason is also a person who had something to do with Hannah’s decision. When Clay Jensen receives the tapes, he realizes that he is one of the 13 people who will get to hear Hannah’s last words because, according to her, […]

Posted December 14, 2015 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider