Publisher: Scholastic Press

Rockstar Review: Umberland

Posted May 12, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 1 Comment

Rockstar Review: Umberland

Rockstar Review: UmberlandUmberland by Wendy Spinale
Series: Everland #2
Published by Scholastic Press on May 9th, 2017
Pages: 288
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

What began with a reimagining of Peter Pan and Wendy now twists into a stunning version of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass!
Gwen, Pete, and the others have escaped from Everland. But the safe haven they hoped to find at Alnwick Castle doesn't exist. With the Queen of England on her deathbed, Duchess Alyssa has stepped in to lead, but things have gotten worse as the cure Doc created for the Horologia virus has mutated, accelerating the disease. The only possible solution he can think of is to go back to the virus's origin: an extinct poisonous apple.
Legend has it a tree bearing the apple might be found at the center of a deadly labyrinth hidden deep within Germany. A place that no one in their right mind enters. Leaving Pete in charge of the survivors, Alyssa sets out with only her sword, her wits, and the help of Maddox Hadder, a wild boy who oversees the castle gardens. To get to the center of the maze, she'll be forced to battle monsters more terrifying than her darkest nightmares.
But can anyone truly survive the madness of the maze? And what if there's no apple to be found there?

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Find it: AmazonBarnes & NobleTBD, iBooksGoodreads

About the Author

I must admit, I have lived an extraordinary life and will forever be grateful for the opportunities I have had.

I was the middle of three kids, my older brother being deaf for as far back as I can remember. At the time, I didn’t realize how much that would later impact my life. I was a sign language interpreter for a short time (although I’m extremely rusty now), taught my kids to sign as infants, and now am using that experience in my current manuscript.

During college I was living in southern California working for Disneyland as a Cast Member in the Entertainment Department. I met my husband there who was also a performer. After four incredible years working with the Mouse, we moved to his hometown in the Bay Area.

I eventually got my Bachelor’s in Kinesiology and worked in the fitness industry for ten years before a knee injury ended my career. Not sure what to do with my time, I applied to job posting to be an online journalist. I loved writing, but had no experience. I didn’t hear back so I wrote up a review about a local restaurant and sent it to them to prove I could do the job. Twenty-four hours later, I was a journalist with AOL Media/Pleasanton Patch.

I spent three great years with them before cut backs forced me without a job again. That’s when I started writing my first novel, which went nowhere. Dozens of rejection letters later. I started a second book. A year later I was offered representation by Thao Le from Sandra Dijkstra Literary Agency and within another six months I was offered a book deal. EVERLAND (Scholastic) is scheduled to debut Summer of 2016!

Today I live in the Bay Area with my husband and three sons who are my biggest fans. While they’re off at work and school, I bounce ideas off my four-legged, furry family members, Odie and Sammy.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram

Follow the Tour

Week One:
5/1/2017Tales of the Ravenous ReaderInterview
5/2/2017A Glass Of Wine BlogReview
5/3/2017Margie’s Must ReadsExcerpt
5/4/2017Swoony Boys PodcastReview
5/5/2017Brittany’s Book RamblesGuest Post

Week Two:
5/8/2017BookHounds YAReview
5/9/2017Two Chicks on BooksInterview
5/10/2017History from a Woman’s PerspectiveReview
5/11/2017YA Books CentralInterview
5/12/2017Emily Reads Everything Spotlight

Giveaway

3 winners will receive a finished copy of UMBERLAND, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/ZTIzODliYTI4ZTEzMGVjODBhNzA2MmFmMTU3YWM3OjU3OA==/?

Tags:

Divider

Rockstar tour Review: Hearts and Other Body Parts

Posted March 31, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 0 Comments

Rockstar tour Review: Hearts and Other Body Parts

Rockstar tour Review: Hearts and Other Body PartsHearts & Other Body Parts by Ira Bloom
Published by Scholastic Press on March 28th 2017
Genres: humor, paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: hardcover
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

A novel of love and monsters.
Sisters Esme, Katy, and Ronnie are smart, talented, and gorgeous, and better yet . . . all three are witches. They have high school wired until the arrival of two new students. The first is Norman, who is almost eight feet tall and appears to be constructed of bolts and mismatched body parts. Despite his intimidating looks, Esme finds herself strangely -- almost romantically -- drawn to both his oversized brain and oversized heart.
The second new arrival is Zack, an impossibly handsome late transfer from the UK who has the girls at school instantly mesmerized. Soon even sensible Esme has forgotten Norman, and all three sisters are in a flat-out hex war to win Zack. But while the magic is flying, only Norman seems to notice that students who wander off alone with Zack end up with crushed bones and memory loss. Or worse, missing entirely.
Hearts & Other Body Parts is a wickedly addictive novel about love, monsters, and loyalty. And oh yeah, a Japanese corpse-eating demon cat.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Hearts and Other Body Parts is a B-movie of a book. It’s terrible. The characters are flat and stereotypical. They have their roles and they stick to them. All of the characters act in silly ways with simple, poorly defined motivations. The villain is cartoonish and all the adults in town are clueless.

Needless to say, it’s hilarious.

Esme, Katy and Ronnie are sisters and witches. Each of them have different strengths. Esme is the smart one, Ronnie is the pretty one and Katy is best at spells. They live an idyllic life with their father and absent mother. Then Norman Stein moves to town. His full name is Frank N. Stein but he goes by his middle name for obvious reasons. He has a genetic condition that has resulted in many surgeries. He still has the bolts in his neck from the last one. He may look like a monster but he is actually a gentle giant genius. He becomes close with the sisters until Zakary moves to town. Zakary’s pale complexion and irresistible nature has all the girls chasing him. You can guess what happens next.

Esme and Norm are perfect together and Ronnie and Katy are just a mess. Zack was a perfect caricature of evil; all smile and no substance. Despite being predictable, this book was a great read. It’s fast and silly and fun. You want to read this after something heavy when you need a book that doesn’t take itself seriously. 

This is for fans of Sharknado and other terrible movies. If you love laughing at ridiculousness, this book is for you.

About the Author

I grew up in Annapolis Maryland. My mother is an artist and my father was a judge on the Maryland Court of Special Appeals.

I studied English Literature at the University of Maryland, College Park. I also have some background in Eastern religions. After college I moved to Japan, where I taught ESL. I married a beautiful Japanese woman named Yasuko, moved to LA and taught junior high school English, ESL, and Japanese for the Los Angeles Unified School district. I am conversational in Japanese, but by no means consider myself fluent. After serving my debt to society in LA Unified, I went into the fashion business with my wife, who is a very talented fashion designer and is likely to read this, so I can’t say enough good things about her. We eventually branched into the vintage kimono business. I probably know more about Japanese textiles than any straight white man you’re likely to encounter. I’ve been writing humor for FUNNY TIMES since 2010. I currently live in West Sonoma County with my family and an assortment of furry beasts.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Follow the Tour

Week One

3/20/2017- Adventures of a Book Junkie– Interview
3/21/2017- Here’s to Happy Endings– Review
3/22/2017- BookHounds YA– Guest Post
3/23/2017- YA Books Central– Review
3/24/2017- Tales of the Ravenous Reader– Interview

Week Two

3/27/2017- Beauty and the Bookshelf– Review
3/28/2017- Novel Novice– Guest Post
3/29/2017- Eli to the nth– Review
3/30/2017- The Cover Contessa– Interview
3/31/2017- Emily Reads Everything– Review

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

3 winners will receive a finished copy of HEARTS & OTHER BODY PARTS, US Only.

 

four-stars

Tags:

Divider

Frost by M.P. Kozlowsky: Spotlight & Giveaway

Frost by M.P. Kozlowsky: Spotlight & Giveaway

Frost by M.P. Kozlowsky Published by Scholastic Press on October 11th 2016 Genres: Sci Fi, Dystopian, Young Adult Pages: 352 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads The Robots Are Rising Sixteen-year-old Frost understands why she’s spent her entire life in an abandoned apartment building. The ruined streets below are hunting grounds for rogue robots and Eaters. She understands why she’s never met a human besides her father. She even understands why he forbids her to look for medicine for her dying pet. But the thing is, it’s not her real father giving the orders . . . It’s his memories. Before he died, Frost’s father uploaded his consciousness into their robot servant. But the technology malfunctioned, and now her father fades in and out. So when Frost learns that there might be medicine on the other side of the ravaged city, she embarks on a dangerous journey to save the only living creature she loves. With only a robot as a companion, Frost must face terrors of all sorts, from outrunning the vicious Eaters . . . to talking to the first boy she’s ever set eyes on. But can a girl who’s only seen the world through books and dusty windows survive on her own? Or will her first journey from home be her last? This dystopian has robots, genetically engineered pets and monsters lurking […]

Posted October 10, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 0 Comments
Divider

ARC Review: Everland

ARC Review: Everland

Everland by Wendy Spinale Series: Everland #1 Published by Scholastic Press on May 10th 2016 Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult Pages: 320 Format: Paperback Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon Forget the story of Peter Pan you know. Because in Everland, the only way to grow up is to survive. London has been destroyed in a blitz of bombs and disease. The only ones who have survived are children, among them Gwen Darling and her siblings, Joanna and Mikey. They spend their nights scavenging and their days avoiding the ruthless Marauders — the German Army led by Captain Hanz Otto Oswald Kretschmer. Unsure if the virus has spread past England’s borders but desperate to leave, Captain Hook hunts for a cure, which he thinks can be found in one of the survivors. He and his Marauders stalk the streets snatching children for experimentation. None ever return. Until the day they grab Joanna. As Gwen sets out to save her, she meets a mysterious boy named Pete. Pete offers the assistance of his gang of Lost Boys and the fierce sharpshooter Bella, who have all been living in a city hidden underground. But in a place where help has a steep price and every promise is bound by blood, it will cost Gwen. And are she, Pete, the Lost Boys, and Bella enough to outsmart Captain Hook? Everland blows every […]

Posted May 26, 2016 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Mini Review: George by Alex Gino

Mini Review: George by Alex Gino

George by Alex Gino Published by Scholastic Press on August 25th 2015 Genres: LGBT Format: hardcover Source: library Buy on Amazon BE WHO YOU ARE. When people look at George, they think they see a boy. But she knows she’s not a boy. She knows she’s a girl. George thinks she’ll have to keep this a secret forever. Then her teacher announces that their class play is going to be Charlotte’s Web. George really, really, REALLY wants to play Charlotte. But the teacher says she can’t even try out for the part . . . because she’s a boy.   With the help of her best friend, Kelly, George comes up with a plan. Not just so she can be Charlotte — but so everyone can know who she is, once and for all. I loved this book! I’m so excited to have read it and be able to recommend it to everyone! However, its really difficult for me to review a book like this. I don’t know how to say enough nice things about it. The writing is top notch.  The story is told from George’s perspective. I loved reading about her thoughts and feelings. She knows she is really Melissa inside but she’s afraid that no one will understand. She spends all her time focusing on hiding her true self. while at the same time she hates […]

Posted December 10, 2015 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider