Publisher: Silver Wing Press

Review: Vortex Visions by Elise Kova

Posted January 14, 2019 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment

Review: Vortex Visions by Elise KovaVortex Visions by Elise Kova
Series: Air Awakens: Vortex Chronicles #1, Air Awakens #6
Published by Silver Wing Press on 2/4/19
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: ebook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

A desperate princess, a magical traveler, and a watch that binds them together with the fate of a dying world.

Vi Solaris is the heir to an Empire she’s barely seen. Her parents sacrificed a life with her to quell a rebellion and secure peace with a political alliance. Now, three years past when her wardship should’ve ended, Vi will do anything to be reunited with her family.

The Empire is faltering beneath the burden of political infighting and a deadly plague. Yet, Vi can’t help but wonder if her inability to control her magic is the true reason her parents haven’t brought her home. Suspicion becomes reality when she unleashes powers she’s not supposed to have. 

Powers that might well cost her the throne.

As Vi fights to get her magic under control, a mysterious stranger appears from across the world. He holds the keys to unlocking her full potential, but the knowledge has an unspeakable price — some truths, once seen, cannot be ignored.

All eyes are on her and Vi must make the hardest choice of her life: Play by the rules and claim her throne. Or, break them and save the world.

If you enjoy epic fantasy stories with sorcery, slow-burn romance, and expansive worlds to adventure in, then you’ll love the Vortex Chronicles. Scroll up and one-click now!

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

It was such a pleasure to return to the world of Solaris. It was like meeting back up with an old friend and we got to talking like no time at all had passed. At first it seemed familiar and homey, just like I had left it. However, I surprised to learn just how much things had changed.

It’s hard going into the next series of books in an extended series. If it’s not done well, it can seem old, overdone, maybe a little boring. After 5 books, I would have thought that I knew everything there was to know about the Air Awakens Universe. I thought that the characters would be mostly new and different but the world would stay as I expected it to be.

The best part of this book for me was how quickly my world turned upside down. I love Vi and the other new characters that have been introduced. It’s fun to see how she fits into the lives of other familiar characters. Still, if this is the very first Elise Kova book that you ever read, you can dive right in. Knowing the world isn’t even a little required. We get more Jax! YES! However, if you don’t know and aren’t in love with Jax, you won’t be lost. (And you get the pleasure of meeting and falling in love with him)

I love the Air Awakens series. However, Vortex Visions blows it out of the water. It’s by far the best book of Elise Kova’s I’ve ever read.

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

Review: Society of Wishes by Elise Kova and Lynn Larsh

Posted January 10, 2018 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment

Review: Society of Wishes by Elise Kova and Lynn LarshSociety of Wishes by Elise Kova, Lynn Larsh
Series: Society of Wishes #1
Published by Silver Wing Press on January 29th 2018
Genres: Urban Fantasy, New Adult
Format: ebook
Source: the author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

First book in the Wish Quartet, a new-adult, urban fantasy series

BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU WISH FOR.

Josephina Espinosa makes her living as a hacker-for-hire in the Lone Star Republic, a remnant of the fractured U.S.A. That is, until the day she and her best friend are gunned down in a government raid.

With her dying breath, Jo uses magical lore passed down from her grandmother to summon a wish-granter. Her wish? To save her friend’s life. Except wishes have costs, and for Jo, the price is the erasure of her entire mortal existence.

Now, as the most recent addition to the mysterious Society of Wishes, Jo must form a new “life” alongside the seven other members, one of which being her savior himself. Living as an occupant of the Society’s lavish mansion should be quite the perk, but while it is furnished with everything its inhabitants could possibly need, it lacks one thing—freedom.

Her otherworldly identity crisis takes a backseat, however, when Jo learns that the friend she sacrificed everything for is headed down the same path to ruin. Jumping in head-first, Jo uses her newfound magical abilities to protect him, only to realize that the ripples of her actions have far-reaching consequences. When the Society’s aloof leader Snow decides to give her a taste of his own ancient magic, Jo discovers that there are threads woven into the tapestry of her new reality that reach far beyond the wishes she is now required to grant. Ones that, if tugged on, could mean the unraveling of her existence itself.

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I was really excited that I got the chance to read this one early. I’ve been on pins and needles for it since Elise announced that she was writing an Urban Fantasy novel last year. Urban Fantasy has always been my favorite genre! I love weird and supernatural. Then I found out that this was also going to be Elise’s first New Adult book. That makes this book a combination of my absolute favorite genre and my least favorite age range. After reading it, I can see why she categorized it as New Adult. Jo Espinosa, the MC is 19 but this book could just as easily be categorized as Adult.

The Good

I absolutely loved the premise. Jo Espinosa, with her dying wish, cries out a plea that her friend and family be spared. It’s granted and she pays with her existence. She ‘wakes up’ except now she has never been born and she is instead a part of the Society of Wishes. A Magical team that joins together to grant wishes that are chosen by their leader, the mysterious Snow.

The team is endlessly fascinating. I want to get to know each and every one of them in depth. They each became a part of the team over time as payment for a wish, but what was each wish that was granted? I want to know what they wished for! All 6 other members have their own stories that I can’t wait to learn. They also have their own magical talents that they bring to aide the team. I have my favorites already. This book was very character driven with different personalities coming together to build a great team.

This book is like a Heist story flipped on its head. Instead of building a team to go out and steal something, Snow has put together the perfect team to build something, to grant wishes. I just love the concept. It gives me warm fuzzies.

This book was also a quick read. It’s engaging and it flows quickly from setting the stage to getting into the action. I read it in one day.

The Bad

I didn’t feel like there was any urgency, weight or stakes to anyone’s decisions. Jo makes a semi questionable decision that causes a second semi questionable thing to happen and we are told that it’s bad because it could cause a wish to not be granted. If the wish isn’t granted, then a disease will not be cured and lots of people will die. Jo has help, but the guy who helps her is just publicly shamed. There are not really any consequences above and beyond the moral ones. What are these people’s motivations for granting wishes? Why do they bother and why should I care?

I was also really disappointed in the lack of an overarching conflict that flows to the next book. There’s no real villain, problem or conflict in this book at all. They grant wishes. They’ve never failed at granting a wish yet. In the next book they will probably grant more wishes. Character information will also be revealed about the other 6 Society Members and its leader, Snow. I want the character information. Don’t get me wrong. My favorite part of this book was the team that I can’t wait to get to know better. However, I also would have liked something opposing them, maybe like an Society of Curses, to make things more interesting. Right now I don’t feel a burning need to continue. 

I loved the characters and the premise but I felt there is something fundamental missing from the plot. I am still committed to the series and I can’t wait to learn more about the characters. It just felt like something is missing too.

three-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

Cover Reveal: The Farmer’s War by Elise Kova

Cover Reveal: The Farmer’s War by Elise Kova

Lieutenant Craig Youngly has only ever wanted one thing in his life — to join the illustrious Golden Guard. In pursuit of his goals, he has found himself protege to Raylynn Westwind, notable Guard member and favorite of Prince Baldair. He has fought for two years in the sweltering North and now prepares to embark on a mission on behalf of the Guard that could secure his long-sought membership. It’s the opportunity Craig has been waiting for, until Raylynn’s attention turns toward another swordsman, Daniel Taffl. Daniel has always been a man of modest aspirations. As a farmer’s son from the East, he seeks a soldier’s wage to support a future for the woman of his dreams when he returns from the front lines. It isn’t until he’s conscripted into Craig’s mission that he learns his sword-craft has caught the eyes of the powers above him. Craig sees his mission as an opportunity to impress the guard and exert his authority over Daniel. Daniel sees it merely as the chance to secure a more financially stable future. Their goals seem too simple to go awry. But, in the perilous jungles of the North, luck is something both men find to be in short supply. THE FARMERS WAR is the final installment in the Golde Guard Trilogy, prequel stories to the AIR AWAKENS SERIES: Book One, THE CROWN’S DOG Book […]

Posted April 24, 2017 by Emily in Events and Features / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: The Crown’s Dog by Elise Kova

Review: The Crown’s Dog by Elise Kova

The Crown’s Dog by Elise Kova Series: Air Awakens #0.1 Published by Silver Wing Press on November 22, 2016 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult Pages: 292 Format: ebook Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon Goodreads Book one in an Air Awakens prequel trilogy. A coastal summer is turned upside down by a violent murder, and a quest for lost pirate treasure turns into a hunt for the killer. Jax Wendyll is the crown’s dog. As punishment for the unspeakable crimes that tourment him to this day, his life has been conscripted to the Empire Solaris. However, in an Empire afflicted by peace, his duties are relegated to unquestioningly aiding the antics of the youngest prince, Baldair. Erion Le’Dan, a nobleman’s son, expects a quiet summer visit to the Imperial Palace, his only agenda to visit with his unlikely friends. But Jax’s discovery the legendary pirate Adela Lagmir’s old workroom inspires a hunt for her long lost treasure. The pursuit of Adela’s truth takes the three men to the Imperial summer manor, built along the old pirate mainstays. When Adela’s trident is branded into a murdered servant, Prince Baldair’s summer amusement of treasure-hunting becomes a hunt to find the killer. But, as mysteries compound, the ghosts of Jax’s past may not be the only things haunting them. I received this book for free from Free for Review in exchange for […]

Posted November 21, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

ARC Review: Crystal Crowned by Elise Kova

ARC Review: Crystal Crowned by Elise Kova

Crystal Crowned by Elise Kova Series: Air Awakens #5 Published by Silver Wing Press on July 12th 2016 Genres: Epic, Young Adult Pages: 414 Format: Paperback Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon Long live Solaris. One bloodthirsty ruler has been overthrown by another, casting the shadow of death over the Solaris Empire. Vhalla Yarl stands upon the stage of fate, prepared to do battle one final time. Fragile alliances will be tested and new bonds will be formed as the world is reshaped. She fights as the champion of peace, but when the night is darkest will she be able to pay the price of a new dawn? About the Author Elise Kova has always had a profound love of fantastical worlds. Somehow, she managed to focus on the “real world” long enough to graduate with a MasterÂ’s in Business Administration before crawling back under her favorite writing blanket to conceptualize her next magic system. She currently lives in St. Petersburg, Florida, and when sheÂ’s not writing can be found playing video games, watching anime, or talking with readers on social media. She is the author of the Air Awakens Series as well as the upcoming Loom Saga (Keymaster, 2016). Endings are bittersweet. It’s hard to say goodbye to characters that you have fallen in love with. It’s hard to know that you can’t read a series again for […]

Posted July 12, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

ARC Review: Water’s Wrath

ARC Review: Water’s Wrath

Water’s Wrath by Elise Kova Series: Air Awakens #4 Published by Silver Wing Press on April 26th 2016 Genres: Epic, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult Pages: 378 Format: Paperback Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon Librarian turned sorcerer. Sorcerer turned hero. Hero turned puppet. The Solaris Empire found victory in the North and, at the cost of her heart and her innocence, Vhalla Yarl has earned her freedom. But the true fight is only beginning as the secret forces that have been lurking in the shadows, tugging at the strings of Vhalla’s fate, finally come to light. Nowhere is safe, and Vhalla must tread carefully or else she’ll fall into the waiting arms of her greatest foe. Or former lover. Have you started reading this series yet?!? I can’t stress enough that if you like fantasy, this is a must read. Check out what I said about all the previous books. Air Awakens Fire Falling Earth’s End Water’s Wrath is an immediate continuation of Earth’s End. This is a series folks, you have to read the one before it. If you haven’t you will be completely lost. Yeah, now you are 4 books behind. However, you can still catch up before the final chapter, Crystal Crowned, releases! This series is slowly getting darker. It started out light and fluffy but with every twist and turn Elise Kova is […]

Posted April 25, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Earth’s End by Elise Kova

Review: Earth’s End by Elise Kova

Earth’s End by Elise Kova Series: Air Awakens #3 Published by Silver Wing Press on February 11th 2016 Genres: Epic, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult Pages: 350 Format: ebook, Paperback Buy on Amazon A woman awoken in air, a soldier forged by fire, a weapon risen from blood. Vhalla Yarl has made it to the warfront in the North. Forged by blood and fire, she has steeled her heart for the final battle of the Solaris EmpireÂ’s conquest. The choices before Vhalla are no longer servitude or freedom, they are servitude or death. The stakes have never been higher as the Emperor maintains his iron grip on her fate, holding everything Vhalla still has left to lose in the balance. Book Three of the Air Awakens Series This is the third book of a series. I’ve linked my other two reviews below. Air Awakens Fire Falling My Earth’s End reading experience was filled with firsts for me. I preordered it from Amazon (only my second preorder ever!) but it didn’t arrive on the release day. Luckily, I had won a giveaway from Melissa at The Reader and the Chef a while back, so the e-book file arrived on Thursday right when I needed it. Then, I read the entire book in an intense two hour sprint. I’ve never read a book on release day before! In the past, I’ve […]

Posted February 22, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Happy Birthday Earth’s End!

Happy Birthday Earth’s End!

TODAY IS THE DAY WE ARE ALL WAITING FOR! EARTH’S END RELEASED TODAY I’m so excited about this book. I’ve been waiting for it since before Fire Falling released. This is the only book that I have preordered so far in 2016. Hopefully, I’m reading it right now. If you check out nothing else in this post, read the Tales from the Front! I feel so lucky that I got a chance to participate. Every single one is a different prospective and tells a little about what’s happening between Fire Falling and Earth’s End. If you read them all, you get a glimpse of the bigger picture! There’s also an Earth’s End Excerpt that is definitely worth reading if you are still up in the air about purchasing this book. Though, how could you be? Tales from the Front Leading up to the release of EarthÂ’s End I have been providing bloggers, at random, with exclusive pieces of content – alternate POV snippets – that tell different and new sides to the Air Awakens story. The full list of POVs (in chronological order of story) are: Fritz – Read By Nicka Aldrik – Live. Love. Read. YA Elecia – Emily Reads Everything Aldrik – Dani Reviews Things Fritz – The Reader and the Chef Reale – Mad for Books Emperor Solaris – Sandra the Book Worm Jax – IrisJexx Baldair […]

Posted February 11, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Events and Features / 1 Comment
Divider

Air Awakens Tales from the Front POV 7

Air Awakens Tales from the Front POV 7

Today I am beyond thrilled to be able to share with you the next installment of Elise Kova’s Tales from the front. I’ve known I was going to have a chance to do this for months and it has been so hard not to tell everyone I know. Trust me my family has gotten sick of hearing about it.I loved Air Awakens and Fire Falling and I’ve been eagerly anticipating Earth’s End. I’ve had my preorder in for months. The wait has been hard on all of us. Luckily, we have Elise tormenting us with clues about what’s going to be revealed in Earth’s End. Have you been following these? Elise is a diabolical genius. What Is Tales from the Front? Tales from the Front is a series of notes, alternate POV chapters, and other teasers that take place from just before the end of Fire Falling (Air Awakens, #2) to the beginning of EarthÂ’s End (Air Awakens, #3). They are being sent out at random with the idea that bloggers and readers can ban together to put the puzzle pieces together to find out a different side to the story and uncover truths about the characters. Please, everyone, spread this like wildfire! Bloggers and readers are invited to re-post information so long as they link back to the individual who posted it originally. In fact, this is generally encouraged, as […]

Posted January 24, 2016 by Emily in Events and Features / 9 Comments
Divider

Fire Falling by Elise Kova THREE GIF REVIEW!

Fire Falling by Elise Kova THREE GIF REVIEW!

IT’S FIRE FALLING RELEASE DAY I wanted to celebrate by doing something different. Here’s my first 3 gif review! I tried to pick gifs that encompassed my feelings about this book. It was extremely difficult to find the perfect gifs. What do they make you think? The beginning The middle The end   YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK! Check out my other reviews of Air Awakens and Fire Falling to get a broader picture.  

Posted November 19, 2015 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider