Publisher: Simon Pulse

SST Review: This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada

Posted November 19, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 2 Comments

SST Review: This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada

SST Review: This Mortal Coil by Emily SuvadaThis Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada
Series: This Mortal Coil #1
Published by Simon Pulse on November 7th 2017
Genres: Science Fiction, Dystopian
Pages: 432
Format: ebook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Catarina Agatta is a hacker. She can cripple mainframes and crash through firewalls, but that’s not what makes her special. In Cat’s world, people are implanted with technology to recode their DNA, allowing them to change their bodies in any way they want. And Cat happens to be a gene-hacking genius.

That’s no surprise, since Cat’s father is Dr. Lachlan Agatta, a legendary geneticist who may be the last hope for defeating a plague that has brought humanity to the brink of extinction. But during the outbreak, Lachlan was kidnapped by a shadowy organization called Cartaxus, leaving Cat to survive the last two years on her own.

When a Cartaxus soldier, Cole, arrives with news that her father has been killed, Cat’s instincts tell her it’s just another Cartaxus lie. But Cole also brings a message: before Lachlan died, he managed to create a vaccine, and Cole needs Cat’s help to release it and save the human race.

Now Cat must decide who she can trust: The soldier with secrets of his own? The father who made her promise to hide from Cartaxus at all costs? In a world where nature itself can be rewritten, how much can she even trust herself?

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book is a science lover’s DREAM! It has, ok not complex, but more detailed descriptions and reasons why the tech works. There are explanations that make sense and its obvious that the author has done a ton of research. I really loved the premise too. Embeddable tech is the future. Wearables are already here, like the Apple watch but also AIRA‘s assistive glasses that help blind people navigate their world.  However, embeddable tech is also legitimately terrifying. There are so many evil things that can be done with it. Emily Suvada does an awesome job exploring both the positive and horrifying aspects of having a device implanted in your arm.

The story itself is fun too. It’s new and exciting but it still reminded me a little of The Fireman by Joe Hill, which I loved. I think that the dystoptian world that this book is set in was at least as interested as the characters Cat and Cole. There has been a outbreak of a disease. The majority of the world has retreated to corporate sponsored bunkers where their lives are ruled by the company. Those who remain on the surface fight every day but remain free. How did none of that make it into the blurb???

I didn’t really feel any particular connection to the characters. Cat was a square peg in a world full of round holes. I thought that her particular idiosyncrasies were interesting and fit the world that was established. I just didn’t feel anything towards her. Cole seemed like a typical supersoldier. I didn’t find him to be all that interesting either. Luckily the world and the story made up for it in spades.

This did not end in a cliffhanger but I’m very hopeful that there will be another book in this marvelous world!

About the Author:

Emily Suvada was born and raised in Australia, where she went on to study mathematics and astrophysics. She previously worked as a data scientist, and still spends hours writing algorithms to perform tasks which would only take minutes to complete on her own. When not writing, she can be found hiking, cycling, and conducting chemistry experiments in her kitchen. She currently lives in Portland, OR, with her husband.

Author’s Social Media:

Blog: http://emilysuvada.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/emilysuvada
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/emilysuvada
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/emily.suvada/
Goodreads:https://www.goodreads.com/author/

Divider

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Follow the Tour

11/5 Tour Stops

Interview – Megan Manzano
Review  – Books N Calm
Review – Dani Reviews Things
Interview – Fly Leaf Chronicles
Unique Post – Book Stacks Amber

 11/12  Tour Stops

 Guest Post – Mikayla’s Bookshelf
Interview –Reading is Dreaming with Eyes Wide Open
Review – Sarcasm and Lemons
Unique Post – Downright Dystopian
Review – Here’s To Happy Endings

 11/19  Tour Stops

 Interview – Books, Boys, and Blogs
Review – Emily Reads Everything
Guest Post – The Book Corps
Unique Post – Life of a Literary Nerd
Review – Bay in Wonderland

 11/26 Tour Stops

 Review – A Gingerly Review
Review –  Pretty Deadly Blog
Interview – Library of a Book Witch
Guest Post – The Hermit Librarian

four-stars

Tags:

Divider

FFBC: BlackSouls

Posted April 26, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Special Feature / 2 Comments

FFBC: BlackSouls

FFBC: BlackSoulsBlacksouls by Nicole Castroman
Series: Blackhearts #2
Published by Simon Pulse on April 11th 2017
Genres: Historical, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Format: ebook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Nicole Castroman brings the dangerous pirate ports of the Caribbean to life in this vibrant sequel to Blackhearts—the reimagined origin story of history’s most infamous pirate, Blackbeard.
Edward “Teach” Drummond is setting sail to the Caribbean as first mate on the most celebrated merchant ship in the British fleet—until he rebels against his captain. Mutiny is a capital offense and Teach knows it could cost him his life, but he believes it worth the risk in order to save his crew from the attacking Spanish ships.
Sailing on the same blue waters, Anne barely avoids the Spanish attack, making it safely to Nassau. But lawless criminals, corrupt politics, and dangerous intentions fill the crowded streets of this Caribbean port. Soon, Anne discovers that the man entrusted to keep the peace is quite possibly the most treacherous of them all—and he just happens to hold Teach’s fate in his terrifying hands.
Life and death hang in the balance when Teach and Anne are given a dangerous mission. It’s a mission that will test their love, loyalty and devotion, forcing them down a path neither one could have ever imagined.

I have been waiting and waiting and waiting for this book since the second I read BlackHearts ending. It’s ending was so heart wrenching that I was torn when I started BlackSouls. One one hand, I was really excited. I NEEDED to know what happened to Teach and Anne. Blackhearts ended with them in such a precarious position. Still, on the other hand, I was almost hesitant to pick it up. I was scared to know what was going to happen to Anne and Teach in this book. Would their love survive???

When I first started BlackHearts, Nicole actually messaged me on twitter to tell me that it wasn’t so much about pirates. I was perfectly OK with that, BlackHearts didn’t need pirates. It wasn’t a pirate book. If that disappointed you though, you will love BlackSouls. It has all the piratical accouterments that you want and that you might have found lacking in the first book, PLUS romance. How can you go wrong? You can’t. Read this book.

For me though, the best part of BlackSouls was the new ensemble cast. There are a bunch of new characters to meet and fall in love with (and you will). I loved the quiet charm of the first book but I also love all the ships and battles and action of the second. I don’t know what the next one will hold, but I can’t wait!

About the Author

Nicole was lucky enough to come with her very own best friend…she has a twin sister who can read her mind and finish her sentences for her.

At the age of 13, she went to Europe for the first time and it changed her life. She loves learning about different people, languages and cultures and speaks fluent German. She knows enough Spanish to get herself into trouble and can still read the Cyrillic alphabet from when she studied Russian.

She received her B.A. from Brigham Young University and has lived in Germany, Austria and two different places called Georgia. One is located on the Black Sea. The other is the state of Georgia where she now lives with her handsome husband and two beautiful children who continue to amaze her.

Follow the Tour

April 24

 April 25

Hiver et Cafe – Review
Vicarious Bookworm – Review + Favourite Quotes

 April 26

Tales of the Ravenous Reader – Book Playlist
A Thousand Words A Million Books – Review + Favourite Quotes

April 27

Soph Reads Books – Review

April 28

 Library of a Book Witch – Review + Playlist
BookCrushin – Review + Favourite Quotes

April 29

Never Too Many To Read – Review + Favourite Quotes

April 30

The book Return – Review
Reading for the Stars and Moon – Promotional Post

Tags:

Divider

Joint Review: When Dimple Met Rishi

Joint Review: When Dimple Met Rishi

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon Published by Simon Pulse on May 30th 2017 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, romance Pages: 320 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads A laugh-out-loud, heartfelt YA romantic comedy, told in alternating perspectives, about two Indian-American teens whose parents have arranged for them to be married. Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right? Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself. The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not? Dimple and […]

Posted April 10, 2017 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Waiting on Wednesday: When Dimple Met Rishi

Waiting on Wednesday: When Dimple Met Rishi

The thing that really draws me to this book is the cover. I love the girl’s face on the cover. That grin!!! It’s just so joyous. I’ve never seen a cover that exudes so much happiness. Past the cover, the book sounds perfect. Enemies to loves is always my favorite trope. I love the idea that these two kids have been promised to each other in an arranged marriage. However, they don’t know it and they don’t even like each other! Can’t wait to read this one!

Posted February 8, 2017 by Emily in WoW / 1 Comment
Divider

Rockstar ARC Review: How to Disappear

Rockstar ARC Review: How to Disappear

How to Disappear by Ann Redisch Stampler Published by Simon Pulse on June 14th 2016 Genres: suspense, Thriller, Young Adult Pages: 416 Format: Paperback Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon This electric cross-country thriller follows the game of cat and mouse between a girl on the run from a murder she witnessed—or committed?—and the boy whoÂ’s sent to kill her. Nicolette Holland is the girl everyone likes. Up for adventure. Loyal to a fault. And sheÂ’s pretty sure she can get away with anything…until a young woman is brutally murdered in the woods near NicoletteÂ’s house. Which is why she has to disappear. Jack Manx has always been the stand-up guy with the killer last name. But straight AÂ’s and athletic trophies canÂ’t make people forget that his father was a hit man and his brother is doing time for armed assault. Just when Jack is about to graduate from his Las Vegas high school and head east for college, his brother pulls him into the family business with inescapable instructions: find this ruthless Nicolette Holland and get rid of her. Or else Jack and everyone he loves will pay the price. As Nicolette and Jack race to outsmart each other, tensions—and attractions—run high. Told in alternating voices, this tightly plotted mystery and tense love story challenges our assumptions about right and wrong, guilt and innocence, truth and […]

Posted June 16, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 0 Comments
Divider

ARC Review: Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman

ARC Review: Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman

Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman Series: Blackhearts #1 Published by Simon Pulse on February 9th 2016 Pages: 384 Format: ebook Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Blackbeard the pirate was known for striking fear in the hearts of the bravest of sailors. But once he was just a young man who dreamed of leaving his rigid life behind to chase adventure in faraway lands. Nothing could stop him—until he met the one girl who would change everything. Edward “Teach” Drummond, son of one of Bristol’s richest merchants, has just returned from a year-long journey on the high seas to find his life in shambles. Betrothed to a girl he doesnÂ’t love and sick of the high society he was born into, Teach dreams only of returning to the vast ocean heÂ’d begun to call home. There’s just one problem: convincing his father to let him leave and never come back. Following her parents’ deaths, Anne Barrett is left penniless and soon to be homeless. Though sheÂ’s barely worked a day in her life, Anne is forced to take a job as a maid in the home of Master Drummond. Lonely days stretch into weeks, and Anne longs for escape. How will she ever realize her dream of sailing to Curaçao—where her mother was born—when she’s stuck in England? From the moment Teach and Anne meet, they set the world ablaze. Drawn […]

Posted February 8, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Blog Tour: The Girl Who Fell

Blog Tour: The Girl Who Fell

The Girl Who Fell by Shannon M. Parker Published by Simon Pulse on March 1st 2016 Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult Pages: 320 Format: ebook Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon His obsession.Her fall. In this dark kissing book, high school senior Zephyr Doyle is swept off her feet—and into an intense relationship—by the new boy in school. Zephyr is focused. Focused on leading her team to the field hockey state championship and leaving her small town for her dream school, Boston College. But love has a way of changing things. Enter the new boy in school: the hockey teamÂ’s starting goaltender, Alec. HeÂ’s cute, charming, and most important, Alec doesnÂ’t judge Zephyr. He understands her fears and insecurities—he even shares them. Soon, their relationship becomes something bigger than Zephyr, something she canÂ’t control, something she doesnÂ’t want to control. Zephyr swears it must be love. Because love is powerful, and overwhelming, andÂ…terrifying? But love shouldnÂ’t make you abandon your dreams, or push your friends away. And love shouldnÂ’t make you feel guilty—or worse, ashamed. So when Zephyr finally begins to see Alec for who he really is, she knows itÂ’s time to take back control of her life. If she waits any longer, it may be too late. Pre-order Links:  Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | Kobo I don’t know what to say about this book. […]

Posted January 13, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 2 Comments
Divider

Novel Secrets Tour: All We Left Behind

Novel Secrets Tour: All We Left Behind

I PROMISED MYSELF IÂ’D NEVER DO THIS! Secrets from writing in the trenches of the male mind. Ingrid Sundberg  What do teenage boys thinks about?  Ask your friends this question and they will inevitably say sex! This is exactly why I promised myself IÂ’d never write a novel from a teenage male point of view.  Especially one in first person where I get a front row seat of every thought that races through my characterÂ’s hormone-drunk head!  But my new novel ALL WE LEFT BEHIND didnÂ’t come to life until I started writing from KurtÂ’s POV, and boy did he have some secrets to tell! Three secrets I learned while writing in the trenches of the male mind: Guys donÂ’t talk pretty. My female characters love to ponder, reflect, and use poetic metaphors to share their feelings. Marion POV: “I hear the crash of water in my ears. Rolling waves, yearning, and all the things that are new to me. How softness can ache out the past I regret. How skin has a language made of quietness and breath.” My male character wouldnÂ’t be caught dead saying something like this! No way. Poetry is for girls. Kurt thinks in short crisp fragments, with sentences that are active and to the point. Kurt POV: “DonÂ’t think. DonÂ’t breathe. Charge. I trap the ball and dribble up the line. The ease […]

Posted December 1, 2015 by Emily in Blog Tour, Special Feature / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: The 5 Stages of Andrew Brawley by Shaun David Hutchinson

Review: The 5 Stages of Andrew Brawley by Shaun David Hutchinson

The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley by Shaun David Hutchinson Published by Simon Pulse on January 20th 2015 Genres: Young Adult, Social Issues, Death & Dying, Boys & Men, Comics & Graphic Novels, General Pages: 336 Source: Free for Review Goodreads Andrew Brawley was supposed to die that night. His parents did, and so did his sister, but he survived. Now he lives in the hospital. He serves food in the cafeteria, he hangs out with the nurses, and he sleeps in a forgotten supply closet. Drew blends in to near invisibility, hiding from his past, his guilt, and those who are trying to find him. Then one night Rusty is wheeled into the ER, burned on half his body by hateful classmates. His agony calls out to Drew like a beacon, pulling them both together through all their pain and grief. In Rusty, Drew sees hope, happiness, and a future for both of them. A future outside the hospital, and away from their pasts. But Drew knows that life is never that simple. Death roams the hospital, searching for Drew, and now Rusty. Drew lost his family, but he refuses to lose Rusty, too, so heÂ’s determined to make things right. HeÂ’s determined to bargain, and to settle his debts once and for all. But Death is not easily placated, and DrewÂ’s life will have to get worse […]

Posted September 14, 2015 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments
Divider