Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Review & Giveaway: First We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy

Posted July 12, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 5 Comments

Review & Giveaway: First We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy

Review & Giveaway: First We Were IV by Alexandra SirowyFirst We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on July 25th 2017
Genres: Young Adult
Pages: 448
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

It started for pranks, fun, and forever memories.A secret society – for the four of us. The rules: Never lie. Never tell. Love each other.We made the pledge and danced under the blood moon on the meteorite in the orchard. In the spot we found the dead girl five years earlier. And discovered the ancient drawings way before that. Nothing could break the four of us apart – I thought.But then, others wanted in. Our seaside town had secrets. History.We wanted revenge.We broke the rules. We lied. We told. We loved each other too much, not enough, and in ways we weren’t supposed to. Our invention ratcheted out of control.What started as a secret society, ended as justice. Revenge. Death. Rebellion.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

I’m the worst kind of mystery reader. Generally about halfway through with the story, I get bored and decide to flip to the end to find out who the killer is. I don’t know why but i’m usually not capable of reading an entire thriller without KNOWING what is going on. It’s always a little disappointing but I can’t help myself. I always peek.

Until now!

This book kept my attention until the very end. I never thought to look ahead because I was too involved with what was going on with the characters in the book. I love strong friendships and close relationships in books and that’s what First We Were IV is based on. Yes, there is a mystery that becomes more and more prevalent throughout the book but the focus is on the characters. Viv, Izzy, Graham and Harry are best friends and it focuses on how that friendship is changed by the circumstances. Especially when they start to get some attention from the popular kids at school.

I also thought that the book flowed perfectly. The characters motivations were understandble. It made sense to me. While the ending was a complete shock, it also made perfect sense when I thought back over the course of the story. For a mystery book cynic, like myself, this book was a breath of fresh air.

Earlier this year I had the chance to do a First We Were IV Fancast. Check it out if you are interested in who I picked for Viv, Graham, Harry and Izzy!

Divider

About the Author

Alexandra Sirowy is the author of the young adult thrillers THE CREEPING, the Bram Stoker Award® Nominated THE TELLING, and the upcoming FIRST WE WERE IV. Alexandra attended a women’s college as an undergrad and received her graduate degree in International Studies. When she isn’t writing, she loves to travel, read, eat, and get into mischief. She lives with her husband in Northern California.

 

 

 

Divider

Tour Schedule: 

Week 1
July 10:  Bookish Lifestyles – Tote Design
July 11:  Brittany‘s Book Rambles – Guest Post
July 12:  Emily Reads Everything – Review
July 13   Biscotto’s Books – Moodboard
July 14 Forever Lost in Literature – Review

Week 2
July 17:  My Friends Are Fiction – Guest Post
July 18 Literary Legionnaire – Review
July 19 The Reader and the Chef – Review
July 20:  Novel Novice – Guest Post
July 21:  Dark Faerie Tales – Interview

Week 3
July 24:  YA and Wine – Review + Guest Post
July 25 YA Book Central – Spotlight
July 26 Tales of the Ravenous Reader – Review
July 27:  A Perfection Called Books – Guest Post
Divider

Giveaway

1 signed hard cover copy of FIRST WE WERE IV
Fujuifilm instax mini 9 Polaroid camera in smoky white (& film) like the one in the book!
Strand of gold stars
FIRST WE WERE IV swag (temporary tattoos & bookmarks)
Evie Seo Designed Tote Bag

Embeded code: a Rafflecopter giveaway

FTC disclaimer: US entires only. No purchase necessary to enter, giveaway items provided by Alexandra Sirowy.

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

First We Were IV

Posted April 3, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Special Feature / 4 Comments

First We Were IV

First We Were IVFirst We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on July 25th 2017
Genres: Thriller, Young Adult
Pages: 448
Format: Paperback
Source: the author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

It started for pranks, fun, and forever memories.A secret society – for the four of us. The rules: Never lie. Never tell. Love each other.We made the pledge and danced under the blood moon on the meteorite in the orchard. In the spot we found the dead girl five years earlier. And discovered the ancient drawings way before that. Nothing could break the four of us apart – I thought.But then, others wanted in. Our seaside town had secrets. History.We wanted revenge.We broke the rules. We lied. We told. We loved each other too much, not enough, and in ways we weren’t supposed to. Our invention ratcheted out of control.What started as a secret society, ended as justice. Revenge. Death. Rebellion.

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Fancast

Divider

This is my first time doing a fancast. It was a challenge for me, but I ended up really enjoying it. I hope you enjoy my picks and I’d love to hear if you agree or disagree!

Graham

Graham is described as strawberry blonde with glasses. He’s teased for being nerdy but he’s also a huge flirt with the girls. He’s intelligent but a joker. He’s been best friends with Izzy forever and they know each other better than anyone.

I picked Cameron Monaghan

Harry

Harry is described with dark hair. He’s the quiet one. He let’s Graham and Viv do the talking. However, just because he let’s others talk for him, you shouldn’t assume he has nothing to say.

I picked Nadji Jeter

Viv

Viv has her own sense of style. She dresses in vintage clothes, like she’s in a play that only she knows about. Viv is loud, flamboyant and passionate. She knows exactly who she is and refuses to let anyone influence her sense to self.

I picked Rowan Blanchard

Izzy

Izzy is the girl next door. She’s the glue that ties the group together and she loves her friends as her family. She’ is fiercely protective over their friendship and her greatest fear is that leaving for college will tear them apart.

I picked Selena Gomez

 

About the Author

Divider

Alexandra Sirowy is the author of the young adult thrillers THE CREEPING, the Bram Stoker Award® Nominated THE TELLING, and the upcoming FIRST WE WERE IV. Alexandra attended a women’s college as an undergrad and received her graduate degree in International Studies. When she isn’t writing, she loves to travel, read, eat, and get into mischief. She lives with her husband in Northern California.

Connect with Alexandra: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest

 

 

Follow the Tour

Divider

Week 1
March 27: Brittany’s Book Rambles – Intro Post + Excerpt
March 28: YA and Wine – Most Mischievous YA Characters
March 29: Rattle the Pages – Nail Art
March 30: Book Nerd Addict – Inventing A Secret Society
March 31: Fables Library – YA Books with Secret Societies

Week 2
April 3: Emily Reads Everything – Fancast
April 4: The Eater of Books – History of Secret Societies
April 5: It Starts At Midnight – Author Guest Post: FIRST WE WERE IV vs. Alexandra’s Previous Books
April 6: BookCatPin – Mystery YA List
April 7: A Book and a Cup of Coffee – Moodboard

Week 3
April 10: The Book Buzz – YA Thrillers You Need to Know About
April 11: The Candid Cover – Bookworm Initiation Quiz
April 12: Girl in the Pages – Book Recs for First We Were IV Characters
April 13: Stories and Sweeties – Author Guest Post – Story Behind the Title
April 14: Little Lillie Reads – Playlist

Week 4
April 17: Literary Legionnaire – Favorite Quotes
April 18: Chapter by Chapter – Author Guest Post: Secret Society Initiation Rituals
April 19: Tales of the Ravenous Reader – Secret Societies You Never Knew Existed
April 20: YA Book Central – Author Guest Post:  3 Favorite Books About Secret Societies
April 21: The Bookish Feels – Author’s March Favorites

Week 5
April 24: Waiting For Wentworth – Author Guest Post: Secret Society Rules
April 25: The Reader and the Chef – Book Inspired-Recipe
April 26: Forever Lost in Literature – Author Guest Post: What We Do For Friendship
April 27: Flying Through Fiction – Favorite YA Friendships
April 28: One Way or an Author – Phone Wallpapers

Giveaway

Divider

One signed ARC of First We Were IV

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Disclaimer

All content directly from First We Were IV (such as quotes and excerpts) is taken directly from an advanced reader’s copy of the book. Therefore, it is not to be separately quoted from due to the fact that it is not in its final publication form.

four-stars

Tags:

Divider

Review: Diabolic by SJ Kincaid

Review: Diabolic by SJ Kincaid

The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on November 1st 2016 Genres: Young Adult, Sci Fi Pages: 416 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Nemesis is a Diabolic. Created to protect a galactic Senator’s daughter, Sidonia. The girl who has grown up by her side and who is as much as sister as a master. There’s no one Nemesis wouldn’t kill to keep her safe. But when the power-mad Emperor summons Sidonia to the galactic court as a hostage, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia. She must become her. Now one of the galaxy’s most dangerous weapons is masquerading in a world of corruption and Nemesis has to hide her true abilities or risk everything. As the Empire begins to fracture and rebellion looms closer, Nemesis learns that there is something stronger than her deadly force: the one thing she’s been told she doesn’t have – humanity. And, amidst all the danger, action and intrigue, her humanity might be the only thing that can save her, Sidonia and the entire Empire… I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.This book is intense! There were a few times that I had to close the […]

Posted January 16, 2017 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments
Divider

Top Ten Tuesday #4

Top Ten Tuesday #4

Top Ten Best Books of 2016! I know, I know- basic. BUT this book was so amazing and there was no way I was leaving this off the list. I pre-ordered and then procrastinated because I knew it was going to mess with my emotions, but it’s so worth it in the end. I can sum up my greatest love for this series in one word: RHYSAND. 🙂 Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven I can’t say enough about all the good things about this book. I wrote a full review-but the highlights are body positivity, diversity, and the sweet romance. The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon Another book with a full review, but this definitely makes my top 2016 reads. I loved the interracial relationship, the own voices representation, and the mix up in traditional gender roles. If you haven’t read this one, you must! It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover I’ve heard differing opinions on this book, but I absolutely loved it. It was heartbreaking and felt real to me. I also think it could give strength to women in similar situations. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin Definitely not a 2016 release, but still one that sucked me into the entire trilogy this year. I loved the mystery and, of course, Noah. This one is probably going to be […]

Posted December 27, 2016 by Emily in Top 10 / 2 Comments
Divider

Debut Author Bash: Sonya Mukherjee

by Sonya Mukherjee Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers Genres: Young Adult I did a character interview with Sonya Mukherjee earlier this year. Ever since I got to know her twins in this incredibly unique book, IÂ’ve wanted to read it. IÂ’m thrilled to have Sonya on the blog today for an interview to learn more about Gemini! So Gemini is about an unusual set of twins. Are you a twin or do you have any siblings that you are close to? IÂ’m not a twin. I have a sister whoÂ’s three years younger, and a brother whoÂ’s seven years younger than I am. With those age differences, we didnÂ’t have the type of intimacy that twins have. So in thinking about the twin relationship, while I was partly drawing on my own experiences with my siblings and other family members, I was also thinking about what real twins (conjoined and otherwise) have said about what itÂ’s like for them. There is definitely some imagination involved, but my hope is that mixing imagination with those two threads of reality led to something authentic. Have you always wanted to be an author? Tell us about your journey to publication. I have, and the journey has been a long one. I spent some time experimenting with different genres and styles, and along the way, I wrote a few […]

Posted June 22, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Events and Features, interview / 2 Comments
Divider

Character Interview: Clara and Hailey from Gemini

Character Interview: Clara and Hailey from Gemini

Gemini by Sonya Mukherjee Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on July 26th 2016 Genres: Contemporary Pages: 336 Buy on Amazon In a powerful and daring debut novel, Sonya Mukherjee shares the story of sisters Clara and Hailey, conjoined twins who are learning what it means to be truly extraordinary. Seventeen-year-old conjoined twins, Clara and Hailey, have lived in the same small town their entire lives—no one stares at them anymore. But there are cracks in their quiet existence and theyÂ’re slowing becoming more apparent. Clara and Hailey are at a crossroads. Clara wants to stay close to home, avoid all attention, and study the night sky. Hailey wants to travel the world, learn from great artists, and dance with mysterious boys. As high school graduation approaches, each twin must untangle her dreams from her sisterÂ’s, and figure out what it means to be her own person. Told in alternating perspectives, this unconventional coming-of-age tale shows how dreams can break your heart—but the love between sisters can mend it. I’m so excited to welcome Clara and Hailey today! They are characters from one on my most anticipated 2016 releases. I’m 100% sure that once you read this interview, you will want this book just as much as I do. Clara and Hailey have such original voices and I simply can’t wait to get to know them […]

Posted December 21, 2015 by Emily in Uncategorized / 1 Comment
Divider