Publisher: Sun's Golden Ray Publishing

MTMC: Cover Reveal City of Veils by S. Usher Evans

Posted September 10, 2018 by Emily in Special Feature / 1 Comment

MTMC: Cover Reveal City of Veils by S. Usher Evans

This is me

I’ve been so out of the loop, its ridiculous.  I haven’t been on twitter, I haven’t been posting, I’ve been completely lost to my world. I now have 6 wonderful, infuriating children. They take up the vast majority of my time and I love it. I really miss blogging though. I wish I could find time too read more and share my love.

Today, I want to share a book that I’ve been hearing about for MONTHS. I’m excited enough about it that I drug myself out of my hiatus and STAYED UP LATE to share it with you. This book looks awesome and I absolutely love the cover. Don’t believe me? Check it out just after the synopsis!

CITY OF VEILS

For the past three years, Brynna has been patrolling the streets of Forcadel as a masked vigilante, protecting the innocent and beating up bad guys. Her current target is Lord Beswick, a slumlord businessman who keeps the townsfolk in a vicious poverty cycle. But one fateful evening, she’s captured by Felix, the captain of the king’s guard, and told a shocking truth: her father and brother are dead, and she needs to hang up her mask and become queen.

Before long, she negotiates a deal with Felix: attend to her royal duties during the day and continue her vigilante mission to take out Lord Beswick at night—at least until her coronation. But the politics of Forcadel are as volatile as the streets, and Brynna isn’t sure whom she can trust in the castle. With two royals dead in less than a month, she must use all her wits to make sure she isn’t the third.

The City of Veils is the first book in the Princess Vigilante trilogy, an epic YA Fantasy from S. Usher Evans, author of the Lexie Carrigan Chronicles, Madion War Trilogy, and Empath. It will be released by Sun’s Golden Ray Publishing on April 16, 2019.

Divider

 

 

Divider

Meet the Author

S. Usher Evans was born and raised in Pensacola, Florida. After a decade of fighting bureaucratic battles as an IT consultant in Washington, DC, she suffered a massive quarter-life-crisis. She decided fighting dragons was more fun than writing policy, so she moved back to Pensacola to write books full-time. She currently resides with her two dogs, Zoe and Mr. Biscuit, and frequently can be found plotting on the beach.

Evans is the author of the Demon Spring Trilogy, the Razia Series, the Madion War Trilogy, the Lexie Carrigan Chronicles, and Empath.

Website | Twitter  | Instagram

Divider

Giveaway

A preorder for The City of Veils  plus a YA book of your choice worth $15 from Book Depository. Open International.

Tags:

Divider

How to write a book when you live with your parents

Posted February 19, 2018 by Emily in Events and Features, Guest Post / 0 Comments

By: S. Usher Evans

*** From Emily*** Sush has started an incredible campaign to be debt free by selling books and flipping houses. Her house flipping Instagram is fantastic. (https://www.instagram.com/housesfullofwhit/) Plus she’s prolific author. Demon Spring is her third series but she has books planned out til 2020! She’s the only person I know who has such a concrete plan for her life. I admire her for it so much! Her story is incredible and she’s here today to share with us a little bit about how she makes it work***

Hi, I’m Sush, I’m 31, and I live with my parents. 

No, I’m not your typical millennial. I’m a house-flipping full-time author, and I decided about a year ago to sell my house, move in with my folks temporarily, and then buy and flip houses until I could live without a mortgage plus have a few renters on the side. While I could write a novel on what I learned this year alone with house flipping, today I want to talk about how I was able to complete my latest series, Demon Spring, while living with my folks.

My folks are wonderful people and I am eternally grateful that I was able to live with them so I could position myself into a more debt-free life. However, after living by myself since 2011, having other humans in the house was definitely a change. Writing, for me anyway, has always been something done in private. And not only that, when I’m anxious, I have a hard time focusing (which leads to more anxiety). Living with a retired mom who’s always around has been a challenge.

But it’s not insurmountable. So I’ve listed a few coping mechanisms I’ve developed that helped me stay on track this year.

  1. Noise-canceling Bluetooth headphones

This one kind of goes without saying. The nice thing about Bluetooth headphones is you can get up and walk around with them on. So you don’t get the interruption to your music when you get up to munch.

  1. Classical music

I have ADD (or whatever they’re calling it now), so sometimes, music with lyrics just distracts me further. When I’m feeling especially scattered, I’ll go with some classical music on Pandora. A few months ago, I bought the London Symphony Orchestra’s 50 greatest classical pieces. That way, I can turn off the internet when things get tough, and still have my Carmen.

  1. Have your own space

To make matters more complicated, I work from home. The first thing I did when I moved into my parents’ house was to set up an office. A place with a monitor and keyboard and my stuff where I can plug in my laptop, close the door, and get to work. The dogs, of course, come barging right in. But the space is mine.

  1. Starbucks

There’s something about leaving the house, going to a coffee shop, and plugging in your headphones that knocks all the anxious, unfocused thoughts out of my brain. I wrote probably three quarters of Demon Spring at the Gulf Breeze Starbucks. Find a routine that works for you—and use those free rewards when you get them.

  1. Give yourself a break

Especially if you’re in a temporary space, you have to allow yourself the space to fail. Some days, the anxiety and the noise was too great, and words didn’t get written. Some days, I spent the day holed up in my room with headphones to catch up. The point is: you’ve got this. Just maybe not as perfectly as you envisioned when you came up with this crazy scheme.

Divider

About the Book

How to write a book when you live with your parentsResurgence by S. Usher Evans
Series: Demon Spring #1
Published by Sun's Golden Ray Publishing on February 20th 2018
Genres: Adult, Urban Fantasy
Format: Paperback
Source: the author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Demon hunter Jack Grenard's life changed three years ago when his wife was brutally murdered by the very demons he'd been hunting. At the urging of his partner Cam Macarro, he's starting a new life in Atlanta, hoping he'll find the man he used to be. But on a routine hunt, they come across a new type of demon--one that saves instead of kills.

Meanwhile, demons across Atlanta are preparing for the quadrennial uprising of their Underworld brethren. Worse yet, there's a rumor the so-called king of the demons, Bael, will appear for the first time in over a century. Jack and Cam must uncover the truth about the mystery woman before all hell--literally--breaks loose.

Resurgence is the first in a new Urban Fantasy trilogy from S. Usher Evans, author of the Madion War Trilogy, Razia, and Lexie Carrigan Chronicles. It will be released by Sun's Golden Ray Publishing in February 2018.

Amazon – Barnes and Noble – IndieBound – Book Depository

Divider

About the Author

S. Usher Evans is an author, blogger, and witty banter aficionado. Born in Pensacola, Florida, she left the sleepy town behind for the fast-paced world of Washington, D.C.. There, she somehow landed jobs with BBC, Discovery Channel, and National Geographic Television before finally settling into a “real job” as an IT consultant. After a quarter life crisis at age 27, she decided consulting was for the birds and rekindled a childhood passion for writing novels. She sold everything she owned and moved back to Pensacola, where she currently resides with her two dogs, Zoe and Mr. Biscuit.

Evans is the author of the Razia series, Madion War Trilogy, and Empath, published by Sun’s Golden Ray Publishing.

Author links: 
Divider

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

#TeamTheo Readalong Update

#TeamTheo Readalong Update

The Readalong is well underway and it’s going great! All the information is available for you to join in as part of #TEAMTHEO or #TeamPrinceling.  The details are below as well. We are having a lot of fun in our private #TeamThea DM group with plenty of good natured #TeamPrinceling ribbing. We want to do Theo proud. We would love to have you join us! Check out this post for more information about the Street Team Competition. Readalong Details  The schedule goes like this: Jan 15 – Jan 21 : Chapters 1-5 Jan 22 – Jan 28 : Chapters 6 – 10 Jan 29-Feb 4 : Chapters 11 – 15 Feb 5 – Feb 11 : Chapters 16 – 20 Feb 14 – The Union Release! Every week there is a special contest just for the #TeamTheo and #TeamPrinceling participants. This is above and beyond the Readalong. The special contests are well underway, but there’s still plenty of time to join up and help lead #TeamTheo to victory! Mini Challenge Schedule 9-15 Week 1 – Join a team (Win bookmarks) WINNER: #TeamPrinceling 16-22 Week 2 – Pledge to read (Win an ebook) WINNER: #TeamTheo 23-29 Week 3 – Instagram Competition (Win buttons) WINNER: TBD 30-5 Week 4 – Street Team FB group (Win Stickers) WINNER: TBD 6-12 Week 5 – Twitter Competition (Win a signed bookplate) WINNER: TBD 13-17 Week 6 […]

Posted February 2, 2017 by Emily in Events and Features, Special Feature / 0 Comments
Divider

Island Read-along and Union Release Contest

Island Read-along and Union Release Contest

I’ve never run or even really participated in a read a public read a long before. I’m really excited about this! We are going to have a #QWSush halfway through to discuss it. I really loved this book and this series. It sucks you in and gets better and better throughout the series. What is this Readalong? This is a month long readalong for The Island by S. Usher Evans, which is FREE. We’ll be reading 5 chapters a week (they aren’t that long really) in anticipation for the release of The Union, which is the trilogy finale, on February 14th. What’s this about teams? You absolutely do not have to participate in the teams but it’s highly encouraged! There are two teams, #TeamTheo and #TeamPrinceling based off of the two main characters in the books. I’m the team lead of #TeamTheo so I strongly encourage you to join that team. These two teams earn points by joining the readalong, tweeting, posting reviews and participating in other events we might have planned. The winning team will get some cool goodies and the top 2 point earners for each team will win an extra special prize! You can join either team, but I’m #TeamTheo, so, I’m definitely biased. The Thing I like best about this Street Team Contest is that every week has a different focus. This week we are focusing on joining […]

Posted January 11, 2017 by Emily in Events and Features, Special Feature / 3 Comments
Divider
Divider

Espresso tour ARC review: Spells & Sorcery

Espresso tour ARC review: Spells & Sorcery

Spells and Sorcery by S. Usher Evans Series: Lexie Carrigan Chronicles #1 Published by Sun’s Golden Ray Publishing on October 4th 2016 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic Pages: 386 Format: Paperback Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon Goodreads You have magic. One sentence, three words, four syllables. Enough to change my life forever. And I’m not talking about the whole spells and sorcery thing. Lexie Carrigan thought the weirdest thing about her was she preferred watching documentaries and reading the newspaper to reality TV and Twitter. But on the eve of her fifteenth birthday, her aunt and sisters drop a bomb–she’s magical. Now the girl who never made waves is blowing up her nightstand and trying to keep from wreaking havoc on her school. When a kind stranger shows up with all the answers, Lexie hopes he’ll be able to help her control her newfound powers. But Gavon may not be as kind as he seems, and soon Lexie finds out that being magical is the least weird thing about her. Spells and Sorcery is the first YA fantasy from S. Usher Evans, author of the Razia series, the Madion War Trilogy and Empath. I read a few reviews (when will I learn?!?) and I talked to a few people. It made me a little concerned. I really wanted to like this book. Now that I’ve read […]

Posted October 21, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 3 Comments
Divider

ARC Review: The Chasm by S. Usher Evans

ARC Review: The Chasm by S. Usher Evans

The Chasm by S. Usher Evans Series: Madion War Series #2 Published by Sun’s Golden Ray Publishing on July 12th 2016 Genres: Fantasy, romance, Young Adult Pages: 296 Format: hardcover Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon They survived The Island, but can they cross The Chasm? Four months after Prince Galian was discovered alive on a remote island, he’s adjusting slowly to life at the hospital under the Kylaen media’s glare. His promises to Theo remain unfulfilled as fear of his father keeps him from taking concrete action. And the more he learns about the machinations in Kylae, the less sure he is that it’s possible to make a difference. Across the great Madion Sea, Major Theo Kallistrate struggles to navigate the tricky political waters of Rave’s presidential staff. To make positive change for her people, she must remain relevant and interesting to the Raven media and to the president. When he asks her to deliver a speech on her supposed two-month imprisonment at Mael, she’s not sure she can stomach the lies. The Chasm is S. Usher Evans’ breathtaking, fast-paced follow-up to The Island, which readers say is “not to be missed.” As you might know, I really enjoyed The Island. There’s something special about two enemies, shipwrecked on an island and then fall in love. The romance is woven into a larger and more complex fantasy tale about an […]

Posted July 11, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

#SST Blog Tour Review: The Island by S Usher Evans

#SST Blog Tour Review: The Island by S Usher Evans

The Island by S. Usher Evans Series: Madion War Series, #1 Published by Sun’s Golden Ray Publishing on April 26th 2016 Genres: Fantasy, romance, Young Adult Pages: 260 Format: ebook Buy on Amazon **Cover reveal coming February 2016** Prince Galian is third in line to the throne, but prefers his place as a resident at the Royal Kylaen Hospital. When his father urges him to join the military to help reclaim their colony, Galian is forced to put aside his oath to Do No Harm and fight a war he does not believe in. Across the great Madion Sea, Captain Theo Kallistrate dreams of a day when she is no longer bound by conscription to fight for her country’s independence. But when the Kylaens threaten, honor and duty call her to the front lines to fight off the oppressors. When an air skirmish goes wrong, both Theo and Galian crash on a remote island hundreds of miles from either nation. Grievously injured, Theo must rely on Galian’s medical expertise, and Galian must rely on Theo’s survival skills, to live another day in a harsh and unforgiving terrain. Can they put aside their differences long enough to survive? Or will the war that brought them to the island tear them apart? The Island is the first in a new romance trilogy by S. Usher Evans, author of the Razia series […]

Posted April 3, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 5 Comments
Divider

Review: Fusion by S. Usher Evans

Review: Fusion by S. Usher Evans

Fusion by S. Usher Evans Series: Razia #4 Published by Sun’s Golden Ray Publishing on February 16, 2016 Genres: Science Fiction, romance Pages: 217 Format: ebook Source: Free for Review Buy on Amazon Lyssa Peate has everything she thought she ever wanted. She’s finally earned the respect of her fellow pirates, she’s got a finger on the pulse on her scientist life, and she’s got a core set of friends (and more-than-friends) that have her back. But deep down, she knows none of this goodness will last. And when she finds out a life-changing secret, she wonders if this is the end of her good life. Piracy is a game. How do you win? Fusion is the fourth book in S. Usher Evans’ Razia series. Grab the first three books – Double Life, Alliances, and Conviction – and “get sucked” into this fun space opera series. If there was ever a perfect finale for a series, this is it. I almost want to end the review right there. There’s nothing else to say. I’ll try to continue though. Please forgive me if the rest of this is just me gushing about how adorable Sage is. I love Sage. Sage and Lyssa are so perfect for each other but only one of them admits it. Three guesses who is in touch with their emotions and the first two don’t count. […]

Posted February 16, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Conviction by S Usher Evans

Review: Conviction by S Usher Evans

Conviction by S. Usher Evans Series: Razia #3 Published by Sun’s Golden Ray Publishing on January 1st 1970 Genres: Sci Fi, Young Adult Pages: 242 Buy on Amazon Clink. Razia is in trouble. Captured by a fellow pirate, she now finds herself back on probation with a bounty worth zero credits. In the cold reality, she begins to question herself and everything she has been working towards all of her life–and what she’s willing to do to reclaim her glory. Conviction is the third book in the Razia series. Piracy is a game. What do you stand for? I thought about just leaving this picture but I guess I owe you a little more about this book than just that. In my review of Double Life, I talked about how I liked the story, but I wished that Razia was…. more. I want her to be kinder, more understanding, more mature. I struggled with her maturity level because I could see the person that she could be. If only she would calm down and stop jumping to conclusions all the time. I liked Alliances too. There I revealed my everlasting love for Sage Teon and Lizbeth. The two of them are a formidable team when it comes to annoying Razia as well as keeping her out of trouble as much as possible. In Alliances she had grown a little but […]

Posted February 10, 2016 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider