Series: Air Awakens: Vortex Chronicles

Review: Vortex Visions by Elise Kova

Posted January 14, 2019 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment

Review: Vortex Visions by Elise KovaVortex Visions by Elise Kova
Series: Air Awakens: Vortex Chronicles #1, Air Awakens #6
Published by Silver Wing Press on 2/4/19
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: ebook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon

A desperate princess, a magical traveler, and a watch that binds them together with the fate of a dying world.

Vi Solaris is the heir to an Empire she’s barely seen. Her parents sacrificed a life with her to quell a rebellion and secure peace with a political alliance. Now, three years past when her wardship should’ve ended, Vi will do anything to be reunited with her family.

The Empire is faltering beneath the burden of political infighting and a deadly plague. Yet, Vi can’t help but wonder if her inability to control her magic is the true reason her parents haven’t brought her home. Suspicion becomes reality when she unleashes powers she’s not supposed to have. 

Powers that might well cost her the throne.

As Vi fights to get her magic under control, a mysterious stranger appears from across the world. He holds the keys to unlocking her full potential, but the knowledge has an unspeakable price — some truths, once seen, cannot be ignored.

All eyes are on her and Vi must make the hardest choice of her life: Play by the rules and claim her throne. Or, break them and save the world.

If you enjoy epic fantasy stories with sorcery, slow-burn romance, and expansive worlds to adventure in, then you’ll love the Vortex Chronicles. Scroll up and one-click now!

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

It was such a pleasure to return to the world of Solaris. It was like meeting back up with an old friend and we got to talking like no time at all had passed. At first it seemed familiar and homey, just like I had left it. However, I surprised to learn just how much things had changed.

It’s hard going into the next series of books in an extended series. If it’s not done well, it can seem old, overdone, maybe a little boring. After 5 books, I would have thought that I knew everything there was to know about the Air Awakens Universe. I thought that the characters would be mostly new and different but the world would stay as I expected it to be.

The best part of this book for me was how quickly my world turned upside down. I love Vi and the other new characters that have been introduced. It’s fun to see how she fits into the lives of other familiar characters. Still, if this is the very first Elise Kova book that you ever read, you can dive right in. Knowing the world isn’t even a little required. We get more Jax! YES! However, if you don’t know and aren’t in love with Jax, you won’t be lost. (And you get the pleasure of meeting and falling in love with him)

I love the Air Awakens series. However, Vortex Visions blows it out of the water. It’s by far the best book of Elise Kova’s I’ve ever read.