Series: The Illuminae Files

Rockstar Review: Obsidio by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Posted March 29, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Events and Features, Giveaway, Review, Uncategorized / 1 Comment

Rockstar Review: Obsidio by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Rockstar Review: Obsidio by Jay Kristoff and Amie KaufmanObsidio by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
Series: The Illuminae Files #3
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on March 13th 2018
Genres: Sci Fi, Young Adult
Pages: 624
Format: hardcover
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives from the attacks on Heimdall station and now find themselves crammed with 2,000 refugees on the container ship, Mao. With the jump station destroyed and their resources scarce, the only option is to return to Kerenza—but who knows what they'll find seven months after the invasion?

Meanwhile, Kady's cousin, Asha, survived the initial BeiTech assault and has joined Kerenza's ragtag underground resistance. When Rhys—an old flame from Asha's past—reappears on Kerenza, the two find themselves on opposite sides of the conflict.

With time running out, a final battle will be waged on land and in space, heros will fall, and hearts will be broken.

I liked Obsidio. Readers will be familiar with the epistolary style by now. Obsidio adds in flyers and passed notes to the collection of documents that our heroes use to communicate. Katy and Ezra are still on the Mao and they are joined by Nik and Hannah. Now we are introduced to Asha and Rhys who have been stuck on Kerenza during the BeiTech occupation for the last 7 months. Asha and Rhys have an unfortunate history together and aren’t thrilled when they both turn up trapped on the same tiny planet.

I was not crazy about the occupation of Kerenza. I found it somehow stressful and boring at the same time. If you are a fan of Battlestar Galactica, it reminded me of the occupation of New Caprica, which I also found boring and stressful. There is an active resistance, which was interesting. I loved how they communicate with each other. I didn’t really like any of the other people on Kerenza, though. Heimdall had several interesting characters and Hypatia/Alexander had a bunch. The supporting cast on Kerenza was missing.

Luckily, that wasn’t the entire book. I loved the parts that had Katy, Ezra, Nik and Hannah and I loved the return of all the other familiar characters too. Even though I felt like I had everything figured out, there were plenty of surprises. It’s nice to know I couldn’t guess everything.

All in all, this was a satisfying series ending.

Divider

Meet the Authors

Amie Kaufman is the New York Times bestselling co-author of These Broken Stars and This Shattered World, and Illuminae, the first in a new series starting in 2015. She writes science fiction and fantasy for teens, and her favourite procrastination techniques involve chocolate, baking, sailing, excellent books and TV, plotting and executing overseas travel, and napping.

She lives in Melbourne, Australia with her husband, their rescue dog, and her considerable library. She is represented by Tracey Adams of Adams Literary.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Jay Kristoff is the award-winning author of THE LOTUS WAR trilogy, a Japanese-inspired steampunk fantasy. Part 3, ENDSINGER, is out now. He’s also co-author of the upcoming ILLUMINAE (with Amie Kaufman), a YA Sci-Fi… thing, to be released by Knopf/Random House in 2015, and NEVERNIGHT, the first part of a new fantasy trilogy kicking off in 2016.

Jay is 6’7 and has approximately 13380 days to live. He abides in Melbourne with his secret agent kung-fu assassin wife, and the world’s laziest Jack Russell.

He does not believe in happy endings.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Divider

Giveaway

3 winners will receive a finished copy of OBSIDIO, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Follow the Tour

Week One:
3/1/2018- Two Chicks on Books– Review
3/2/2018- YA Bibliophile– Review

Week Two:
3/5/2018- Mary Had a Little Book Blog– Review
3/6/2018- BookHounds YA– Review
3/7/2018- Novel Novice– Review
3/8/2018- Adventures of a Book Junkie– Review
3/9/2018- Feed Your Fiction Addiction– Review

Week Three:
3/12/2018- Fiction Fare– Review
3/13/2018- The Young Folks– Review
3/14/2018- A Dream Within A Dream– Review
3/15/2018- The Book Nut– Review
3/16/2018- Tales of the Ravenous Reader– Review

Week Four:
3/19/2018- StuckInBooks– Review
3/20/2018- PaperTrailYA– Review
3/21/2018- Nerdophiles– Review
3/22/2018- Owl Always Be Reading– Review
3/23/2018- YA Books Central– Excerpt

Week Five:
3/26/2018- The Eater of Books!– Review
3/27/2018- Page Turners Blog– Review
3/28/2018- Book Briefs– Review
3/29/2018- Emily Reads Everything– Review
3/30/2018- Mundie Moms– Review

four-stars

Tags:

Divider

Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Posted October 20, 2015 by Emily in Uncategorized / 0 Comments

Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay KristoffIlluminae by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
Series: The Illuminae Files, #1
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on October 20th 2015
Buy on Amazon
five-stars

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing sheÂ’d have to do.
This afternoon, her planet was invaded.
The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.
But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet's AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say whatÂ’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it's clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she'd never speak to again.
Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

I just want to gush about this book. It was everything I could have possibly wanted and more. The way that its written, it uses copies of records to tell the story. The plot moves on through memos, instant messages, ship schematics and writing in shapes. I absolutely love this sort of narrative.  The plot is completely different but the style of this book reminded me of  two other long time favorites of mine; House of Leaves by Mark Danielewski and S by J.J. Abrams and Doug Dorst. So if you like this sort of style, check those out next. All three are masterful.

One of my favorite things about this book is that what little romance there is takes a backseat to the story. Its subtle, understated and absolutely perfect. The main characters knew each other before the adventure started but they broke up the same day that the attack started. Their history shows through at every step in their story but they spend their time focusing on what’s going on around them and what needs to be done. The messages that Ezra sends Kady when he is apologizing were some of my favorite parts of the entire book. So cute!

I’ve already spouted about what a huge fan I am about this sort of format. I think the schematics and documents make the story more real. You are completely immersed in story from the very beginning. This book  was also a perfect example of a slow build into an all encompassing disaster. First there is the attack. Then there is an illness on one of the remaining ships. Then the fleet’s AI begins to malfunction. All of this is in the blurb, so none of these facts are spoilers. Still, isn’t it so exciting to know that that’s just the beginning?

I honestly can’t think of anything about this book that I didn’t like. It was action packed, fast moving and engrossing. If you like sci fi, you will definitely like this book. Even if you don’t like sci fi, its highly likely that this will be the book that changes your mind.

five-stars

Tags:

Divider