Source: Edelweiss

SST Arc Review: Beyond the Red by Ava Jae

Posted March 13, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 2 Comments

SST Arc Review: Beyond the Red by Ava Jae

SST Arc Review: Beyond the Red by Ava JaeBeyond the Red by Ava Jae
Series: Beyond the Red #1
Published by Sky Pony Press on March 1st 2016
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: ebook
Source: Free for Review, Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

Alien queen Kora has a problem as vast as the endless crimson deserts. SheÂ’s the first female ruler of her territory in generations, but her people are rioting and call for her violent younger twin brother to take the throne. Despite assassination attempts, a mounting uprising of nomadic human rebels, and pressure to find a mate to help her rule, sheÂ’s determined to protect her people from her brotherÂ’s would-be tyrannical rule.
Eros is a rebel soldier hated by aliens and human alike for being a half-blood. Yet that doesn’t stop him from defending his people, at least until Kora’s soldiers raze his camp and take him captive. He’s given an ultimatum: be an enslaved bodyguard to Kora, or be executed for his true identity—a secret kept even from him.
When Kora and Eros are framed for the attempted assassination of her betrothed, they flee. Their only chance of survival is to turn themselves in to the high court, where revealing ErosÂ’s secret could mean a swift public execution. But when they uncover a violent plot to end the human insurgency, they must find a way to work together to prevent genocide.

YES! YA Science Fiction!

Kora is an alien queen on a far away planet. The aliens are the dominant species on this planet and the ruling class. Kora is the first female Avra, or queen, that there has been in generations. That is creating some friction between her and her brother. Humans exist on the planet to be slaves. Any free humans are considered rebels. Any human/alien hybrids are considered anathema and killed at birth. Eros is a soldier for a rebel tribe. He also is half alien/half human. He meets Kora when she destroys his camp and takes his people as slaves. From there, things only go downhill.

I love science fiction. The second I saw this one,  I knew I would have to read it. It really checked all the boxes for a book that I will love. I keep typing up different checkboxes that this hit for me and then rethinking them because they are kind of spoilery. Suffice it to say, this book is much more than it seems.

The character development really made this book. At first, I had no idea how Eros and Kora would ever get past their first meeting. It was absolutely unforgivable to me. I didn’t know if I could ever forgive her and learn to like her as a character, let alone Eros. Still he has to find some way to deal will her because he becomes her personal bodyguard. Their interactions and the interactions with side characters were perfection. There is some romance in this book but it wasn’t what I expected at all. It was a very slow build too, which was perfect. I can’t stand insta-love.

There is only one thing wrong with this book. It currently is a stand alone, however I could see it as a series. It does not end in a cliff hanger, but there is so much more that I want to know. So, you should all go pre-order this book immediately so that the publisher sees how successful and wonderful this book is. Then they will order more in the series and we will all be happy. Especially me.

About the Author:

Ava JaeAva Jae is a writer, an Assistant Editor at Entangled Publishing, and is represented by Louise Fury of The Bent Agency. Her YA Sci-Fi debut, BEYOND THE RED, is releasing March 2016 from Sky Pony Press. When sheÂ’s not writing about kissing, superpowers, explosions, and aliens, you can find her with her nose buried in a book, nerding out over the latest X-Men news, or hanging out on her blog (http://avajae.blogspot.com/), Twitter (https://twitter.com/Ava_Jae), Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/AvaJae), tumblr (http://avajae.tumblr.com/), Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/9011987.Ava_Jae), Instagram (https://instagram.com/ava_jae/), or YouTube channel (https://www.youtube.com/c/bookishpixie).

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

four-stars

Tags:

Divider

FFBC Review: Bluescreen by Dan Wells

Posted February 26, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 1 Comment

FFBC Review: Bluescreen by Dan Wells

 

ffbc

FFBC Review: Bluescreen by Dan WellsBluescreen by Dan Wells
Series: Mirador #1
on February 16th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Young Adult, Dystopian
Pages: 352
Format: ebook
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

Los Angeles in 2050 is a city of open doors, as long as you have the right connections. That connection is a djinni—a smart device implanted right in a person’s head. In a world where virtually everyone is online twenty-four hours a day, this connection is like oxygen—and a world like that presents plenty of opportunities for someone who knows how to manipulate it.
Marisa Carneseca is one of those people. She might spend her days in Mirador, the small, vibrant LA neighborhood where her family owns a restaurant, but she lives on the net—going to school, playing games, hanging out, or doing things of more questionable legality with her friends Sahara and Anja. And it’s Anja who first gets her hands on Bluescreen—a virtual drug that plugs right into a person’s djinni and delivers a massive, non-chemical, completely safe high. But in this city, when something sounds too good to be true, it usually is, and Mari and her friends soon find themselves in the middle of a conspiracy that is much bigger than they ever suspected.
Dan Wells, author of the New York Times bestselling Partials Sequence, returns with a stunning new vision of the near future—a breathless cyber-thriller where privacy is the world’s most rare resource and nothing, not even the thoughts in our heads, is safe.

Barnes & Noble (B&N):  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/bluescreen-dan-wells/1121996225?ean=9780062347879
Bookdepository: http://www.bookdepository.com/Bluescreen-Dan-Wells/9780062347879
iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/es/book/bluescreen/id998613086?mt=11
Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/es-es/ebook/bluescreen

There are two main types of dystopian novels. In the first, the world is “all used up”. There was some sort of horrible Apocalypse and all the humans that are left are are struggling to survive. In the second kind of dystopian, everything seems really good. The world seems to have all its problems worked out and the population are living happily. However, our main characters know that there is something wrong, underneath everything.

Bluescreen is a perfect example of the second type.

The best part though, was how much this book scared me. It made me so uncomfortable and challenged the way I think about something as simple and common as my cell phone. In the world of Mirador, cell phones are obsolete. Everyone has something better, a specialized computer is implanted in their brains. Can’t you just imagine that? Everyone carries cells now and claims that they can’t live without them. Implanting something in your head is the next logical step, horrifying though it may be.

The best dystopian novels are a reflection of the current times. 1984 makes a statement about unlimited government power and surveillance that is just as true today as it was in 1949.  After reading Bluescreen, I hope that its not just as relevant in 60 years. However, with the direction we are going as a society, I wouldn’t take that bet.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Dan Wells

Dan Wells is a thriller and science fiction writer. Born in Utah, he spent his early years reading and writing. He is he author of the Partials series (Partials, Isolation, Fragments, and Ruins), the John Cleaver series (I Am Not a Serial Killer, Mr. Monster, and I Don’t Want To Kill You), and a few others (The Hollow City, A Night of Blacker Darkness, etc). He was a Campbell nomine for best new writer, and has won a Hugo award for his work on the podcast Writing Excuses; the podcast is also a multiple winner of the Parsec Award.
Website: http://thedanwells.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2740668.Dan_Wells
Twitter: https://twitter.com/thedanwells
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheDanWells?fref=ts

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Prize: Win (1) of (2) copies of BLUESCREEN by Dan Wells (US Only)

followthetour

February 22nd

February 23rd

Bibliobibuli YA – Review
Lisa Loves Literature – Promotional Post
A Thousand Words A Million books – Review + Favorite Quotes
Arctic Books – Review

February 24th

Ink of Blood – Review
Her Book Thoughts – Review
Enchanted Excurse – Promotional Post
Chapter by Chapter – Promotional Post

February 25th

BookHounds YA – Guest Post
jrsbookreviews – Promotional Post
Book Sp(l)ot Reviews – Review

February 26th

Next Page Please! – Interview
Take Me Away To A Great Read – Review + Favorite Quotes
Petrichor – Review

February 27th

The Book Bratz – Interview
The Cover Contessa – Review
G. Jacks Writes – Review
Library of a Book Witch – Review + Playlist

February 28th

A Dream Within A Dream – Guest Post
bookaholics anonymous – Review
four-stars

Tags:

Divider

FFBC Review: A study in Charlotte

FFBC Review: A study in Charlotte

This book is the perfect combination of a love letter to Sherlock Holmes and a ya novel. It’s obvious that Brittany Cavallaro know her Sherlock stuff. The murderer in this book makes his murders look like the ones that happened in John Watson’s Sherlock stories. If you have ever read the Speckled Band or other stories, you will find yourself immediately drawn in. Not only does she continually allude to classic Sherlock Holmes stories, Cavallaro also makes her Holmes and Watson both absolutely true to the source material and original characters in their own right. I loved Charlotte Holmes. She was brilliant and damaged with a laser focus of the problem at hand. It was fantastic to see the traditional Sherlockian features in a girl! I love that this is a series cause I can’t wait to see what happens in the future. Jamie Watson also has a special place in my heart. He was so sweet and loyal. I loved the dynamic between Watson and Holmes. But then, that ‘ship is always a popular one. This book wasn’t about romance, it was about friendship. Watson doesn’t want to date Holmes, he wants to be her best friend. Watching their friendship grow over the course of the book was a joy. Charlotte is prickly and doesn’t think she wants or needs Jamie at the beginning and he shows her […]

Posted February 25, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 0 Comments
Divider

ARC Review: Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman

ARC Review: Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman

Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman Series: Blackhearts #1 Published by Simon Pulse on February 9th 2016 Pages: 384 Format: ebook Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Blackbeard the pirate was known for striking fear in the hearts of the bravest of sailors. But once he was just a young man who dreamed of leaving his rigid life behind to chase adventure in faraway lands. Nothing could stop him—until he met the one girl who would change everything. Edward “Teach” Drummond, son of one of Bristol’s richest merchants, has just returned from a year-long journey on the high seas to find his life in shambles. Betrothed to a girl he doesnÂ’t love and sick of the high society he was born into, Teach dreams only of returning to the vast ocean heÂ’d begun to call home. There’s just one problem: convincing his father to let him leave and never come back. Following her parents’ deaths, Anne Barrett is left penniless and soon to be homeless. Though sheÂ’s barely worked a day in her life, Anne is forced to take a job as a maid in the home of Master Drummond. Lonely days stretch into weeks, and Anne longs for escape. How will she ever realize her dream of sailing to Curaçao—where her mother was born—when she’s stuck in England? From the moment Teach and Anne meet, they set the world ablaze. Drawn […]

Posted February 8, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

FFBC Review: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

FFBC Review: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk Published by Delacorte Press on January 26th 2016 Genres: Contemporary, romance, Magical Realism Pages: 256 Format: ebook Source: Edelweiss Buy on Amazon A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV’s Teen Mom. People donÂ’t understand love. If they did, theyÂ’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just canÂ’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she canÂ’t stay angry with him . . . and canÂ’t stop loving him. But thereÂ’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: sheÂ’s been shot with a love arrow. Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma and Danny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, KarmaÂ’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind. A clueless Karma doesnÂ’t know that her toxic relationship is AarynÂ’s fault . . . but heÂ’s going to get a chance to make things right. HeÂ’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return? This […]

Posted February 3, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 1 Comment
Divider

FFBC Tour: Review Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace

FFBC Tour: Review Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace

Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace Published by Katherine Tegen Books on January 26th 2016 Genres: paranormal, Fantasy, Young Adult Pages: 368 Format: ebook Source: Edelweiss Buy on Amazon For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes. When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesnÂ’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that sheÂ’s somehow conscious—and not only that, sheÂ’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous. Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace. The biggest problem with this book is that the synopsis absolutely doesn’t do this book justice. I’m not sure what I was expecting after reading the back but this book is 1000 times better than the synopsis makes it sound. I think the […]

Posted January 19, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 1 Comment
Divider