Source: Free for Review

The Dark Divide

Posted April 17, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 0 Comments

The Dark DivideThe Dark Divide by Danika Stone
Series: Waterton #2
Published by Stonehouse on April 10th 2018
Genres: Thriller, mystery, Adult
Pages: 339
Format: Paperback
Source: the author
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Waterton is a town with dark secrets, and after a summer of murder and mayhem, American ex-pat, Rich Evans, knows exactly how far people will go to hide them. Jobless after the fiery destruction of the hotel he once managed, Rich is charged with arson. Only one person, local mechanic Louise "Lou" Newman, believes in his innocence. But even Lou's love and support can't dispel the darkness that's spreading through the community. Dead animals appear on porches, strangers threaten the safety of the locals, and a fingerprint from the fire is linked to a decades-old murder.

The lonely border town has a new danger: a murderer willing to do anything to protect a web of secrets that links them to the arson.

As the risk of jail or death increases, Rich turns to Lou for guidance and she finds herself in an impossible position. Lou has her own secrets! Does she protect the border town where she grew up, or side with the man she loves... even if it means she can never tell him the truth about herself?

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review

Edge of Wild was a real surprise when I read it last year.  When I was reading it, I loved all the different characters and especially Lou. The only thing that I thought it was missing was more information about Lou. I wanted a companion novel that focused more on Lou in the future.

The Dark Divide is even better than a companion. It’s a direct sequel that not only focuses more on Lou and her secrets, but also reveals more about the scrappy cast of characters in the town of Waterford itself. I couldn’t be happier about this book if I special ordered it. It’s almost as if Danika Stone wrote it specifically for me! I wanted more and voilà, it appears in my mailbox! Magic!

Seriously though, The Dark Divide was perfect. It answered all of my nagging suspicions that I was left with at the end of Edge of Wild. Waterton is very isolationist. They don’t appreciate outsiders trying to move in on their territory. It’s more than just a small town mentality and the explanation was perfect. I really enjoyed how the town’s history is affecting them still today. Lou is still far and away my favorite character of the series. She’s willing to fight for what she wants and she’s strong. She’s had to be to run her mechanic shop alone. Mostly, though, I envy the way that she can go with the flow and take things as they come. I wish I could let go and just be that way.

Since The Dark Divide was the special ordered sequel of my dreams, next I would like to request a Spin off novel starring Hunter and Levi. Hunter needs to find love and Levi is the perfect crotchety old man. Looking forward to seeing it in 2019. 😀

Divider

I love Aesthetics! When they are well done, they give such a great feeling about the topic. The Aesthetic that Danika put together for The Dark Divide is perfect. Lou is a little mysterious. Waterton is gorgeous, yet slightly foreboding. Rich is handsome and rugged but still sensitive. This really gets you in the right mood to dive into The Dark Divide.

The Dark Divide Novel Aesthetic

The Dark Divide is one of those books where I definitely had a clear vision of what I wanted my characters and setting to be. Physically, Rich was based on a young Sir Edmund Hillary while Louise tended to look more like Kristen Kreuk (in my head, at least!) The setting had more to do with mood than actual location. Waterton Park, Alberta is a real place, but the setting for The Dark Divide needed to be moodier. Put all those pieces together and you get… THIS!


Divider

About the Author

Danika Stone is an author, artist, and educator who discovered a passion for writing fiction while in the throes of her Masters thesis. A self-declared bibliophile, Danika now writes novels for both teens: INTERNET FAMOUS (Macmillan, 2017) and ALL THE FEELS (Macmillan, 2016); and adults THE DARK DIVIDE (Stonehouse, 2018) and EDGE OF WILD (Stonehouse, 2016).

Ms. Stone’s work has received both recognition and literary praise. In 2017, Chapters included EDGE OF WILD in “Our Favourite Canadian Fiction”, and INTERNET FAMOUS was nominated for the R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature (2018) as well as selected as one of Fierce Reads’ “9 Perfect Summertime Reads” (2017). EDGE OF WILD (previously entitled TATHAGATA) was a quarter-finalist in Amazon’s Breakthrough Novel of the Year Award (2013), a finalist in the Horatio Nelson Fiction Prize (2015), and took second place in the Publish or Perish contest (2015). ALL THE FEELS was selected for Swoon Reads’ fourth list (2015) and was nominated for YALSA’s Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers (2016), and for CYBILS’ Children’s and Young Adult Bloggers’ Literary Awards (2016).

Ms. Stone’s books have been reviewed by VOYA, Teen Reads, and School Library Journal. Danika has also featured in the BN Teen Blog, Clash, Quillable, Fierce Reads, Lethbridge Living Magazine, CJSR’s Word, and on CBC’s Daybreak.

When not writing, Danika can be found hiking in the Rockies, planning grand adventures, and spending far too much time online. She lives with her husband, three sons, and a houseful of imaginary characters in a windy corner of Alberta, Canada.

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

Rockstar Review: Shadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland and Michael Miller

Posted April 9, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 0 Comments

Rockstar Review: Shadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland and Michael Miller

Rockstar Review: Shadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland and Michael MillerShadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland, Michael Miller
Series: Kaitan Chronicles #2
Published by Delacorte Press on April 17th 2018
Genres: Sci Fi, Fantasy
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

His throne. Her rebellion. Their war.

Qole is the youngest starship captain in living memory on her homeworld of Alaxak and has spent her life hunting a dangerous energy source called Shadow. Alaxans distrust and evade the galaxy’s royalty as a rule, but Qole is now harboring the exiled Prince Nevarian Dracorte, along with some very conflicting feelings about it—and him.

Nev’s feelings are just as complicated, but not towards her. When it comes to Qole, he knows one thing: he’d do anything to stay with her. But when Alaxak is attacked and Nev finds himself framed for murder, he realizes the only way to help Qole and her people is to fight for the throne that should be his. To become the royal she might hate.

As for Qole, she would never have imagined herself as the leader of a rebellion. Despite that, she soon realizes that hiding from her power is no longer an option. It’s time to answer the call, even if it kills her.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Don’t forget the first book!

Rockstar Review: Shadow Call by AdriAnne Strickland and Michael MillerShadow Run by AdriAnne Strickland, Michael Miller
Series: Kaitan Chronicles #1
Published by Delacorte Press on March 21st 2017
Genres: Sci Fi, Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 390
Format: Paperback
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Nev has just joined the crew of the starship Kaitan Heritage as the cargo loader. His captain, Qole, is the youngest-ever person to command her own ship, but she brooks no argument from her crew of orphans, fugitives, and con men. Nev can't resist her, even if her ship is an antique.

As for Nev, he's a prince, in hiding on the ship. He believes Qole holds the key to changing galactic civilization, and when her cooperation proves difficult to obtain, Nev resolves to get her to his home planet by any means necessary.

But before they know it, a rival royal family is after Qole too, and they're more interested in stealing her abilities than in keeping her alive.

Nev's mission to manipulate Qole becomes one to save her, and to survive, she'll have to trust her would-be kidnapper. He may be royalty, but Qole is discovering a deep reservoir of power--and stars have mercy on whoever tries to hurt her ship or her crew.

Review

Pacing in sequels can be very difficult! It’s hard to know what the right amount of action is when an author is stretching the story into three or more books. Book two can definitely drag sometimes. Shadow Call doesn’t fall prey to this curse though. It’s action packed and fast moving. It held up to the standard that Shadow Run set in book one.

I loved all the characters. Coming back to them was like running into old friends. Nev and Qole are of course my favorites but all the of the supporting characters really keep the book running. Arjan and Eton are back with Telu and Basra. Unfortunately, there are ramifications and lots of hard feelings left over from the results of Shadow Run. A great cast of characters makes the book for me and this book did not disappoint.

Divider

Elsewhere

Divider

About the Author

ADRIANNE STRICKLAND and MICHAEL MILLER met in their hometown of Palmer, Alaska, where they agreed on 99% of book taste and thus decided to write together. Adri spends her summers as a commercial fisherwoman in Bristol Bay, Alaska, and the rest of the year writing. Michael grew up off the grid in a homestead in Alaska and now works in IT and tech. This is their second book together.

Find AdriAnne:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Find Michael:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Divider

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

3 winners will receive a finished copy of SHADOW CALL, US Only.

Ends on May 4th at Midnight EST!

Divider

Follow the Tour

Week One:

4/2/2018- Here’s to Happy Endings– Review
4/3/2018- Wonder Struck– Review
4/4/2018- Rhythmicbooktrovert – Review
4/5/2018- Jena Brown Writes– Review
4/6/2018- YA Obsessed– Review

Week Two:

4/9/2018- Emily Reads Everything– Review
4/10/2018- laura’s bookish corner– Review
4/11/2018- Literary Meanderings– Excerpt
4/12/2018- Two Chicks on Books– Excerpt
4/13/2018- Good Choice Reading– Review

Week Three:

4/16/2018- Rachel’s Book Reviews– Review
4/17/2018- Skye’s Scribblings– Review
4/18/2018- BookHounds YA– Excerpt
4/19/2018- The Desert Bibliophile– Review
4/20/2018- Seeing Double in Neverland– Excerpt

Week Four:

4/23/2018- Book-Keeping– Review
4/24/2018- lori’s little house of reviews– Review
4/25/2018- Books at Dawn– Excerpt
4/26/2018- Read. Eat. Love.– Review
4/27/2018- MNBernard Books– Excerpt

Week Five:

4/30/2018- Smada’s Book Smack– Review

 

four-stars

Tags: , , ,

Divider

Review: Fire and Bone by Rachel A Marks

Review: Fire and Bone by Rachel A Marks

Fire and Bone by Rachel A. Marks Series: Otherborn #1 Published by Skyscape on February 20th 2018 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult Pages: 414 Format: ebook Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads In Hollywood’s underworld of demigods, druids, and ancient bonds, one girl has a dangerous future. Sage is eighteen, down on her luck, and struggling to survive on the streets of Los Angeles. Everything changes the night she’s invited to a party—one that turns out to be a trap. Thrust into a magical world hidden within the City of Angels, Sage discovers that she’s the daughter of a Celtic goddess, with powers that are only in their infancy. Now that she is of age, she’s asked to pledge her service to one of the five deities, all keen on winning her favor by any means possible. She has to admit that she’s tempted—especially when this new life comes with spells, Hollywood glam, and a bodyguard with secrets of his own. Not to mention a prince whose proposal could boost her rank in the Otherworld. As loyalties shift, and as the two men vie for her attention, Sage tries to figure out whom to trust in a realm she doesn’t understand. One thing is for sure: the trap she’s in has bigger claws than she thought. And it’s going to take a lot more than magic for this Celtic demigoddess […]

Posted April 6, 2018 by Emily in Uncategorized / 0 Comments
Divider

Review Consequence by Rachel Higginson

Review Consequence by Rachel Higginson

Consequence by Rachel Higginson Series: The Confidence Game #2 Published by Reckless Siren Publishing on February 27, 2018 Genres: Adult, Thriller, romance Pages: 254 Format: ebook Source: the author Buy on Amazon Goodreads Consequence, the conclusion to Sayer and Caroline’s epic love story Five years ago, I escaped a dangerous life I had always wanted to leave. I got away. I found freedom. But it cost me the love of my life. For five years I lived in hiding, protecting my most valuable secret while Sayer Wesley sat in prison paying for both our sins. I promised to love him forever. I promised to never leave him.  I broke my promises. Five months ago Sayer found me. Five weeks ago, I was forced to face my past. Five days ago, someone took my daughter. They kidnapped her in order to make Sayer and me suffer. I will do anything to get her back. Even if that means coming clean to Sayer, letting him into my life and introducing him to our daughter. All I wanted was to protect her from this life and now she’s right in the middle of the chaos. Sayer is the only one that can help me. He’s the only one that can get her back. But it might mean losing him again. Fifteen years ago, I fell in love with Sayer Wesley. Now I […]

Posted April 2, 2018 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider

SST Interview: Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young

SST Interview: Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young

Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young Published by Wednesday Books on April 24th 2018 Genres: Fantasy Pages: 352 Format: ebook Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads OND ELDR. BREATHE FIRE. Raised to be a warrior, seventeen-year-old Eelyn fights alongside her Aska clansmen in an ancient rivalry against the Riki clan. Her life is brutal but simple: fight and survive. Until the day she sees the impossible on the battlefield—her brother, fighting with the enemy—the brother she watched die five years ago. Faced with her brother’s betrayal, she must survive the winter in the mountains with the Riki, in a village where every neighbor is an enemy, every battle scar possibly one she delivered. But when the Riki village is raided by a ruthless clan thought to be a legend, Eelyn is even more desperate to get back to her beloved family. She is given no choice but to trust Fiske, her brother’s friend, who sees her as a threat. They must do the impossible: unite the clans to fight together, or risk being slaughtered one by one. Driven by a love for her clan and her growing love for Fiske, Eelyn must confront her own definition of loyalty and family while daring to put her faith in the people she’s spent her life hating. Preorder Links: Amazon- US:   https://www.amazon.com/Sky-Deep-Adrienne-Young/dp/1250168457/ref=sr_1_sc_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1521141342&sr=1-1-spell&keywords=sky+in+th+edeep Barnes and Nobel: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-sky-in-the-deep-adrienne-young/1126974645?ean=9781250168450#/ Interview     Who is your […]

Divider

Rockstar Review: Obsidio by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Rockstar Review: Obsidio by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Obsidio by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff Series: The Illuminae Files #3 Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on March 13th 2018 Genres: Sci Fi, Young Adult Pages: 624 Format: hardcover Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives from the attacks on Heimdall station and now find themselves crammed with 2,000 refugees on the container ship, Mao. With the jump station destroyed and their resources scarce, the only option is to return to Kerenza—but who knows what they’ll find seven months after the invasion? Meanwhile, Kady’s cousin, Asha, survived the initial BeiTech assault and has joined Kerenza’s ragtag underground resistance. When Rhys—an old flame from Asha’s past—reappears on Kerenza, the two find themselves on opposite sides of the conflict. With time running out, a final battle will be waged on land and in space, heros will fall, and hearts will be broken. I liked Obsidio. Readers will be familiar with the epistolary style by now. Obsidio adds in flyers and passed notes to the collection of documents that our heroes use to communicate. Katy and Ezra are still on the Mao and they are joined by Nik and Hannah. Now we are introduced to Asha and Rhys who have been stuck on Kerenza during the BeiTech occupation for the last 7 months. Asha and Rhys have an unfortunate history […]

Divider

Review Constant by Rachel Higginson

Review Constant by Rachel Higginson

Constant by Rachel Higginson Series: The Confidence Game #1 Published by Reckless Siren Publishing on November 16th 2017 Genres: Thriller, romance, Adult Pages: 266 Format: ebook Source: the author Buy on Amazon Goodreads Fifteen years ago I met Sayer Wesley. I fell in love with him. I promised I would never leave him. I swore nothing could break us apart. Five years ago I broke my promise. I ran away. I took the one secret that could destroy us both and disappeared. Five days ago I thought I saw him. I knew it was impossible. Sayer was locked away, serving a deserved sentence in federal prison. He couldn’t find me. He wouldn’t find me. I was too good at hiding. Too good at surviving. Because if Sayer ever found me, there would be hell to pay for a plethora of sins. The worst of which, he didn’t even know about. Five hours ago, I told myself I was crazy. Five minutes ago, I saw him again. Five seconds ago, I was too late. I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.This book was SUCH a surprise! I thought that the premise sounded interested when I picked it up but I had no idea how well written and […]

Posted March 26, 2018 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

FFBC Review: The Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco

FFBC Review: The Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco

The Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco Series: The Bone Witch #2 Published by Sourcebooks Fire on March 20th 2018 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult Pages: 400 Format: Paperback Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads In The Bone Witch, Tea mastered resurrection―now she’s after revenge… No one knows death like Tea. A bone witch who can resurrect the dead, she has the power to take life…and return it. And she is done with her self-imposed exile. Her heart is set on vengeance, and she now possesses all she needs to command the mighty daeva. With the help of these terrifying beasts, she can finally enact revenge against the royals who wronged her―and took the life of her one true love. But there are those who plot against her, those who would use Tea’s dark power for their own nefarious ends. Because you can’t kill someone who can never die… War is brewing among the kingdoms, and when dark magic is at play, no one is safe. I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Oh my gosh! The Bone Witch was one of my favorite reads last year. I loved the flash forward style, ALL of the Asha and Tea, the unreliable narrator. The Heart Forger has cemented it. […]

Posted March 25, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Rockstar Review: Our Dark Stars by Audrey Grey and Krystal Wade

Rockstar Review: Our Dark Stars by Audrey Grey and Krystal Wade

Our Dark Stars by Audrey Grey, Krystal Wade on March 6th 2018 Genres: Fantasy, Sci Fi Pages: 316 Format: ebook Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Goodreads While she sleeps, the whole universe changes. Princess Talia Starchaser has it all. Wealth. Status. Adoring citizens. But on the eve of her eighteenth birthday, she’s forced to publicly betray her best friend, a companion mock she’s had since birth, setting events into motion that lead to the destruction of the humans, and the princess floating through space, a remnant of a time when humans ruled over droids. One hundred years later, half-mock captain Will Perrault and his ragtag crew discover a device floating in space. When a very human Talia emerges from its depths, Will suspects she’s the key to buying his way back into the regiment he once commanded against the last remaining rebel humans—and the ruling mock queen’s good graces. Both Talia and Will would rather get space-tossed than trust one another, but with the queen’s forces chasing them across the galaxy and the fate of both worlds hanging in the balance, they’ll forge the unlikeliest of alliances to survive. I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.The description of this book reminded me a little of my favorite […]

Posted March 20, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Events and Features, Giveaway, Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: Prancing Around with Sleeping Beauty

Review: Prancing Around with Sleeping Beauty

Prancing Around With Sleeping Beauty by Stacy Juba Series: Storybook Valley #2 Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on March 5th 2018 Genres: Adult, romance Pages: 240 Format: ebook Source: the author Buy on Amazon Goodreads his Sleeping Beauty isn’t sure she wants to wake up… Dance instructor Rory Callahan likes to play it safe. When she meets Kyle, he’s impulsive, persistent, and her exact opposite. He’s pushing her to tango way past her comfort zone and keeping Rory on her toes more than twenty years of dance teachers ever had. Unfortunately, he’s the grandson of her family’s archrival and she doesn’t want to disappoint them. After all, her parents imagine her as a proper princess – hence her namesake Aurora, AKA Sleeping Beauty. Complicating matters, Rory’s also dealing with a surgeon boyfriend who’s perfect for her (sort of), an obnoxious boss, and desperate dance moms. Kyle wants to change her whole life, but Rory doesn’t like the stakes. After all, princesses are the ones who get the happy endings. . .aren’t they? This sweet romantic comedy is a standalone and can be read on its own. All books in the series can be read in any order so jump in at any time.Welcome to Storybook Valley…Your Vacation Escape The Storybook Valley books are the perfect beach reads. If you love small town romance, theme parks, fairy tale fun, […]

Posted March 6, 2018 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider