Source: Netgalley

Review: Fire and Bone by Rachel A Marks

Posted April 6, 2018 by Emily in Uncategorized / 0 Comments

Review: Fire and Bone by Rachel A MarksFire and Bone by Rachel A. Marks
Series: Otherborn #1
Published by Skyscape on February 20th 2018
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 414
Format: ebook
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

In Hollywood’s underworld of demigods, druids, and ancient bonds, one girl has a dangerous future.

Sage is eighteen, down on her luck, and struggling to survive on the streets of Los Angeles. Everything changes the night she’s invited to a party—one that turns out to be a trap.

Thrust into a magical world hidden within the City of Angels, Sage discovers that she’s the daughter of a Celtic goddess, with powers that are only in their infancy. Now that she is of age, she’s asked to pledge her service to one of the five deities, all keen on winning her favor by any means possible. She has to admit that she’s tempted—especially when this new life comes with spells, Hollywood glam, and a bodyguard with secrets of his own. Not to mention a prince whose proposal could boost her rank in the Otherworld.

As loyalties shift, and as the two men vie for her attention, Sage tries to figure out whom to trust in a realm she doesn’t understand. One thing is for sure: the trap she’s in has bigger claws than she thought. And it’s going to take a lot more than magic for this Celtic demigoddess to make it out alive.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book was an interesting take on the fae. Sage learns she is fae and then everything happens very fast. They have a presentation ceremony to show her off to the community the first night adn then she has only three days to decide which God’s faction that she wants to join. I really loved the flashbacks. Sage has a connection to a family member in the past. It reminded me a little of Wintersong. There are definite evil goblin king vibes. A beautiful girl, trapped into marriage with a monster. Then, against all odds, they fall in love. This love story, told in flashbacks, was my favorite part of the whole book.

I also really enjoyed the different kids of fae. There were different houses, who followed different Gods. Each house had it’s own sets of magical strengths and affinities. I wanted to learn more about what Gods each house followed and why and what their power types were.

I wasn’t crazy about the magical hierarchy. Some magical creatures, like nixies, were thought of as lesser than the children of Gods and Goddesses. When one of these lesser fae were injured or died, it was thought of as no great loss.

All in all, this book surprised me. I wasn’t expecting to like it as much as I did. I’m going to keep an eye out for the sequel. I want to find out more about the historical connection Sage has and how that is affecting her now.

About the Author

Rachel A. Marks is a cancer survivor, a writer and artist, a surfer and dirt-bike rider, chocolate lover and keeper of faerie secrets. Her four kids and amazing hubby put up with her nerdiness with tremendous grace, even when she makes them watch Buffy or Smallville re-runs for days on end. She was voted: Most Likely To Survive A Zombie Apocalypse, but hopes she’ll never have to test the theory.

Check out more about her on her webpage: www.RachelAnneMarks.com

three-half-stars

Tags: , ,

Divider

Rockstar Review: Our Dark Stars by Audrey Grey and Krystal Wade

Posted March 20, 2018 by Emily in Blog Tour, Events and Features, Giveaway, Review / 1 Comment

Rockstar Review: Our Dark Stars by Audrey Grey and Krystal Wade

Rockstar Review: Our Dark Stars by Audrey Grey and Krystal WadeOur Dark Stars by Audrey Grey, Krystal Wade
on March 6th 2018
Genres: Fantasy, Sci Fi
Pages: 316
Format: ebook
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

While she sleeps, the whole universe changes.

Princess Talia Starchaser has it all. Wealth. Status. Adoring citizens. But on the eve of her eighteenth birthday, she’s forced to publicly betray her best friend, a companion mock she’s had since birth, setting events into motion that lead to the destruction of the humans, and the princess floating through space, a remnant of a time when humans ruled over droids.

One hundred years later, half-mock captain Will Perrault and his ragtag crew discover a device floating in space. When a very human Talia emerges from its depths, Will suspects she’s the key to buying his way back into the regiment he once commanded against the last remaining rebel humans—and the ruling mock queen’s good graces.

Both Talia and Will would rather get space-tossed than trust one another, but with the queen’s forces chasing them across the galaxy and the fate of both worlds hanging in the balance, they’ll forge the unlikeliest of alliances to survive.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The description of this book reminded me a little of my favorite TV series, Firefly. I’ve thought that when I saw descriptions before and I’ve always been a little disappointed. Firefly is great because of the cast of characters and the relationships between them. It’s not the story lines that make it great, those do help, it’s how the characters react to the situations that they are presented with. I love a good character driven story.

Both Firefly and this book are both about a rag tag crew that operate on the fringes at the edge of space. While that’s where the similarities end, Our Dark Stars did not disappoint. The crew on the Odysseus is interesting and surprising! I really enjoyed the way that they all play off each other. They are loyal to a fault. I also really enjoyed the tension between Will and Talia. They had so many reasons to hate each other but the chemistry was intense!

There wasn’t much I didn’t like about this book. I would have liked to have a little more of a description as to why Jane was glitching or why it was dangerous. The idea of sentient androids (mocks) and that they are superior to humans to the point that they are the ruling class was fascinating. I’d love to see it explored more. Maybe in a sequel *hint hint*

This book is for lovers of sci fi, fantasy, romance… really everyone. You will definitely enjoy it.

Divider

About the Authors

Audrey Grey

I’m an award winning and USA Today bestselling author of several books, including the Moonbeam Children’s Award bronze finalist, SHADOW FALL. I live in the charming state of Oklahoma with my crew: one husband, two little people, four mischievous dogs, and one poor cat. You can usually find me hiding out in my office from said crew, surrounded by books and sipping kombucha while dreaming up wondrous worlds for my characters to live in.

In between the chaos—What’s for dinner? Stop pinching your sister! Homework! Dishes!— and my writing, I make time for various projects. An admitted paintaholic, I’ve painted, sprayed or transformed nearly every piece of my house at least once. I even painted my husband’s beloved fabric chair. Oops!

I thrive on creation: starting from an idea, a blank canvas, or perhaps an outdated room, and using my imagination to create something new and emotionally engaging that’s all my own. But stories have always been my first love. Weaving together complex worlds full of flawed, conflicted characters allows me to express myself in a way I could never do otherwise.

I started creating stories during the sweltering Oklahoma summers spent laboring in my father’s wheat fields. Alone and bored, I dreamed up wild fables of vampires (the Anne Rice kind), cave men, and love-torn ghosts. By college my tales had grown more persistent, and I started to actually write them down.

Now, fiction is my life, and I look forward to sharing my characters and their stories with all of you.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest | Tumblr | Goodreads

Krystal Wade

I’m happily married to the love of my life (don’t gag) and raising three beautiful children in the gorgeous state of Virginia. We live just outside Washington, D.C., and every day I wake up to find myself stuck in traffic trying to get there.

The horrid commute gives me plenty of time to zone out and think about my characters in full, brilliant details (I’m a safe driver; don’t worry). Stories give me a way to forget about the sometimes smelly strangers sitting next to me on the fifty mile trek into town (I pick up hitchhikers every day. True story. Check out www.slug-lines.com if you don’t believe me).

I’ve been a part of organized hitchhiking for nearly fifteen years, but that’s just one small aspect of my oh-so-large life. When I’m not working, commuting, or chasing after my three children (four if you count the man), you can usually find me outside talking to my chickens like they’re the cutest things in the world (they are), or training my amazing dogs how to herd said chickens (which they love), or curled up on the sofa with a good book (why can’t that be 100% of the time?).

I hope you love my stories (or just like them a little; that would be okay, too). And I hope that one day you find your passion, because there’s nothing in life better than doing what you love while surrounded by people you love.

Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Divider

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 winner will receive a $30 Amazon GC and a hardcover copy of Cinder, US Only.

Divider

Follow the Tour

Week One:
3/19/2018- Books at Dawn– Excerpt
3/19/2018- What A Nerd Girl Says– Review
3/20/2018- Emily Reads Everything– Review
3/20/2018- Darque Dreamer Reads– Review
3/21/2018- F A N N A Interview
3/21/2018- Twirling Book Princess– Review
3/22/2018- The Desert Bibliophile– Review
322/2018- Here’s to Happy Endings– Review
3/23/2018- BookHounds– Interview
3/23/2018- Sincerely Karen Jo– Review 

Week Two:
3/26/2018- Wonder Struck– Excerpt
3/26/2018- Dani Reviews Things– Review
3/27/2018- Sweet Southern Home– Excerpt
3/27/2018- Smada’s Book Smack– Review
3/28/2018- Lisa Loves Literature– Interview
3/28/2018- A Gingerly Review– Review
3/29/2018- Novel Novice– Guest Post
3/29/2018- Twinning for Books– Review
3/30/2018- The Cover Contessa Interview
3/30/2018- I Heart Romance & YA– Review

 

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

SST Review: This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada

SST Review: This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada

This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada Series: This Mortal Coil #1 Published by Simon Pulse on November 7th 2017 Genres: Science Fiction, Dystopian Pages: 432 Format: ebook Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads Catarina Agatta is a hacker. She can cripple mainframes and crash through firewalls, but that’s not what makes her special. In Cat’s world, people are implanted with technology to recode their DNA, allowing them to change their bodies in any way they want. And Cat happens to be a gene-hacking genius. That’s no surprise, since Cat’s father is Dr. Lachlan Agatta, a legendary geneticist who may be the last hope for defeating a plague that has brought humanity to the brink of extinction. But during the outbreak, Lachlan was kidnapped by a shadowy organization called Cartaxus, leaving Cat to survive the last two years on her own. When a Cartaxus soldier, Cole, arrives with news that her father has been killed, Cat’s instincts tell her it’s just another Cartaxus lie. But Cole also brings a message: before Lachlan died, he managed to create a vaccine, and Cole needs Cat’s help to release it and save the human race. Now Cat must decide who she can trust: The soldier with secrets of his own? The father who made her promise to hide from Cartaxus at all costs? In a world where nature itself can be rewritten, […]

Posted November 19, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 2 Comments
Divider

Irish Banana Tour: Q&A with Wintersong Authour S. Jae-Jones

Irish Banana Tour: Q&A with Wintersong Authour S. Jae-Jones

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones Series: Wintersong #1 Published by Thomas Dunne on February 7th 2017 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, romance, Retelling Pages: 448 Format: ebook Buy on Amazon Goodreads Beware the goblin men and the wares they sell. All her life, nineteen-year-old Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, mysterious Goblin King. He is the Lord of Mischief, the Ruler Underground, and the muse around which her music is composed. Yet, as Liesl helps shoulder the burden of running her family’s inn, her dreams of composition and childish fancies about the Goblin King must be set aside in favor of more practical concerns. But when her sister Käthe is taken by the goblins, Liesl journeys to their realm to rescue her sister and return her to the world above. The Goblin King agrees to let Käthe go—for a price. The life of a maiden must be given to the land, in accordance with the old laws. A life for a life, he says. Without sacrifice, nothing good can grow. Without death, there can be no rebirth. In exchange for her sister’s freedom, Liesl offers her hand in marriage to the Goblin King. He accepts. Down in the Underground, Liesl discovers that the Goblin King still inspires her—musically, physically, emotionally. Yet even as her talent blossoms, Liesl’s life is slowly fading away, the price she paid for becoming the Goblin […]

Posted February 20, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, interview / 3 Comments
Divider

Rockstar Tours Review: Wintersong

Rockstar Tours Review: Wintersong

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones Published by Thomas Dunne on February 7th 2017 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, romance, Retelling Pages: 448 Format: ebook Buy on Amazon Goodreads Beware the goblin men and the wares they sell. All her life, nineteen-year-old Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, mysterious Goblin King. He is the Lord of Mischief, the Ruler Underground, and the muse around which her music is composed. Yet, as Liesl helps shoulder the burden of running her family’s inn, her dreams of composition and childish fancies about the Goblin King must be set aside in favor of more practical concerns. But when her sister Käthe is taken by the goblins, Liesl journeys to their realm to rescue her sister and return her to the world above. The Goblin King agrees to let Käthe go—for a price. The life of a maiden must be given to the land, in accordance with the old laws. A life for a life, he says. Without sacrifice, nothing good can grow. Without death, there can be no rebirth. In exchange for her sister’s freedom, Liesl offers her hand in marriage to the Goblin King. He accepts. Down in the Underground, Liesl discovers that the Goblin King still inspires her—musically, physically, emotionally. Yet even as her talent blossoms, Liesl’s life is slowly fading away, the price she paid for becoming the Goblin King’s bride. As […]

Posted February 10, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Review / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: Roseblood by A.G. Howard

Review: Roseblood by A.G. Howard

RoseBlood by A.G. Howard Published by Amulet Books on January 10th 2017 Genres: Fantasy, Retelling, Young Adult Pages: 432 Format: ebook Source: the publisher Buy on Amazon Goodreads In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale of unrequited love turned to madness, seventeen-year-old Rune Germain has a mysterious affliction linked to her operatic talent, and a horrifying mistake she’s trying to hide. Hoping creative direction will help her, Rune’s mother sends her to a French arts conservatory for her senior year, located in an opera house rumored to have ties to The Phantom of the Opera. At RoseBlood, Rune secretly befriends the masked Thorn—an elusive violinist who not only guides her musical transformation through dreams that seem more real than reality itself, but somehow knows who she is behind her own masks. As the two discover an otherworldly connection and a soul-deep romance blossoms, Thorn’s dark agenda comes to light and he’s forced to make a deadly choice: lead Rune to her destruction, or face the wrath of the phantom who has haunted the opera house for a century, and is the only father he’s ever known. I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Let me start this review by saying that I have not read […]

Posted January 2, 2017 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Arc Review: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Arc Review: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi Published by St. Martin’s Griffin on April 26th 2016 Genres: Fantasy, paranormal, romance, Retelling Pages: 342 Format: ebook Source: Netgalley, Free for Review Buy on Amazon Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen? Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of Death and Destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire… But Akaran has its own secrets — thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most. . .including herself. A lush and vivid story that is steeped in Indian folklore and mythology. The […]

Posted May 9, 2016 by Emily in Uncategorized / 2 Comments
Divider

Review: The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

Review: The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas Published by Delacorte on April 19th 2016 Genres: mystery, Thriller, Young Adult Pages: 336 Format: ebook Source: Netgalley, Free for Review Buy on Amazon The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls tell, and the deadly truths those lies become. There are ghosts around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about it after what happened there that last summer. Memories of things so dark will burn themselves into your mind if you let them. Callie never left. She moved to another house, so she doesnÂ’t have to walk those same halls, but then Callie always was the stronger one. She can handle staring into the faces of her demons—and if she parties hard enough, maybe one day theyÂ’ll disappear for good. Tessa and Callie have never talked about what they saw that night. After the trial, Callie drifted and Tessa moved, and childhood friends just have a way of losing touch. But ever since she left, Tessa has had questions. Things have never quite added up. And now she has to go back to Fayette—to Wyatt Stokes, sitting on death row; to Lori Cawley, CallieÂ’s dead cousin; and to the one other person who may be hiding the truth. Only the closer Tessa gets to […]

Posted April 18, 2016 by Emily in Review / 2 Comments
Divider

Review: Fire Touched by Patricia Briggs

Review: Fire Touched by Patricia Briggs

Fire Touched by Patricia Briggs Series: Mercy Thompson #9 Published by Ace on March 8th 2016 Genres: paranormal, Fiction, Fantasy Pages: 342 Format: ebook Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon Tensions between the fae and humans are coming to a head. And when coyote shapeshifter Mercy and her Alpha werewolf mate, Adam, are called upon to stop a rampaging troll, they find themselves with something that could be used to make the fae back down and forestall out-and-out war: a human child stolen long ago by the fae. Defying the most powerful werewolf in the country, the humans, and the fae, Mercy, Adam, and their pack choose to protect the boy no matter what the cost. But who will protect them from a boy who is fire touched? *Library Journal It’s very hard to review long running series. I know some people manage it and I’m always in awe of them. Fire touched is book 9 though. How can I tell you about it without spoiling things that happened in books 1-8. It’s impossible. This series has gotten complicated and intricate and that’s exactly how I like it. I loved that Fire Touched brought the fae back into the limelight. Patricia Briggs has a really interested take on Fairy and I love learning more about it. In her world there are Fae, Vampires, Witches, an entire Werewolf subculture and just a […]

Posted April 12, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

#SST Blog Tour Review: Where You’ll Find Me by Natasha Friend

#SST Blog Tour Review: Where You’ll Find Me by Natasha Friend

Where You’ll Find Me by Natasha Friend on March 8th 2016 Pages: 272 Format: ebook Source: Netgalley Buy on Amazon In this powerful and buoyant YA novel, a thirteen-year-old girl learns to navigate the shifting loyalities of friendships in middle school and deals with challenges at home. The beginning of the eighth grade is not what Anna thought it would be. Her lifelong best friend has ditched her for the cool kids, and her mom is in the hospital after a suicide attempt. Anna finds herself where she least expects to: living with her dad, his young new wife, and their baby, and starting a new year at school without a best friend. With help from some unlikely sources, including a crazy girl-band talent show act, Anna learns that sometimes you find what you need to pull you through in the most unlikely places. This book! What a surprise! I don’t know what I expected. Maybe a book full of middle school drama and whiny teenage girls. It can be hard to like girls at this age. They can be very wrapped up in themselves and unable to see other’s points of view. I thought it would be very hard to write a likable character in this situation. Anna though, she’s every girl I’ve ever met. She’s smart and relateable. Her problems dealing with her former best friend? Everyone […]

Posted March 27, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 1 Comment
Divider