Source: the author

Review: Vortex Visions by Elise Kova

Posted January 14, 2019 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment

Review: Vortex Visions by Elise KovaVortex Visions by Elise Kova
Series: Air Awakens: Vortex Chronicles #1, Air Awakens #6
Published by Silver Wing Press on 2/4/19
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: ebook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

A desperate princess, a magical traveler, and a watch that binds them together with the fate of a dying world.

Vi Solaris is the heir to an Empire she’s barely seen. Her parents sacrificed a life with her to quell a rebellion and secure peace with a political alliance. Now, three years past when her wardship should’ve ended, Vi will do anything to be reunited with her family.

The Empire is faltering beneath the burden of political infighting and a deadly plague. Yet, Vi can’t help but wonder if her inability to control her magic is the true reason her parents haven’t brought her home. Suspicion becomes reality when she unleashes powers she’s not supposed to have. 

Powers that might well cost her the throne.

As Vi fights to get her magic under control, a mysterious stranger appears from across the world. He holds the keys to unlocking her full potential, but the knowledge has an unspeakable price — some truths, once seen, cannot be ignored.

All eyes are on her and Vi must make the hardest choice of her life: Play by the rules and claim her throne. Or, break them and save the world.

If you enjoy epic fantasy stories with sorcery, slow-burn romance, and expansive worlds to adventure in, then you’ll love the Vortex Chronicles. Scroll up and one-click now!

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

It was such a pleasure to return to the world of Solaris. It was like meeting back up with an old friend and we got to talking like no time at all had passed. At first it seemed familiar and homey, just like I had left it. However, I surprised to learn just how much things had changed.

It’s hard going into the next series of books in an extended series. If it’s not done well, it can seem old, overdone, maybe a little boring. After 5 books, I would have thought that I knew everything there was to know about the Air Awakens Universe. I thought that the characters would be mostly new and different but the world would stay as I expected it to be.

The best part of this book for me was how quickly my world turned upside down. I love Vi and the other new characters that have been introduced. It’s fun to see how she fits into the lives of other familiar characters. Still, if this is the very first Elise Kova book that you ever read, you can dive right in. Knowing the world isn’t even a little required. We get more Jax! YES! However, if you don’t know and aren’t in love with Jax, you won’t be lost. (And you get the pleasure of meeting and falling in love with him)

I love the Air Awakens series. However, Vortex Visions blows it out of the water. It’s by far the best book of Elise Kova’s I’ve ever read.

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

Review Consequence by Rachel Higginson

Posted April 2, 2018 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment

Review Consequence by Rachel HigginsonConsequence by Rachel Higginson
Series: The Confidence Game #2
Published by Reckless Siren Publishing on February 27, 2018
Genres: Adult, Thriller, romance
Pages: 254
Format: ebook
Source: the author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Consequence, the conclusion to Sayer and Caroline’s epic love story

Five years ago, I escaped a dangerous life I had always wanted to leave. I got away. I found freedom. But it cost me the love of my life.

For five years I lived in hiding, protecting my most valuable secret while Sayer Wesley sat in prison paying for both our sins. I promised to love him forever. I promised to never leave him. 

I broke my promises.

Five months ago Sayer found me.

Five weeks ago, I was forced to face my past.

Five days ago, someone took my daughter. They kidnapped her in order to make Sayer and me suffer. I will do anything to get her back. Even if that means coming clean to Sayer, letting him into my life and introducing him to our daughter.

All I wanted was to protect her from this life and now she’s right in the middle of the chaos. Sayer is the only one that can help me. He’s the only one that can get her back.

But it might mean losing him again.

Fifteen years ago, I fell in love with Sayer Wesley. Now I must pay the consequences for falling in love with a con man.

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This is the sequel to Constant that I reviewed last week, which I loved. This book’s pacing was a little slower because it’s told in a series of flashbacks as well as in the present. In Consequence. we also get to read from Sayer’s point of view, which is enlightening to say the least.

I really liked how this book wrapped everything up. Caro and Sayer’s daughter is missing. The assumption is that she’s been kidnapped by the Bratva in order to punish Caro for leaving. That is soon proven true but for completely different reasons. Even if they do want her to suffer, they want her back even more.

My favorite part of this book was the flashbacks. The story in the current timeline is interesting but the flashbacks drive the entire book. They explain and give context to the current timeline. The flashbacks really help us get to know the characters and their motivations. I know flashbacks can be controversial, but I usually like them. In this case, teh flashbacks really made the story special.

This book cemented my deep and abiding love for Sayer. He’s a criminal mastermind, but he’s not evil. Everything he has done, he has done to keep Caro safe and to make sure that they will be safe and provided for in the future. He wanted to ensure a life for her. Caro on the otherhand says that she loves Sayer but is paranoid and distrustful at every turn. Maybe it’s because she is fearful for her daughter’s safety but I’m not sure that Sayer ever deserved such treatment for the support he’s given her.

This sequel was suspensefilled and thrilling. It really lived up to the story that Rachel Higginson started with Constant. Very satisfying ending and it kept me guessing!

Divider

About the Author

Rachel Higginson is the best-selling author of The Opposite of You, The Five Stages of Falling in Love, Every Wrong Reason, Bet on Us and The Star-Crossed Series.

She was born and raised in Nebraska, and spent her college years traveling the world. She fell in love with Eastern Europe, Paris, Indian Food and the beautiful beaches of Sri Lanka, but came back home to marry her high school sweetheart. Now she spends her days writing stories and raising five amazing kids.

 

 

Instagram mywritesdntbite – rachelhigginson.com – facebook.com/rachelhigginsonauthor – @mywritesdntbite

four-half-stars

Tags:

Divider

Review Constant by Rachel Higginson

Review Constant by Rachel Higginson

Constant by Rachel Higginson Series: The Confidence Game #1 Published by Reckless Siren Publishing on November 16th 2017 Genres: Thriller, romance, Adult Pages: 266 Format: ebook Source: the author Buy on Amazon Goodreads Fifteen years ago I met Sayer Wesley. I fell in love with him. I promised I would never leave him. I swore nothing could break us apart. Five years ago I broke my promise. I ran away. I took the one secret that could destroy us both and disappeared. Five days ago I thought I saw him. I knew it was impossible. Sayer was locked away, serving a deserved sentence in federal prison. He couldn’t find me. He wouldn’t find me. I was too good at hiding. Too good at surviving. Because if Sayer ever found me, there would be hell to pay for a plethora of sins. The worst of which, he didn’t even know about. Five hours ago, I told myself I was crazy. Five minutes ago, I saw him again. Five seconds ago, I was too late. I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. This book was SUCH a surprise! I thought that the premise sounded interested when I picked it up but I had no idea how well written […]

Posted March 26, 2018 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Prancing Around with Sleeping Beauty

Review: Prancing Around with Sleeping Beauty

Prancing Around With Sleeping Beauty by Stacy Juba Series: Storybook Valley #2 Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on March 5th 2018 Genres: Adult, romance Pages: 240 Format: ebook Source: the author Buy on Amazon Goodreads his Sleeping Beauty isn’t sure she wants to wake up… Dance instructor Rory Callahan likes to play it safe. When she meets Kyle, he’s impulsive, persistent, and her exact opposite. He’s pushing her to tango way past her comfort zone and keeping Rory on her toes more than twenty years of dance teachers ever had. Unfortunately, he’s the grandson of her family’s archrival and she doesn’t want to disappoint them. After all, her parents imagine her as a proper princess – hence her namesake Aurora, AKA Sleeping Beauty. Complicating matters, Rory’s also dealing with a surgeon boyfriend who’s perfect for her (sort of), an obnoxious boss, and desperate dance moms. Kyle wants to change her whole life, but Rory doesn’t like the stakes. After all, princesses are the ones who get the happy endings. . .aren’t they? This sweet romantic comedy is a standalone and can be read on its own. All books in the series can be read in any order so jump in at any time.Welcome to Storybook Valley…Your Vacation Escape The Storybook Valley books are the perfect beach reads. If you love small town romance, theme parks, fairy tale fun, […]

Posted March 6, 2018 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider

How to write a book when you live with your parents

How to write a book when you live with your parents

By: S. Usher Evans *** From Emily*** Sush has started an incredible campaign to be debt free by selling books and flipping houses. Her house flipping Instagram is fantastic. (https://www.instagram.com/housesfullofwhit/) Plus she’s prolific author. Demon Spring is her third series but she has books planned out til 2020! She’s the only person I know who has such a concrete plan for her life. I admire her for it so much! Her story is incredible and she’s here today to share with us a little bit about how she makes it work*** Hi, I’m Sush, I’m 31, and I live with my parents.  No, I’m not your typical millennial. I’m a house-flipping full-time author, and I decided about a year ago to sell my house, move in with my folks temporarily, and then buy and flip houses until I could live without a mortgage plus have a few renters on the side. While I could write a novel on what I learned this year alone with house flipping, today I want to talk about how I was able to complete my latest series, Demon Spring, while living with my folks. My folks are wonderful people and I am eternally grateful that I was able to live with them so I could position myself into a more debt-free life. However, after living by myself since 2011, having other humans in the […]

Posted February 19, 2018 by Emily in Events and Features, Guest Post / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Society of Wishes by Elise Kova and Lynn Larsh

Review: Society of Wishes by Elise Kova and Lynn Larsh

Society of Wishes by Elise Kova, Lynn Larsh Series: Society of Wishes #1 Published by Silver Wing Press on January 29th 2018 Genres: Urban Fantasy, New Adult Format: ebook Source: the author Buy on Amazon Goodreads First book in the Wish Quartet, a new-adult, urban fantasy series BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU WISH FOR. Josephina Espinosa makes her living as a hacker-for-hire in the Lone Star Republic, a remnant of the fractured U.S.A. That is, until the day she and her best friend are gunned down in a government raid. With her dying breath, Jo uses magical lore passed down from her grandmother to summon a wish-granter. Her wish? To save her friend’s life. Except wishes have costs, and for Jo, the price is the erasure of her entire mortal existence. Now, as the most recent addition to the mysterious Society of Wishes, Jo must form a new “life” alongside the seven other members, one of which being her savior himself. Living as an occupant of the Society’s lavish mansion should be quite the perk, but while it is furnished with everything its inhabitants could possibly need, it lacks one thing—freedom. Her otherworldly identity crisis takes a backseat, however, when Jo learns that the friend she sacrificed everything for is headed down the same path to ruin. Jumping in head-first, Jo uses her newfound magical abilities to protect him, only […]

Posted January 10, 2018 by Emily in Review / 1 Comment
Divider

First We Were IV

First We Were IV

First We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on July 25th 2017 Genres: Thriller, Young Adult Pages: 448 Format: Paperback Source: the author Buy on Amazon Goodreads It started for pranks, fun, and forever memories.A secret society – for the four of us. The rules: Never lie. Never tell. Love each other.We made the pledge and danced under the blood moon on the meteorite in the orchard. In the spot we found the dead girl five years earlier. And discovered the ancient drawings way before that. Nothing could break the four of us apart – I thought.But then, others wanted in. Our seaside town had secrets. History.We wanted revenge.We broke the rules. We lied. We told. We loved each other too much, not enough, and in ways we weren’t supposed to. Our invention ratcheted out of control.What started as a secret society, ended as justice. Revenge. Death. Rebellion. I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Fancast This is my first time doing a fancast. It was a challenge for me, but I ended up really enjoying it. I hope you enjoy my picks and I’d love to hear if you agree or disagree! Graham Graham is described as […]

Posted April 3, 2017 by Emily in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Special Feature / 4 Comments
Divider

Review: Burning Shadows by by Jennifer Anne Davis

Review: Burning Shadows by by Jennifer Anne Davis

Burning Shadows by Jennifer Anne Davis Series: Order of the Krigers #2 Published by Reign Publishing on November 15th 2016 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy Pages: 376 Format: ebook Source: the author Buy on Amazon Goodreads The Order of the Krigers has risen. Determined to destroy the Order, the vicious king, Morlet, scours the land, searching for the Krigers. He burns entire villages, hoping to flush out the twelve chosen ones. He has other plans for Kaia. In order to end the curse, Kaia must conceive a child before the Krigers can kill Morlet. However, she doesn’t know if the father is supposed to be her fiancE, Vidar, or his brother, the evil king. In order to find the answer, she journeys to the other side of the mountains with Anders. Stifling her growing feelings for the assassin, Kaia unearths secrets that force her to reevaluate her cause. Can she sacrifice so much of herself to save the kingdom of Nelebek? Can she kill Morlet when she is starting to understand and even sympathize with him? And is there really any choice at all, especially when it comes to matters of the heart? Kaia learns each choice comes with a price, passion can rival hatred, and an evil looms on the horizon, more sinister than she ever imagined. I received this book for free from the author in exchange for […]

Posted December 26, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments
Divider

Awesome Indies: Bloodwalker by L.X. Cain

Awesome Indies: Bloodwalker by L.X. Cain

For more information, check out the Awesome Indies page This is a first! Bloodwalker is the first book submitted to Awesome Indies that I have also chosen to review. This doesn’t mean that the other books were lacking in any way. It just means that Bloodwalker caught my attention. It started with a fantastic personal email. The author, L.X. Cain checked out my past reviews and decided her book and I would probably be a good match. She then sold her book to me by mentioning the plot and comparing it to books I loved. I didn’t know it at the time, but I took a chance. Her comparisons were spot on! I really enjoyed this book. It’s creepy and different, which I loved. I can’t think of another book or series to compare it to. It’s part murder mystery and part paranormal or urban fantasy. I think that the best comparison is to a Pendergast novel by Preston and Child but even that isn’t a great description. There were layers of plot and subplot with all the characters subtlety interwoven. I really didn’t know what was going to happen up until the very end. Both main characters are terrific. Rurik is really complex. I really think we just scratched the surface of his character. Damaged characters are my favorite kind! I love the character development that comes with damaged characters. […]

Posted September 30, 2016 by Emily in Events and Features, Review / 0 Comments
Divider